Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/29/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, claim 9 states "wherein the first plurality of rare earth metals is separated into medium rare earth metals”. Claim 9 further depends on claim 8 which states "wherein the first plurality of rare earth metals is separated into light and heavy rare earth metals." Hence claim 9 fails to clearly and precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. For the purposes of examination, claim 9 is best interpreted to depend on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 6,093,376 (Moore).
Regarding Claim 1, Moore discloses a method for separating rare earth metals or rare earth elements (REE) (abstract: “A method is disclosed to separate the heavy rare earth elements Lu through Sm plus Y”), the method comprising:
contacting a first plurality of rare earth metals with a first resin (column 3, lines 43-44 and 53-54: “Selective elution uses more than one type of resin and a different retaining ion... the upstream end of the iminodiacetic resin column is in ammonium form”; column 5, lines 16-19 and 25-27: “the concentration of different REE in the feed… The relative concentration of REEs... any lighter REE, i.e., a first plurality of rare earth metals, that coelute with the heaviest REE”);
contacting the first plurality of rare earth metals with a first chelating agent (column 6, lines 8-9: “eluting rare earth elements with chelating agent in the separation column”; column 7, lines 51-52: “A 4g/L EDTA... solution”); Note: ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid is EDTA.
separating the first plurality of rare earth metals into a second plurality of rare earth metals (column 5, lines 24-27: “the ammonium form resin performs a gross separation of the rare earths and provides exchange sites to hold any lighter REE, i.e., separating the first Plurality of rare earth metals, that coelute with the heaviest REE, i.e., into a second plurality of rare earth elements”);
contacting the second plurality of rare earth metals with a second resin (column 3, lines 43-44 and 55-56: “Selective elution uses more than one type of resin and a different retaining ion... the downstream end of the iminodiacetic resin column is in hydrogen form”; column 5, lines 27-29: “The "hydrogen form" iminodiacetic resin finishes the separation, i.e., contacting the second plurality of rare earth metals with a second resin”);
contacting the second plurality of rare earth metals with a second chelating agent (column 6, lines 8-9: “eluting rare earth elements with chelating agent in the separation column”; column 7, lines 51-52: “A 4g/L EDTA... solution”; column 8, lines 4-16: recycled EDTA); and
separating the second plurality of rare earth metals into individual rare earth metals (column 5, lines 38-39: “Each pure REE is stored in a tank dedicated to that REE”).
Regarding Claim 2, Moore discloses that at least one of the plurality of rare earth metals comprises a light rare earth metal (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm, i.e., a light rare earth metal = Sm to Lu”)
(Paragraph [0065] of the instant specification describes Sm as a light rare earth metal).
Regarding Claim 3, Moore discloses that at least one of the individual rare earth metals comprises a light rare earth metal (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm , i.e., a light rare earth metal = Sm to Lu”)
(Paragraph [0065] of the instant specification describes Sm as a light rare earth metal).
Regarding Claim 4, Moore discloses that at least one of the plurality of rare earth metals comprises a medium rare earth metal (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm to Lu”; Figure 4; column 7, lines 43-44: “selective elution of 64 mmols each of Ho, Dy, Tb, and Gd, i.e., Gd = a medium rare earth metal”) (Paragraph [0066] of the instant specification describes Gd as a medium rare earth metal).
Regarding Claim 5, Moore discloses that at least one of the individual rare earth metals comprises a medium rare earth metal (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm to Lu”; column 7, lines 43-44: “selective elution of 64 mmols each of Ho, Dy, Tb, and Gd, i.e., Gd = a medium rare earth metal”) (Paragraph [0066] of the instant specification describes Gd as a medium rare earth metal).
Regarding Claim 6, Moore discloses that at least one of the plurality of rare earth metals comprises a heavy rare earth metal (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm to Lu; column 7, lines 43-44: “selective elution of 64 mmols each of Ho, Dy, Tb, i.e., a heavy rare earth metal = Ho, Dy, Tb”) (Paragraph [0067] of the instant specification describes Ho, Dy, Tb, as a heavy rare earth metal).
Regarding Claim 7, Moore discloses that at least one of the plurality of rare earth metals comprises a heavy rare earth metal (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm to Lu; column 7, lines 43-44: “selective elution of 64 mmols each of Ho, Dy, Tb, i.e., a heavy rare earth metal = Ho, Dy, Tb”) (Paragraph [0067] of the instant specification describes Ho, Dy, Tb, as a heavy rare earth metal).
Regarding Claim 8, Moore discloses that the first plurality of rare earth metals is separated into light and heavy rare earth metals (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm lo Lu, i.e., a light rare earth metal = Sm” (Paragraph [0065] of the specification describes Sm as a light rare earth metal); column 7, lines 43-44: “selective elution of 64 mmols each of Ho, Dy, Tb, i.e., a heavy rare earth metal = Ho, Dy, Tb” (Paragraph [0067] of the instant specification describes Ho, Dy, Tb, as a heavy rare earth metal)).
Regarding Claim 9, Moore discloses that the first plurality of rare earth metals is separated into medium rare earth metals (Figure 2B; column 8, lines 9-10: “Selective elution will separate the ten heaviest rare-earth elements, Sm to Lu”; column 7, lines 43-44: “selective elution of 64 mmols each of Ho, Dy, Th, and Gd, i.e., Gd = a medium rare earth metal” (Paragraph [0066] of the instant specification describes Gd as a medium rare earth metal)).
Regarding Claim 10, Moore discloses that the first resin is in communication with the second resin (column 3, lines 43-44 and 53-56: “Selective elution uses more than one type of resin and a different retaining ion... the upstream end of the iminodiacetic resin column is in ammonium form and the downstream end of the iminodiacetic resin column is in hydrogen form”).
Regarding Claim 13, Moore discloses that the first chelating agent comprises ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) (column 6, lines 8-9: “eluting rare earth elements with chelating agent in the separation column”; column 7, lines 51-52: “A 4g/L EDTA... solution”).
Regarding Claim 14, Moore discloses that the first chelating agent comprises ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (EDTA) (column 6, lines 8-9: “eluting rare earth elements with chelating agent in the separation column”; column 7, lines 51-52: “A 4g/L EDTA... solution”; column 8, lines 4-16: recycled EDTA).
Claims 1-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2019/0153562 A1 to Purdue Research Foundation (hereinafter, "Purdue").
Regarding Claim 1, Purdue discloses a method for separating rare earth metals or rare earth elements (REE) (abstract: “REEs are captured and enriched using an ion exchange column”; Figure 11; Para. [0160]: “the separation of REEs can be done in a continuous mode with stepwise elution”), the method comprising:
contacting a first plurality of rare earth metals with a first resin (Figure 11; Para. [0160]: “the separation of REEs... as seen in figure 11: Feeding Pr/Nd/Sm... Zone II (2), i.e., contacting with a first resin; Para. [0163]: “The resin... a mixture of Sm, Nd, and Pr is fed into the column, each REEs is separated as pure bands based on the ligand affinity”);
contacting the first plurality of rare earth metals with a first chelating agent (Figure 11; Para. [0160]: “the separation of REEs... as seen in figure II Zone II (2): 0.15M EDTA);
separating the first plurality of rare earth metals into a second plurality of rare earth metals (Figure 11; Para. [0160]: the separation of REEs as seen in figure 11 Feeding Pr/Nd/Sm... Zone II (2) separates Sm and Pr/Nd into Zone II (3));
contacting the second plurality of rare earth metals with a second resin (Para. [0163]: The resin; Figure 11; Para. [0160]: “the separation of REEs as seen in figure 11: Pr/Nd into Zone II (3), i.e., contacting with a second resin); contacting the second plurality of rare earth metals with a second chelating agent (Figure 11; Para. [0160]: “the separation of REEs... as seen in figure 11 Zone II (3): 0.25M EDTA); and
separating the second plurality of rare earth metals into individual rare earth metals (Figure 11; Para. [0058]: FIG. 11 describes continuous ligand-assisted elution sequence of Sm, Nd, and Pr as seen in Figure 11 separating Nd; Para. [0163]: “The resin… a mixture of Sm, Nd, and Pr is fed into the column, each REEs is separated as pure bands based on the ligand affinity”).
Regarding Claim 2, Purdue discloses that at least one of the plurality of rare earth metals comprises a light rare earth metal (Figure 11; Para. [0058]: FIG. 11 describes continuous ligand-assisted elution sequence of Sm, i.e., a light rare earth metal = Sm (Paragraph [0065] of the instant specification describes Sm, Nd, Pr as a light rare earth metal)).
Regarding Claim 3, Purdue discloses that at least one of the individual rare earth metals comprises a light rare earth metal (Figure 11; Para. [0058]: FIG. 11 describes continuous ligand-assisted elution sequence of Sm, i.e., a light rare earth metal = Sm (Paragraph [0065] of the instant specification describes Sm, Nd, Pr as a light rare earth metal)).
Regarding Claim 13, Purdue discloses that the first chelating agent comprises ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (Figure 11; Para. [0160]: the separation of REEs... as seen in figure 11 Zone II (2): 0.15M EDTA).
Regarding Claim 14, Purdue discloses that the second chelating agent comprises ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid (Figure 11; Para. [0160], the separation of REEs... as seen in figure 11 Zone II (3): 0.25M EDTA).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdue as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chinese Patent No. CN 110575819 B to Tianjin Baogang Research Institute of Rare Earths Co Ltd et al. (hereinafter, "Tianjin").
Purdue discloses the method for separating rare earth metals as described above.
Claim 11 differs from Purdue in reciting that the first resin is part of a primary carousel system.
Tianjin, in the field of separating rare earth metals (abstract; Para. [0023]), teaches that a first resin is part of a primary carousel system (Paras. [0042], [0045]; Figure 2: 1-7 are numbers of the first to seventh resin columns, i.e., a first resin, 203 carousel controller, i.e., a
first resin is part of primary carousel system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Purdue to include a first resin is part of a primary carousel system as taught by Tianjin, for the benefit of separating rare earth metals using resin columns (Purdue: Figure 11; Paras. [0058], [0160], [0163]) comprising a first resin column arranged in a carousel (Tianjin: abstract; Paras. [0034], [0042], [0045]; Figure 2) to further improve purity of recovered individual REEs and to reduce costs for the overall process (Purdue: Paras. [0166]; Tianjin: Para. [0023]).
Claim 12 differs from Purdue in reciting that the second resin is part of a secondary carousel system.
Tianjin, in the field of separating rare earth metals (abstract; Para. [0023]), teaches that a second resin is part of a secondary carousel system (Paras. [0042], [0045]; Figure 2: 1-7 are numbers of the first to seventh resin columns, i.e., a second resin, 203 carousel controller, i.e., a
second resin is part of secondary carousel system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Purdue to include a second resin is part of a secondary carousel system as taught by Tianjin, for the benefit of separating rare earth metals using resin columns (Purdue: Figure 11; Paras. [0058], [0160], [0163]) comprising a second resin column arranged in a carousel (Tianjin: abstract; Paras. [0034], [0042], [0045]; Figure 2) to further improve purity of recovered individual REEs and to reduce costs for the overall process (Purdue: Paras. [0166]; Tianjin: Para. [0023]).
Conclusion
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
JK
3/30/26