DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 01/22/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8 and 10 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choy et al (JP 2014521604, ‘604 hereafter) in view of park et al (US 2018/0301636, ‘636 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5 and 8, ‘604 discloses a host material comprising an organic electroluminescent compound represented by following chemical formula (1) ([0008], [0012]-[0016], and claims 1-5, [0067]):
Wherein X1 and X2 can be N, and L1 can be a hetero-arylene group including a pyridinyl group as in following chemical formula (claim 5 of ‘604):
The formulae read upon instantly claimed chemical formula 1 as in the present claim 1, except that the substitution position of
is different from the substitution position of formula (1-4) and formula (1-6) as recited in the present claim 1, which is a position isomer of the compound as instantly claimed. Case law holds that position isomers are prima facie structurally obvious even in the absence of an explicit teaching to modify. “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). (See MPEP 2144.09 II). The formulae also satisfy
all the limitations as recited in the present claims 1-2 and 4-5. ‘604 discloses that the compound can be used as a host material in an organic electroluminescent device ([0067]), but does not disclose that the host material further comprises a second host material as recited in the present claims 1 and 8. However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘636 discloses a host material comprising a first organic electroluminescent compound having similar chemical structure to the presently claimed compound represented by the formula I (first host, contains both triazine ring and carbazole rings, [0025]-[0045]), and a second host material having chemical formula satisfying formula 11 as in the present claims 1 and 8 ([0064], Compounds H2-19 to H2-26), to render an organic electroluminescent device having high efficiency and long lifetime ([0023]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used a second host compound as taught by ‘636, to modify the host material of ‘604, in order to render a light emitting device having high efficiency and long lifetime.
Regarding claim 10, modified ‘604 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘604 also discloses an organic electroluminescent device comprising the host compound as disclosed ([0067]-[0068]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782