DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 16 have been amended.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 regarding the new limitations: “for each respective object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As per the applicant’s arguments that prior arts of record fail to teach the new limitations, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Prior art Mildrew teaches: [0003]: Examples of these environments include first person video games and tools for visualizing 3D models of terrain. [0026]: In accordance with various embodiments, the tags can be or include rich data/metadata that can be associated with features of or locations in the 3D model and provide additional information about the features or locations they are associated with. For example, a tag that can be associated with a piece of furniture (platonic object) included in the interior space of a reconstructed 3D model of a home can include a textual description of the furniture, an audio description of the furniture, etc. [0143]: In another example, a tag associated with a point, area or object in a 3D model can include a link to alternative versions of the 3D model, such as version of the 3D model with alternative structural components, i.e., the tag identifies different versions (list of objects) of the furniture (platonic object). Prior art of record Suzman teaches: [0053] The plan may also contain a classification identifier 707. The classification identifier can identify one or more classifications or characteristics of the object. [0054]: For example, another type of classification may be based on real world counterparts. Real word objects such as buildings, ground cover, wall hangings, walls, vehicles, furniture, etc. can each be a class of object identified by identifier 707. So if the object is a lamp, then its classifier 707 may indicate that it is in the "furniture" class (platonic object), i.e., the classifier identifies the platonic object that the respective object is a version of. Therefore, the combination of Mildrew and Suzman teaches a platonic object identifying the different versions of the platonic object via a tag and a respective object identifying the platonic object of which it is a version through a classifier.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11727123. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant application
U.S. Patent No. 11727123
1. A method, comprising: storing, in a data storage of a server computer hosting a virtual reality world, a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object; storing, in the data storage, a set of resource objects, for each respective object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object;
storing, in the data storage, a node for the respective object in the list of objects that are different version of the platonic object, wherein the node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object for which the respective object is one of the different versions; and a set of access control parameters of the respective object that is one of the different versions of the platonic object.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the respective object has a shape and a size in the virtual reality world.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of resource objects identify: positions of the set of resource objects relative to each other within the respective object.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object includes at least one parameter identifying a permission to modify the respective object.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the permission indicates whether the respective object is modifiable by a user other than a creator in creating a new object.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the permission indicates whether the resource objects of the respective object are extractable for use in a context outside of the respective object.
7. The method of claim 2, wherein each instance of a first object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object is created as an instance of the platonic object having an indication of a version corresponding to the first object.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein in response to a request to render the instance of the first object, the method further comprises: determining availability of a second object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object, wherein the second object is a successor version of the first object; and processing migration from the instance of the first object to an instance of the second object.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the server computer automatically initiates and completes the migration based on a compatibility between the first object and the second object and a preference of a user of the instance of the first object.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the processing migration includes prompting a user of the instance of the first object to test an instance of the second object and accepting the instance of the second object as a replacement of the instance of the first object.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the instance of the first object is used in construction of a virtual object; and the processing migration includes creating an updated or upgraded version of the virtual object by replacing the instance of the first object with an instance of the second object.
12. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object identifies a license for the respective object.
13. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object identifies a price for the respective object.
14. The method of claim 2, wherein the respective node of each of the set of resource objects identifies a first price and a first creator.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein in response to a sale of an instance of the respective object, the method further comprises: acquiring, automatically by the server computer, an instance of each of the set of resource objects of the respective object according to the first price from the first creator.
16. A non-transitory computer storage medium storing instructions configured to instruct a server computer to perform a method, the method comprising: storing, in a data storage of a server computer hosting a virtual reality world, a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object; storing, in the data storage, a set of resource objects, for each respective object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object;
storing, in the data storage, a node for the respective object in the list of objects that are different version of the platonic object, wherein the node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object for which the respective object is one of the different versions; and a set of access control parameters of the respective object that is one of the different versions of the platonic object.
17. A computing system, comprising: a data storage device storing: a three-dimensional model of a virtual reality world; a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object; a respective blueprint of each respective object in the list of objects, the respective blueprint identifying a set of resource objects;
and
a provenance node for the respective object in the list of objects, wherein the provenance node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object; and a set of access control parameters of the respective object.
18. The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes usage of an instance of the respective object in creation of a virtual object in the virtual reality world.
19. The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes acquisition of the instances by users different from one or more creators of the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object.
20. The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes acquisition of instances of the set of resource objects of the respective object during acquisition of an instance of the respective object.
1. A method, comprising: storing, in a data storage of a server computer hosting a virtual reality world, a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object; storing, in the data storage, a set of resource objects, for each respective object in the list of objects, that are used to construct the respective object in the virtual reality world;
storing, in the data storage, a node for the respective object in the list of objects, wherein the node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object; and a set of access control parameters of the respective object,
wherein each of the set of resource objects has a respective node having access control parameters.
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the respective object has a shape and a size in the virtual reality world.
3. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of resource objects identify: positions of the set of resource objects relative to each other within the respective object.
4. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object includes at least one parameter identifying a permission to modify the respective object.
5. The method of claim 4, wherein the permission indicates whether the respective object is modifiable by a user other than a creator in creating a new object.
6. The method of claim 4, wherein the permission indicates whether the resource objects of the respective object are extractable for use in a context outside of the respective object.
7. The method of claim 2, wherein each instance of a first object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object is created as an instance of the platonic object having an indication of a version corresponding to the first object.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein in response to a request to render the instance of the first object, the method further comprises: determining availability of a second object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object, wherein the second object is a successor version of the first object; and processing migration from the instance of the first object to an instance of the second object.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the server computer automatically initiates and completes the migration based on a compatibility between the first object and the second object and a preference of a user of the instance of the first object.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the processing migration includes prompting a user of the instance of the first object to test an instance of the second object and accepting the instance of the second object as a replacement of the instance of the first object.
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the instance of the first object is used in construction of a virtual object; and the processing migration includes creating an updated or upgraded version of the virtual object by replacing the instance of the first object with an instance of the second object.
12. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object identifies a license for the respective object.
13. The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object identifies a price for the respective object.
14. The method of claim 2, wherein the respective node of each of the set of resource objects identifies a first price and a first creator.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein in response to a sale of an instance of the respective object, the method further comprises: acquiring, automatically by the server computer, an instance of each of the set of resource objects of the respective object according to the first price from the first creator.
16. A non-transitory computer storage medium storing instructions configured to instruct a server computer to perform a method, the method comprising: storing, in a data storage of a server computer hosting a virtual reality world, a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object; storing, in the data storage, a set of resource objects, for each respective object in the list of objects, that are used to construct the respective object in the virtual reality world;
storing, in the data storage, a node for the respective object in the list of objects,
wherein the node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object; and a set of access control parameters of the respective object, wherein each of the set of resource objects has a respective node having access control parameters.
17. A computing system, comprising: a data storage device storing: a three-dimensional model of a virtual reality world; a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object; a respective blueprint of each respective object in the list of objects, the respective blueprint identifying a set of resource objects that are used to construct the respective object in the virtual reality world; and
a provenance node for the respective object in the list of objects, wherein the provenance node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object; and a set of access control parameters of the respective object, wherein each of the set of resource objects has a respective provenance node having access control parameters.
18. The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes usage of an instance of the respective object in creation of a virtual object in the virtual reality world.
19. The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes acquisition of the instances by users different from one or more creators of the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object.
20. The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes acquisition of instances of the set of resource objects of the respective object during acquisition of an instance of the respective object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over prior arts of record US 20180143756 to Mildrew et al (hereinafter Mildrew) and US 20150050997 to Suzman et al (hereinafter Suzman).
As per claims 1 and 16, Mildrew teaches:
A method, comprising:
storing, in a data storage of a server computer hosting a virtual reality world, a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object (Mildrew: [0003] Interactive, first-person 3D immersive environments are becoming increasingly popular. In these environments, a user is able to navigate through a virtual space. Examples of these environments include first person video games and tools for visualizing 3D models of terrain. the 3D modeling and navigation server device 402 can provide (e.g., via streaming or via downloading) the client device 424 access to data stored by the 3D modeling and navigation server device 402 (e.g., in memory 418) to facilitate navigating, interacting with, and rendering a 3D model and tags associated with the 3D model. [0058]: virtual reality. [0069]: For example, the walking mode can provide perspectives of a 3D model from a virtual camera that corresponds to the eyes of a virtual user as the virtual user walks around the space of the 3D model. [0026]: In accordance with various embodiments, the tags can be or include rich data/metadata that can be associated with features of or locations in the 3D model and provide additional information about the features or locations they are associated with. For example, a tag that can be associated with a piece of furniture (platonic object) included in the interior space of a reconstructed 3D model of a home can include a textual description of the furniture, an audio description of the furniture, etc. [0143]: In another example, a tag associated with a point, area or object in a 3D model can include a link to alternative versions of the 3D model, such as version of the 3D model with alternative structural components, i.e., the tag identifies different versions (list of objects) of the furniture (platonic object));
Mildrew teaches a platonic object (furniture) that also identifies different versions of the furniture (list of objects) via a tag but fails to teach the rest of the limitations. However, Suzman teaches:
storing, in the data storage, a set of resource objects, for each respective object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object (Suzman: [0032]: during play of the game, the various players may each control their avatars to move around and visit different plots of land. [0048] In step 310, the computing device may generate an object plan data file 700 for the newly created object, and establish various parameters for the created object plan. [0052] The object plan may also contain an identifier 706 of the various object(s) and/or components (set of resource objects) that comprise the object. This components list, akin to a parts list, can help other players understand what assets they may need to assemble a version of the object for themselves);
storing, in the data storage, a node for the respective object in the list of objects that are different version of the platonic object, wherein the node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object for which the respective object is one of the different versions (Suzman: [0053] The plan may also contain a classification identifier 707. The classification identifier can identify one or more classifications or characteristics of the object. [0054]: For example, another type of classification may be based on real world counterparts. Real word objects such as buildings, ground cover, wall hangings, walls, vehicles, furniture, etc. can each be a class of object identified by identifier 707. So if the object is a lamp, then its classifier 707 may indicate that it is in the "furniture" class (platonic object), i.e., the classifier identifies the platonic object of the object); and a set of access control parameters of the respective object that is one of the different versions of the platonic object (Suzman: [0059] In some embodiments, the plan can also include restriction values 711, indicating what the current owner is allowed to do with the object. For example, the original creator may restrict the owner from making changes to the object, or from selling the object, its copies or its plan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Suzman in the invention of Mildrew to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to enable a player's avatar to navigate around a variety of drawn objects and to interact with them to rate them (Suzman: [0112]).
As per claim 2, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the respective object has a shape and a size in the virtual reality world (Suzman: [0042]: Steps (iii)-(v) may involve the addition of several more strokes to add the sunflower's stalk, petals, and face. When the user enters a command indicating he/she is finished, the computing device can display the bounding box 504, and as shown in step (vi), the user can resize the bounding box to surround the sunflower and to define the 3-D volume space that the user envisions the sunflower as having. Also, [0053], [0061]).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 3, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the set of resource objects identify: positions of the set of resource objects relative to each other within the respective object (Suzman: [0052]: For compound object plans, the listing of components can also include a listing of the relative positions of the components, relative to an origin point for the compound object. [0109]: The compound object plan may contain similar data as the object plan file discussed above, with information identifying the list of constituent objects and their relative placement within the compound objects. In this recreation, the computing device can step through the listed objects, instructing the player on what object is needed next, and where it should go, to recreate the scene).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 4, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object includes at least one parameter identifying a permission to modify the respective object (Suzman: [0059] In some embodiments, the plan can also include restriction values 711, indicating what the current owner is allowed to do with the object. For example, the original creator may restrict the owner from making changes to the object, or from selling the object, its copies or its plan).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 5, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the permission indicates whether the respective object is modifiable by a user other than a creator in creating a new object (Suzman: [0059] In some embodiments, the plan can also include restriction values 711, indicating what the current owner is allowed to do with the object).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 6, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein the permission indicates whether the resource objects of the respective object are extractable for use in a context outside of the respective object (Suzman: [0077]: Another type of action can be the extraction of virtual ink from virtual ink wells. As noted above, a player may possess a limited amount of ink that can be used for crafting objects. Scattered throughout the virtual landscape may be virtual ink well objects that, upon interaction, can provide an amount of ink to an interacting player).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 7, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein each instance of a first object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object is created as an instance of the platonic object having an indication of a version corresponding to the first object (Mildrew: [0143]: In another example, a tag associated with a point, area or object in a 3D model can include a link to alternative versions of the 3D model, such as version of the 3D model with alternative structural components. [0205]: In various embodiments, the tag indexing component 2302 can be configured to generate a tag index (e.g., tag index 2306) including information identifying points, areas or objects respectively included in one or more 3D models having tags associated therewith based on application of the tags to the respective 3D models. For example, the tag index 2306 can be provided in memory 418. [0206]: the tag index 2306 can include information including but not limited to: … information identifying related 3D models (e.g., different 3D model versions of the same environment or object), i.e., an object in the 3D model (platonic object) identifies different versions of the object via the tag index associated with it. [0207]: In another example, using the search component 2304 and the tag index 2306, a user can request and receive information identifying 3D models of a same or similar object or environment).
As per claim 13, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object identifies a price for the respective object (Suzman: [0057] The object plan can also include one or more requirements 710 for crafting an instance. The requirements 710 can indicate what is required of a player who wishes to acquire the object from the current owner, or who wishes to create or craft an instance of the object, or to acquire the object plans for the object. [0058] The requirements can be a cost in in-game currency).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 14, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein the respective node of each of the set of resource objects identifies a first price and a first creator (Suzman: [0049] The object plan can include information identifying the object's original creator 702. [0057] The object plan can also include one or more requirements 710 for crafting an instance. The requirements 710 can indicate what is required of a player who wishes to acquire the object from the current owner, or who wishes to create or craft an instance of the object, or to acquire the object plans for the object. [0058] The requirements can be a cost in in-game currency. [0113] As noted above, players may buy and sell their drawn objects and/or object plans. In some embodiments, the asking prices for the objects can be set by the seller).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 15, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The method of claim 14, wherein in response to a sale of an instance of the respective object, the method further comprises: acquiring, automatically by the server computer, an instance of each of the set of resource objects of the respective object according to the first price from the first creator (Suzman: [0057]: So the original creator of a sunflower may be able to use the plan to craft multiple sunflowers, but the players who buy those sunflowers may only be permitted to use and dispose (e.g., sell or trade) of their sunflower instance(s), and they may be prohibited from creating copies of the sunflowers. [0058] The requirements can be a cost in in-game currency).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 1 above.
As per claim 17, Mildrew teaches:
A computing system, comprising:
a data storage device storing: a three-dimensional model of a virtual reality world (Mildrew: [0003] Interactive, first-person 3D immersive environments are becoming increasingly popular. In these environments, a user is able to navigate through a virtual space. Examples of these environments include first person video games and tools for visualizing 3D models of terrain. [0058]: virtual reality. [0069]: For example, the walking mode can provide perspectives of a 3D model from a virtual camera that corresponds to the eyes of a virtual user as the virtual user walks around the space of the 3D model. [0054]: The 3D modeling and navigation server device 402 can include various components that facilitate navigating and interacting with a 3D model including tags using a client device (e.g., client device 424). [0057]: the 3D modeling and navigation server device 402 can provide (e.g., via streaming or via downloading) the client device 424 access to data stored by the 3D modeling and navigation server device 402 (e.g., in memory 418) to facilitate navigating, interacting with, and rendering a 3D model and tags associated with the 3D model);
a platonic object identifying a list of objects as different versions of the platonic object (Mildrew: [0026]: In accordance with various embodiments, the tags can be or include rich data/metadata that can be associated with features of or locations in the 3D model and provide additional information about the features or locations they are associated with. For example, a tag that can be associated with a piece of furniture (platonic object) included in the interior space of a reconstructed 3D model of a home can include a textual description of the furniture, an audio description of the furniture, etc. [0143]: In another example, a tag associated with a point, area or object in a 3D model can include a link to alternative versions of the 3D model, such as version of the 3D model with alternative structural components, i.e., the tag identifies different versions (list of objects) of the furniture (platonic object));
Mildrew teaches a platonic object (furniture) that also identifies different versions of the furniture (list of objects) via a tag but fails to teach the rest of the limitations. However, Suzman teaches:
a respective blueprint of each respective object in the list of objects, the respective blueprint identifying a set of resource objects (Suzman: [0032]: during play of the game, the various players may each control their avatars to move around and visit different plots of land. [0048] In step 310, the computing device may generate an object plan data file 700 for the newly created object, and establish various parameters for the created object plan. [0052] The object plan may also contain an identifier 706 of the various object(s) and/or components (set of resource objects) that comprise the object. This components list, akin to a parts list, can help other players understand what assets they may need to assemble a version of the object for themselves); and
a provenance node for the respective object in the list of objects, wherein the provenance node of the respective object identifies: the platonic object (Suzman: [0053] The plan may also contain a classification identifier 707. The classification identifier can identify one or more classifications or characteristics of the object. [0054]: For example, another type of classification may be based on real world counterparts. Real word objects such as buildings, ground cover, wall hangings, walls, vehicles, furniture, etc. can each be a class of object identified by identifier 707. So if the object is a lamp, then its classifier 707 may indicate that it is in the "furniture" class (platonic object), i.e., the classifier identifies the platonic object of the object); and a set of access control parameters of the respective object (Suzman: [0059] In some embodiments, the plan can also include restriction values 711, indicating what the current owner is allowed to do with the object. For example, the original creator may restrict the owner from making changes to the object, or from selling the object, its copies or its plan).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Suzman in the invention of Mildrew to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to enable a player's avatar to navigate around a variety of drawn objects and to interact with them to rate them (Suzman: [0112]).
As per claim 18, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes usage of an instance of the respective object in creation of a virtual object in the virtual reality world (Suzman: [0109]: For example, a player may place 100 instanced objects in his/her plot to form a scene, such as multiple flowers placed in a garden).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 17 above.
As per claim 19, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes acquisition of the instances by users different from one or more creators of the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object (Suzman: [0057]: So the original creator of a sunflower may be able to use the plan to craft multiple sunflowers, but the players who buy those sunflowers may only be permitted to use and dispose (e.g., sell or trade) of their sunflower instance(s). Also, [0113]).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 17 above.
As per claim 20, Mildrew in view of Suzman teaches:
The computing system of claim 17, wherein the access to the instances of the platonic object includes acquisition of instances of the set of resource objects of the respective object during acquisition of an instance of the respective object (Suzman: [0057]: So the original creator of a sunflower may be able to use the plan to craft multiple sunflowers, but the players who buy those sunflowers may only be permitted to use and dispose (e.g., sell or trade) of their sunflower instance(s). [0109] In some embodiments, compound objects that are an aggregated set of smaller instances of objects may be created. [0110]: the computing device may also offer the user the option at simply purchasing the entire scene or compound object. It is inherent that the resource objects that were used to create the objects and/or compound objects are also acquired when objects and/or compound objects are purchased. Also, [0113]).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew and Suzman as in claim 17 above.
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mildrew in view of Suzman as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of prior art of record US 11030654 to Caldarone et al (hereinafter Caldarone).
As per claim 8, Mildrew in view of Suzman does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 8. However, Caldarone teaches:
wherein in response to a request to render the instance of the first object, the method further comprises: determining availability of a second object in the list of objects that are different versions of the platonic object, wherein the second object is a successor version of the first object; and processing migration from the instance of the first object to an instance of the second object (Caldarone: Fig. 2A, column 6, lines 55-67 and column 7, lines 1-20: Promotion module 112 may be configured to manage a promotion that is conducted for the game space. Promotion module 112 may be configured to manage the promotion such that, during a first promotion time period, item instances of the first virtual item purchased through the store interface are modified instances of the first virtual item (i.e., successor version of the first virtual item). The modified instances may be configured to be activated by the users in the game space during a second promotion time period to obtain one or more second in-space benefits. With respect to FIG. 2A, for example, item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e that are purchased via store interface 200 may typically provide up to 2 hours of time reduction. In one use case, as indicated by notification 204, promotion module 112 may manage a promotion such that all item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e purchased on the day that notification 204 is depicted on store interface 200 will provide 50% more time reduction power (e.g., total of up to 3 hours of time reduction) if the purchased item instance is used on the same day. All item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e purchased after that day will provide up to 2 hours of time reduction. As such, users may be incentivized to purchase an item instance of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e on the same day as the presentation of notification 204 because of the increased in-space benefits, and utilize their purchased item instances on the same day so that the increased in-space benefits are not lost, i.e., on the day of the promotion, successor version of the item is made available and the benefits of the successor version are applied when used during the time period of the promotion (migrating to the successor version)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Caldarone in the invention of Mildrew in view of Suzman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to facilitate virtual item promotions via time-period-based virtual item benefits (Caldarone: column 1, lines 28-30).
As per claim 9, Mildrew in view of Suzman and Caldarone teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the server computer automatically initiates and completes the migration based on a compatibility between the first object and the second object and a preference of a user of the instance of the first object (Caldarone: Fig. 2A, column 6, lines 55-67 and column 7, lines 1-20: With respect to FIG. 2A, for example, item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e that are purchased via store interface 200 may typically provide up to 2 hours of time reduction. In one use case, as indicated by notification 204, promotion module 112 may manage a promotion such that all item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e purchased on the day that notification 204 is depicted on store interface 200 will provide 50% more time reduction power (e.g., total of up to 3 hours of time reduction) if the purchased item instance is used on the same day. All item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e purchased after that day will provide up to 2 hours of time reduction. As such, users may be incentivized to purchase an item instance of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e on the same day as the presentation of notification 204 because of the increased in-space benefits, and utilize their purchased item instances on the same day so that the increased in-space benefits are not lost).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew in view of Suzman and Caldarone as in claim 8 above.
As per claim 10, Mildrew in view of Suzman and Caldarone teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the processing migration includes prompting a user of the instance of the first object to test an instance of the second object and accepting the instance of the second object as a replacement of the instance of the first object (Caldarone: Fig. 2A, column 6, lines 55-67 and column 7, lines 1-20: With respect to FIG. 2A, for example, item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e that are purchased via store interface 200 may typically provide up to 2 hours of time reduction. In one use case, as indicated by notification 204, promotion module 112 may manage a promotion such that all item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e purchased on the day that notification 204 is depicted on store interface 200 will provide 50% more time reduction power (e.g., total of up to 3 hours of time reduction) if the purchased item instance is used on the same day. All item instances of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e purchased after that day will provide up to 2 hours of time reduction. As such, users may be incentivized to purchase an item instance of 2-Hour Time Reduction Item 202e on the same day as the presentation of notification 204 because of the increased in-space benefits, and utilize their purchased item instances on the same day so that the increased in-space benefits are not lost, i.e., the user is prompted to use the modified version).
The examiner provides the same rationale to combine prior arts Mildrew in view of Suzman and Caldarone as in claim 8 above.
As per claim 11, Mildrew in view of Suzman and Caldarone teaches:
The method of claim 8, wherein the instance of the first object is used in construction of a virtual object; and the processing migration includes creating an updated or upgraded version of the virtual object by replacing the instance of the first object with an instance of the second object (Caldarone: Fig. 2A, column 6, lines 55-67: In one use case, item instances of Time Reduction Items 202 may be activated by users to reduce the amount of time for performance of an operation in the game space. As an example, a user may initiate construction of a building that typically takes 20 minutes. However, the user may utilize an item instance of a 15-Minute Time Reduction Item 202a to reduce the construction time from 20 minutes to 5 minutes. Suzman: [0043] Drawing an object can involve the user virtually drawing on the area 501 using a virtual brush. In some embodiments, the user can create multiple sequential versions of the object, to generate an animated object, i.e., in an animation, the previous version of the object is replaced with a sequential version of the object to update the animation).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mildrew in view of Suzman as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of prior art of record US 20080004093 to Van Luchene et al (hereinafter Luchene).
As per claim 12, Mildrew in view of Suzman does not explicitly teach the limitations of claim 12. However, Luchene teaches:
wherein the set of access control parameters identified in the node for the respective object identifies a license for the respective object (Luchene’093: [0258] The requesting character's assets may be inventoried to determine if they possess the necessary materials, skills, permits, licenses, funds or assets to pay for a requested virtual object).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of Luchene in the invention of Mildrew in view of Suzman to include the above limitations. The motivation to do so would be to provide systems and methods which contribute to the evolution and longevity of such a game (Luchene: [0118]).
Conclusion
MADHURI R. HERZOG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2438
/MADHURI R HERZOG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438