DETAILED ACTION
Claim 2 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Liu et al. (2023/0164608).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 16, Liu discloses an electronic device (see abstract, fig.5, element 500, figs.6-7, element UE, fig.21, element 2120, paragraphs [0019-0021], [0035], [0051] and its description), comprising: a transceiver (see abstract, fig.21, element 2133, paragraph [0035], [0051], [0248] and its description); and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the transceiver, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive an indication of a location of a first electronic device of a plurality of electronic devices (see abstract, fig.5, element 540/500, figs.6-7, element UE, fig.21, elements 2121, 2133, 2124, paragraphs [0019-0021], [0035], [0051], [0081], [0248-0250] and its description); and cause one or more radio frequency (RF) signals indicative of waypoint data to be transmitted to the first electronic device by a satellite based on the first electronic device not being communicatively coupled to a cellular network and the location of the first electronic device being separated from a second electronic device of the plurality of electronic devices by a distance exceeding a threshold distance, the waypoint data being indicative of navigational directions for a user of the first electronic device (see abstract, fig.5, element 540, fig. 7, element UE1, UE2, fig.21, elements 2121, 2133, 2124, paragraph [0035], [0081], [0085], [0248-0250] and its description).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted via the cellular network based on the first electronic device being communicatively coupled to the cellular network (see fig.7, element UE1, BS, paragraphs [0084-0087] and its description).
Regarding claim 4, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted using ultra-wideband communication based on the first electronic device not being communicatively coupled to the cellular network and the distance not exceeding the threshold distance (see abstract, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009]).
Regarding claim 5, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to: cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted via device-to-device (D2D) communication based on the first electronic device being within a D2D threshold distance of one or more electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices, the first electronic not being communicatively coupled to the cellular network, and the distance not exceeding the threshold distance; and cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted to the first electronic device by the satellite based on the first electronic device not being within the D2D threshold distance of the one or more electronic devices (see abstract, fig.7, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 6, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to: receive a user input indicative of a value to use as a second threshold distance, wherein the second threshold distance is less than the threshold distance (see abstract, fig.7, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description); set the value as the second threshold distance (paragraphs [0081], [0085] and its description); and cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted based on the distance exceeding the second threshold distance (see abstract, fig.7, paragraphs [0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 7, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to receive a second indication from a third electronic device of the plurality of electronic devices indicative of a second threshold distance that is less than the threshold distance, wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted based on the distance exceeding the second threshold distance, the second threshold distance being associated with the first electronic device or a first user of the first electronic device, a third threshold distance different than the second threshold distance, and the third threshold distance being associated with a fourth electronic device of the plurality of electronic devices or a second user of the fourth electronic device (see abstract, fig.7, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 8, Liu further discloses the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to: receive a second indication of a user input indicative of a user of the first electronic device being lost or separated from one or more users associated with a set of the plurality of electronic devices that excludes the first electronic device(see abstract, fig.7, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009], [0085] and its description); and cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted based on the second indication (see abstract, fig.5, element 540, fig.7, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009], [0077], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 9, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to determine a second threshold distance based on weather conditions present at the location of the first electronic device, wherein the second threshold distance is less than the threshold distance, and cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted based on the distance exceeding the second threshold distance (see abstract, fig.5, element 540, fig.7, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009], [0077], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 10, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to: determine that an amount of electrical power remaining in a power source of the first electronic device is less than a power threshold (see abstract, paragraph [0012], [0048-0049]) ; and cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted based on the amount of electrical power remaining in the power source being less than the power threshold(see abstract, fig.5, element 540, fig.7, paragraphs [0003], [0006-0009], [0012], [0048-0049], [0077], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 11, Liu further discloses wherein the one or more RF signals are indicative of waypoint data, the waypoint data being indicative of navigational directions for a user of the first electronic device (see abstract, fig.21, paragraphs [0035], [0051], [0245-0259] and its description).
Regarding claim 14, Liu further discloses wherein after the one or more RF signals are transmitted, the processing circuitry is configured to receive notification data indicative of the user being separated from one or more users of one or more electronic devices of the plurality of electronic devices other than the first electronic device (see abstract, fig.21, paragraphs [0035], [0051], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 15, Liu further discloses wherein the electronic device comprises the second electronic device (see fig.7 and its description).
Regarding claim 17, Liu further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is included in the second electronic device (see fig.21, element 2121, paragraphs [0248-0249] and its description).
Regarding claim 18, Liu further discloses wherein the processing circuitry is included in a server (see fig.21 and it description).
Regarding claim 19, Liu further comprising determining second threshold distance that is less than the threshold distance based on an age of the user, weather at the location of the first electronic device, elevation of the location, topography of the location, a height of the user, a terrain of the location, or any combination thereof, wherein causing the one or more RF signals to be transmitted comprises causing the one or more RF signals to be to transmitted based on the distance exceeding the second threshold distance (see fig.5, element 540, paragraphs [0077], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description).
Regarding claim 20, Liu further discloses wherein: the waypoint data is indicative of a meeting location at which the user can meet with one or more users of a portion of the plurality of electronic devices that excludes the first electronic device; and the method comprises causing the processing circuitry to transmit additional waypoint data to the portion of the plurality of electronic devices, wherein the additional waypoint data is indicative of the meeting location (see abstract, fig.21, element 2121, paragraphs [0248-0249] and its description).
Regarding claim 21, Liu further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed, cause the processing circuitry to determine a second threshold distance based at least in part on an age of a user of the first electronic device, and cause the one or more RF signals to be transmitted based on the distance exceeding the second threshold distance (see fig.5, element 540, paragraphs [0077], [0081], [0084-0085] and its description).
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
When responding to this Office Action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
Conclusion
UNITED STATES PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE
/CONGVAN TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647