DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 102/103 rejections, Applicant argues ‘…The gates of all the transistors 215A-C, 25 are neither connected to the voltage source nor are they connected to the load…’ and that original claim 5 and amended claim 1 ‘…refer to respective resistances of all these MOSFET switches that exist between the voltage source terminals VST and the load terminals LT…’ Examiner disagrees that this is what the claims require. During patent examination, the pending claims must be “given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.” MPEP 2111. Although giving claims their broadest reasonable interpretation must take into account any definitions given in the Specification, In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054 (Fed. Cir. 1997), it is improper to read into the claims limitations from examples given in the Specification. In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319, 321-22 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Specifically, Applicant has not claimed ‘a resistor’ on the gate side of each transistor as shown in figure 1 of Applicant’s specification. Rather the claim merely requires resistance between the voltage source and load. Specifically, the claim only requires that one MOSFET disconnecting switch not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch has a resistance between the VS (voltage source) and the load (RLast) which is what is shown in fig. 2B. Each transistor 215A-C has some resistance which is present in any MOSFET switch. Further, MOSFET 25 has additional resistive components including overvoltage claiming and overcurrent limiting which have a higher resistance than the resistance present in 215A-C. In other words, Applicant is attempting to import limitations that are not present in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Illing (2021/0126632).
Regarding claim 1, Illing discloses a disconnector assembly for an on-board voltage network of a vehicle including for optionally connecting a voltage source to a load and for isolating the voltage source from the load, the disconnector assembly comprising: (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, load; para. 80 automobile (e.g. vehicle; on-board))
a voltage source terminal region and a load terminal region; (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, terminal region (part that connects to VS) and load (part that connects to load; see also para. 31-33)
a plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches mutually connected in parallel; (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 32, 37; power transistors (e.g. disconnecting switches) in parallel implemented as MOSFETs; para. 40; switching on and off)
at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches being configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch for delivering a current variable representative for a current flowing between said voltage source terminal region and said load terminal region; (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 31; part 231 with power transistor, 25, which controls current flowing from voltage supply to the load region and has control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. monitoring); para. 33; protective functions and diagnostic functions derive information about currents (e.g. current variable) voltage, etc.; para. 39; part 25 can be implemented as MOSFET)
at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches being not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch. (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 32, 37; power transistors (e.g. disconnecting switches) in parallel implemented as MOSFETs; para. 40; switching on and off; 215A,B, C do not have control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. not configured as current monitoring))
wherein each one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches comprises a voltage source terminal connected to said voltage source terminal region; a load terminal connected to said load terminal region; and, a gate terminal connected to a control unit; (See Illing fig. 2b; 23 which has MOSFET 25 and is connected to VS, voltage source; OUT0 which is connected to load RLast; and gate is connected to gate controller+charge pump which is connected to driver logic)
wherein said at least one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, in a conducing state thereof connecting said voltage source to said load, (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has a conducting state where VS is connected to OUT0 which is connected to Rlast (e.g. load))
has a voltage monitoring disconnecting switch resistance between said voltage source terminal and said load terminal thereof; and, (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has a conducting state where VS is connected to OUT0 which is connected to Rlast (e.g. load))
wherein said current monitoring disconnecting switch resistance is greater than the MOSFET disconnecting switch resistance. (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has an overvoltage clamping and overcurrent limiting on its gate controller which is absent from 215A-C and hence there is more resistance at the gate of 25 than 215A-C; and these are between voltage source, VS, and the Rlast load)
wherein said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, in the conducting state thereof connecting said voltage source to said load and (See Illing fig. 2a, b; 215A-C are not configured as monitoring disconnecting switches and connects VS to Rlast (e.g. load))
has a MOSFET disconnecting switch resistance between said voltage source terminal thereof and said load terminal thereof, and (See Illing fig. 2a, b; 215A-C are not configured as monitoring disconnecting switches and connects VS to Rlast (e.g. load) which is controlled by a gate which has some resistance)
Regarding claim 2, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following applies:
i) a single one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch; and, (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 31; part 231 with power transistor, 25, which controls current flowing from voltage supply to the load region and has control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. monitoring); fig. 2A shows only one of these)
ii) a plurality of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches are not configured as current monitoring disconnecting switches. (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 32, 37; power transistors (e.g. disconnecting switches) in parallel implemented as MOSFETs; para. 40; switching on and off; 215A,B, C do not have control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. not configured as current monitoring))
Regarding claim 4, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein each one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches comprises a drain terminal connected to said voltage source terminal region; a source terminal connected to said load terminal region; and, a gate terminal connected to a control unit. (See Illing fig. 2b; MOSFETs 25, 215A-C have drain connected to VS; OUT0 connected to Rlast (load)); GATE1 connected to controller)
Regarding claim 7, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch incorporates an overcurrent protection circuit,
said overcurrent protection circuit is configured, in the event of an electric current between the voltage source terminal and the load terminal of said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, to switch the at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, to a state wherein said voltage source is isolated from the load, or to execute maintenance thereof in this state. (See Illing fig. 2b, para.59, 60, 61; current sensing is performed and if sensed current exceeds the output of the comparator the power transistor is opened (e.g. isolated from load))
Regarding claim 8, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, incorporates an overtemperature protection circuit, said overtemperature protection circuit is configured, in an event of a temperature on said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch which exceeds a threshold temperature, to switch said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, to a state wherein said voltage source is isolated from said load, or to execute maintenance thereof in this state. (See Illing fig. 2b, para.59, 60, 61; current sensing is performed and if sensed current exceeds the output of the comparator the power transistor is opened (e.g. isolated from load); para. 53; temperature sensor senses whether the temperature exceeds a threshold and the MOSFET is switched off (e.g. isolated from load))
Regarding claim 9, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, independently of at the at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, is switchable to a state for connecting said voltage source to said load, and to a state for isolating said voltage source from said load. (See Illing fig. 2b, para.59, 60, 61; current sensing is performed and if sensed current exceeds the output of the comparator the power transistor is opened (e.g. isolated from load))
Regarding claim 10, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, independently of each MOSFET disconnecting switch, which is not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, is switchable to a state for connecting said voltage source to said load, and to a state for isolating said voltage source from said load. (See Illing fig. 2b, para.59, 60, 61; current sensing is performed and if sensed current exceeds the output of the comparator the power transistor is opened (e.g. isolated from load))
Regarding claim 11, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein all said MOSFET disconnecting switches, which are not configured as current monitoring disconnecting switches, are commonly switchable to a state for connecting said voltage source to said load and to a state for isolating said voltage source from said load. (See Illing fig. 2b; MOSFET 215A-C are commonly switchable via GATE1 which isolates VS from RLast (load))
Regarding claim 12, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1, wherein at least one of the following applies:
i) said voltage source terminal region comprises a conductor rail connected to all said MOSFET disconnecting switches in an electrically and thermally conductive manner; and,
ii) said load terminal region comprises a conductor rail connected to all the MOSFET disconnecting switches in an electrically and thermally conductive manner. (See Illing fig. 2b; VS has a conductive rail which connects VS to 215A-C and to 25; it is thermally conductive because the temperature sensor 26 is connected to it and detects temperature of the device)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illing (2021/0126632).
Regarding claim 6, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 1. Illing discloses wherein the MOSFET disconnecting switch restance which are not configured as current monitoring switches is significantly less than the MOSFET with current monitoring capabilities. (See Illing fig. 2a,b; fig. 3; shows Rsense is attached to the gate of MOSFET 25 and 215A-B have no such resistor; para. 59) Illing does not explicitly disclose wherein the ratio to all the MOSFETs without current monitoring to all MOSFETs lies within a range of 0.05 to 0.15. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Illing to include the teaching of wherein the ratio to all the MOSFETs without current monitoring to all MOSFETs lies within a range of 0.05 to 0.15 with the motivation being it is obvious under MPEP 2144.05 I Overlapping, Approaching, and similar Ranges ( in that the ranges would be close or overlap because the MOSFET with current monitoring capabilities has an extra resistor a that the other MOSFETs do not have) and under MPEP 2144.05 Routine Optimization (in that, the Rsense value of Illing would be optimized through routine experimentation to meet the goals of the current sensing to provide safety and meet the expectations of the load placed on the circuit).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illing (2021/0126632), and further in view of Grundl (2006/0209494).
Regarding claim 13, Illing discloses the disconnector assembly of claim 12. Illing does not explicitly disclose wherein the rail is a copper rail. However, Grundl does disclose wherein the rail is a copper rail. (See Grundl para. 32; rail is copper) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of Illing to include the teaching of wherein the rail is a copper rail of Grundl with the motivation being because copper has good current and heat conductivity (See Grundl para. 32) and further because copper has high electrical conductivity, durability and corrosion resistance and has reasonable cost.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Illing (2021/0126632).
Regarding claim 14, Illing discloses an on-board voltage network for a vehicle, the on-board voltage network comprising: (See Illing para. 80 automobile (e.g. vehicle; on-board))
a voltage source; (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, supply voltage)
a load to be supplied with electrical energy by said voltage source; and, (See Illing fig. 2a, b; VS, voltage source, terminal region (part that connects to VS) and load (part that connects to load; see also para. 31-33)
a disconnector assembly for said on-board voltage network of said vehicle including for optionally connecting said voltage source to said load and for isolating said voltage source from the load; (See Illing fig. 2a,b; all the elements combined form the disconnector assembly which connect to VS and isolate the load when appropriate)
said disconnector assembly including:
a voltage source terminal region and a load terminal region; (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, terminal region (part that connects to VS) and load (part that connects to load; see also para. 31-33)
a plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches mutually connected in parallel; (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 32, 37; power transistors (e.g. disconnecting switches) in parallel implemented as MOSFETs; para. 40; switching on and off)
at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches being configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch for delivering a current variable representative for a current flowing between said voltage source terminal region and said load terminal region; and, (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 31; part 231 with power transistor, 25, which controls current flowing from voltage supply to the load region and has control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. monitoring); para. 33; protective functions and diagnostic functions derive information about currents (e.g. current variable) voltage, etc. ;para. 39; part 25 can be implemented as MOSFET)
at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches being not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch; and, wherein: (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 32, 37; power transistors (e.g. disconnecting switches) in parallel implemented as MOSFETs; para. 40; switching on and off; 215A,B, C do not have control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. not configured as current monitoring))
said voltage source terminal region of said disconnector assembly is connected to said voltage source and said load terminal region is connected to said load. (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, terminal region (part that connects to VS) and load (part that connects to load; see also para. 31-33)
wherein each one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches comprises a voltage source terminal connected to said voltage source terminal region; a load terminal connected to said load terminal region; and, a gate terminal connected to a control unit; (See Illing fig. 2b; 23 which has MOSFET 25 and is connected to VS, voltage source; OUT0 which is connected to load RLast; and gate is connected to gate controller+charge pump which is connected to driver logic)
wherein said at least one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, in a conducing state thereof connecting said voltage source to said load, (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has a conducting state where VS is connected to OUT0 which is connected to Rlast (e.g. load))
has a voltage monitoring disconnecting switch resistance between said voltage source terminal and said load terminal thereof; and, (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has a conducting state where VS is connected to OUT0 which is connected to Rlast (e.g. load))
wherein said current monitoring disconnecting switch resistance is greater than the MOSFET disconnecting switch resistance. (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has an overvoltage clamping and overcurrent limiting on its gate controller which is absent from 215A-C and hence there is more resistance at the gate of 25 than 215A-C; and these are between voltage source, VS, and the Rlast load)
wherein said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, in the conducting state thereof connecting said voltage source to said load and (See Illing fig. 2a, b; 215A-C are not configured as monitoring disconnecting switches and connects VS to Rlast (e.g. load))
has a MOSFET disconnecting switch resistance between said voltage source terminal thereof and said load terminal thereof, and (See Illing fig. 2a, b; 215A-C are not configured as monitoring disconnecting switches and connects VS to Rlast (e.g. load) which is controlled by a gate which has some resistance)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Illing (2021/0126632), and further in view of Hureau (2021/0167688).
Regarding claim 15, Illing discloses a method for operating an on-board voltage network including:
a voltage source; (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, supply voltage)
a load to be supplied with electrical energy by said voltage source; and, (See Illing fig. 2a, b; VS, voltage source, terminal region (part that connects to VS) and load (part that connects to load; see also para. 31-33)
a disconnector assembly for said on-board voltage network of a vehicle including for optionally connecting said voltage source to said load and for isolating said voltage source from the load; (See Illing fig. 2a,b; all the elements combined form the disconnector assembly which connect to VS and isolate the load when appropriate; para. 80 automobile (e.g. vehicle; on-board))
said disconnector assembly including:
a voltage source terminal region and a load terminal region; (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, terminal region (part that connects to VS) and load (part that connects to load; see also para. 31-33)
a plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches mutually connected in parallel; (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 32, 37; power transistors (e.g. disconnecting switches) in parallel implemented as MOSFETs; para. 40; switching on and off)
at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches being configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch for delivering a current variable representative for a current flowing between said voltage source terminal region and said load terminal region; and, (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 31; part 231 with power transistor, 25, which controls current flowing from voltage supply to the load region and has control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. monitoring); para. 33; protective functions and diagnostic functions derive information about currents (e.g. current variable) voltage, etc. ;para. 39; part 25 can be implemented as MOSFET)
at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches being not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch; and, wherein: (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 32, 37; power transistors (e.g. disconnecting switches) in parallel implemented as MOSFETs; para. 40; switching on and off; 215A,B, C do not have control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. not configured as current monitoring))
said voltage source terminal region of said disconnector assembly is connected to said voltage source and said load terminal region is connected to said load; (See Illing fig. 2a; VS, voltage source, terminal region (part that connects to VS) and load (part that connects to load; see also para. 31-33)
wherein each one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches comprises a voltage source terminal connected to said voltage source terminal region; a load terminal connected to said load terminal region; and, a gate terminal connected to a control unit; (See Illing fig. 2b; 23 which has MOSFET 25 and is connected to VS, voltage source; OUT0 which is connected to load RLast; and gate is connected to gate controller+charge pump which is connected to driver logic)
wherein said at least one of said plurality of MOSFET disconnecting switches configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, in a conducing state thereof connecting said voltage source to said load, (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has a conducting state where VS is connected to OUT0 which is connected to Rlast (e.g. load))
has a voltage monitoring disconnecting switch resistance between said voltage source terminal and said load terminal thereof; and, (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has a conducting state where VS is connected to OUT0 which is connected to Rlast (e.g. load))
wherein said current monitoring disconnecting switch resistance is greater than the MOSFET disconnecting switch resistance. (See Illing fig. 2b; 25 has an overvoltage clamping and overcurrent limiting on its gate controller which is absent from 215A-C and hence there is more resistance at the gate of 25 than 215A-C; and these are between voltage source, VS, and the Rlast load)
wherein said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch, in the conducting state thereof connecting said voltage source to said load and (See Illing fig. 2a, b; 215A-C are not configured as monitoring disconnecting switches and connects VS to Rlast (e.g. load))
has a MOSFET disconnecting switch resistance between said voltage source terminal thereof and said load terminal thereof, and (See Illing fig. 2a, b; 215A-C are not configured as monitoring disconnecting switches and connects VS to Rlast (e.g. load) which is controlled by a gate which has some resistance)
Illing does not explicitly disclose when in a low-load operating state enabling less than all of the devices and disabling some of the other devices. However, Hureau does disclose when in a low-load operating state enabling less than all of the devices and disabling some of the other devices. (See Hureau para. 15-16; when current is low some of the devices are disabled; if load demand rises, some more of the devices can be switched on to meet the demand) Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the method of Illing to include the teaching of when in a low-load operating state enabling less than all of the devices and disabling some of the other devices of Hureau with the motivation being to save power and further to reduce wear and tear on devices and further to improve longevity and further to extend battery life.
Regarding claim 16, Illing in view of Hureau discloses the method of claim 15, wherein at least one of the following applies:
i) in the low-load operating state, said at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch is switched to a state for connecting said voltage source to the load; and,
ii) each MOSFET disconnecting switch not configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch is switched to a state for isolating said voltage source from said load. (See Hureau para. 15-16; when current is low some of the devices are disabled (isolated from load); if load demand rises, some more of the devices can be switched on to meet the demand) The motivation being to save power and further to reduce wear and tear on devices and further to improve longevity and further to extend battery life.
Regarding claim 17, Illing in view of Hureau discloses the method of claim 15, wherein, in the event that, in a low-load operating state, all MOSFET disconnecting switches not configured as current monitoring disconnecting switches are switched to a state for isolating the voltage source from the load, at least a proportion of the MOSFET disconnecting switches not configured as current monitoring disconnecting switches should be switched to a state for connecting the voltage source to the load, in the event that the magnitude of current delivered by the at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch indicates an electric current which exceeds a current threshold and/or indicates a temporal variation in the electric current which exceeds a threshold current gradient. (See Hureau para. 15-16; when current is low some of the devices are disabled (isolated from load); if load demand rises, some more of the devices can be switched on to meet the demand) The motivation being to save power and further to reduce wear and tear on devices and further to improve longevity and further to extend battery life.
Regarding claim 18, Illing in view of Hureau discloses the method of claim 15, wherein, in the event that, in a low-load operating state, all MOSFET disconnecting switches not configured as current monitoring disconnecting switches are switched to a state for isolating the voltage source from the load, all of the MOSFET disconnecting switches not configured as current monitoring disconnecting switches should be switched to a state for connecting the voltage source to the load, in the event that the magnitude of current delivered by the at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch indicates an electric current which exceeds a current threshold and/or indicates a temporal variation in the electric current which exceeds a threshold current gradient. (See Hureau para. 15-16; when current is low some of the devices are disabled (isolated from load); if load demand rises, some more of the devices can be switched on to meet the demand) The motivation being to save power and further to reduce wear and tear on devices and further to improve longevity and further to extend battery life.
Regarding claim 19, Illing in view of Hureau discloses the method of claim 15, wherein, when the voltage source is to be connected to the load via the disconnector assembly, at least the at least one MOSFET disconnecting switch configured as a current monitoring disconnecting switch is switched to a state for connecting the voltage source to the load. (See Illing fig. 2a, para. 31; part 231 with power transistor, 25, which controls current flowing from voltage supply to the load region and has control, safety and diagnostic functions (e.g. monitoring); para. 33; protective functions and diagnostic functions derive information about currents (e.g. current variable) voltage, etc. ;para. 39; part 25 can be implemented as MOSFET)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Stephen J Clawson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461