DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
As directed by the amendment filed on 3 August 2023: claim(s) 1-61 have been cancelled, claim(s) 62-72 have been added. Thus, claims 62-73 are presently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 62 and 65-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Warren et al. (US 20040253365 A1).
Regarding Claim 62, Warren discloses a delivery system ("apparatus and methods for depositing materials on a substrate" Abstract) comprising:
an optical detector ("detector 600 permits visualization through various spectroscopies including laser-induced fluorescence (LIF), time-resolved LIF, infrared (IR), Raman scattering, ultrasound, optical coherence tomography (OCT); and/or terahertz imaging interrogation to distinguish healthy and diseased tissues" [0060]) comprising a three-dimensional scanner ("OCT is an interferometric imaging technique that can provide detailed three-dimensional views of the subsurface microstructures of biological tissue" [0125]), wherein the optical detector is configured to perform detection of data to create a map of an area of interest of a patient ("provide detailed three-dimensional views of the subsurface microstructures of biological tissue" [0125]);
a depth detector ("Tactile sensors" [0287]) operatively associated with the optical detector ([0285-0291]; FIG.1) and configured to account for movement of the patient during the detection ("feedback signal may be used by a z-controller processor 3750 to control the z positioning of the dispenser 3700 via a z-controller step motor 3760" [0303]; "devices and methods for providing accurate positioning of the tip end of the tool with respect to the substrate, even a moving substrate, during the deposition process or other processes … Thus, small movements of the patient can be easily accommodated" [0373]);
a dispenser ("material dispenser 100" [0263]) operatively associated with the optical detector (see FIG. 5) and configured to deliver cells and/or compositions ("to deposit, the scaffold material, cells, growth factors, enzymes, saline wash, and a vacuum for extraction, as desired" [0263]) to the area of interest based upon the data and/or the map ("endoscopic tip end of the tool may "find" the desired area or position of interest" [0264]; "CT, OCT, MRI, or laser prescanning data could be used to generate a computer-aided design (CAD) model of the desired tissue or bone construct" [0369]);
a three-dimensional plotter ("planar location controller may be synchronized with the linear location controller so that the control device can selectively position the material dispenser 100 in xyz space" [0227-0228]) operatively connected with the three-dimensional scanner (FIGs. 4-7); and
a controller ("location control device 800" [0227]; FIG. 36) operatively connected with the dispenser ([0094]; "material dispenser further comprises at least one location control device 800" [0227-0228]).
Regarding Claim 65, Warren discloses the dispenser comprises a plurality of nozzles ("multiple discrete feed channels 120" [0276]).
Regarding Claim 66, Warren discloses one or more cartridges loaded with the cells and/or compositions ("material reservoir" [0278]), wherein the nozzles are in fluid communication with the one or more cartridges ("Each feed channel 120 within the dispenser may have its own reservoir that is remotely actuated to dispense a material through the feed channel. The integration of feed channels close to the dispensing nozzles" [0261-0264]; FIGs. 5-7).
Regarding Claim 67, Warren discloses the nozzles are configured for pressure-based delivery of the cells and/or compositions ("pump 148 that applies a positive pressure to material in the at least one feed channel 120" [0256]).
Regarding Claim 68, Warren discloses the cells and/or compositions comprise cells selected from the group consisting of cartilage cells, bone cells, muscle cells, vascular cells, skin cells, and combinations thereof ("cartilage, skin, and bone tissue replacements" [0066] & [0418]).
Regarding Claim 69, Warren discloses the area of interest is a closed wound ("treatment for wounds" [0139-0140]).
Regarding Claim 70, Warren discloses the area of interest comprises an injury or disease of the patient ("treatment of Alzheimer's disease, spinal cord injuries, or Parkinson's disease" [0065]).
Regarding Claim 71, Warren discloses a computing system ("computer to control the tool" [0095]) comprising:
a processor ("control circuitry may include, e.g., a microprocessor" [0311]); and
a memory ("memory cache" [0229]) coupled to the processor and comprising computer readable program code ("computer algorithms" [0122]; "routines" [0238]; "computation-based codes" [0344]; "program data" [0413]; "preprogrammed" [0422]; "programming" [0456]) that when executed by the processor causes the processor to perform operations comprising:
interpreting the data from the optical detector to form the map of the area of interest ("transform the image information obtained in the previous step into computer-aided design and manufacturing (CAD/CAM) program data. This transformation of images into machine language allows the images to be constructed by the HAT computer automation" [0413]);
transforming the map into a negative mold of the area of interest, wherein the mold comprises a plurality of Z-axis layers ("images are processed by computer algorithms and the resulting images appear as slices taken through the tissue … summed as a whole to replicate a 3D picture of the tissue or organ" [0120-0123]); and
overlaying each of the Z-axis layers with a series of lines ("planar location controller adapted to selectively position the tip orifice within both x and y dimensions (i.e., a plane)" [0227]), wherein the lines provide a path for the dispenser to deliver the cells and/or compositions to the area of interest ("planar location controller may be synchronized with the linear location controller so that the control device can selectively position the material dispenser 100 in xyz space" [0227-0230]).
Regarding Claim 72, Warren discloses a surgical device that is configured to provide the optical detector and/or the dispenser with access to the area of interest ("tool can be inserted into the subject's body through a surgical incision and positioned such that the tissue engineering material can be deposited at the target area within the subject's body" [0385]).
Regarding Claim 73, Warren discloses the surgical device is an endoscopic device ("endoscopic device" [0378]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warren.
Regarding Claim 63, Warren fails to specify the depth detector comprises an infrared detector and/or a laser scanner. However, Warren teaches "piezoelectric sensors or optical means” may be used for feedback [0360]; and that "optical feedback sensor" may use IR ([0363]; "IR region of the spectrum can then be used" [0364]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Warren to incorporate the claimed limitations to suitably allow “positional control of the tool with respect to the target area” ([0060]) without damaging the surrounding tissue ([0061]).
Regarding Claim 63, Warren discloses the three-dimensional scanner is a hand-held laser scanner ("system includes the necessary power supplies, delivery mechanisms, laser, and computer to control the tool. An umbilical cord is connected to the system that can be handheld by a surgeon" [0095]).
Double Patenting
Claims 62-73 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 9, and 13-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10537689 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent anticipates the instant claims at least as follows:
Instant claims
Patent 10537689
62
1
63
2
64
3, 4
65
5
66
6
67
7
68
9
69, 70
14
71
13
Claims 62-73 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11759579 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of instant claim 62 are to be found in claim 1 of the Patent. The difference lies in the fact that the instant claims include more elements and are thus much more specific. Thus, the Patent claim 1 is in effect a "species" of the "generic" invention of the claim 62 of instant Application. It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claim 62 of the Application is anticipated by claim 1 of the Patent, it is not patentably distinct from the claim 1 of the Patent. The remaining claims are rejected at least due to their dependency upon a rejected claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The references provided on the attached PTO-892 form are considered relevant to applicant’s disclosure and are cited to further show the general state of the art.
/Adam Marcetich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781
Cheng Fong "Ted" Yang
Examiner
Art Unit 3781