DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1-30 remains pending. No claims have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on December 16, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant’s arguments regarding the references’ of Kim #2 with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 15-17, 20, 29-30 are dropped. However, the rejection based on Kim #1 et al (US 2023/0023415 A1) will be maintained as follows because the Kim # substantially discloses the Applicant claim invention.
Moreover, the Applicant argues that “Kim never discloses receiving (or transmitting) "a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS)". The only higher-layer PTRS signaling Kim describes is a single RRC configuration containing parameters such as "the maximum number of PTRS ports (maxNrofPorts) is configured to two through the RRC configuration" (I 0292) and "PTRS configuration information relating to frequency density, time density" (I 0305). Kim contains no disclosure of the base station transmitting, or the UE receiving, “a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (“PTRS)”.
Kim never discloses "downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with transmission parameters indicating one of single transmit reception point (sTRP) PUSCH or spatial division multiplexing (SDM) PUSCH". The only dynamic distinction Kim makes is between MTRP PUSCH repetition and MTRP PUSCH non-repetition (II 0287-0295).
Kim expressly states that the same reduction to one PTRS port applies to STRP PUSCH repetition as well: "Similar to MTRP PUSCH repetition, even in the case of STRP PUSCH repetition, it may be assumed that the maximum number of PTRS ports is 1" (I 0292). Thus, the determining condition in Kim is repetition versus non-repetition, not "transmission parameters indicating one of single transmit reception point (sTRP) PUSCH or spatial division multiplexing (SDM) PUSCH".
Because Kim never provides "a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS)" and never provides "downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with transmission parameters indicating one of single transmit reception point (sTRP) PUSCH or spatial division multiplexing (SDM) PUSCH", Kim cannot disclose the recited step of "identify one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters". The sole conditional behavior in Kim is an internal override that forces the UE to treat the single received configuration as though maxNrofPorts were 1 whenever any repetition scheme is scheduled (II 0292, 0295). That override is not an identification of "one or more uplink PTRS configurations" from among a received plurality, nor is it performed "based on the transmission parameters" recited in the claims.
Finally, because no step of "identify one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters" ever occurs in Kim, Kim cannot disclose transmitting "the PUSCH associated with the identified one or more uplink PTRS configuration based on an association between the identified one or more uplink PTRS configuration and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports". Any PTRS-DMRS association Kim describes operates on the single (or overridden single) configuration, and never on "[identified] one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters".
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees because Kim #1 under the broadest reasonable interpretation discloses the disputed claim elements.
In particular, the Examiner respectfully submits that Kim #1 discloses 2 PTRS configurations by virtue of the configuring the UE with the maximum number of UL PTRS ports that are configured to 1 or 2 through RRC signaling (section 0245, 0292).
In view of that the Examiner respectfully disagrees with “Kim never discloses receiving (or transmitting) "a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS)". The only higher-layer PTRS signaling Kim describes is a single RRC configuration containing parameters such as "the maximum number of PTRS ports (maxNrofPorts) is configured to two through the RRC configuration" (I 0292) and "PTRS configuration information relating to frequency density, time density" (I 0305). Kim contains no disclosure of the base station transmitting, or the UE receiving, “a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (“PTRS)” because the UE is configured by the base station.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments alleging “Kim never discloses "downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated with transmission parameters indicating one of single transmit reception point (sTRP) PUSCH or spatial division multiplexing (SDM) PUSCH". The only dynamic distinction Kim makes is between MTRP PUSCH repetition and MTRP PUSCH non-repetition (II 0287-0295)” because the UE receives PTRS association information relating to PTRS ports via the DCI associated with the PUSCH transmission (section 0200, 0214-0219, 0243-0245).
The Examiner further disagrees with the Applicant’s arguments which alleged “Finally, because no step of "identify one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters" ever occurs in Kim, Kim cannot disclose transmitting "the PUSCH associated with the identified one or more uplink PTRS configuration based on an association between the identified one or more uplink PTRS configuration and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports". Any PTRS-DMRS association Kim describes operates on the single (or overridden single) configuration, and never on "[identified] one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters” because Kim discloses that the UE determines PTRS association, the PTRS association and DRMS ports are related to SRS ports/SRI field, the parameters are related to SRS ports (section 0194, 0294-0295).
It is clear that Kim discloses the identifying steps(section 0194-0195) of the claim because in subsequent dependent claim, the Applicant explicitly defines the parameters as a set of SRS ports which Kim #1 substantially discloses.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments concerning the dependent claims, the Examiner respectfully submits that Kim #1 discloses the subject matter of those claims contrary to the Applicant’s assertions.
In view of that, the rejection is maintained as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 12-15, 16-19, 26-28, 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KIM #1 et al (US 2023/0232415 A1, IDS).
Regarding claims 1, 15, KIM ‘415 discloses a user equipment (UE) (fig. 11, UE 200 as the second device which is coupled to network 100, the device 200 includes memories 204 coupled to processors 202 and transceivers 206, section 0309-0316) configured for wireless communication (see, the UE receives downlink control information including the PTRS-DMRS association field from the base station, section 0201-0202), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 11, UE 200 as the second device which is coupled to network 100, the device 200 includes memories 204 coupled to processors 202 and transceivers 206, section 0309-0316); and one or more processors (fig. 11, processor (s) 202 coupled to memory (s) 204, section 0309-0316) coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 11, UE 200 as the second device which is coupled to network 100, the device 200 includes memories 204 coupled to processors 202 and transceivers 206, section 0309-0316) and configured to cause the UE to: receive (see, the UE receives control information from the network side, section 0310, 0313-0316), from a network entity (fig. 11, network side 100 which transmits control information for scheduling of uplink grants for PUSCH signal/SRS transmission, section 0310, 0313-0316), a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) (see, the combination of PTRS for PUSCH in which the base station indicates to the UE which DRMS port is associated with the PTRS through PTRS-DMRS association field, section 0192, 0194, see, PTRS port indexes corresponding to SRS resources, PTRS configuration information relating to frequency density, time density, maximum number of ports, PTRS power, section 0294, 0305); receive, from the network entity, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) associated (see, MTRP PUSCH and the STRP PUSH transmission that are dynamically indicated/determined through DCI, section 0243) with transmission parameters indicating one of single transmit reception point (sTRP) PUSCH (see, SRTRP PUSCH transmission indicated through DCI, section 0243) or spatial division multiplexing (SDM) PUSCH; identify one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters (see, MTRP PUSCH transmission and that are dynamically indicated/determined through DCI, the 2-bit PTRS-DRMS association field STRP PUSCH transmission and the UE assume the maximum number of PTR ports, section 0243, 0294-0295); and transmit, to the network entity (fig. 8 to fig. 9, the UE performs uplink transmission based on PTRS-DRSM associated field, section 0209-00210, noted: the PRST-DRMS association is communicated to the UE via RRC or DCI signaling, section 0293, 0194, 0294-0295), the PUSCH associated with the identified one or more uplink PTRS configuration based on an association between the identified one or more uplink PTRS configuration and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports (see, the UE assumes and determines the association information between PTRS and DRMS through Table 6, section 0243, 0245, 0294-0295).
Regarding claim 2, KIM ‘415 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the plurality of configurations for the PTRS comprise a first sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set (see, SRS resource set configuration /SRS resource set 1 relating to DMRS ports and PTRS port index 1, SRSI fields relating to SRS resources, section 0254, 0263) and a second SRS resource set (see, SRS resource set corresponding to DMRS ports and PTRS port index, SRI fields corresponding to SRS resources section 0254, 0263).
Regarding claim 3, KIM ‘415 discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the plurality of configurations for the PTRS comprise a PTRS port index configuration associated with the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (see, SRS resource set configuration /SRS resource set 1 relating to DMRS ports and PTRS port index 1 , SRSI fields relating to SRS resources, section 0254, 0263).
Regarding claim 4, KIM ‘415 discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify the uplink PTRS configuration as having one PTRS port in response to the DCI (see, PTRS-DMRS association field of DCI, section 0259) indicating the sTRP PUSCH (see, STRP PUSCH repetition in relation to PTRS DMRS association, maximum of PTRS ports that is configured though RRC configuration, section 0292).
Regarding claim 5, KIM ‘415 discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to identify the one or more uplink PTRS configurations as using one of the first SRS resource set (see, SRS resource set configuration /SRS resource set 1 relating to DMRS ports and PTRS port index 1 , SRSI fields relating to SRS resources, section 0254, 0263) or the second SRS resource set in response to the DCI indicating the sTRP PUSCH (see, STRP PUSCH repetition in relation to PTRS DMRS association, maximum of PTRS ports that is configured though RRC configuration, section 0292).
Regarding claims 12, 26, Kim ‘415 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the plurality of configurations for PTRS comprises at least one of a maximum number of ports (see, the maximum number of PTRS ports configured through RRC configuration, section0292, 0305) , frequency domain density, time domain density, resource element (RE) offset, and PTRS power (see, PTRS related configuration with respect to frequency destiny, time density or maximum number of ports/PTRS power, section 0305).
Regarding claims 13, 27, KIM ‘415 discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to associate the uplink PTRS with the DMRS ports based on a plurality of bits included in a PTRS-DMRS association field of the DCI (see, MTRP PUSCH transmission method and STRP PUSCH transmission indicated /determined through DCI, wherein the 2-bit PTRS-DMRS association field that is configured to be used in the SRTP PUSCH transmission, section 0243, 0194-PTRS through the PTRS-DMRS association field of the DCI).
Regarding claims 14, 28, KIM ‘415 discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein one or more first DMRS ports share a first PTRS port and one or more second DMRS ports share a second PTRS port (section 0191-0194, 0243, see, DMRS ports associated with PTRS port through PTRS-DRMS association field, and wherein the DMRS ports are included in at least one of the one or more first DMRS ports or the one or more second DMRS ports).
Regarding claim 29, KIM et al (US 2023/0232415 A1) discloses a network entity configured for wireless communication (fig. 11, network side 100 which transmits control information for scheduling of uplink grants for PUSCH signal/SRS transmission, section 0310, 0313-0316), comprising: one or more memories (fig. 11, first device as the network side/base station, the first device 100 which includes memories 104 coupled processors 102 and transceivers 106, section 0309-0316); and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memories (fig. 11, first device as the network side/base station, the first device 100 which includes memories 104 coupled processors 102 and transceivers 106, section 0309-0316) and configured to cause the UE (see, the UE receives downlink control information including the PTRS-DMRS association field from the base station, section 0201-0202) to: transmit a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) (see, the combination of PTRS for PUSCH in which the base station indicates to the UE which DRMS port is associated with the PTRS through PTRS-DMRS association field, section 0192, 0194, see, PTRS port indexes corresponding to SRS resources, PTRS configuration information relating to frequency density, time density, maximum number of ports, PTRS power, section 0294, 0305, noted: the UE transmits on uplink transmission based on PTRS-DMRS association field received in the DCI, section 0293, 0194, 0294-0295); transmit downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see, MTRP PUSCH and the STRP PUSH transmission that are dynamically indicated/determined through DCI, section 0243) associated with transmission parameters indicating one of single transmit reception point (sTRP) PUSCH (see, SRTRP PUSCH transmission indicated through DCI, section 0243) or spatial division multiplexing (SDM) PUSCH; and receive a PUSCH associated with identified one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters (fig. 8 to fig. 9, the UE performs uplink transmission based on PTRS-DRSM associated field, section 0209-00210, noted: the PRST-DRMS association is communicated to the UE via RRC or DCI signaling, section 0293, 0194, 0294-0295), wherein the PUSCH is based on an association between the identified one or more uplink PTRS configurations and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports (see, the UE assumes and determines the association information between PTRS and DRMS through Table 6, section 0243, 0245, 0294-0295).
Regarding claim 30, KIM ‘415 discloses a method for wireless communication (see, the UE receives downlink control information including the PTRS-DMRS association field from the base station, section 0201-0202) for a network entity (fig. 11, network side 100 which transmits control information for scheduling of uplink grants for PUSCH signal/SRS transmission, section 0310, 0313-0316), comprising: transmitting a plurality of configurations for an uplink phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) (see, the combination of PTRS for PUSCH in which the base station indicates to the UE which DRMS port is associated with the PTRS through PTRS-DMRS association field, section 0192, 0194, see, PTRS port indexes corresponding to SRS resources, PTRS configuration information relating to frequency density, time density, maximum number of ports, PTRS power, section 0294, 0305, noted: the UE transmits on uplink transmission based on PTRS-DMRS association field received in the DCI, section 0293, 0194, 0294-0295); transmitting downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see, MTRP PUSCH and the STRP PUSH transmission that are dynamically indicated/determined through DCI, section 0243) associated with transmission parameters indicating one of single transmit reception point (sTRP) PUSCH (see, SRTRP PUSCH transmission indicated through DCI, section 0243) or spatial division multiplexing (SDM) PUSCH; and receiving a PUSCH associated with identified one or more uplink PTRS configurations based on the transmission parameters (fig. 8 to fig. 9, the UE performs uplink transmission based on PTRS-DRSM associated field, section 0209-00210, noted: the PRST-DRMS association is communicated to the UE via RRC or DCI signaling, section 0293, 0194, 0294-0295), wherein the PUSCH is based on an association between the identified one or more uplink PTRS configurations and demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports (see, the UE assumes and determines the association information between PTRS and DRMS through Table 6, section 0243, 0245, 0294-0295).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US 2023/0232415 A1) in view of Zhang et al (US 2023/0300832 A1, Provisional application No. 63/321,061, filed on March 17, 2022).
KIM ‘415 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7, the UE of claim 3, wherein the PTRS port index configuration comprises a first PTRS port index configuration associated with the sTRP PUSCH and a second PTRS port configuration associated with the SDM PUSCH.
Regarding claim 21, the method of claim 17, wherein the PTRS port index configuration comprises a first PTRS port index configuration associated with the sTRP PUSCH and a second PTRS port configuration associated with the SDM PUSCH.
Zhang ‘832 from a similar field of endeavor (see, DCI field-SRS resource indicator which indicates dynamic switching between SDM scheme and of the single-DCI based STxMT PUACH and single-TRP transmission, section 0058) discloses: Regarding claims 7, 21, the UE (see, the UE uses each panel to transmits PSUCH in relation to SDM multiplexing based multiple-TRP, section 0062-0064) of claim 3, wherein the PTRS port index configuration comprises a first PTRS port index configuration associated with the sTRP PUSCH (see, for each panel up to PT-RS port can be enabled, SRS ports of the indicated SRS resource in each resource set where the PTRS DMRS associated , section 0070) and a second PTRS port configuration see, for each panel up to PT-RS port can be enabled, SRS ports of the indicated SRS resource in each resource set where the PTRS DMRS associated , section 0070) associated with the SDM PUSCH (see, dynamic switching between SDM scheme and of the single-DCI based STxMT PUACH and single-TRP transmission, section 0058).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method and apparatus for uplink transmission based on PTRS port field associated with DMRS ports of KIM ‘415 with method and apparatus for dynamic switching between single TRP and SDM as taught by Zhang ‘832. The motivation would have been to provide enhanced single-DCI multiple panel transmissions (section 0003).
Claims 9, 11, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al (US 2023/0232415 A1) in view of LIU et al (US 2025/0300781 A1, PCT: April 29, 2022).
KIM ‘415 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9, the UE of claim 3, wherein the PTRS port index configuration comprises a first PTRS port index configuration associated with the first SRS resource set and a second PTRS port configuration associated with the second resource set.
LIU et al (US 2025/0300781 A1, PCT: April 29, 2022) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claim 9, the UE of claim 3, wherein the PTRS port index configuration comprises a first PTRS port index configuration (see, two PT-RS ports (e.g., PT-RS port 0 and PT-RS port 1) that configured for full-coherence or non-coherent UL transmission with SDM PUSCH with 2 antenna ports, section 0069-0072, 0075-0076) associated with the first SRS resource set (see, PT-RS port associated with DMRS ports and the DRMS ports are associated with SRS resources sets (i.e., first SRSI field 1), section 0068, 0167-0169) and a second PTRS port configuration associated with the second resource set (see, SRSI fields-first SRS resource set and second SRS resource set associated with DMRS ports, section 0068-0069).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method and apparatus for uplink transmission based on PTRS port field associated with DMRS ports of KIM ‘415 with method and apparatus for determining mapping between PUSCH and TPT-RS ports and DMRS ports as taught by LIU ‘781. The motivation would have been to provide PT-RS enhancements as suggested in section 0004.
KIM ‘415 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claims 11,25, the UE of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to map the DMRS ports to a beam based on at least one of the SRS resource sets.
LIU et al (US 2025/0300781 A1, PCT: April 29, 2022) from a similar field of endeavor discloses: Regarding claims 11, 25, the UE of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 7, UE that includes a processor coupled to a memory and transceiver, the UE determines mapping between PUSCH antenna ports and PT-RS ports and DMRS port associated with PT-RS port, section 0157-0160) is further configured to map the DMRS ports (see, PT-RS port associated with DMRS ports, section 0158-0160) to a beam (see, PT-RS port associated with DRSM ports and panels of the PUSCH layers, section 0158-0160, spatial filter/beam in relation to SRS resource, section 0044) based on at least one of the SRS resource sets (see, SRS resource sets associated with PUSCH transmission/the PUSCH layers, panel correspond to SRS resource sets, section 0045-0046, 0053-0054).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method and apparatus for uplink transmission based on PTRS port field associated with DMRS ports of KIM ‘415 with method and apparatus for determining mapping between PUSCH and TPT-RS ports and DMRS ports as taught by LIU ‘781. The motivation would have been to provide PT-RS enhancements as suggested in section 0004.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 10, 22, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CANDAL ELPENORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473