DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claim 5, “plurality of reservoirs” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-15, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Yaworski (U. S. Patent 5,606,149).
Regarding claim 1, Yaworski discloses a connector device 10 for connecting a cable 30, comprising: a housing 11 having a cover 12b formed of a dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46) and a base 12a formed of a dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46), the cover 12a and the base 12b are mated in a closed state of the housing 11 and receive an end portion of the cable 30 that has an electrically conductive portion 36 ; and a contacting element 16 electrically contacting the electrically conductive portion 36 of the cable 30 in the closed state of the housing 11, the housing 11 is substantially gas-free in the closed state between: the electrically conductive portion 36 of the cable 30 and the dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); the electrically conductive portion 36 of the cable 30 and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); the contacting element 16 and the dielectric cover wall material (collum 5, lines 44-46); and the contacting element 16 and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46).
Regarding claim 2, Yaworski discloses the contacting element 16 engages a contact of the cable 30.
Regarding claim 3, Yaworski discloses the contacting element 16 electrically contacts in the closed state an electrically conductive jacket 39 of the cable 30 that surrounds an inner conductor of the cable 30.
Regarding claim 4, Yaworski discloses in the closed state of the housing 11, the housing is substantially gas-free between the electrically conductive jacket 32 and the dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46), and between the electrically conductive jacket 32 and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46).
Regarding claim 5, Yaworski discloses the housing 11 has a plurality of reservoirs (first finger at 20 and second finger at 22) of a dielectric grease material provided in the housing 11.
Regarding claim 7, Yaworski discloses the cover 12b has a plurality of first finger elements 20 and the base 12a has a plurality of second finger elements, the first finger elements engage the second finger elements 22 in the closed state of the housing 11.
Regarding claim 8, Yaworski discloses the housing 11 has a plurality of reservoirs 20 of a dielectric grease material provided in the housing 11, the reservoirs are arranged between at least some of the first finger elements 20 and/or at least some of the second finger elements 22.
Regarding claim 9, Yaworski discloses in the closed state of the housing 11, at least some of the first finger elements 20 and/or the second finger elements 22 push the dielectric grease into a plurality of air cavities of the housing 11 formed before reaching the closed state.
Regarding claim 10, Yaworski discloses the contacting element 16 is: an electrically conductive 36 area formed on an inner surface of the dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46) and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); or an electrically conductive 36 insert arranged between the cover 12b and the base 12a.
Regarding claim 11, Yaworski discloses the contacting element 16 is the electrically conductive 36 insert and accommodates a tip of the end portion of the cable 30.
Regarding claim 12, Yaworski discloses the housing 11 has a first port 12b’ receiving a first electrical cable 30 and a second port 19 (on left side) different from the first port 12b’ receiving a second electrical cable 30 different from the first electrical cable 30.
Regarding claim 13, Yaworski discloses the cover 12b has an electrically conductive cover portion formed over or in the dielectric cover wall material (see column 5, lines 44-46) and facing exclusively an outside of the cover 12b.
Regarding claim 14, Yaworski discloses the base 12a has an electrically conductive base portion formed over or in the dielectric base wall material (see column 5, lines 44-46) and facing exclusively an outside of the base 12b.
Regarding claim 15, Yaworski discloses a system, comprising: an electrical cable 30 having an end portion that has an electrically conductive portion 36; and a connector device 10 including a housing 11 and a contacting element 16 electrically contacting the end portion of the electrical cable 30 in a closed state of the housing 11, the housing 11 has a cover 12b formed of a dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46) and a base 12b formed of a dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46), the cover 12b and the base 12a are mated in the closed state of the housing 11 and receive the end portion of the cable 30, the housing 11 is substantially gas-free in the closed state between: the electrically conductive portion 36 of the cable 30 and the dielectric cover wall material (see column 5, lines 44-46); the electrically conductive portion 36 of the cable 30 and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); the contacting element 16 and the dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); and the contacting element 16 and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46).
Regarding claim 20, Yaworski discloses a method of connecting an electrical cable 30 to a connector device 10, comprising: providing a cover 12b of a housing 11 of the connector device 10 and a base 12a of the housing 11, the cover 12b is formed of a dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46) and the base 12a is formed of a dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46), the housing 11 has a contacting element 16; inserting the electrical cable 30 between the cover 12b and the base 12a; closing the housing 11 by pushing the cover 12b and the base 12a towards each other, the housing i11 s substantially gas-free in the closed state between: the electrically conductive portion 36 of the cable 30 and the dielectric cover wall material (see column 5, lines 44-46); the electrically conductive portion 36 of the cable 30 and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); the contacting element 16 and the dielectric cover wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); and the contacting element 16 and the dielectric base wall material (column 5, lines 44-46); and electrically connecting the contacting element 16 and the electrically conductive portion 36 by closing the housing 11.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the references discloses in the closed state of the housing, the dielectric
grease material is dispersed into a plurality of air cavities formed before reaching the closed state between: the electrically conductive portion of the cable and the dielectric cover wall material; and/or the electrically conductive portion of the cable and the dielectric base wall material, the electrically conductive portion of the electrical cable is at least one of an inner conductor, an electrically conductive jacket surrounding the inner conductor, and a contact fastened to a tip of the inner conductor, the electrical cable has an electrically conductive braid formed over an inner conductor of the electrical cable and electrically connected with an electrically conductive cover portion of the cover and an electrically conductive base portion of the base in the closed state.
/PHUONG K DINH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831