DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 14-17, 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US20210210820) (Provided in Applicant’s IDS filed on April 14th, 2025).
Regarding Claim 1, Schmid discloses a bipolar battery ([003]) comprising:
N battery cores each comprising a cathode electrode, and anode electrode, and a separator, where N is an integer greater than one (active material layers-30/40 form cathode and anode, [0046], separator can be placed between anode and cathode, [0014], theses structure present in each battery cell acting as core, [0046]);
N-1 bipolar plates including a first layer made of a first material, a second layer made of a second material, a center portion, and first and second sides extending transversely relative to the center portion (bipolar plate-12, [0046], formed of substrate that has a copper foil on a first side and a second metal foil on a second side, [0049]); and
A battery enclosure including a cover and a lower portion including sides defining a cavity (Fig. 1, [0020]),
Where the N-1 bipolar plates are arranged in a cavity arranged in the cavity between adjacent ones of the N battery cores and the N battery cores are connected in series by the N-1 bipolar plates (bipolar plates-12, Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
Schmid does not directly disclose wherein the first and second sides of the N-1 bipolar plates are one of: inserted into “L”-shaped slots in the sides of the lower portion, and molded into the sides of the lower portion.
Schmid discloses wherein the bipolar plates have protrusion that form an overall “L”-shape and wherein the bipolar plates can be inserted through oles that are positioned on the side walls of the overall battery enclosure ([0078]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art using the disclosure of Schmid to have wherein the first and second sides of the N-1 bipolar plates are one of: inserted into “L”-shaped slots in the sides of the lower portion, and molded into the sides of the lower portion.
Regarding Claim 2, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses an adhesive attaching the first and second side of the N-1 bipolar plates in the “L”-shaped slots (adhesive layer can be provided between bipolar plates sections, [0061]).
Regarding Claim 3, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses one or more sealing strips arranged between mating surfaces of the cover and lower portion (edge sealing devices-60 act as sealing strips, [0088]).
Regarding Claim 4, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid discloses wherein the edge sealing device can be formed of silicone gels ([0097]).
Regarding Claim 5, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses
A first terminal passing through one side of the battery enclosure and contacting a cathode current collector of a first one of the N battery cores (positive terminal-110 connected to positive current collector and positive active material layer, [0057]); and
A second terminal passing through an opposite side of the battery enclosure and contacting an anode current collector of a last one of the N battery cores (negative terminal-100 connected to negative current collector and negative active material layer, [0056]),
Wherein the first terminal includes a first “O”-ring and the second terminal includes a second “O”-ring arranged between the first terminal and the second terminal and the battery enclosure, respectively (insulating tape-260 is applied to peripheral edge of each current collector-102/112 forms “O”-ring, [0095]).
Regarding Claim 6, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses wherein,
The N-1 bipolar plates include a bottom edge coated with an adhesive (adhesive layer on bottom edge of bipolar plate, [0062), the bottom edge extends transversely relative to the center portion (bipolar plate extends in transversely to center portion, Fig. 1), and the bottom edge is molded into a bottom surface of the lower portion (support frmae-90 contains lower portion of casing, bipolar plate bottom layer molded into support frame, [0089-0090]).
Regarding Claim 7, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses wherein the first material of N-1 bipolar plates comprises copper and the second material of the N-1 bipolar plates comprises aluminum ([0014]).
Regarding Claim 8, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses wherein the N battery cores comprises liquid electrolyte ([0097]).
Regarding Claim 9, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses wherein the N battery cores comprises solid electrolyte and at least one of liquid electrolyte and gel electrolyte ([0013]).
Regarding Claim 10, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses wherein the N battery cores comprises solid electrolyte ([0013]).
Regarding Claim 14, Schmid discloses a bipolar battery ([003]) comprising:
N battery cores each comprising a cathode electrode, and anode electrode, and a separator, (active material layers-30/40 form cathode and anode, [0046], separator can be placed between anode and cathode, [0014], theses structure present in each battery cell acting as core, [0046]);
N-1 bipolar plates including a first layer made of a first material, a second layer made of a second material, a center portion, and first and second sides extending transversely relative to the center portion (bipolar plate-12, [0046], formed of substrate that has a copper foil on a first side and a second metal foil on a second side, [0049]); and
Wherein the N battery cores are connected in series by the N-1 bipolar plates ([0014]);
A battery enclosure including a cover and a lower portion including sides defining a cavity (Fig. 1, [0020]),
Where the N-1 bipolar plates are arranged in a cavity arranged in the cavity between adjacent ones of the N battery cores and the N battery cores are connected in series by the N-1 bipolar plates (bipolar plates-12, Fig. 1, Fig. 2).
A first terminal passing through one side of the battery enclosure and contacting a cathode current collector of a first one of the N battery cores (positive terminal-110 connected to positive current collector and positive active material layer, [0057]); and
A second terminal passing through an opposite side of the battery enclosure and contacting an anode current collector of a last one of the N battery cores (negative terminal-100 connected to negative current collector and negative active material layer, [0056]),
Wherein the first terminal includes a first “O”-ring and the second terminal includes a second “O”-ring arranged between the first terminal and the second terminal and the battery enclosure, respectively (insulating tape-260 is applied to peripheral edge of each current collector-102/112 forms “O”-ring, [0095]).
Regarding Claim 15, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Schmid further discloses one or more sealing strips arranged between mating surfaces of the cover and lower portion (edge sealing devices-60 act as sealing strips, [0088]). Schmid further discloses wherein the edge sealing device can be formed of silicone gels ([0097]).
Regarding Claim 16, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses the cathode current collector comprises aluminum and the and current collector comprises copper ([0014]), and the first material of the N-1 bipolar plates comprises copper and the second material of the N-1 bipolar plates comprises aluminum ([0056-0057]).
Regarding Claim 17, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses Schmid further discloses wherein the N battery cores comprises liquid electrolyte ([0097]) and solid electrolyte ([0013]).
Regarding Claim 19, Schmid discloses a bipolar battery ([003]) comprising:
N battery cores each comprising a cathode electrode, and anode electrode, and a separator, (active material layers-30/40 form cathode and anode, [0046], separator can be placed between anode and cathode, [0014], theses structure present in each battery cell acting as core, [0046]);
N-1 bipolar plates including a first layer made of a first material, a second layer made of a second material, a center portion, and first and second sides extending transversely relative to the center portion (bipolar plate-12, [0046], formed of substrate that has a copper foil on a first side and a second metal foil on a second side, [0049]); and
Wherein the N battery cores are connected in series by the N-1 bipolar plates ([0014]);
A battery enclosure including a cover and a lower portion including sides defining a cavity (Fig. 1, [0020]),
Where the N-1 bipolar plates are arranged in a cavity arranged in the cavity between adjacent ones of the N battery cores and the N battery cores are connected in series by the N-1 bipolar plates (bipolar plates-12, Fig. 1, Fig. 2),
A sealing strips arranged between mating surfaces of the cover and lower portion (edge sealing devices-60 act as sealing strips, [0088]).
A first terminal passing through one side of the battery enclosure and contacting a cathode current collector of a first one of the N battery cores (positive terminal-110 connected to positive current collector and positive active material layer, [0057]); and
A second terminal passing through an opposite side of the battery enclosure and contacting an anode current collector of a last one of the N battery cores (negative terminal-100 connected to negative current collector and negative active material layer, [0056]),
Wherein the first terminal includes a first “O”-ring and the second terminal includes a second “O”-ring arranged between the first terminal and the second terminal and the battery enclosure, respectively (insulating tape-260 is applied to peripheral edge of each current collector-102/112 forms “O”-ring, [0095]).
Regarding Claim 20, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above. Schmid further discloses wherein the first side, the second side and the bottom edge of the N-1 bipolar plates are coated with adhesive (adhesive layer can be provided between bipolar plates sections, [0061]).
Claim(s) 11-13 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schmid (US20210210820) in view of Shaffer (US20180053926).
Regarding Claim 11-13 & 18, Schmid discloses the limitations as set forth above.
Schmid does not directly disclose wherein the cover includes N vent holes arranged between the N-1 bipolar plates, between a first one of the N-1 bipolar plates and one side of the battery enclosure, and between a last one of the N-1 bipolar plats and an opposite side of the battery enclosure.
Schmid does not directly disclose wherein N fasteners arranged in the N vent holes.
Schmid does not directly disclose wherein the sealing polymer seals the N fasteners in the N vent holes.
Shaffer discloses a battery module that includes bipolar plates ([0024]). Shaffer further discloses wherein vent holes are placed in between the bipolar plates structures (vent hole-30, Fig. 12, [0024]). Shaffer further discloses wherein the vent holes can be formed by notches in the inserts, bossed or sleeves ([0034]). Shaffer further discloses wherein the sleeves or bushings can form seals at the junctions ([0024]). Shaffer further discloses wherein a polymer may be disposed on the entire periphery of the battery plate stacks in order to form a seal ([0034]). Shaffer teaches that this structure allows for improved heat and pressure release ([005]).
Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Schmid with the teachings of Shaffer to have wherein the cover includes N vent holes arranged between the N-1 bipolar plates, between a first one of the N-1 bipolar plates and one side of the battery enclosure, and between a last one of the N-1 bipolar plats and an opposite side of the battery enclosure, and wherein N fasteners arranged in the N vent holes, and wherein the sealing polymer seals the N fasteners in the N vent holes. This modified structure would yield the expected result of improved heat and pressure release.
Conclusion
/ANKITH R SRIPATHI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728