DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 recites “convert a least a portion” which should read “convert [[a]] at least a portion”;
Lines 2-3 recite “the saved weight”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim; and
Line 5 recites “a bucket” which should read “[[a]] the bucket”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Para. [0008] is incomplete.
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behlendorf et al. (Pat. No.: 4,944,102; hereinafter Behlendorf).
Regarding independent claim 1, Behlendorf discloses a tapered archless dragline bucket (See Fig. 1 for bucket 13 that is archless and tapered) comprising:
a bucket (13) having no spreader bar (See claim 3 where it discloses the bucket system is “devoid of any spreader means”) and a configuration to convert a least a portion of the saved weight into capacity (note that the claimed term “the saved weight” is broad as it does not recite which feature is creating the reduced/saved weight and is currently being interpreted as the weight saved by the bucket by using a bucket that “does not having a complete back”, See col. 4, lns. 4-29 where it discloses that it is not a disadvantage “from a capacity standpoint” to use a bucket that “does not have a complete back”),
wherein the tapered archless dragline bucket (13) includes no arch and no spreader bar (See Fig. 1 where the bucket has no arch; See col. 5, lns. 15-17 where it discloses that the spreader bar is eliminated) so as to provide a bucket that provides a double weight reduction that can be converted into additional bucket capacity or production (See col. 5, lns. 25-38 where it discloses that “the low profile design as well as the fewer components utilized in the bucket systems” achieves an “increase in production up to 20%” and can be fabricated for “larger capacity”, note that the claimed term “double weight reduction” is being interpreted as the weight reduction created by not having a spreader bar or an arch).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are generally directed towards arches buckets: Leslie et al. (Pub. No.: 2003/0066212), Wimer (Pat. No.: 2,334,460), and Page (Pat. No.: 3,247,606). Additional references relevant but not cited here can be found in the attached 892.
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/A.L.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3671