DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 15, and 19 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-9, 12-19, and 21-23 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 8/26/205, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 7-9, and 12-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Tschakarow and claims 4, 5, 18, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Tschakarow in view of Engeberg, Gund, and Li have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendments. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of claims 1-3, 7-9, and 12-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Tschakarow in view of Beni and claims 4, 5, 18, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Tschakarow in view of Beni, Engeberg, Gund, and Li as presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschakarow (EP 2988107 A1, hereinafter Tschakarow) in view of Beni et al. (US Pat. No. 4,588,348, hereinafter Beni).
Regarding claim 1, Tschakarow teaches a system with force detection (see Fig. 2, all elements), the system comprising: first magnetically sensitive material (2.1); second magnetically sensitive material (2.2); a medium that contains that first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material (see Fig. 2, medium 1 that contains first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and second magnetically sensitive material 2.2), wherein the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material are embedded in the medium (see Fig. 2, first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 embedded in medium 1 as shown); and one or more sensors integrated with the medium and configured to provide a discernible signature indicative of a force applied to a surface of the medium based on relative positions of the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material (see Fig. 2 and 4b; see also translation page 7, para. 5 though page 8, para. 5, sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. adhesively integrated via intermediate layer 3 and provide discernable signal of force applied to the surface of medium 1 based on the relative positions of the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 as shown in Fig. 4b and described), wherein the discernible signature is based on a combination of the medium, the first magnetically sensitive material, the second magnetically sensitive material, and the one or more sensors (see Fig. 2 and 4b; see also translation page 7, para. 5 though page 8, para. 5, discernable signature as shown in Fig. 4b based on the combination of the medium 1, the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1, the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2, and the sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. as shown in Fig. 4b and described).
Tschakarow fails to specifically teach a container that contains the medium, the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material.
Beni teaches a system for force detection (see Fig. 10, all elements), wherein the system includes a first magnetically sensitive material and second magnetically sensitive material embedded in a medium (see Fig. 10 and col. 7, lines 4-19, first (left most) magnetically sensitive material 44 and second (second to the left most) magnetically sensitive material 44 embedded in a medium 45); and further including a container that includes the medium (see Fig. 10 and col. 7, lines 4-19, medium 45 included within a container 46).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system of Tschakarow with the container as described by Beni. This would allow for the medium containing the magnetically sensitive material to be protected by the additional container layers as suggested by Beni (see col. 7, lines 4-19).
Regarding claim 2, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the first magnetically sensitive material (2.1) and the second magnetically sensitive material (2.2) are in different planes in an initial position (see Fig. 2 and translation page 7, para. 6, curved rigid intermediate layer 3.1 places the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 in different planes in an initial position as shown), and wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect the force based on alignment of the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material (see Fig. 2 and 4b; see also translation page 7, para. 5 though page 8, para. 5, sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. detect force applied to the surface of medium 1 based on the relative positions of the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 as shown in Fig. 4b and described).
Regarding claim 3, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material are aligned in an initial position (see Fig. 2, the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2. are aligned in an initial position, wherein the Examiner considers that the magnetically sensitive materials 2.1, 2.2., etc. are aligned relative to the distance from the surfaces of the medium 1), and wherein the one or more sensors are configured to detect the force based on the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material being in different planes (see Fig. 2 and 4b; see also translation page 7, para. 5 though page 8, para. 5, sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. detect force applied to the surface of medium 1 based on the relative positions of the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 as shown in Fig. 4b and described; wherein the sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. detect force on the medium 1 which is on a rigid curved surface and thus the magnetically sensitive materials 2.1, 2.2, etc. are in different planes).
Regarding claim 7, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the first magnetically sensitive material is embedded in a film or a flexible substrate, and wherein the medium comprises the film or the flexible substrate (see Fig. 2, first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 embedded in flexible substrate medium 1 as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the first magnetically sensitive material comprises a solid magnetic structure (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 2, use of permanent magnets for the magnetically sensitive material).
Regarding claim 9, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the one or more sensors comprise at least one patterned magnetic sensing structure (see Fig. 2, sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. form patterned magnetic sensing structure).
Regarding claim 12 Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the container (or medium) contains inert material configured to interact with the container (or medium) and first magnetically sensitive material (see Fig. 2 and translation page 7, para. 2, medium 1 is an open-cell foam made of plastic, which is magnetically inert).
Regarding claim 13, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material have substantially a same composition (see Fig. 2 and translation page 3, para. 2, each of the magnetically sensitive materials may be identical).
Regarding claim 14, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the one or more sensors are configured to detect force by at least detecting a direction of the force (see translation page 2, para. 4 through page 3, para. 1, system used to determine location, direction, and amount of force applied to the medium 1).
Regarding claim 15, Tschakarow teaches a method of force detection (see Fig. 2 and 4b; see also translation page 7, para. 5 though page 8, para. 5, method of force detection described), the method comprising: providing a medium with first magnetically sensitive material and second magnetically sensitive material therein in an initial position (see Fig. 2, medium 1 with first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 therein in an initial position as shown), wherein the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material are embedded in the medium (see Fig. 2, with first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 embedded within medium 1 as shown); and detecting, using one or more sensors (4.1, 4.2), a force applied to the medium based on whether the first magnetically sensitive material is aligned with the second magnetically sensitive material in a second position, wherein the second position is different than the initial position (see Fig. 2, the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2. are aligned in an initial position, wherein the Examiner considers that the magnetically sensitive materials 2.1, 2.2., etc. are aligned relative to the distance from the surfaces of the medium 1; see also translation page 7, para. 5 though page 8, para. 5, sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. detect force applied to the surface of medium 1 based on the relative positions of the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 are aligned according to initial positions as shown in Fig. 4b and described).
Tschakarow fails to specifically teach a container enclosing the medium, the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material.
Beni teaches a method and system for force detection (see Abstract; see also Fig. 10, all elements), wherein the system and method includes a first magnetically sensitive material and second magnetically sensitive material embedded in a medium (see Fig. 10 and col. 7, lines 4-19, first (left most) magnetically sensitive material 44 and second (second to the left most) magnetically sensitive material 44 embedded in a medium 45); and further including a container enclosing the medium (see Fig. 10 and col. 7, lines 4-19, medium 45 included within a container 46).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the method of Tschakarow with the container as described by Beni. This would allow for the medium containing the magnetically sensitive material to be protected by the additional container layers as suggested by Beni (see col. 7, lines 4-19).
Regarding claim 16, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 15.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the first magnetically sensitive material is in a different plane than the second magnetically sensitive material in the initial position (see Fig. 2 and translation page 7, para. 6, curved rigid intermediate layer 3.1 places the first magnetically sensitive material 2.1 and the second magnetically sensitive material 2.2 in different planes in an initial position as shown).
Regarding claim 17, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 15.
Furthermore, Tschakarow teaches that the one or more sensors comprise a patterned magnetic sensing structure integrated with the container (or medium) (see Fig. 2, sensors 4.1, 4.2, etc. form patterned magnetic sensing structure integrated adhesively with the medium 1 as shown and described).
Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschakarow in view of Beni as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Engeberg (US PGPUB 2024/0272019 A1, hereinafter Engeberg).
Regarding claim 4, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Tschakarow as modified by Beni above fails to teach that the medium is a fluid, and wherein the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in the fluid.
Engeberg teaches a force sensor (see Abstract; see also Fig. 1 and 3), including a first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in a fluid (see Fig. 1 and [0058], ferromagnetic fluid (FMF) 24 considered as the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles (magnetic particles) suspended in a carrier fluid, e.g. oil, solvent, etc.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tschakarow as modified by Beni above such that the first magnetically sensitive material was a ferromagnetic fluid as described by Engeberg. This allows for high resolution force sensing for robotic applications as suggested by Engeberg (see [0006]).
Regarding claim 19, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 15.
Tschakarow as modified by Beni above fails to teach that the medium is a fluid, and wherein the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in the fluid.
Engeberg teaches a force sensor (see Abstract; see also Fig. 1 and 3), including a first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in a fluid (see Fig. 1 and [0058], ferromagnetic fluid (FMF) 24 considered as the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles (magnetic particles) suspended in a carrier fluid, e.g. oil, solvent, etc.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the method of Tschakarow as modified by Beni above such that the first magnetically sensitive material was a ferromagnetic fluid as described by Engeberg. This allows for high resolution force sensing for robotic applications as suggested by Engeberg (see [0006]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschakarow in view of Beni as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gund et al. (DE 102009040486 B3, hereinafter Gund).
Regarding claim 5, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Tschakarow as modified by Beni above fails to teach that the medium is a gel, and wherein the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in the gel.
Gund teaches a system with force detection (see Abstract; see also Fig. 1; see also translation page 4, line 25 through page 6, line 39, discussion of force detection system), the system comprising: first magnetically sensitive material (see Fig. 1, magnetically sensitive particles 4, wherein one of the particles within the north end 2 of the main body 1 is considered a first magnetically sensitive material 4); second magnetically sensitive material (see Fig. 1, magnetically sensitive particles 4, wherein one of the particles within the south end 3 of the main body 1 is considered a second magnetically sensitive material 4); and one or more sensors configured to detect a force based on relative positions of the first magnetically sensitive material and the second magnetically sensitive material (see Fig. 1, Hall sensor 5 determined force based on the relative positioned of the first magnetically sensitive material 4 within the north end 2 and the second magnetically sensitive material 4 of the south end 3 of the main body main body 1; see also translation page 5, lines 5-10, description of device operation); wherein the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in a gel (see translation page 4, line 28-32, the first magnetically sensitive material 4 comprises magnetically sensitive particles 4 in a foam as described).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Tschakarow as modified by Beni above such that the magnetically sensitive particles were within a gel in a similar manner to the foam of Gund. This is because one of ordinary art would have chosen the material for particle suspension based on the compressibility and thus the range of force sensing required. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tschakarow in view of Beni as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US PGPUB 2023/0400292 A1, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 18, Tschakarow as modified by Beni above teaches all of the limitations of claim 15.
Tschakarow as modified by Beni above fails to specifically teach that that the force is a shear force.
Li teaches a system and method for force detection (see Abstract; see also Fig. 2A-B, system 200) including a magnetically sensitive material (202) included within a container (206), such that the force is applied to a surface of the container, and one or more sensors are integrated with the container (see [0060], system 200 includes container (elastomer) 206 which contains the magnetically sensitive material 202 and sensors 208); wherein the method may include using multiple sensors to determine shear force acting on the first and second magnetically sensitive materials (see Fig. 2A-B; see also [0074]-[0075], use of multiple sensors 208 may determine shear force).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the method of Tschakarow as modified by Beni above such that so as to be able to measure normal and shear forces as further described by Li. This would improve the functionality of the device by measuring the force and direction of force as is known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 21-23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 6, Tschakarow in view of Beni, Engeberg, Gund, and Li represents the best art of record. However, Tschakarow in view of Beni, Engeberg, Gund, and Li fails to encompass all of the limitations of currently amended independent claim 6.
Specifically, Tschakarow in view of Beni, Engeberg, Gund, and Li fails to critically teach that the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in a phase change material.
Hence the best prior art or record fails to teach the invention as set forth in independent claim 6 and the examiner can find no teachings for a system with force detection wherein the first magnetically sensitive material comprises magnetically sensitive particles in a phase change material, nor reasons within the cited prior art or on his own to combine the elements of these references other than the applicant's own reasoning to fully encompass the current pending claims.
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855