DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (Claim 10) in the reply filed on July 24, 2025, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9, and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 24, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on October 20, 2023, and May 02, 2024, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Independent claim 10 recites in line 3 “applying a geopolymer composition of claim 1 to the brick substrates to form a mixture” referring back to withdrawn claim 1. Claim 10 should be amended to explicitly incorporate the recited subject matter of the withdrawn claim 1 (i.e., “a geopolymeric composition wherein the geopolymer composition comprises a metakaolin; a metal silicate in a solvent; and at least one filler”). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIAN, Shu-xian (Machine English translation of CN 110304870 A; “Jian”), in view of McGee (US Pat. No. 3,989,795), and further in view of Neuschaeffer et al. (US Pat. No. 4,533,393), and/or Blackstock et al. (US 2012/0260594 A1).
Regarding claim 10. Jian teaches a method for preparing a refractory brick (e.g., “high temperature resistance” lines 207-210), comprising:
loading a plurality of brick substrates (“construction waste coarse aggregate is one or more of waste concrete block, waste cement mortar, crushed stone block, waste residue soil, waste brick head and waste tile” lines 84-86; see step a) lines 97-98);
applying a geopolymer composition (e.g., “sludge solidifying agent is prepared by mixing metakaolin and a skeleton material and adding an alkali activator” lines 64-65, 120-121) to the brick substrates to form a mixture (lines 64-65, 97-98), wherein the geopolymer composition comprises a metakaolin (lines 64-65, 81-82, 144-145, 202-205); a metal silicate in a solvent (e.g., “sodium silicate or potassium silicate” lines 67-79, “sodium silicate and KOH” lines 250-254); and at least one filler (e.g., “skeleton material is volcanic stone, river sand or cinder” line 65, “The skeleton materials are rich in SiO2 and Al2O3 ore materials and waste materials” lines 202-203, “first additive is silica, titanium dioxide or bamboo charcoal, and the second additive is calcium silicate, oxidation. One or more of calcium, barium sulfate, calcium sulfate, magnesium chloride, polyaluminum chloride, polyferric chloride, aluminum sulfate, and polyaluminum ferric chloride” lines 164-179);
stirring the mixture for about 2 minutes to about 30 minutes until homogeneous (lines 230-231, “mixed and stirred for 5 min to 10 min” lines 250-257 – overlapping with the claimed range of “2 minutes to about 30 minutes”);
pouring the mixture into a mold (“pouring the slurry obtained by mixing and stirring into a container” line 259 – under the broadest reasonable interpretation a “container” is analogous to “a mold”);
pressing upward at a pressure of about 6000 psi to form a brick (“Step a) The stamper is mechanically pressurized, and the pressure of mechanical pressurization is 30 MPa to 50 MPa” lines 263-270; Notice that 30MPa = 4351.13 psi, and 50MPa = 7251.89 psi, overlapping with the claimed “about 6000 psi”);
curing the brick at a temperature of about ambient temperature to 180 °C to form the refractory brick (“steam curing temperature is from 105 °C to 180 °C” lines 97-116, 259-286).
Jian does not explicitly disclose the pressing at a pressure of about 6000 psi to form a brick being “upward”, and curing the brick at a temperature of about 90 °C.
Nonetheless, Jian recognizes that lower curing temperatures are possible (see lines 259-261 “room temperature curing”; Jian further discloses drying temperatures ranges about 75 °C to 105 °C lines 284-286). See MPEP 2144.01.
As to the limitation “pressing upward at a pressure of about 6000 psi to form a brick.”
From the outset, methods of upward pressing refractory bricks and apparatuses for its practice are known in the art, e.g., McGee (Col. 3, lines 30-37, Col. 3, lines 51-68, cont. Col. 4, lines 1-5, Col. 7, lines 64-68, cont. Col. 8, lines 1-3, and FIGs. 5-6). Furthermore, changing the relative mode of pressing motion e.g., from being applied downward to be applied upward for the pressing step would have not change the predictable outcome of the pressing step (the formation of a brick at a pressure of about 6000 psi), and would be “obvious to try” to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (e.g., by using the press apparatus of McGee), since routine experimentation to optimize a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e., pressing upward, downward, sideways, etc.) with a reasonable expectation of success is prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I) (Rationale E).
As to the limitation “curing the brick at a temperature of about 90 °C.
In the same field of endeavor of press-moldable, aqueous molding compositions based on alkali-containing, inorganic ingredients which form molded parts by casting or press-molding in molds and by heating, as well as to the process for manufacturing molded parts from these molding compositions (Col. 1, lines 6-68, cont. Col. 2, lines 1-31), Neuschaeffer et al. teaches that “The temperature of the curing processes and the curing periods are considerably dependent on the composition of the molding material and, in some cases, on the type and amount of fillers… The curing temperatures generally range from 50 °C to 200 °C. If initial curing is performed in the mold, temperatures of 50 °C – 150 °C, preferably 60 °C – 90 °C are required. [overlapping with the claimed range of about 90 °C]. Unmolding can be followed, if desired, by a further curing step at 80 °C – 200 °C. Customary curing periods are between 0.1 and 5 hours. The required pressure exerted during press-molding ranges, depending on the consistency of the molding compositions, from 10 to 500 bar [that is, from 145.038 psi to 7,251.89 psi – overlapping with the claimed range of about 6,000 psi] (see Neuschaeffer et al. Col. 5, lines 58-68, cont. Col. 6, lines 1-6, and Col. 8, lines 4-35).
Similarly, in the same field of endeavor of geopolymeric composites, Blackstock et al. teaches methods of manufacturing geopolymeric structural building unit (e.g., bricks [0007]) using a geopolymeric cement [0015] composition comprising metal silicates in a solvent [0016-0019], metakaolin [0021], and fillers (see Blackstock et al. [0043, 0066, 0077, 0099, 0101-0103]);
Blackstock et al. at [0039] discloses that for geopolymer composites comprising fillers such as fibers, “The working temperature and curing process is dependent on the type of fibre: for E glass it is room temperature for both; for carbon it is <400 °C. and room temperature up to 180 °C, respectively, for steel it is <750 °C, and 80 to 180 °C, respectively; and for SiC it is 1000 °C and 80-1800 °C, respectively. (Ref. 3).”
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the method for preparing a refractory brick of Jian by having selected the portion of Neuschaeffer et al. and/or Blackstock et al. curing temperature range that corresponds to the claimed range. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the curing temperature in view of the teachings of Neuschaeffer et al. and/or Blackstock et al. for the purpose of e.g., optimizing the curing process for an specific refractory brick composition comprising fillers such as fibers, as taught by Blackstock et al., since Neuschaefer et al. and Blackstock et al. both teach that the temperature of the curing processes and the curing periods are dependent on the composition of the molding material and, in some cases, on the type and amount of fillers. In re Malagari, 184 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974). See MPEP § 2144.05 (I):
In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GONG et al. (US 2019/0084882 A1): geopolymer composition having a controllable setting time comprising: at least one reactive aluminosilicate; at least one retarder; and at least one alkali silicate activator solution.
Rose (US Pat. No. 4,563,144): Hydraulic block press with upward pressing ram, see Col. 2, lines 50-56 “Box section 3, when positioned with bearing surface 9 above mold cavity 4, transfers compressive forces to the crown 7 and vertical side members 6 when the press pad 5 moves upwardly to compress the stock in the mold cavity. FIGS. 7, 8, 9, and 10 show the sequence operation.”
/EDGAREDMANUEL TROCHE/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742