DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-17 and 19-22 are currently pending.
Applicant’s amendment filed 04 June 2026 overcomes the prior rejection(s). However, the amendment introduces a new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 10-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 10, “comprises a first polarization film coating and configured” should perhaps read --comprises a first polarization film coating configured--.
Regarding claim 11, “second polarization film coating and configured” should perhaps read --second polarization film coating configured--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-8, 13-14, 17 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotwinski (WO 2020198253 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Slotwinski teaches an apparatus (Fig. 12A, laser radar system 1200; pp. 23-24) comprising:
a laser transmitter (Fig. 12A, probe lasers 1204 and 1206 and fiber end 1218 outputting combined probe and pointing beams; pp. 23-24) comprising [1: …];
a beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter system 1234+1244+1246 comprising PBS 1236 and beam splitter 1244) configured to: receive the first laser signal from the laser transmitter (p. 24, “PBS 1236 receives the combined beams”); provide the first laser signal to the detection area (p. 24, beams propagate through beam splitter 1244 to target 1250); provide a first signal from the detection area (p. 24, returned beam portions are directed by PBS 1236 to detector 1262+1264); and provide a second signal from the detection area (p. 24, returned beam portions are directed by beam splitter 1244 to camera 1257);
a laser detector (Fig. 12A, detector 1262+1264) configured to: receive the first signal from the detection area through the beam optical splitter, wherein the first signal comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (Fig. 12A, detector 1262 and 1264 receives returned beam portions through PBS 1236; p. 24); and [2: …];
an image detector (Fig. 12A, camera 1257) configured to: receive the second signal from the beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, camera 1257 receives imaging radiation through beam splitter 1244; p. 24); and perform imaging using the second signal to generate, [3: …], image information of the detection area (pp. 31-33, generates image information of target scene); and
a processing apparatus (Fig. 20, embedded processor 2006 receives laser radar range data and image data; pp. 32-33) configured to fuse the point cloud information and the image information (pp. 32-33, “this data is combined at the embedded computer”) to generate a detection result of the detection area (pp. 31-32, determine target feature size or dimension), wherein optical paths of the first laser signal, the first signal, and the second signal are coaxial through the beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, optical paths through beam splitter 1244 and lens 1246 are shared by camera 1257 and the probe beams from probe lasers 1204 and 1206; p. 31, “camera 1257 and the probe beams share the same focusing optics”).
The referenced embodiment of Slotwinski does not expressly teach:
(1) [laser transmitter comprising] “a flash array light source configured to simultaneously illuminate an entirety of a detection area with a first laser signal without beam scanning”;
(2) [laser detector configured to] “generate point cloud information of the detection area based on the first signal”; and,
(3) [generate image information of the detection area] “synchronously with the laser detector generating the point cloud information.”
However, Slotwinski in the embodiment of Fig. 18 and further detailed in Fig. 17A teaches:
(1) laser transmitter comprising a flash array light source (Fig. 18, plurality of fiber outputs 1802; p. 29) configured to simultaneously illuminate an entirety of a detection area with a first laser signal (p. 28, “multiple fiber outputs” provide “multiple measurement locations for which measurements can be taken simultaneously”) without beam scanning (Fig. 18, direct multibeam 1808 measurement of object 1812; pp. 28-29, “measurements would be much faster than with conventional approaches that require scanning”); and,
(2) laser detector (Fig. 18, detector array 1810 & 1820) configured to generate point cloud information of the detection area based on the first signal (pp. 28-29, simultaneously emitted probe beams 1808 from multiple fiber outputs 1802 and corresponding detector array processing 1810 & 1820 for each fiber “to establish distance, range, or dimension” and, pp. 30-31, further converted to XYZ coordinates). The embodiment of Slotwinski in Fig. 18 further accounts for the dual wavelength configuration of Fig. 12A, stating in p. 29 “if dual wavelength probe beams are used … an additional detector array can be used”; and,
(3) generate image information of the detection area synchronously with the laser detector generating the point cloud information (pp. 28-29, “simultaneously provide return probe beams associated with a range… and an image of the [target]”; p. 32, “the laser radar ranging system and the confocal camera … measurement systems is continually creating a data stream”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser transmitter and laser detector of Slotwinski Fig. 12A such that scanning components were obviated through the employment of a multi-fiber output array and corresponding detector array, as further taught by Slotwinski Fig. 18, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to acquire range measurements from multiple target locations in parallel rather than relying on sequential beam scanning, thereby yielding a system with improved measurement speed, higher spatial sampling throughput, reduced scan overhead, and faster feature characterization (Slotwinski, pp. 28-29, where multiple fiber outputs and corresponding detector array processing enable simultaneous measurements at multiple target locations and faster measurement than scanning based approaches).
Regarding claim 3, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches: wherein the beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter system 1234+1244+1246) comprises:
a first beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter subsystem 1234 comprising PBS 1236) configured to: transmit the first laser signal; and provide the first signal for the laser detector (p. 24, PBS 1236 transmits the outgoing probe beam and reflects returned beam portions toward detector 1262+1264, as currently modified by detector array 1810 of Fig. 18); and
a second beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter 1244) configured to: receive the first laser signal from the first beam optical splitter; transmit the first laser signal to the detection area; split an optical signal from the detection area into the first signal and the second signal; provide the second signal for the image detector; and provide the first signal for the first beam optical splitter (p. 24, beam splitter 1244 receives the probe beam after PBS 1236, transmits the probe beam toward target 1250, routes returned beam portions back toward PBS 1236, and directs an imaging beam to camera 1257).
Regarding claim 4, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the first beam optical splitter comprises a polarization beam splitter (Fig. 12A, PBS 1236; p. 24).
Regarding claim 5, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the first laser signal falls inside a first wavelength range (pp. 11-12, probe beams greater than 900 nm), wherein the first signal comprises a first optical signal that falls inside the first wavelength range (Fig. 12A, probe laser 1204 produces the probe beam and detector 1262 receives returned probe beam portions; pp. 23-24), and wherein the second signal comprises a second optical signal that falls inside a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range (p. 31, imaging signal is visible light reflected to camera 1257, where the visible spectrum naturally understood to cover 380-750 nm).
Regarding claim 6, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the second signal includes visible light from the detection area (Fig. 12A, beam splitter 1244 reflects visible light from target scene to camera 1257; p. 31).
Regarding claim 7, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the second beam optical splitter comprises a dichroic beam splitter or a semi-transmissive semi-reflective beam splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter 1244; pp. 12 & 24, dichroic beam splitter such as cube or plate beam splitter).
Regarding claim 8, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the first beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, 1234) comprises a polarization beam splitter and a quarter-wave plate, and wherein the quarter-wave plate is disposed between the polarization beam splitter and the second beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, PBS 1236 and quarter waveplate 1239, with quarter waveplate 1239 between PBS 1236 and beam splitter 1244; p. 24).
Regarding claim 13, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches: wherein the apparatus further comprises a controller configured to control at least one of the laser transmitter, the image detector, or the laser detector (pp. 31, 43-44, processing system 1258 coupled to camera 1257 for measurement and image processing algorithms and to control focus adjustments using the autofocus stage).
Regarding claim 14, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 5, and further teaches: further comprising a first lens disposed between the beam optical splitter and a target area (Fig. 12A, objective lens 1248), wherein the first lens is configured to transmit light within a third wavelength range comprising the first wavelength range and an operating wavelength range of the image detector (p. 24, objective lens 1248 is between beam splitter 1244 and target 1250; p. 31, teaches camera 1257 and the probe beams “share the same focusing optics” so the same lens path transmits both probe light and imaging radiation).
Claim 17 is a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds and in view of the same prior art as claim 1.
Claim 19 is a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 3. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds and in view of the same prior art as claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, Slotwinski teaches the method of claim 19, and further teaches: wherein the first beam optical splitter comprises a semi-transmissive semi-reflective beam splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter 1244; pp. 24 & 31, combined beams propagate through beam splitter 1244 toward the target while the same beam splitter reflects visible imaging light from the target to camera 1257).
Regarding claim 21, Slotwinski teaches an apparatus (Fig. 12A, laser radar system 1200; pp. 23-24) comprising:
a laser transmitter (Fig. 12A, probe lasers 1204 and 1206 and fiber end 1218 outputting combined probe and pointing beams; pp. 23-24) comprising [1: …];
a beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter system 1234+1242) comprising:
a first beam optical splitter comprising a polarization beam splitter or a semi-transmissive semi-reflective beam splitter (Fig. 12A, PBS 1236), wherein the first beam optical splitter is configured to: transmit the first laser signal; and provide a first signal for a laser detector (p. 24, PBS 1236 transmits the outgoing probe beam and reflects returned beam portions toward detector 1262+1264); and
a second beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, beam splitter 1244) configured to: receive the first laser signal from the first beam optical splitter; provide the first laser signal to the detection area; split an optical signal from the detection area into the first signal and a second signal; provide the second signal for an image detector; and provide the first signal from the detection area (p. 24, beam splitter 1244 receives the probe beam after PBS 1236, transmits the probe beam toward target 1250, routes returned beam portions back toward PBS 1236, and directs an imaging beam to camera 1257), wherein
optical paths of the first laser signal, the first signal, and the second signal are coaxial through the beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, optical paths through beam splitter 1244 and compound lens 1246+1248 are shared by camera 1257 and the probe beams from probe lasers 1204 and 1206; p. 31, “camera 1257 and the probe beams share the same focusing optics”);
the laser detector configured to (Fig. 12A, detector 1262+1264): receive the first signal from the detection area through the beam optical splitter, wherein the first signal comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (Fig. 12A, detector 1262 and 1264 receives returned beam portions through PBS 1236; p. 24); and [2: …];
the image detector (Fig. 12A, camera 1257) configured to: receive the second signal from the beam optical splitter (Fig. 12A, camera 1257 receives imaging radiation through beam splitter 1244; p. 24); and perform imaging using the second signal to generate, [3: …], image information of the detection area (pp. 31-32, generates image information of target scene); and
a processing apparatus (Fig. 20, embedded processor 2006 receives laser radar range data and image data; p. 32) configured to fuse the point cloud information and the image information (p. 32, “this data is combined at the embedded computer”) to generate a detection result of the detection area (pp. 31-32, determine target feature size or dimension).
The referenced embodiment of Slotwinski does not expressly teach:
(1) [laser transmitter comprising] “a flash array light source configured to simultaneously illuminate an entirety of a detection area with a first laser signal without beam scanning”;
(2) [laser detector configured to] “generate point cloud information of the detection area based on the first signal”; and,
(3) [generate image information of the detection area] “synchronously with the laser detector generating the point cloud information.”
However, Slotwinski in the embodiment of Fig. 18 and further detailed in Fig. 17A teaches:
(1) laser transmitter comprising a flash array light source (Fig. 18, plurality of fiber outputs 1802; p. 29) configured to simultaneously illuminate an entirety of a detection area with a first laser signal (p. 28, “multiple fiber outputs” provide “multiple measurement locations for which measurements can be taken simultaneously”) without beam scanning (Fig. 18, direct multibeam 1808 measurement of object 1812; pp. 28-29, “measurements would be much faster than with conventional approaches that require scanning”); and,
(2) laser detector (Fig. 18, detector array 1810 & 1820) configured to generate point cloud information of the detection area based on the first signal (pp. 28-29, simultaneously emitted probe beams 1808 from multiple fiber outputs 1802 and corresponding detector array processing 1810 & 1820 for each fiber “to establish distance, range, or dimension” and, pp. 30-31, further converted to XYZ coordinates). The embodiment of Slotwinski in Fig. 18 further accounts for the dual wavelength configuration of Fig. 12A, stating in p. 29 “if dual wavelength probe beams are used … an additional detector array can be used”; and,
(3) generate image information of the detection area synchronously with the laser detector generating the point cloud information (pp. 28-29, “simultaneously provide return probe beams associated with a range… and an image of the [target]”; p. 32, “the laser radar ranging system and the confocal camera … measurement systems is continually creating a data stream”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laser transmitter and laser detector of Slotwinski Fig. 12A such that scanning components were obviated through the employment of a multi-fiber output array and corresponding detector array, as further taught by Slotwinski Fig. 18, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to acquire range measurements from multiple target locations in parallel rather than relying on sequential beam scanning, thereby yielding a system with improved measurement speed, higher spatial sampling throughput, reduced scan overhead, and faster feature characterization (Slotwinski, pp. 28-29, where multiple fiber outputs and corresponding detector array processing enable simultaneous measurements at multiple target locations and faster measurement than scanning based approaches).
Claims 9-10 and 22 and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotwinski in view of Nishimori (US 20200300610 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Slotwinski in pp. 3, 24, 43 further teaches the light received by the beam optical splitter is linearly polarized, however does not teach the details for how linear polarization from the laser transmitter is achieved, specifically: further comprising a polarizer disposed between the laser transmitter and the beam optical splitter and configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction. However, Nishimori teaches the limitation in Fig. 5, a polarizer (3) configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction (¶ 52, pass linear S-polarized light) disposed between the laser transmitter (12a) and the beam optical splitter (4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Slotwinski with the teachings of Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to provide the desired polarization from the transmitter for use in the polarization selective routing of the shared optics beam splitter, thereby yielding a system with reduced interference and more stable and improved measurement stability and accuracy (Nishimori, ¶¶ 26, 32, 46-49, 51-54).
Regarding claim 10, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Slotwinski in pp. 3, 24, 43 further teaches the light received by the beam optical splitter is linearly polarized, however does not teach the details for how linear polarization from the laser transmitter is achieved, specifically: wherein the laser transmitter comprises a first polarization film coating and configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction. Nishimori teaches the limitation in Fig. 5, specifically, the laser transmitter (1a) comprises a first polarization film coating (3, as further detailed in Fig. 6, 3a; ¶ 52, polarizing film) and configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction (¶ 52, pass linear S-polarized light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Slotwinski with the teachings of Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to provide the desired polarization from the transmitter for use in the polarization selective routing of the shared optics beam splitter, thereby yielding a system with reduced interference and improved measurement stability and accuracy (Nishimori, ¶¶ 26, 32, 46-49, 51-54).
Regarding claim 22, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 21. Slotwinski in pp. 3, 24, 43 further teaches the light received by the beam optical splitter is linearly polarized, however does not teach the details for how linear polarization from the laser transmitter is achieved, specifically: wherein the laser transmitter further comprises a polarization film coating configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction. Nishimori teaches the limitation in Fig. 5, specifically, the laser transmitter (1a) comprises a first polarization film coating (3, as further detailed in Fig. 6, 3a; ¶ 52, polarizing film) and configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction (¶ 52, pass linear S-polarized light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Slotwinski with the teachings of Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to provide the desired polarization from the transmitter for use in the polarization selective routing of the shared optics beam splitter, thereby yielding a system with reduced interference and improved measurement stability and accuracy (Nishimori, ¶¶ 26, 32, 46-49, 51-54).
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotwinski in view of Hofrichter (US 20220357452 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however does not teach: wherein the laser detector is configured with a second polarization film coating and configured to transmit a signal in a preset polarization direction in the first signal. However, Hofrichter teaches the limitation in Fig. 3, detector 4 and coating 7, where ¶¶ 22 & 34, the detector includes photodetectors with “on chip polarizers associated with the pixels” including a coating with “a layer of polarizers arranged above the pixels”; ¶ 98, imaging sensor may have “polarizers made from a plastic film.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser detector of Slotwinski with the teachings of Hofrichter with a reasonable expectation for success in order to select and transmit a desired polarization component of the returned first signal at the detector, thereby yielding a system with improved polarization selectivity, contrast, signal to noise ratio, and responsivity for the desired polarization state (Hofrichter, ¶¶ 34, 36, 84).
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotwinski in view of Dussan (US 10641897 B1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the image detector comprises at least one of a color camera, a grayscale camera, or a multidimensional camera, and wherein the multidimensional camera comprises at least one of a grayscale polarization camera, a color polarization camera, and a multispectral polarization camera. Dussan teaches the limitation in Col. 18:50-55 & Fig. 4, color polarization camera 406. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image detector of Kim with the teachings of Dussan with a reasonable expectation for success in order to more readily identity and distinguish retroreflective/specular objects and mitigate false signaling, thereby yielding a system with improved measurement accuracy and integrity (Dussan, Col. 16:28-30).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slotwinski in view of Wu (US 20200379114 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 1, however does not teach: further comprising at least one of a second lens, a third lens, or a fourth lens, wherein the second lens is disposed between the laser transmitter and the beam optical splitter, wherein the third lens is disposed between the laser detector and the beam optical splitter, and/or wherein the fourth lens is disposed between the image detector and the beam optical splitter. Wu teaches: comprising a fourth lens (Fig. 3, fourth lens component 1071), wherein the fourth lens is disposed between the image detector and the beam optical splitter (Fig. 3, fourth lens component 1071 disposed between beamsplitter cube 1052 and image sensor 1072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Slotwinski and adopt an optical conditioning lens between the image detector and the beam optical splitter, as taught by Wu, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to direct, collimate, converge, or broaden the received light for the image sensor, thereby enhancing optical coupling and improving the reception of the returned laser and image light (Wu, ¶¶ 12, 42).
Regarding claim 16, Slotwinski teaches the apparatus of claim 3, however does not teach: further comprising a fifth lens and a sixth lens, wherein the fifth lens is disposed between the first beam optical splitter and the second beam optical splitter, and wherein the sixth lens is disposed between the image detector and the second beam optical splitter. Wu teaches: a fifth lens (Fig. 3, first lens component 1051) and a sixth lens (Fig. 3, fourth lens component 1071), wherein the fifth lens is disposed between the first beam optical splitter and the second beam optical splitter (Fig. 3, first lens component 1051 disposed between upstream beamsplitter 102 and downstream beamsplitter cube 1052), and wherein the sixth lens is disposed between the image detector and the second beam optical splitter (Fig. 3, fourth lens component 1071 disposed between beamsplitter cube 1052 and image sensor 1072). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Slotwinski with the optical conditioning lenses as taught by Wu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to direct, collimate, converge, or broaden the received light for the downstream splitter and image sensor, thereby enhancing optical coupling and improving the reception of the returned laser and image light (Wu, ¶¶ 12, 36, 42).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include:
Gilliland (US 20160003946 A1) which discloses a flash 3D lidar with a laser transmitter array, detector array, point cloud generation, overlapping 2D camera, and fusion of 3D and 2D image data for object detection.
Shen (US 20190132572 A1) which discloses a flash lidar and camera system using a dichroic mirror to route reflected laser and visible light to separate detectors for aligned depth image fusion.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENGQING QI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645