DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Hackett et al. (US 20040091347 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hackett discloses:
A lift arm assembly (66 & 68) comprising:
a frame (30);
a base (72), pivotally attached to the frame about a substantially horizontal axis (73) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8);
a first actuator (74) directly attached at a first end to the base (102) and at a second end to the frame (100) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8);
a loader arm (76) pivotally attached to the base about a substantially horizontal axis (79) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8); and
a second actuator (78) attached (116) at a first end to the loader arm (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8), configured to pivot the loader arm relative to the base (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8) [0046 & 0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hackett et al. (US 20040091347 A1) in view of Sewell (US 20070132204 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Hackett teaches:
a vehicle (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8), comprising:
the frame (2) comprising a first ground engaging member (172);
the lift arm assembly of claim 1 [see rejection of Claim 1 above], pivotally attached to the frame wherein the frame comprises a second ground engaging member (172) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Hackett does not teach:
the vehicle is an articulated vehicle
an articulation joint disposed on the main frame; and
the lift arm assembly pivotally attached to the main frame through the articulation joint.
Sewell teaches:
an articulated vehicle (10), comprising:
a main frame (12) comprising a first ground engaging member (24);
an articulation joint (14 & 32) [0039] disposed on the main frame (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 9 & Fig. 14) [0039]; and
lift arm assembly (16 & 64 & 84) comprising:
a frame (16);
a base (64), attached to the frame (Fig. 9 & Fig. 14);
a first actuator (2000) directly attached at a first end to the base and at a second end to the frame (Fig. 9);
a loader arm (84) pivotally attached to the base about a substantially horizontal axis (Fig. 9 & Fig. 14); and
an actuator (2000) attached at a first end to the loader arm (Fig. 9), configured to pivot the loader arm relative to the base (Fig. 9 & Fig. 14) [0046 & 0048].
the lift arm assembly pivotally attached to the main frame through the articulation joint (Fig. 9 & Fig. 14) wherein the frame of the lift arm assembly comprises a second ground engaging member (40) (Fig. 9 & Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work vehicle supporting a lift arm assembly taught by Hackett with the articulated work vehicle supporting having a main frame and an articulation joint disposed on the main frame and a lift arm assembly pivotally attached to the main frame through the articulation joint articulated work vehicle frame taught by Sewell in order to provide a work vehicle having a reduced turning radius to increase the versatility of the work vehicle.
Regarding Claim 5, Hackett teaches:
the frame is configured for an operator (19) [0038 & 0051 & 0053 & 0060].
Hackett does not explicitly teach:
the main frame is configured for a standing operator.
Sewell teaches:
the main frame is configured for a standing operator (22 & 46) [0021 & 0025 & 0028].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work vehicle supporting a lift arm assembly, the frame is configured for an operator taught by Hackett with the articulated work vehicle supporting having a main frame and an articulation joint disposed on the main frame and a lift arm assembly pivotally attached to the main frame through the articulation joint articulated work vehicle frame, the main frame is configured for a standing operator taught by Sewell in order to provide a work vehicle having a reduced turning radius to increase the versatility of the work vehicle.
Regarding Claim 6, Hackett teaches:
a tool (80 & 84) disposed on the loader arm (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8); and
a third actuator (82) attached at a first end to the loader arm and at a second end to the tool (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 8, Hackett teaches:
the tool comprises a bucket (140) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8) [0051 & 0052].
Regarding Claim 9, Hackett teaches:
a work vehicle (10), comprising:
a mainframe (30), configured for operator operation (19) [0038 & 0051 & 0053 & 0060];
the mainframe having a plurality of ground-contacting drive members (172);
a base (72), pivotally attached to the mainframe about a first axis (73) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8), wherein the first axis is substantially horizontal (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8); and
a loader arm (76), pivotally attached to the base about a second axis (79) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8), wherein the second axis is substantially horizontal (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Hackett does not teach:
a mainframe, configured for standing operation;
an articulation joint attached to the mainframe;
a front assembly (6) pivotally attached to the mainframe by the articulation joint (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8).
Sewell teaches:
a work vehicle (10), comprising:
a mainframe (12), configured for standing operation (22 & 46) [0021 & 0025 & 0028] and having at least one ground-engaging wheel (24);
an articulation joint (14 & 32) [0039] attached to the mainframe (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 9 & Fig. 14) [0039];
a front assembly (16 & 64 & 84) pivotally attached to the mainframe by the articulation joint (Fig. 1 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 9 & Fig. 14) [0039] and comprising:
a frame having a plurality of ground-contacting drive members (40);
a base (64), attached to the frame (13) (Fig. 3 & Fig. 8); and
a loader arm (84), pivotally attached to the base about a second axis (Fig. 9 & Fig. 14), wherein the second axis is substantially horizontal (Fig. 9 & Fig. 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the work vehicle supporting a lift arm assembly taught by Hackett with the articulated work vehicle supporting having a main frame and an articulation joint disposed on the main frame and a front assembly (6) pivotally attached to the mainframe by the articulation joint taught by Sewell in order to provide a work vehicle having a reduced turning radius to increase the versatility of the work vehicle.
Regarding Claim 10, Hackett teaches:
a first actuator (74) disposed between the frame (100) and the base (102) (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8); and
a second actuator (78) configured to pivot the loader arm about the second axis (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8) [0046 & 0048].
Regarding Claim 11, Hackett teaches:
the second actuator is disposed between the base and the loader arm (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 12, Hackett teaches:
the second axis is disposed closer to the mainframe than the first axis (Fig. 2 & Fig. 7 & Fig. 8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 13, 14, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A lift arm assembly comprising: a frame; a base, pivotally attached to the frame about a substantially horizontal axis; a first actuator directly attached at a first end to the base and at a second end to the frame; a loader arm pivotally attached to the base about a substantially horizontal axis; a second actuator attached at a first end to the loader arm, configured to pivot the loader arm relative to the base; and a bell crank attached at a center position to the base, and at a distal position to the second actuator at a second end of the second actuator.”, as recited in Claim 2 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the frame, base, first actuator, loader arm, second actuator, and bell crank. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the frame, base, first actuator, loader arm, second actuator, and bell crank.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A lift arm assembly comprising: a frame; a base, pivotally attached to the frame about a substantially horizontal axis; a first actuator directly attached at a first end to the base and at a second end to the frame; a loader arm pivotally attached to the base about a substantially horizontal axis; a second actuator attached at a first end to the loader arm, configured to pivot the loader arm relative to the base; a tool disposed on the loader arm; and a third actuator attached at a first end to the loader arm and at a second end to the tool; a bell crank attached at a center position to the base and at a distal position to the second actuator at a second end of the second actuator; a tilt member, attached at a first end to the bell crank at the distal position; a leveling mechanism, pivotally attached to the loader arm and having a first end and a second end; wherein: the first end is attached to the tilt member; and the second end is attached to the third actuator.”, as recited in Claim 7 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the frame, base, first actuator, loader arm, second actuator, tool third actuator, bell crank, tilt member, bell crank, and leveling mechanism. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the frame, base, first actuator, loader arm, second actuator, tool third actuator, bell crank, tilt member, bell crank, and leveling mechanism.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A work vehicle, comprising: a mainframe, configured for standing operation and having at least one ground- engaging wheel; an articulation joint attached to the mainframe; a front assembly pivotally attached to the mainframe by the articulation joint and comprising: a frame having a plurality of ground-contacting drive members; a base, pivotally attached to the frame about a first axis, wherein the first axis is substantially horizontal; a loader arm, pivotally attached to the base about a second axis, wherein the second axis is substantially horizontal; a first actuator disposed between the frame and the base and directly attached to the frame and to the base; a second actuator configured to pivot the loader arm about the second axis; and a bell crank having a first end, a second end, and a center attachment point, and wherein: the bell crank is attached to the base at the center attachment point; and the bell crank is attached to the second actuator at the first end.”, as recited in Claim 13 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the mainframe, wheel, articulation joint, front assembly, frame, drive members, base, loader arm, first actuator, second actuator, bell crank, and center attachment point. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the mainframe, wheel, articulation joint, front assembly, frame, drive members, base, loader arm, first actuator, second actuator, bell crank, and center attachment point.
Claims 16, 17, 18, and 19 are allowed.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “An articulated work vehicle comprising: a main frame; a first frame pivotally connected to the main frame about a substantially vertical axis; a base section pivotally connected to the first frame about a first substantially horizontal axis; a loader arm pivotally connected to the base section about a second substantially horizontal axis; a bucket pivotally connected to the loader arm about a third substantially horizontal axis; a first actuator directly attached to the first frame and configured to rotate the base section about the first substantially horizontal axis; a second actuator attached to the base section and configured to rotate the loader arm about the second substantially horizontal axis; a bell crank, having a first connection point, a second connection point, and a third connection point, wherein the second connection point is disposed between the first connection point and the third connection point; wherein: the second connection point is directly attached to the base section; and the third connection point is coaxial with an end of the second actuator; and a third actuator configured to rotate the bucket about the third substantially horizontal axis.”, as recited in Claim 16 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the main frame, first frame, first frame pivotal connection, base section, loader arm, bucket, first actuator, second actuator, bell crank, first connection point, second connection point, third connection point, and third actuator. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the main frame, first frame, first frame pivotal connection, base section, loader arm, bucket, first actuator, second actuator, bell crank, first connection point, second connection point, third connection point, and third actuator.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and related arguments, see RCE, filed 2025/12/10, with respect to the Examiner’s Rejection of Claims 2, 3, 7, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Examiner’s Rejection of Claims 2, 3, 7, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, and 12 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652