DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group II (claims 12-19, 22-24 and 26) in the reply filed on 7/24/26 is acknowledged.
2. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
3. Claims 1-9 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/24/26. Currently claims 12-19, 22-24, and 26 are under consideration.
Priority
4. The instant application has a priority date of February 5, 2021. This application is a continuation application of International Application No. PCT/US2022/015215, filed February 4, 2022, which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Patent Application No. 63/146,443, filed on February 5, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other
Information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609 A(1) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the examiner on form PTO-892 or applicant on form PTO-1449 lists the references, they have not been considered. See references listed throughout the disclosure, especially pages 23-25.
6. The information disclosure statements filed 8/3/23 and 11/20/23 have been considered as to the merits prior to First Action on the Merits.
Specification
7. The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. For example, see page 24. MPEP § 608.01.
8. The use of the term TWEEN, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term. For example, see section 0080.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Objections
9. Claims 12-19, 22-24, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims utilize several acronyms/symbols "APOLI, HA, G0, G1, G2, etc." without first defining what they represent in the independent claim. While the claims can reference acronyms/symbols, the material presented by the acronym must be clearly set forth at the first use of the acronym/symbol. Although the term may have art recognized meaning, it is necessary to define the acronym/symbol to clearly set forth Applicant's intent. For example, APOLI refers to apolipoprotein L1 - according to section 0004. Please define the acronyms/symbols in the first instance. However, Applicant is cautioned not to introduce new matter into the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
10. Claims 12-19, 22-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claims 12, 13, 14, and 22 are vague and indefinite in reciting that the test strip, system, and method will measure wild-type APOLI (G0) because it is ambiguous as to how only G0 will be measured when G1 and G2 are also present. Although the claims indicate that the SRA reagent will preferentially bind G0 (“SRA selectively binds APOL1 G0 over G1 and G2”), it does not prevent the inclusion of G1 and G2 in the final composition. Mor specifically, the final measuring reagent is an APOLI specific binder that appears to bind all forms of APOLI (G0, G1, and G2). As recited the metes and bound of the claim cannot be determined. It is suggested that the actual reagents that allow for differential measurement of only G0 are included in the claims in order to clarify the invention. Appropriate correction is required.
B. Claims 15 and 17 recite the phrase "fragment and derivative thereof”, however it is unclear how to "fragment and derivative thereof”, that are considered to relate to the recited antibodies and further being operable in the instantly claimed test strips, system, and method. The specification does not teach examples of the required components of the recited "fragment and derivative thereof”, that contain conserved regions allowing for the claimed product and detection procedures.
Therefore, the phrase "fragment and derivative thereof”, are vague and indefinite because the characteristics needed to determine whether an unknown could be considered immunologically detectable while being a "fragment and derivative thereof”, is unknown. Accordingly, the claims are unclear. It is suggested that the actual sequence identification number of the "fragment and derivative thereof”, are included in the claims in order to obviate the rejection. Appropriate correction is required.
C. The term “potential” in claims 23 and 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “potential kidney donor and potential deceased kidney donor” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear how to determine the potential parameter. Is the subject a kidney donor or not (claim 23)? Is the subject deceased or not (claim 24)? It is suggested that the term “potential” is omitted in order to obviate the claims. Please clarify.
11. In claim 14, the limitation “test reader” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The “test reader” is not described in the specification with any unique structure, material to perform the act of “quantitatively determining if the amount of G0 present at the first position is above a predetermined threshold”.
The test reader is broadly claimed and described (see claim 14 and specification sections 0019 & 0074). And the predetermined threshold is unknown. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
12. Claims 12-19, 22-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 12-19, 22-24, and 26 are drawn to products, compositions, systems, and methods involving antibody constructs, wherein the claims read on "fragment and derivative thereof”,. The written description in this case does not set forth the utility of any and all "fragment and derivative thereof”. Therefore the written description does not reasonably convey the claimed subject matter to one of ordinary skill in the art. Neither the specification nor the claims exemplify every "fragment and derivative thereof”, in all antibody compositions being measurable in samples for detecting AOLI.
There is no guidance as to what portions of the "fragment and derivative thereof” are or how much modification can occur while maintaining product characteristics with respect to the instant invention.
There is no guidance as to what "fragment and derivative thereof”, if any can be produced and utilized for the intended purpose. Thus, the resulting "fragment and derivative thereof”, having specified binding characteristics could result in any number of complexes not taught and enabled by the specification.
Vas-Cath Inc. V. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, clearly states that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117).
The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116). Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 115).
Without a sequence or examples of "fragment and derivative thereof”, the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed structure of the partial peptides as claimed, thus conception is not achieved until reduction to practice has occurred, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of production and or isolation. An adequate description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and a reference to a potential method of isolating it.
The court indicated that while Applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of a genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of molecules falling within the scope of the claimed genus. Therefore the full breadth of the claims, reading on the claimed "fragment and derivative thereof”, does not meet the written description provision of 35 USC 112, first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 2017/0339928) in view of Krauth (WO 2004/109285) and Nabatiyan (WO 2010/104937).
Wilson discloses a method for detecting wild-type APOL1 protein (G0) (para [0035]; para [0017] "ApoL concentrations in transgenic mice and human donors determined by ELISA using serum from either G0 variant of ApoL1 (wt)"; "the agent binds to i) human G0 variant of ApoL1 (SEQ ID NO:01)"; para [0034] - "The G0 variant of ApoL refers to the wild-type human ApoL1 protein (herein also referred to as "wt") having the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO:01."), comprising: (a) incubating a sample from a subject being assessed for an APOL1 G0 protein with: i) a first binding partner; and ii) a second binding partner comprising an ApoLI specific binding partner (para [0035] - "detecting includes identifying the mere presence of the target molecule in a sample as well as determining the levels of the target molecule in the sample."; para [0017] "FIGS. 3A and 3B illustrates the serological ApoL1 concentrations in transgenic mice and human donors determined by ELISA using serum from either G0 variant of ApoL1 (wt)"; para [0075]; para [0185]-[0186] "An ApoL1 sandwich ELISA was developed as follows: 0.5 .mu.g/ml of anti-ApoL1 polyclonal antibody (Proteintech 11486-2-AP) was coated onto a Maxisorp plate.
The pre-coated and pre-blocked plate was sequentially incubated with either the standard curve or the experimental samples, 0.5 ug/ml of a biotinylated antibody directed against G0 variant of ApoL1 raised in rabbit using a recombinant fusion protein containing amino acids 61 to 398 of human APOL1 isoform 1(generated and purified at Wilson), and 1:10,000 of a peroxide conjugated streptavidin (GE, RPN4401V)"); wherein one of either the first or the second binding partner is immobilized on a solid phase (para [0185]
"An ApoL sandwich ELISA was developed as follows: 0.5 ug/ml of anti-ApoL1 polyclonal antibody (Proteintech 11486-2-AP) was coated onto a Maxisorp plate"), wherein the first or the second binding partner that is not immobilized on the solid phase comprises a detectable label (para [0185] "0.5 ug/ml of a biotinylated antibody directed against G0 variant of ApoL1 raised in rabbit using a recombinant fusion protein containing amino acids 61 to 398 of human APOL1 isoform 1(generated and purified at Wilson), and 1:10,000 of a peroxide conjugated streptavidin (GE, RPN4401V). ApoL1 was detected using the colorimetric BioFX TMB substrate"; para [0039] - "The terms "label" or "detectable label" refers to any chemical group or moiety that can be linked to a substance that is to be detected or quantitated, e.g., an antibody"; para [0189] "Signals were detected by chemiluminescence detection of primary antibodies with horse radish peroxidase-conjugated secondary antibodies followed by visualization with ECL-prime reagent"), and wherein the APOL1 G0 and first and second binding partners form a solid phase binding complex (para [0074] "the binding of an agent, such as an antibody to ApoL antibody-ApoL1-complex"; para [0185]-[0187] - "An ApoL1 sandwich ELISA"; Note, ELISA format comprises formation of a solid phase binding complex); and (b) separating the solid phase binding complex from the unbound first or second binding partner comprising the detectable label (para [0185] - "The plate was washed between each incubation step on a 405 microplate washer (Biotek)"), wherein the detectable label associated with the separated complex indicates the presence of APOL1 G0 in the sample (para [0185] - "0.5 ug/ml of a biotinylated antibody directed against G0 variant of ApoL' a peroxide conjugated streptavidin (GE, RPN4401V)
ApoL1 was detected using the colorimetric BioFX TMB substrate"; para [0039] "a label is a detectable label that is suitable for the sensitive detection or quantification of a substance."), but fails to specifically disclose the first binding partner comprising a serum resistance-associated (SRA) protein that selectively binds APOL1 G0 over G1 and G2. However, Wilson does disclose utilizing binding partners specific for serum resistance-associated (SRA) protein derived from APOL1 G0 variant (para [0229]-[0230] "cells expressing truncated versions of G0 variant of APOL1. Of the 19 anti-APOL1 antibodies generated. 5 were SRA-ID specific"; para [0226] "Full length APOL1 protein can be subdivided into four domains (FIG. 14). the SRA- Interacting Domain (SRA-ID) 339-398aa (FIG. 14A). full length G0 variant of APOL1 (WT)"), and further discloses applying SRA protein in solid phase binding assay formats (para [0208] "an SRA (serum resistance associated protein) blocking ELISA is performed to identify antibodies that prevent binding of ApoL1's SRA-interacting domain with SRA incubated with SRA-his pre-bound to antibody supernatants"; para [0150] - "Serum Resistance Antigen (SRA) binding. In another aspect, competition assays may be used to identify an antibody that competes with an antibody as described herein for binding to ApoL1."). Since it was commonly known in the field of molecular biology to rearrange an ELISA-based assay format and immobilize an antigen of interest for solid phase binding analysis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the SRA protein, APOL1 G0, binding partners, and detectable label methods and compositions of Wilson, during the course of experimentation, in order to include a first binding partner comprising a serum resistance-associated (SRA) protein that selectively binds APOL1 G0, to further improve a method for detecting wild-type APOL1 protein (G0) for diagnostic applications thereof.
Wilson differs from the instant invention in not configuring the assay into a lateral flow test strip.
However, Krauth (WO 2004/109285) teaches a lateral flow assay for detecting the presence of an analyte in a liquid test sample. The lateral flow assay provided by the invention encompasses a first region that contains a diffusible bound labeled reagent complementary to a target analyte in the liquid sample, wherein the diffusible bound labeled reagent and the target analyte form a diffusible first complex; a test region that contains a non-diffusible bound capture reagent capable of complexing with the first complex; a control region that contains a non- diffusible bound control reagent that is complementary to the diffusively bound labeled reagent; and a reference region that contains a non-diffusible bound analyte capable of complexing with the diffusible bound labeled reagent. As described in more detail below, the relative position of the reference region vis-a-vis the first, test and control regions can be selected based on a variety of factors taken into account by the skilled person. In particular, the reference region can be located either between the first region and the test region or, alternatively, can be located between the test region and the control region. See page 3 lines 9-16.
The lateral flow assay represents an improvement in the ability to accurately and with high fidelity to detect the presence or absence of a target analyte in a liquid sample, in part, by encompassing a reference region of immobilized, non-diffusible analyte that allows for detection of any factors that interfere with the interaction and binding of the analyte to the labeled capture reagent.
Any influences on the interaction and binding of the analyte that is free in solution in the liquid test sample to its complementary labeled reagent will be encountered in parallel in the binding between the immobilized analyte in reference region to the labeled reagent as it diffuses through the reference region. In one embodiment, the lateral flow assay of the invention is a urine-based human Chorionic Gonadotropin (hCG) assay. See abstract.
While, Nabatiyan teaches a lateral flow strip assay system. In particular, the invention relates to lateral flow assay systems for the simple and inexpensive detection of biomolecules. See abstract, claims, and figure 1-4. In one embodiment, the device comprising: (a) A sample receiving membrane which conducts flow of a sample and is in flow contact with: (b) An analyte detection membrane which conducts flow of the sample, comprising one or more of i) a labeling reagent absorption zone comprising a labeling reagent, ii) an analyte-reagent complex capture zone comprising an analyte capture reagent, iii) a control reagent capture zone comprising control reagent; and a sacrificial zone comprising non-specific binders (e.g., immunoglobulins), wherein the labeling reagent is capable of forming a complex with an analyte to form an analyte-labeling reagent complex, the analyte capture reagent is capable of binding the analyte-labeling reagent complex, the control reagent is capable of binding the labeling reagent, and the non-specific binders bind to unbound analyte specific antibodies or other analyte specific components in the sample. In some embodiments, the flow contact between the sample receiving membrane and analyte detection membrane is lateral flow contact.
In some embodiments, the labeling reagent comprises an antibody specific for the analyte (e.g., an IgG antibody, an IgM antibody, an IgA antibody or a portion thereof). In some embodiments, the antibody or portion thereof is derived from mouse, goat, sheep, rat, rabbit, cow, human or chimeras thereof. In some embodiments, the sample receiving membrane and the analyte detection membrane are enclosed in a housing. In some embodiments, the device comprises an absorbent sink in lateral flow contact with the analyte detection membrane. In some embodiments, the housing comprises a sample application aperture and an observation window positioned to display the labeling reagent capture zone, a detection zone and the control zone. In some embodiments, a backing is laminated or otherwise affixed to the bottom surface of the sample receiving membrane and the analyte detection membrane. In some embodiments, this laminate compromises a semi-rigid material of at least 0.005 inches thick. In some embodiments, the sample receiving membrane, analyte detection membrane and absorbent sink are enclosed in a housing comprising a sample application aperture and an observation window positioned to display the labeling reagent absorption zone, the detection capture zone and control zone. In some embodiments, the sacrificial zone is located approximately 14 mm from the distal end of the sample receiving membrane and the analyte-reagent complex capture zone is located approximately 16 mm from the distal end of the sample receiving membrane.
In some embodiments, the analyte capture reagent comprises a label (e.g., fluorescent or other label). In some embodiments, the label is contained in a microsphere. See pages 2 and 3.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the filing date of the invention, to have modified the method, as previously disclosed by Wilson and format it into a lateral flow test strip as exemplified by Krauth and Nabatiyan because lateral flow assays represents an improvement in the ability to accurately and with high fidelity to detect the presence or absence of a target analyte in a liquid sample and lateral flow assay systems are a simple and inexpensive means to detect biomolecules. See abstract of Krauth and Nabatiyan.
Absent evidence to the contrary formatting known immunoassay reagents into a lateral flow configuration as disclosed in the prior art (Krauth and Nabatiyah) is deemed an obvious design choice demonstrated by the prior art.
KSR forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See recent Board decision Ex parte Smith,--USPQ2d--, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007)(citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396)
14. Claim(s) 14, 22, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 2017/0339928) in view of Krauth (WO 2004/109285) and Nabatiyan (WO 2010/104937) and further in view of Emeric (US 2018/0340932).
Please see Wilson (US 2017/0339928) in view of Krauth (WO 2004/109285) and Nabatiyan (WO 2010/104937) as set forth above.
Wilson (US 2017/0339928) in view of Krauth (WO 2004/109285) and Nabatiyan (WO 2010/104937) fail to teach lateral flow systems with test readers.
However, Emeric teaches in one embodiment, the invention is to a testing system comprising a testing device comprising: (i) an entry port configured to receive a test sample into a holding chamber; a first conduit comprising at least one lateral flow test strip; and (ii) a displacement device, preferably a pneumatic pump, configured to move a portion of said test sample from said holding chamber into said first conduit. In this embodiment, the testing system further comprises an instrument comprising a receiving port configured to receive and engage said testing device.
The instrument preferably comprises an optical imager for reading an optical signal from said at least one lateral flow test strip. In one aspect, the optical imager is configured to simultaneously read said optical signal and a bar code on said testing device. [0016]
In another embodiment, the invention is to a computer system for testing an analyte, the system comprising a CPU, a computer readable memory and a computer readable storage media; first program instructions to actuate a pneumatic pump using a processor to move a portion of a test sample in a testing device from a holding chamber into a first conduit, said first conduit comprising a detection zone including a plurality of capture antibodies; and second program instructions to capture an image of said detection zone, wherein said first and said second program instructions are stored on the computer readable storage media for execution by the CPU via the computer readable memory. [0021]
The devices disclosed by Emeric are taught to be useful for applications in which analytes must be determined within biological samples such as blood, are rapid and simple to determine the presence and/or concentration of analytes at patient point-of-care, and can be performed by less highly trained staff than is possible for conventional laboratory-based testing. Therein be of benefit in the diagnosis and treatment of critical medical conditions for the attending physician or nurse to be able to obtain clinical test results without delay. [0014].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the lateral flow device exemplified by Wilson in view of Krauth and Nabatiyah and include a system with a test reader as taught by Emeric because Emeric’s devices were useful for applications in which analytes must be determined within biological samples such as blood, are rapid and simple to determine the presence and/or concentration of analytes at patient point-of-care, and can be performed by less highly trained staff than is possible for conventional laboratory-based testing. Therein be of benefit in the diagnosis and treatment of critical medical conditions for the attending physician or nurse to be able to obtain clinical test results without delay. [0014].
15. Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (US 2017/0339928) in view of Krauth (WO 2004/109285) and Nabatiyan (WO 2010/104937) and further in view of Emeric (US 2018/0340932) and Reeves-Daniel et al. (American Journal of Transplantation, 2011, Vol.11, pages 1025-1030).
Please see Wilson (US 2017/0339928) in view of Krauth (WO 2004/109285) and Nabatiyan (WO 2010/104937) and further in view of Emeric (US 2018/0340932).
Wilson (US 2017/0339928) in view of Krauth (WO 2004/109285) and Nabatiyan (WO 2010/104937) and further in view of Emeric (US 2018/0340932) differ from the instant invention in not specifically teaching APOL1 detection in kidney donor patients or deceased kidney donor patients.
However, Reeves-Daniel discloses the usefulness of APOL1 measurements in kidney donor subjects. More specifically, Reeves-Daniel teach that coding variants in the apolipoprotein L1 gene (APOL1) are strongly associated with nephropathy in African Americans (AAs). APOL1 risk variants were genotyped in 106 AA deceased organ donors and graft survival assessed in 136 resultant kidney transplants. Cox proportional-hazard models tested for association between time to graft failure and donor APOL1 genotypes. Mean follow-up was 26.4 ± 21.8 months. Twenty-two of 136 transplanted kidneys (16%) were from donors with two APOL1 nephropathy risk variants. Twenty five grafts failed; eight (32%) had two APOL1 risk variants. A multivariate model accounting for donor APOL1 genotype, overall African ancestry, expanded criteria donation, recipient age and gender, HLA mismatch, CIT, and PRA revealed that graft survival was significantly shorter in donor kidneys with two APOL1 risk variants (hazard ratio [HR] 3.84; p=0.008) and higher HLA mismatch (HR 1.52; p=0.03), but not for overall African ancestry excluding APOL1. Kidneys from AA deceased donors harboring two APOL1 risk variants failed more rapidly after renal transplantation than those with zero or one risk variants.
APOL1 genotyping could improve the donor selection process and maximize long term renal allograft survival. See abstract.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the lateral flow devices exemplified by Wilson in view of Krauth and Nabatiyah and further view of Emeric to detect APOL1 in kidney doner subjects because Reeves-Daniel discloses the usefulness of APOL1 measurements in kidney donor subjects and the coding variants in the apolipoprotein L1 gene (APOL1) are strongly associated with nephropathy in African Americans (AAs). Kidneys from AA deceased donors harboring two APOL1 risk variants failed more rapidly after renal transplantation than those with zero or one risk variants.
One skilled in the art would have been motivated to measure APOL1 in kidney donors as a means to evaluate renal transplant failure in hopes of targeting subjects with the best possible options for transplant success.
16. For reasons aforementioned, no claims are allowed.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Lisa V. Cook
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1641
Hoteling
9/29/26
/LISA V COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641