DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 21, Kim’781, Kim’875, Kim’174, Na and Meen alone or in combination fail to disclose, teach or suggest the limitations that read, “wherein the controller automatically actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly, without activating the flexible display”, in combination with all the limitations of claim 1 and within the context of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 12-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160202781 A1 (Kim et al., hereinafter Kim’781) in view of US 20230280875 A1 (Kim et al., hereinafter Kim’875).
Regarding claim 1, Kim’781 discloses an electronic device (please see at least Figs. 1A-C and par. [0047], “flexible display apparatus 1”) comprising:
a device housing (Figs. 1A-C and par. [0047], “housing unit 20”);
a blade assembly carrying a blade (Figs. 1A-C, “flexible display 10”) and a flexible display (Figs. 1A-C, “flexible display 10”) and slidably coupled to the device housing (Figs. 1B-C, showing arrows of the “flexible display 10” sliding in a left and right directions);
a translation mechanism operable to slide the blade assembly in a plurality of positions relative to the device housing between an extended position and a retracted position (Figs. 2A-2B and at least pars. [0058], “first guide unit 30 guides the flexible display 10 moving into or out from the housing…the first guide unit 30 may include a rotating unit 50 and a fixed unit 40”); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the blade assembly and the translation mechanism (Fig. 4, “control unit 80”). Note: the examiner recommends a careful review of the claims, since they are bordering into lack of clarity.
Kim’781 implicitly discloses where the controller determines whether the electronic device is in an idle state with the flexible display being off (par. [0084], where it is implied that a device controller/processor would detect/determine when the device is off/on; therefore, the display being off/on).
However, Kim’781 does not explicitly discloses where the controller determines whether the electronic device is in an idle state with the flexible display being off; and
in response to determining that the electronic device is in the idle state;
determines a device state of the electronic device; and
actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device.
In related art concerning a method for operating a flexible display Kim’875
discloses where the controller determines whether the electronic device is in an idle state with the flexible display being off (par. [0114], “… in the first low-power mode, the electronic device 101 may be in a state in which the flexible display 160 is deactivated, and a screen is turned off…”); and
in response to determining that the electronic device is in the idle state (par. [0114], “… in the first low-power mode,…”);
determines a device state of the electronic device (par. [0115], “folded state” reads on “state” of the device); and
actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device (par. [0115], “processor 120 may detect a sliding operation in a folded state”; Fig. 4A and par. [0116], “processor 120 may set a threshold value of the size of the first display region, for a change of an operation mode…”; par. [0117], “…processor 120 may change the flexible display from a first low-power mode to a second low-power mode, based on the first display region 401 of the flexible display 160, which is exposed to the outside… the processor 120 may display notification information in the activated first display region 401”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kim’875’s teachings where the controller determines whether the electronic device is in an idle state with the flexible display being off; and
in response to determining that the electronic device is in the idle state;
determines a device state of the electronic device; and
actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device with the flexible display apparatus disclosed by Kim’781 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by detecting the state of the display, the device processor can make determinations about the amount of power required for the functions required or used in a first, second or third state or mode. In this manner, power is saved, since the power allocated for each state/mode is tailored to the needs of the functions of the different states/modes.
Regarding claim 8, Kim’781 discloses a method (par. [0050]) comprising:
determining, by a controller of an electronic device, that the electronic device is in an idle state in which a display (Note: is this display different to the flexible display?) of the electronic device is off (par. [0084], where it is implied that a device controller/processor would detect/determine when the device is off/on; therefore, the display being off/on), wherein the electronic device comprises a device housing (Figs. 1A-C and par. [0047], “housing unit 20”), a blade assembly carrying a blade (Figs. 1A-C, “flexible display 10”) and a flexible display (Figs. 1A-C, “flexible display 10”) and slidably coupled to the device housing (Figs. 1B-C, showing arrows of the “flexible display 10” sliding in a left and right directions),
a translation mechanism operable to slide the blade assembly relative to the device housing to a plurality of positions between an extended position and a retracted position (Figs. 2A-2B and at least pars. [0058], “first guide unit 30 guides the flexible display 10 moving into or out from the housing…the first guide unit 30 may include a rotating unit 50 and a fixed unit 40”), and
the controller communicatively coupled to the blade assembly and the translation mechanism (Fig. 4, “control unit 80”).
Kim’781 implicitly discloses determining by a controller of an electronic device, that the electronic device in which a display of the electronic device is off (par. [0084], where it is implied that a device controller/processor would detect/determine when the device is off/on; therefore, the display being off/on).
However, Kim’781 does not explicitly discloses where
in response to determining that the electronic device is in the idle state with the display off:
determining a device state of the electronic device; and
actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device.
Kim’875 discloses where in response to determining that the electronic device is in an idle state with the display off (par. [0114], “… in the first low-power mode, the electronic device 101 may be in a state in which the flexible display 160 is deactivated, and a screen is turned off…”); and
determining a device state of the electronic device (par. [0115], “folded state” reads on “state” of the device); and
actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device (par. [0115], “processor 120 may detect a sliding operation in a folded state”; Fig. 4A and par. [0116], “processor 120 may set a threshold value of the size of the first display region, for a change of an operation mode…”; par. [0117], “…processor 120 may change the flexible display from a first low-power mode to a second low-power mode, based on the first display region 401 of the flexible display 160, which is exposed to the outside… the processor 120 may display notification information in the activated first display region 401”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kim’875’s teachings where
in response to determining that the electronic device is in the idle state with the display off:
determining a device state of the electronic device; and
actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device with the flexible display apparatus disclosed by Kim’781 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by detecting the state of the display, the device processor can make determinations about the amount of power required for the functions required or used in a first, second or third state or mode. In this manner, power is saved, since the power allocated for each state/mode is tailored to the needs of the functions of the different states/modes.
Regarding claim 15, Kim’781 discloses a computer program product comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium having program instructions that when executed by a processor of an electronic device (par. [0005], “mobile phones” inherently comprises at least a processor, a memory and programed instructions/code to perform its functions) that comprises
a device housing (Figs. 1A-C and par. [0047], “housing unit 20”),
a blade assembly carrying a blade (Figs. 1A-C, “flexible display 10”) and a flexible display (Figs. 1A-C, “flexible display 10”) and slidably coupled to the device housing (Figs. 1B-C, showing arrows of the “flexible display 10” sliding in a left and right directions),
a translation mechanism operable to slide the blade assembly in a plurality of positions relative to the device housing between an extended position and a retracted position (Figs. 2A-2B and at least pars. [0058], “first guide unit 30 guides the flexible display 10 moving into or out from the housing…the first guide unit 30 may include a rotating unit 50 and a fixed unit 40”), and a controller communicatively coupled to the blade assembly and the translation mechanism (Fig. 4, “control unit 80”), configures the electronic device to perform functions comprising:
determining that the electronic device is in an idle state in which a display of the electronic device is off; and
in response to determining that the electronic device is in the idle state with the display off:
determining a device state of the electronic device; and
actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display at a position that is indicative of the device state of the electronic device.
Kim’781 implicitly discloses determining that the electronic device is in an idle state in which a display of the electronic device is off (par. [0084], where it is implied that a device controller/processor would detect/determine when the device is off/on; therefore, the display being off/on).
However, Kim’781 does not explicitly disclose where the controller determines whether the electronic device is in an idle state with the flexible display being off; and
determining a device state of the electronic device; and
actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device.
Kim’875 discloses determining that the electronic device is in an idle state in which a display (Note: is this a display different to the flexible display?)of the electronic device is off (par. [0114], “… in the first low-power mode, the electronic device 101 may be in a state in which the flexible display 160 is deactivated, and a screen is turned off…”); and
determining a device state of the electronic device (par. [0115], “folded state” reads on “state” of the device); and
actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device (par. [0115], “processor 120 may detect a sliding operation in a folded state”; Fig. 4A and par. [0116], “processor 120 may set a threshold value of the size of the first display region, for a change of an operation mode…”; par. [0117], “…processor 120 may change the flexible display from a first low-power mode to a second low-power mode, based on the first display region 401 of the flexible display 160, which is exposed to the outside… the processor 120 may display notification information in the activated first display region 401”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kim’875’s teachings about determining that the electronic device is in an idle state in which a display of the electronic device is off; and
determining a device state of the electronic device; and
actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display in a position indicative of the device state of the electronic device with the flexible display apparatus disclosed by Kim’781 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by detecting the state of the display, the device processor can make determinations about the amount of power required for the functions required or used in a first, second or third state or mode. In this manner, power is saved, since the power allocated for each state/mode is tailored to the needs of the functions of the different states/modes.
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Kim’781 and Kim’875 disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively. Kim’781 further discloses wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a new message status of the electronic device, wherein the new message status comprises one of a value of yes and a value of no; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current value of the new message status (par. [0115], “processor 120 may detect a sliding operation in a folded state”; Fig. 4A and par. [0116], “processor 120 may set a threshold value of the size of the first display region, for a change of an operation mode…”; par. [0117], “…processor 120 may change the flexible display from a first low-power mode to a second low-power mode, based on the first display region 401 of the flexible display 160, which is exposed to the outside… the processor 120 may display notification information in the activated first display region 401”, where controllers/processor respond to instructions having logic “yes” and “no” bits).
Regarding claims 6, 13 and 20, Kim’781 and Kim’875 disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively.
Kim’781 does not explicitly disclose wherein to actuate the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at the position indicative of the device state of the electronic device, the controller translates the blade assembly along an elongated axis of the electronic device.
Kim’875 discloses wherein to actuate the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at the position indicative of the device state of the electronic device, the controller translates the blade assembly along an elongated axis of the electronic device (Fig. 4A, please see arrows 411 and 412).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kim’875’s teachings about a translation of the blade assembly along an elongated axis of the electronic device with the flexible display apparatus disclosed by Kim’781 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the direction of translation movement constitutes a design consideration available to the inventor based on the intended device type or the purpose of the device.
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Kim’781 and Kim’875 disclose all the limitations of claims 1 and 8, respectively. Kim’781 further discloses wherein to actuate the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place a leading edge of the flexible display at the position indicative of the device state of the electronic device, the controller translates the blade assembly along a crosswise axis of the electronic device (Figs. 1B-C, please see the direction of the arrows).
Claims 2, 9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’781 in view of Kim’875, and further in view of US 20230214174 A1 (Kim et al., hereinafter Kim’174).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16, Kim’781 and Kim’875 disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively.
Kim’875 discloses where the display is expanded when a call is received and a notification is displayed (Fig. 4A and par. [0076]-[0077] and [0080]).
However, Kim’781 and Kim’875 do not specifically disclose wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a device volume that includes an incoming call notification mode of the electronic device, wherein the incoming call notification mode comprises at least one of a silent setting, a vibrate setting, and at least one volume setting; and
the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current value of the incoming call notification mode.
In related art concerning electronic device including flexible display and method, Kim’174 discloses wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a device volume that includes an incoming call notification mode of the electronic device, wherein the incoming call notification mode comprises at least one of a silent setting, a vibrate setting, and at least one volume setting; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current value of the incoming call notification mode (Figs. 6A-B; at least pars. [0106][0135]-[0138], “a sound optimization function, the electronic device 201 (e.g., the processor 220 of FIG. 2) may control the speaker 255 to output the first sound at a second volume value higher than the first volume value, based on the size of the first area while the state of the housing 101 is the extended state…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kim’174’s teachings wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a device volume that includes an incoming call notification mode of the electronic device, wherein the incoming call notification mode comprises at least one of a silent setting, a vibrate setting, and at least one volume setting; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current value of the incoming call notification mode with the flexible display apparatus disclosed by Kim’781 and Kim’875 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sound optimization is achieved based on the state/mode/position of de display (Kim’174, par. [0106]).
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’781 in view of Kim’875, and further in view of US 20230333605 A1 (Meen et al., hereinafter Meen).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 17, Kim’781 and Kim’875 disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively.
Kim’875 discloses where different power is applied based on the different modes of the display (at least pars. [0097], [0100], [0105]).
However, Kim’781 and Kim’875 do not specifically disclose wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a battery charge level for an internal battery of the electronic device, wherein the battery charge level comprises a low level, a medium level, and a high level; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current battery charge level of the internal battery.
In related art concerning electronic device providing status information by changing shape of electronic device, Meen discloses wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a battery charge level for an internal battery of the electronic device, wherein the battery charge level comprises a low level, a medium level, and a high level (Figs 3A-3C and pars. [0063],[0048], where “no battery”, “50%” and “100%” read on “low level, a medium level, and a high level”); and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current battery charge level of the internal battery (Figs 3A-3C and par. [0048], please see the translation states/positions of the device based on the battery level/percentage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Meen’s teachings wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a battery charge level for an internal battery of the electronic device, wherein the battery charge level comprises a low level, a medium level, and a high level; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current battery charge level of the internal battery with the flexible display apparatus disclosed by Kim’781 and Kim’875 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that by determining a display size based on battery level, battery life is extended when reducing the size of the display in a low battery level mode/state.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim’781 in view of Kim’875, and further in view of US 20220109472 A1 (Na et al., hereinafter Na).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Kim’781 and Kim’875 disclose all the limitations of claims 1, 8 and 15, respectively. Kim’875 discloses where the device extends based on at least first and second power modes, where different types of communication use different powers based on frequencies (pars. [0048]-[0050], [0090], [0097]).
However, Kim’781 and Kim’875 do not disclose wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a network mode of the electronic device, wherein the network mode comprises a connection type value identifying one of a WIFI connection, a cellular connection, and no connection; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current connection type value of the network mode.
In related art concerning 5G communication based on change in shape of electronic device, Na discloses wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a network mode of the electronic device, wherein the network mode comprises a connection type value identifying one of a WIFI connection, a cellular connection, and no connection; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current connection type value of the network mode (Figs. 8-11 and at least par. [0105], “antenna module for 5G mobile communication… the characteristics of the antenna module may be changed by changing the position or orientation of the antenna module with the change in the shape of the electronic device…the characteristics of the antenna module may be changed with the extension/retraction of the electronic devices...”; par. [0047], where the different antenna modules support different frequencies and/or networks including cellular and Wi-Fi networks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Na’s teachings wherein: to determine the device state of the electronic device, the controller determines a network mode of the electronic device, wherein the network mode comprises a connection type value identifying one of a WIFI connection, a cellular connection, and no connection; and the controller actuates the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly to place the leading edge of the flexible display at a position indicative of a current connection type value of the network mode with the flexible display apparatus disclosed by Kim’781 and Kim’875 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modern electronic device support several network interface communications; therefore, shaping the electronic device to a desired configuration, enhances the quality of communication when specific antennas types or arrangements provide the optimal conditions for specific types of networks.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the Remarks, the Applicant argues in substance:
“Applicant's claimed invention provides that a controller automatically performs a translation of the display device to physically indicate (based on the extended/translated position of the display relative to the housing) a status of a particular setting of the device. The specification and dependent claims clearly present the various different settings whose state can be indicated by the amount of the physical translation of the display. Importantly, the controller performs these translations while the display of the device is off and without user input…”.
The claims do not specifically recite the limitations where the translation is performed automatically without user’s input.
“Kim'781 does not disclose any of the above features of the claimed invention. The Examiner then relies on Kim'875 to provide support for rejecting these features of the independent claims. However, a careful reading of Kim'875 reveals that Kim'875 is deficient in providing any description or suggestion of the controller autonomously/automatically actuating the translation mechanism to translate the blade assembly…”
The claims do not specifically recite the limitations where the translation is performed autonomously/ as argued by the Applicant.
“Paragraphs [0115] - [0117] of Kim'875… paragraph [0115] requires the processor "detect a sliding operation" which clearly requires a user manipulation of the display device versus a controller/processor triggered translation of the display device, required by the claimed invention. See para [0023] of Applicant's specification, which provides: "... a processor (controller) onboard the device moves the motorized, moveable electronic display to a given position, based on the device state." Kim'875 does not provide for a processor-initiated actuation; but instead responds to a detected user movement of the display from the closed state…”
The claims do not recite where the “controller/processor triggered translation” without user’s input manipulation.
“Applicant's claimed invention that operates simply to translate the display that is and remains off during the translation, as the translation is intended to be a physical/spatial representation of the state of the device feature being modeled…”
The limitations are not recited in the claims as argued.
“Kim'875 also does not provide support for placing a display edge at a position ‘indicative of the device state.’… Applicant's use of the display position to provide an indication of a device state parameter (volume, battery level, network mode, message status) for user observation and identification…”
An extended state is indicative of an active display/device, a contracted display can be indicative of an off state, an intermediate position can be indicative of a notification state, among others.
“claim 2 provides that the volume level setting/state of the device is utilized by the controller to trigger a corresponding amount of translation/extension applied to the display, while the cited reference Kim '174 provides the opposite correlation of the volume/audio output level being determined by the display extension state.”
Claim 2 provides a number of choices, where at least one of the selections detects incoming calls or messages and the device is extended based on the type of notification to be provided.
“Applicant's claim 4 provides that the current network connection type (WiFi, cellular, none) of the device is indicated by extending the display to a particular display position, while Na uses the current extension state of the device to determine which antenna module is active to optimize RF characteristics.”
The Rf characteristics are indicative of the RF protocol used/needed such as WiFi, cellular, Bluetooth, etc.
“Claim 5 provides for a new message status of Yes/No being indicated by the extension position in which the display is placed…”
Where a semi-extended position is indicative of a received message.
The Examiner has given a broad and reasonable interpretation to the claims in view of the specification and believes that the references cited read on the claims, as presently written. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Examiner AU 2649