DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1 – 14, 16 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ihsan et al. (US 2017/0240470) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Ihsan et al. (US 2017/0240470)
In regards to claim 1, Ihsan teaches geopolymer coating composition for building construction and a coated component for use in building construction comprising the coating and a method of coating comprising applying a curable geopolymer mixture to the surface of the component and curing the mixture (abstract). The geopolymer is prepared from a curable mixture comprising about 15% to about 35% of metakaolin, about 20% to about 55% by weight of aqueous alkali metal silicate solution which comprises from 15 to 45% of alkali metal silicate [0044]. The composition comprises fibrous materials such as glass fibres, etc., at from 4 to 20% of the composition [0045]. A filler may be present at up to 55% (i.e., 0 to 55%) in the composition [0060]. The fillers may be any material such as glass microspheres, aerogels, aeroclays, perlite (i.e., about 1% in one embodiment), vermiculite, wollastonite (i.e., about 3.2% in one embodiment), soluble starch (i.e., about 0.4%) etc. [0039, 0067, 0077]. Optionally, up to 30% of muscovite mica (an aluminosilicate) also provides filler of the claim [0044]. Since fillers are optional, the claim is either anticipated or is at least obvious.
In regards to claims 2, 3, Ihsan teaches the composition comprising the alkali metal silicates such as sodium and potassium alkali metal silicates [0054].
In regards to claim 4, Ihsan teaches the composition comprising water [0053].
In regards to claim 5, Ihsan teaches the composition optionally comprising fillers and combinations such as muscovite (mica) which is an aluminosilicate, wollastonite (i.e., wollostonite), perlite etc. as previously stated.
In regards to claims 6 – 9, Ihsan teaches the composition having the claimed limitations as previously stated.
In regards to claim 10, Ihsan teaches the composition having fillers such as wollastonite, microspheres, etc., which would be expected to have particle sizes in the claimed range.
In regards to claims 10 – 13, Ihsan teaches the composition which is cured. The process of curing does not carry patentable weight, or is at least provided when the cured product of the claim is taught.
In regards to claim 14, Ihsan teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients which has similar ingredients and would be expected to exhibit similar properties as claimed.
In regards to claim 16, Ihsan teaches the composition having the same ingredients which are blended together and cured. Curing may occur at ambient temperatures [0059]. While the specific process parameters such as reaction temperature, order of mixing, time interval for curing are not particularly recited, they are parameters that are optimizable and persons of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claim was filed would have found obvious.
In regards to claims 17 – 20, Ihsan teaches the composition having the claimed ingredients which are blended together and cured and useful as a coating on a substrate and/or provides a composite having fibers such as fiber glass etc., as previously stated.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3, 9, 11 – 18, 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1 – 8 of copending Application No. 18/364,271. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches composition for coating comprising filler, geopolymer binder comprising metakaolin and alkali metal silicate in a solvent, which is used as an overlay on paper and cured at about 60 to 100℃ and provides a thickness of up to about 100 gsm and similar properties as the claimed composition. The process conditions such as process of adding and mixing the recited ingredients in various steps and at specific lengths of times, or the use of containers are routine process steps that would have been obvious to persons of ordinary skill in the art and can routinely be optimized
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/TAIWO OLADAPO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771