DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 9, 10, 12-13, 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 7 and 9 each instance where it mentions first or second FETs this should be change to first or second transistors. Claim 10 “the signal” should be “a signal”. Claims 12-13 “the second devices” should be “a second device”. Claims 16 and 20 “the first device” this should be “a first device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-11, 18-19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motoki US 2016/011880.
Regarding Claim 1, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) An apparatus (Fig. 2) comprising: a power supply having an input and an output (102, input and output terminals); a transistor (sw1) coupled between a voltage bus (Vbus) and a power terminal (Vout node), the power terminal coupled to the output of the power supply (102); and a controller (110, 104 and 140) having first and second outputs (input terminals and output terminals of the controller), the first output coupled to the input of the power supply (with 104) , the second output coupled to a control terminal of the transistor (with 110), wherein the controller is configurable to, responsive to a state of the voltage bus (Vbus), turn off the transistor (See fig. 4 times φ4- φ6) and cause the power supply to supply power to the power terminal (see value of Vout). (For Example: Par. 43-56 and 60-68)
Regarding Claim 4, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) further comprising a capacitor coupled to the power terminal (c1 or c2).
Regarding Claim 9, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the FET is an n-channel FET (at sw1, par. 45).
Regarding Claim 10, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the controller (104, 110 and 140) includes a communication input (com), the signal is a first signal (with 113), and the controller is configurable to negotiate, over the communication input, a contract with another device (par. 50, with a connected device); and responsive to negotiating the contract, turn on the transistor and cause the power supply to supply power to the power terminal (see fig. 4, φ3). (For Example: Par. 43-56 and 60-68)
Regarding Claim 11, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) a system (Fig. 2) comprising: a power supply (102) having an input and an output (input and output terminals of 102); a transistor (sw1) coupled between a voltage bus (Vbus node) and a power terminal (vout bus), the power terminal coupled to the output of the power supply(102); a connector (108) coupled to the voltage bus: a capacitor (C1) coupled to the power terminal; a controller (104, 140 and 110) having an input coupled to the connector (with 113) and having first and second outputs (with OUT and 104), the first output coupled to the input of the power supply (with 104), the second output coupled to a control terminal of the transistor (sw1 control terminal), wherein the controller is configurable to, responsive to a state of the voltage bus (Vbus), turn off the transistor (See fig. 4 times φ4- φ6) and cause the power supply to supply power to the power terminal (see value of Vout). (For Example: Par. 43-56 and 60-68)
Regarding Claim 18, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the connector (108) is a universal serial bus Type-C connector that is compatible with universal serial bus Type-C power delivery applications (par. 73).
Regarding Claim 19, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the transistor (sw1) is an n-channel field- effect transistor (par. 45).
Regarding Claim 21, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the controller (104, 140 and 110) is configurable to, responsive to a voltage at the power terminal (Vout) reaching a threshold voltage (OCP condition), cause the power supply to stop supplying power to the power terminal (par. 53-56).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki in view of Chen US 10108243.
Regarding Claim 2, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) further comprising a connector (108) coupled to the voltage bus (Vbus) and coupled to an input of the controller (with 113). (For Example: Par. 43-56 and 60-68)
Motoki does not teach the controller configurable to receive an indication at the input that an external device is not connected to the voltage bus via the connector, and cause the power supply to supply power to the power terminal.
Chen teaches (Figure 3) the controller (102) configurable to receive an indication at the input that an external device is not connected (see Col. 2 lines 60-67 and Col 3 lines 1-12) to the voltage bus (at 108) via the connector (usb connector), and cause the power supply to supply power to the power terminal (see Col. 2 lines 60-67 and Col 3 lines 1-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Motoki to include the controller configurable to receive an indication at the input that an external device is not connected to the voltage bus via the connector, and cause the power supply to supply power to the power terminal, as taught by Chen to reduce system power consumption.
Regarding Claim 5, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the connector (108) is a universal serial bus (USB) Type-C connector (par. 73).
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki in view of Chen and further in view of Lim US 2021/0399561.
Regarding Claims 6 and 8, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the connector (108) is a first USB Type- C connector (par. 71), the transistor is a first transistor (sw1), the controller has a third output (another output), and the voltage bus is a first voltage bus (Vbus). (For Example: Par. 43-56 and 60-68)
Motoki as modified does not teach the apparatus further comprising: a second voltage bus: a second USB Type-C connector coupled to the second voltage bus; and a second transistor coupled between the second voltage bus and the power terminal, a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to the third output of the controller; wherein the second connector is compatible with USB Type-C power delivery applications.
Lim teaches (Figures 2) the controller (102) the apparatus further comprising: a second voltage bus (bus for 250): a second USB Type-C connector (at 210, par. 30) coupled to the second voltage bus; and a second transistor (250) coupled between the second voltage bus and the power terminal (at 230 node), a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to the third output of the controller (270); wherein the second connector is compatible with USB Type-C power delivery applications(par. 30 and 91). (For Example: Par. 62-65 and 86-91)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Motoki to include the apparatus further comprising: a second voltage bus: a second USB Type-C connector coupled to the second voltage bus; and a second transistor coupled between the second voltage bus and the power terminal, a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to the third output of the controller, as taught by Lim to prevent damage due to power from external electronic devices.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki in view of Balakrishnan US 2018/0219399.
Regarding Claim 13, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) the system.
Motoki does not teach further comprising: a second device; and an adaptor coupling the second device to the connector.
Balakrishnan teaches (Figures 1-4) further comprising: a second device (114); and an adaptor (112, 110 and 108) coupling the second device to the connector (106 or 104). (For Example: Par. 23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Motoki to include further comprising: a second device; and an adaptor coupling the second device to the connector, as taught by Balakrishnan to enable the system to be connected to different types of load devices.
Regarding Claim 14, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the connector (108) is a universal serial bus (USB) Type-C connector (par. 73).
Regarding Claim 15, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) the system.
Motoki does not teach wherein: the connector is a female connector; the second device is a USB Type-A device; and the adaptor is a USB-Type A to USB Type-C adaptor.
Balakrishnan teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein: the connector (104) is a female connector; the second device is a USB Type-A device (see fig. 1); and the adaptor is a USB-Type A to USB Type-C adaptor (see fig. 1). (For Example: Par. 23)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Motoki to include wherein: the connector is a female connector; the second device is a USB Type-A device; and the adaptor is a USB-Type A to USB Type-C adaptor, as taught by Balakrishnan to enable the system to be connected to different types of load devices.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki in view of Lim US 2021/0399561.
Regarding Claims 16-17, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the connector (108) is a first USB Type- C connector (par. 71), the transistor is a first transistor (sw1), the controller has a third output (another output), and the voltage bus is a first voltage bus (Vbus). (For Example: Par. 43-56 and 60-68)
Motoki does not teach the apparatus further comprising: a second voltage bus: a second USB Type-C connector coupled to the second voltage bus; and a second transistor coupled between the second voltage bus and the power terminal, a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to the third output of the controller; wherein the second connector is compatible with USB Type-C power delivery applications.
Lim teaches (Figures 2) the controller (102) the apparatus further comprising: a second voltage bus (bus for 250): a second USB Type-C connector (at 210, par. 30) coupled to the second voltage bus; and a second transistor (250) coupled between the second voltage bus and the power terminal (at 230 node), a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to the third output of the controller (270); wherein the second connector is compatible with USB Type-C power delivery applications(par. 30 and 91). (For Example: Par. 62-65 and 86-91)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Motoki to include the apparatus further comprising: a second voltage bus: a second USB Type-C connector coupled to the second voltage bus; and a second transistor coupled between the second voltage bus and the power terminal, a control terminal of the second transistor coupled to the third output of the controller, as taught by Lim to prevent damage due to power from external electronic devices.
8. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki in view of Ripoll US 2015/0239358.
Regarding Claim 20, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) wherein the capacitor is a first capacitor (C1), and the first device (connected to 108) further includes a second capacitor (C2) having a terminal coupled to the voltage bus (Vbus.)
Motoki does not teach having a capacitance that is at least ten times smaller that a capacitance of the first capacitor.
Ripoll teaches (Figures 1-4) having a capacitance (7) that is at least ten times smaller that a capacitance of the first capacitor (21). (For Example: Par. 72)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Motoki to include having a capacitance that is at least ten times smaller that a capacitance of the first capacitor, as taught by Ripoll to enable the system to obtain a good energy performance for the system.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoki in view of Dahstestani US 10454360 (Hein Dash).
Regarding Claim 22, Motoki teaches (Figures 2-5) a diode of a transistor(at sw1).
Motoki does not teach wherein the threshold voltage is based on a reverse bias voltage of a diode.
Dash teaches (Figures 1-4) wherein the threshold voltage (Vout) is based on a reverse bias voltage of a diode (244-256). (For Example: Col. 4 lines 41-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-10)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Motoki to include wherein the threshold voltage is based on a reverse bias voltage of a diode, as taught by Dash to provide protection to the system during transient conditions.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Indicating Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for indicating Allowable Subject Matter:
Claim 7; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “…further comprising a capacitor having a terminal directly connected to the second terminals of the first and second FETs, the capacitor capable of holding enough charge to reverse bias a first parasitic body diode of the first FET and a second parasitic body diode of the second FET.”
Claim 12; prior art of record fails to disclose either by itself or in combination: “… wherein the controller is configurable to cause the power supply to stop supplying power to the power terminal responsive to a first voltage at the power terminal exceeding a threshold, the threshold being based on a second voltage of the second device connected to the connector, and a reverse bias voltage of a diode of the transistor.”
These features taken alone or in combination are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/GUSTAVO A ROSARIO-BENITEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838