DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (lDS) submitted on 01/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6, 13, 17-19 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US20220018940A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2C) comprising:
a laser transmitter (Fig. 2C, emitter 215) comprising a flash array light source (¶ 49, array of laser emitters employing simultaneous flash illumination) configured to emit a first laser signal (Fig. 2C, beam 245A);
a beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter 225+230+232) configured to: receive the first laser signal from the laser transmitter (Fig. 2C, beam 245A from emitter 215 received by beam splitter 225+230+232); provide the first laser signal to a detection area (Fig. 2C, beam splitter 225+230+232 provides beam 245A towards object 205); and provide a second signal from the detection area (Fig. 2C, light 250 from object 205 provided by beam splitter component 225 to sensor 240);
a laser detector (Fig. 2C, detector 235) configured to receive a first signal from the detection area through the beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam 245B reflects from object 205 and traverses beam splitter 225+230+232 to detector 235), wherein the first signal comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (¶ 51); and
an image detector (Fig. 2C, image sensor 240) configured to receive the second signal from the beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, receives signal 250 from beam splitter component 225); and perform imaging using the second signal (¶ 48, imaging from light 250).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the beam optical splitter comprises:
a first beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 230+232) configured to:
transmit the first laser signal (Fig. 2C, beam 245A transmitted via beam splitter component 230+232); and provide the first signal for the laser detector (Fig. 2C, beam 245B provided by beam splitter component 230+232 to detector 235); and
a second beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225) configured to: receive the first laser signal from the first beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, 225 receives beam 245A from beam splitter component 230+232); transmit the first laser signal to the detection area (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225 transmits 245A to object 205); split an optical signal from the detection area (Fig. 2C, signal 250+245B from object 205) into the first signal and the second signal (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225 splits return signal into beam 245B and light 250, corresponding to first signal and second signal, respectively); provide the second signal for the image detector (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225 provides light 250 to sensor 240); and provide the first signal for the first beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225 provides beam 245B to beam splitter component 230+232).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 3, and further discloses: wherein the second signal includes visible light from the detection area (¶¶ 29, 39, visible spectrum).
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses: wherein the apparatus further comprises a controller configured to control at least one of the laser transmitter, the image detector, or the laser detector (¶ 45, processor 295 generates control signals 280 to emitter 215).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a method comprising: controlling a laser transmitter to emit a first laser signal to a detection area through a beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, control signal 280 causing emitter to emit beam 245A to object 205 through beam splitter 225+230+232; ¶¶ 45, 70);
controlling a laser detector to receive, through the beam optical splitter, a first signal from the detection area (Fig. 2C, beam 245B reflected from object 205 received by detector 235 through beam splitter 225+230+232; ¶ 51), wherein the first signal comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (¶ 51);
controlling an image detector to receive, through the beam optical splitter, a second signal from the detection area (Fig. 2C, light 250 from object 205 and traverses beam splitter component 225 to sensor 240); and
obtaining point cloud information of the detection area based on first detection data from the laser detector (¶¶ 49, 56, contour and orientation of object based on point cloud).
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the method of claim 17, and further discloses: obtaining image information of the detection area based on second detection data from the image detector (Fig. 2C, image data 274 from sensor 240; ¶¶ 45, 48, identifies and localizes target); and
obtaining a detection result of the detection area based on the point cloud information and the image information (¶¶ 45, 48-49, 56, object localization from image data 274 used to control direction of beam 245A, yielding point cloud information for resulting determination of object contour and orientation).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the method of claim 17, and further discloses: wherein the beam optical splitter comprises a first beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 230+232) and a second beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225), and wherein the method further comprises:
transmitting the first laser signal to the detection area through the first beam optical splitter and the second beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam 245A transmitted through beam splitter component 230+232 and beam splitter component 225);
splitting an optical signal from the detection area (Fig. 2C, signal 250+245B from object 205) into the first signal and the second signal through the second beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225 splits return signal into beam 245B and light 250, corresponding to first signal and second signal, respectively);
providing the first signal for the laser detector through the first beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 230+232 provides beam 245B to detector 235); and providing the second signal for the image detector (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225 provides light 250 to sensor 240).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses an apparatus (Fig. 2C) comprising:
a laser transmitter (Fig. 2C, emitter 215) configured to emit a first laser signal (Fig. 2C, beam 245A);
a beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter 225+230+232) comprising a polarization beam splitter (Fig. 2C, beam splitter component 225; ¶¶ 44, 47) or a semi-transmissive semi-reflective beam splitter, wherein the beam optical splitter is configured to:
receive the first laser signal from the laser transmitter (Fig. 2C, beam 245A from emitter 215 received by beam splitter 225+230+232);
provide the first laser signal to a detection area (Fig. 2C, beam splitter 225+230+232 provides beam 245A towards object 205); and
provide a second signal from the detection area (Fig. 2C, light 250 from object 205 provided by beam splitter component 225 to sensor 240);
a laser detector (Fig. 2C, detector 235) configured to receive a first signal from the detection area through the beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, beam 245B reflects from object 205 and traverses beam splitter 225+230+232 to detector 235), wherein the first signal comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (¶ 51); and
an image detector (Fig. 2C, image sensor 240) configured to receive the second signal from the beam optical splitter (Fig. 2C, receives signal 250 from beam splitter component 225); and perform imaging using the second signal (¶ 48, imaging from light 250).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Gogolla (US20090153834A1).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the laser detector is configured with a second polarization film coating and configured to transmit a signal in a preset polarization direction in the first signal. Gogolla teaches a laser detector is configured with a second polarization film coating (¶¶ 10, 14-15, 31, polarization filter formed as a foil arranged on photoreceiver) and configured to transmit a signal in a preset polarization direction in the first signal (¶ 11, transmits the components of reflected light which has polarization corresponding to that of the filter). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser detector and the laser transmitter of Kim with the polarization scheme of Gogolla with a reasonable expectation for success in order to optically suppress strong, near-field reflections that can overload the detector, while preserving usable return components, thereby yielding a lidar system with greater dynamic range and measurement sensitivity (Gogolla, ¶¶ 5, 8-12, 28-29, 33-34).
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Dussan (US10641897B1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim discloses the apparatus of claim 1, however does not disclose: wherein the image detector comprises at least one of a color camera, a grayscale camera, or a multidimensional camera, and wherein the multidimensional camera comprises at least one of a grayscale polarization camera, a color polarization camera, and a multispectral polarization camera. Dussan teaches the limitation in Col. 18:50-55 & Fig. 4, color polarization camera 406. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the image detector of Kim with the teachings of Dussan with a reasonable expectation for success in order to more readily identity and distinguish retroreflective/specular objects and mitigate false signaling, thereby yielding a system with improved measurement accuracy and integrity (Dussan, Col. 16:28-30).
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Slotwinski (WO2020198253A1).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the method of claim 19, however does not disclose: wherein the first beam optical splitter comprises a polarization beam splitter or a semi-transmissive semi-reflective beam splitter. Slotwinski teaches the limitation in Fig. 6A, where first beam optical splitter 609 comprising a polarization beam splitter 612. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first beam optical splitter of Kim and adopted the optical construction of beam optical splitter 609 as taught by Slotwinski with a reasonable expectation for success in order to reduce signal variation and enhance detection sensitivity, thereby yielding a lidar system with improved ranging measurement reliability (Slotwinski, ¶¶ 5, 13, 76, 90).
Claims 1, 3-10 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holleczek (DE102017222614A1) in view of Nishimori (US20200300610A1).
Regarding claim 1, Holleczek discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3) comprising:
a laser transmitter (Fig. 3, transmitter 12) comprising a […] light source (¶ 41, laser source) configured to emit a first laser signal (¶ 42, light of a specific wavelength emitted by transmitter 12);
a beam optical splitter (Fig. 3, beam splitter 34+36; ¶ 41) configured to: receive the first laser signal from the laser transmitter (Fig. 3, emitted light from transmitter 12 received by beam splitter 34+36; ¶ 41); provide the first laser signal to a detection area (Fig. 3, emitted light from transmitter 12 provided by beam splitter 34+36 towards object 50; ¶ 42); and provide a second signal from the detection area (Fig. 3, scattered light from object 50 provided by beam splitter component 36 towards camera 20; ¶ 44);
a laser detector (Fig. 3, receiver 14) configured to receive a first signal from the detection area through the beam optical splitter (Fig. 3, light of a specific wavelength emitted by transmitter 12 reflects from object 50 and traverses via beam splitter 34+36 to receiver 14; ¶¶ 42-43), wherein the first signal comprises a reflected signal corresponding to the first laser signal (¶¶ 42-44, only light of a specific wavelength emitted by transmitter 12 reaches receiver 14); and
an image detector (Fig. 3, detector component of camera 20; ¶ 44) configured to receive the second signal from the beam optical splitter (Fig. 3, scattered light from object 50 provided by beam splitter component 36 towards camera 20; ¶ 44); and perform imaging using the second signal (¶ 44, imaging of the environment).
Although Holleczek discloses in ¶ 41 that transmitter 12 of LiDAR system 10 in Fig. 3 employs a laser light source, the Holleczek does not disclose the employment of: [a] “flash array” [light source]. However, Nishimori teaches the limitation in Fig. 2, light source 12a as detailed in ¶ 29 as 2D emitter array and ¶¶ 24, 49 disclosing flash illumination for the laser array. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser transmitter of Holleczek with the teachings of Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to illuminate an array of measurement points concurrently and increase measurement density, thereby yielding a lidar system with more complete scene coverage and greater situational awareness (Nishimori, ¶¶ 5-7, 24, 29-30, 49).
Regarding claim 3, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches: wherein the beam optical splitter comprises:
a first beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, beam splitter component 34; ¶ 41) configured to:
transmit the first laser signal (Holleczek, Fig. 3, light from transmitter 12 transmitted by beam splitter component 34; ¶ 41); and
provide the first signal for the laser detector (Holleczek, Fig. 3, reflected light provided by beam splitter component 34 to receiver 14; ¶ 43); and
a second beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, beam splitter component 36; ¶ 41) configured to:
receive the first laser signal from the first beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, light from transmitter 12 received by beam splitter component 36 via beam splitter component 34; ¶ 41);
transmit the first laser signal to the detection area (Holleczek, Fig. 3, beam splitter component 36 transmits emitted light towards object 50; ¶ 42);
split an optical signal from the detection area into the first signal and the second signal (Holleczek, Fig. 3 & ¶¶ 42-44, scattered light from object 50 split into light directed to receiver 14 and light directed to camera 20, corresponding to first and second signal, respectively);
provide the second signal for the image detector (Holleczek, Fig. 3, beam splitter component 36 provides light of second signal to camera 20; ¶ 44); and
provide the first signal for the first beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, beam splitter component 36 provides light of first signal to beam splitter component 34; ¶ 42-43).
Regarding claim 4, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 3. The current combination does not teach: wherein the first beam optical splitter comprises a polarization beam splitter or a semi-transmissive semi-reflective beam splitter. However, Nishimori further teaches in Fig. 2, first beam optical splitter (2+4) comprising a polarization beam splitter (4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first beam optical splitter of Holleczek in view of Nishimori and adopted the optical construction of beam splitter (Fig. 2, 2+4) of Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to provide a controllable way to distinguish and selectively route transmitted and reflected light through common optics, avoiding optical loss and leakage of conventional beam splitters, thereby yielding a lidar system with improved optical efficiency and detection sensitivity (Nishimori, ¶¶ 26, 32, 46, 49).
Regarding claim 5, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the first laser signal falls inside a first wavelength range (Holleczek, ¶ 42, “light of a specific wavelength emitted by the transmitting unit 12”), wherein the first signal comprises a first optical signal that falls inside the first wavelength range (Holleczek, ¶¶ 42-44, receiver 14 only receives light of the specific wavelength emitted by transmitter 12 as out of band wavelengths have been separated by beam splitter component 36), and wherein the second signal comprises a second optical signal that falls inside a second wavelength range different from the first wavelength range (Holleczek, ¶¶ 42-44, spectral components outside of the specific wavelength emitted by transmitter 12 separated by beam splitter component 36 for detection by camera 20).
Regarding claim 6, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the second signal includes visible light from the detection area (Holleczek, ¶¶ 25 & 44, visible light).
Regarding claim 7, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: wherein the second beam optical splitter comprises a dichroic beam splitter or a semi-transmissive semi-reflective beam splitter (Holleczek, ¶ 42, dichroic mirrors).
Regarding claim 8, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 3. The current combination does not teach: wherein the first beam optical splitter comprises a polarization beam splitter and a quarter-wave plate, and wherein the quarter-wave plate is disposed between the polarization beam splitter and the second beam optical splitter. However, Nishimori teaches in Fig. 2 a first beam optical splitter (2+4) comprising a polarization beam splitter (4) and quarter-wave plate (21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first beam optical splitter of Holleczek in view of Nishimori with the further teachings of Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to provide a controllable way to distinguish and selectively route transmitted and reflected light through common optics, avoiding optical loss and leakage of conventional beam splitters, thereby yielding a lidar system with improved optical efficiency and detection sensitivity (Nishimori, ¶¶ 26, 32, 46, 49). This combination of Holleczek in view of Nishimori further teaches: wherein the quarter-wave (Nishimori, Fig. 2, 21) plate is disposed between the polarization beam splitter (Nishimori, Fig. 2, 4) and the second beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, 36).
Regarding claim 9, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The current combination does not teach: further comprising a polarizer disposed between the laser transmitter and the beam optical splitter and configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction. However, Nishimori teaches the limitation in Fig. 5, a polarizer (3, further detailed in Fig. 6) configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction (¶ 52, pass S-polarized light) disposed between the laser transmitter (12a) and the beam optical splitter (2+4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the laser transmitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, 12) and beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, 34) of Holleczek in view of Nishimori with the polarizer (Fig. 5, 3) and beam splitter (Fig. 5, 2+4) as further taught by Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to provide the desired polarization from the transmitter for use in polarization-selective routing through the shared optics beam splitter, thereby yielding a lidar system with reduced interference and more stable and improved measurement stability and accuracy (Nishimori, ¶¶ 26, 32, 46-49, 51-54).
Regarding claim 10, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The current combination does not teach: wherein the laser transmitter comprises a first polarization film coating and configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction. However, Nishimori teaches the limitation in Fig. 5, the laser transmitter (1a) comprises a first polarization film coating (3, as further detailed in Fig. 6, 3a; ¶ 52, polarizing film) and configured to pass a laser signal in a polarization direction (¶ 52, pass S-polarized light). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser transmitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, 12) and beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, 34) of Holleczek in view of Nishimori, with the polarizer (Fig. 5, 3) and beam splitter (Fig. 5, 2+4) as further taught by Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to provide the desired polarization from the transmitter for use in polarization-selective routing through the shared optics beam splitter, thereby yielding a lidar system with reduced interference and improved measurement stability and accuracy (Nishimori, ¶¶ 26, 32, 46-49, 51-54).
Regarding claim 13, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 1. The current combination does not teach: wherein the apparatus further comprises a controller configured to control at least one of the laser transmitter, the image detector, or the laser detector. However, Nishimori teaches a laser intensity controller 50 in ¶¶ 56-59. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Holleczek in view of Nishimori with the additional teachings of Nishimori with a reasonable expectation for success in order to regulate the output intensity of the emitted light such that a constant level of illumination is maintained, thereby yielding a system with greater measurement stability (Nishimori, ¶¶ 58-63).
Regarding claim 14, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 5, and further teaches: further comprising a first lens disposed between the beam optical splitter and a target area, wherein the first lens is configured to transmit light within a third wavelength range comprising the first wavelength range and an operating wavelength range of the image detector (Holleczek, Fig. 3, lens 37 transmits light for both receiver 14 and camera 20; ¶¶ 41-42).
Regarding claim 15, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches: further comprising at least one of a second lens, a third lens, or a fourth lens, wherein the second lens is disposed between the laser transmitter and the beam optical splitter, wherein the third lens is disposed between the laser detector and the beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, lens 37; ¶¶ 41-42), and/or wherein the fourth lens is disposed between the image detector and the beam optical splitter.
Regarding claim 16, Holleczek in view of Nishimori teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches: further comprising a fifth lens and a sixth lens, wherein the fifth lens is disposed between the first beam optical splitter and the second beam optical splitter (Holleczek, Fig. 3, lens 35; ¶ 41), and wherein the sixth lens is disposed between the image detector and the second beam optical splitter (Holleczek, ¶ 44, beamforming optics of camera 20 between beam splitter component 36 and the detector component of camera 20).
Conclusion
Prior art made of record though not relied upon in the present basis of rejection are noted in the attached PTO 892 and include: Imaki (US20210157000A1) which discloses a coaxial lidar employing a laser transmitter array, polarization beam splitter and quarter waveplate. Rodrigo (US20160084945A1) which discloses a coaxial lidar system employing polarization beam splitter and quarter waveplate. Hayes (US20020109829A1) which discloses a lidar system employing a polarization beam splitter, quarter waveplate, and a laser transmitter comprising a thin film polarizer. Phillips (US11275155B1) which discloses a coaxial lidar employing a laser transmitter array with flash illumination.
/ZHENGQING QI/Examiner, Art Unit 3645