Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 13, 14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11,15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reid et al. (US 20230365024 A1).
As per claim 1, Reid et al. teach
A control system (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) comprising:
one or more processors (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as Central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) configured to:
obtain a stress profile of a device (Fig. 1 #100, vehicle, para 39), disposed onboard industrial equipment (a trailer 104 is coupled with the tractor 102 with SAE J560 connection coupled with tractor battery 152 through auxiliary circuit 150, and includes electronic control module(ECU), para 41), the stress profile representing a stress characteristic of the device over time during operation of the industrial equipment (estimating the state of charge (SOC) and the state of health (SOH) of the auxiliary battery 210 by monitoring the amount of energy supply over time, para 53; the stress profile/characteristic is equivalent to the SOC and SOH);
determine a smooth zero crossing function based on the stress profile (the power reversals (which are equivalent to the claimed smooth zero crossing function) are directly related to the SOC and SOH – the battery charger is aware of the amount and rate of energy it provides, para 53; the battery charger can enter into a safe mode based on the power reversals, para 90), the smooth zero crossing function including spikes that represent reversals of the stress characteristic (Although the term “smooth zero crossing function” is not mentioned in Reid, Reid does teach the indication of spikes that represent reversals, such as the battery charger 210 monitoring the liftgate cycles going up or down based on the voltage drop, para 75, power reversal between auxiliary battery 120 to auxiliary power line 106a, para 80; Reid also teaches that is can determine a number of power cycles since a previous reversal, para 90); and
generate a control signal (the battery charger 210 has an enabling feature to enable or disable the charger 210 based on an enable signal, para 77) based on the smooth zero crossing function (the battery charger 210 can enter into a safe mode while power limit test is unsuccessful, para 87, power reversal, para 90).
As per claim 2, Reid et al. teach
The control system of claim 1(Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66), wherein the one or more processors ( Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as Central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) are configured to calculate a cycle count (the battery charger 210 is configured to set two parameters, voltage drop and voltage duration and based on the parameters lifetime liftgate cycle counter and trip liftgate cycle counter are determined; when a liftgate cycle is detected, the battery charger 210 may increment two counters, para 75; the battery charger 210 estimates the SOC and SOH by utilizing a coulomb counting algorithm, para 53) of the stress characteristic of the device based on the smooth zero crossing function (the battery charger 210 entering safe mode while power limit test is unsuccessful. power reversal performed by the battery charger 210 during current limit test para 87, 90).
As per claim 3, Reid et al. teach
The control system of claim 2(Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66), wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as Central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) are configured to:
calculate an average temperature of the device per cycle (first temperature sensor 310, second temperature sensor 312, and third temperature sensor 314, para 66, these sensors consecutively monitor the internal temperature integrated into the charger bulkhead connector and attached to auxiliary battery 120 and each of these working as thermistor, resistance temperature detector, and thermocouple, these device can measure average temperature, para 66,70,71), an average voltage of the device per cycle ( a voltage measurement method or Kalman filter method has been used, para 53; voltage sensor, para 66), and a cycle depth profile based on the smooth zero crossing function and the cycle count (calculating the percentage of chance the auxiliary battery will fail in next 3 months, para 74), the cycle depth profile including a change in stress between adjacent spikes in the smooth zero crossing function (Fig. 7, diagram of a process S602 describing the conditions for performing power reversal S708, para 88); and
determine a fatigue value (SOC threshold is 90% and the power threshold is 12W, para 23, SOC is being compared with SOC threshold, para 58-60) of the device attributable to the stress characteristic based on the average temperature, the average voltage, and the cycle depth profile (Fig. 5, a current sensor 304, voltage sensor 306, temperature sensors 310,312, and 314 measuring temperature, voltage and current and the when the auxiliary power line drops below a percentage threshold, the controller place the battery charger in safe mode, para 68).
As per claim 4, Reid et al. teach
The control system (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as Central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) are configured to generate the control signal (the battery charger 210 determines whether the conditions for power reversals met and entre a safe mode when a brake signal is detected, para 90) to provide the fatigue value ( SOC threshold is 90% and the power threshold is 12W, para 23, SOC is being compared with SOC threshold, para58-para60) of the device to one or more of an operator of the industrial equipment (a trailer 104 is coupled with the tractor 102 with SAE J560 connection coupled with tractor battery 152 through auxiliary circuit 150 includes electronic control module(ECU), para 41) or an off-board control system (auxiliary battery 120 is being used to power a forklift, a pallet jacket, para 94).
As per claim 6, Reid et al. teach
The control system (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) of claim 3, wherein the stress profile is a first stress profile in a set of multiple different stress profiles, and the one or more processors are configured to select the first stress profile from the other stress profiles in the set based at least on the fatigue value of the device in the first stress profile being less than in one or more of the other stress profiles in the set (the determination of the condition of power reversals with detecting input power cycle and the first, second, and third conditions of the charging status, para 11, estimating SOC and SOH of battery, para 53)
As per claim 7, Reid et al. teach
The control system (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors(Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as Central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) obtain a temperature profile (Fig.5,temperature sensors 310,312, and 314 orderly monitoring internal temperature, measuring ambient temperature, and monitoring the temperature of the auxiliary battery 210, para 71) of the device over time and a voltage profile (voltage sensor 306 measuring the line voltage of the auxiliary current line 106a, para 68) of the device over time, the temperature profile and the voltage profile each associated with the stress profile, the one or more processors configured to calculate the average temperature of the device per cycle based at least in part on the temperature profile (first temperature sensor 310, second temperature sensor 312, and third temperature sensor 314, para 66, these sensors consecutively monitor the internal temperature integrated into the charger bulkhead connector and attached to auxiliary battery 120 and each of these working as thermistor, resistance temperature detector, and thermocouple, theses device can measure average temperature, para 66,70,71), and to calculate the average voltage of the device per cycle based at least in part on the voltage profile (a voltage measurement method or Kalman filter method has been used, para 53).
As per claim 8, Reid et al. teach
The control system ( Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66), of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) are configured to obtain an estimated fuel savings for operating the industrial equipment according to the stress profile, and determine a fuel savings per fatigue (comparing the SOC with SOC threshold and determining if the solar charger 220 is capable of supplying enough sufficient charge to the auxiliary battery 120, para 59) value for the stress profile based on the estimated fuel savings and the fatigue value (alleviating the use of fossil fuels and reducing operational costs of the vehicle 100, para 59).
As per claim 9, Reid et al. teach
The control system of claim 1, wherein the device is a battery pack, the stress profile is a state of charge profile of the battery pack (battery charger 210 calculates the SOC and SOH of the auxiliary battery 210, para 53), and the spikes of the smooth zero crossing function represent charge reversals of the battery pack during operation (Fig. 7, diagram of a process S602 describing the conditions for performing power reversal S708, para 88).
As per claim 10, Reid et al. teach
The control system(Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) of claim 1, wherein the industrial equipment comprises a first vehicle and a second vehicle, and the device is a coupler that mechanically couples the first vehicle to the second vehicle (Fig. 1, vehicle 100 having a tractor 102 and trailer 104, para 39), wherein the stress profile represents mechanical stress on the coupler, and the spikes of the smooth zero crossing function represent stress reversals of the coupler during operation (a charging system 200 for charging auxiliary battery/liftgate battery to power liftgate 110, para 39, the electrical system of power reversal performed by the battery charger 210 during current limit test enabled by switch 316, para 80-83).
As per claim 11, Reid et al. teach
The control system (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) of claim 1, wherein the industrial equipment is a vehicle (Fig. 1, a block diagram of a vehicle 100,para 39), the device is a battery pack onboard the vehicle (Fig. 1, #120 Aux battery, para 30,39), and the one or more processors (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78), are configured to generate the control signal to control charge and discharge operations of the battery pack during a trip of the vehicle according to the stress profile (battery charger 210 can enable the feature of enabling and disabling the charger 210 based on an enable signal, para 77. A digital signal has been processed with configuration of multiple hardware such as CPU, DSPs, digital signal processor, para 78).
As per claim 15, Reid et al. teach
obtaining a stress profile of a device disposed onboard industrial equipment (Fig. 1 #100, vehicle, para 39), the stress profile representing a stress characteristic of the device over time during operation of the industrial equipment (estimating the state of charge (SOC) and the state of health (SOH) of the auxiliary battery 210 by monitoring the amount of energy supply over time, para 53; the stress profile/characteristic is equivalent to the SOC and SOH);
determining, via one or more processors, (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) a smooth zero crossing function based on the stress profile (the power reversals (which are equivalent to the claimed smooth zero crossing function) are directly related to the SOC and SOH – the battery charger is aware of the amount and rate of energy it provides, para 53; the battery charger can enter into a safe mode based on the power reversals, para 90), the smooth zero crossing function including spikes that represent reversals of the stress characteristic (Although the term “smooth zero crossing function” is not mentioned in Reid, Reid does teach the indication of spikes that represent reversals, such as the battery charger 210 monitoring the liftgate cycles going up or down based on the voltage drop, para 75, power reversal between auxiliary battery 120 to auxiliary power line 106a, para 80; Reid also teaches that is can determine a number of power cycles since a previous reversal, para 90); and
generating, via one or more processors (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78), a control signal (the battery charger 210 has an enable feature to enable or disable the charger 210 based on an enable signal, para 77) based on the smooth zero crossing function (Fig. 7, diagram of a process S602 describing the conditions for performing power reversal S708, para 88; the battery charger 210 can enter into a safe mode while power limit test is unsuccessful, para 87, power reversal, para 90).
As per claim 19, Reid et al. teach
A control system (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) comprising:
one or more processors, (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) configured to:
obtain a state of charge (SOC) profile of a battery pack disposed onboard a vehicle (battery charger is configured to determine state of charge (SOC), para 25), the SOC profile representing a charge of the battery pack over time during a trip of the vehicle (estimating the state of charge (SOC) and the state of health (SOH) of the auxiliary battery 210 by monitoring the amount of energy supply over time, para 53; the SOC profile is equivalent to the SOC and SOH);
determine a smooth zero crossing function based on the SOC profile (the power reversals (which are equivalent to the claimed smooth zero crossing function) are directly related to the SOC and SOH – the battery charger is aware of the amount and rate of energy it provides, para 53; the battery charger can enter into a safe mode based on the power reversals, para 90), the smooth zero crossing function including spikes that represent charge reversals of the battery pack (Although the term “smooth zero crossing function” is not mentioned in Reid, Reid does teach the indication of spikes that represent reversals, such as the battery charger 210 monitoring the liftgate cycles going up or down based on the voltage drop, para 75, power reversal between auxiliary battery 120 to auxiliary power line 106a, para 80; Reid also teaches that is can determine a number of power cycles since a previous reversal, para 90); calculate a charge cycle count (the battery charger 210 is configured to set two parameters, voltage drop and voltage duration, and based on the parameters, lifetime liftgate cycle counter and trip liftgate cycle counter are determined; when a liftgate cycle is detected, the battery charger 210 may increment two counters, para 75; the battery charger 210 estimates the SOC and SOH by utilizing a coulomb counting algorithm, para 53) based on the smooth zero crossing function (battery charger enter into safe mode, para 64, Fig. 7, diagram of a process S602 describing the conditions for performing power reversal S708, para 88); and generate a control signal to communicate the charge cycle count (the battery charger 210 may communicate the SOC of the auxiliary battery 120 as well as other information…including the lifetime liftgate cycle counter, the trip liftgate cycle counter, para 74).
As per claim 20, Reid et al. teach
The control system (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66) of claim 19, wherein the one or more processor (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) are configured to:
calculate an average temperature of the battery pack per cycle (first temperature sensor 310, second temperature sensor 312, and third temperature sensor 314, para 66, these sensors consecutively monitor the internal temperature integrated into the charger bulkhead connector and attached to auxiliary battery 120 and each of these working as thermistor, resistance temperature detector, and thermocouple, theses device can measure average temperature, para 66,70,71) an average voltage of the battery pack per cycle (a voltage measurement method or Kalman filter method has been used, para 53; voltage sensor, para 66), and a depth of discharge (DOD) profile (calculating the percentage of chance the auxiliary battery will fail in next 3 months, para 74) based on the smooth zero crossing function (battery charger enter into safe mode, para 64,Fig. 7, diagram of a process S602 describing the conditions for performing power reversal S708, para 88) and the charge cycle count (The battery charger 210 is configured to set two parameters, voltage drop and voltage duration and based on the parameters lifetime liftgate cycle counter and trip liftgate cycle counter are determined; when a liftgate cycle is detected, the battery charger 210 may increment two counters, para 75; the battery charger 210 estimates the SOC and SOH by utilizing a coulomb counting algorithm, para 53 para 75); and
determine a fatigue value of the battery pack attributable to the SOC profile for the trip based on (SOC threshold is 90% and the power threshold is 12W, para 23, SOC is being compared with SOC threshold, para58-para60) the average temperature, the average voltage, and the DOD profile (Fig. 5, a current sensor 304, voltage sensor 306, temperature sensors 310,312, and 314 measuring temperature, voltage and current and the when the auxiliary power line drops below a percentage threshold, the controller place the battery charger in safe mode, para 68), wherein the control signal is generated to communicate the fatigue value in addition to the charge cycle count (the battery charger 210 may communicate the SOC of the auxiliary battery 120 as well as other information…including the lifetime liftgate cycle counter, the trip liftgate cycle counter, para 74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reid et al. (US 20230365024 A1) in view Eaves (US 20080071483 A1).
As per claim 5, Reid et al. teach
The control system of claim 3 (Fig 5, #300 a controller, para 66), wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 5, #330, a processor or processing circuit 330, may include one or more processing circuits such as central processing unit CPU, digital signal processors DSPs, programmable gate way FPGA, para 78) are configured to determine the cycle depth profile based on an instantaneous zero crossing of the smooth zero crossing function (using instantaneous SOC of the auxiliary battery 120, para 54,the current sensor 304 measures instantaneous input current, para 68, the controller 300 monitors the instantaneous auxiliary power line voltage and , para 74).
Reid et al. describes an instantaneous value point of state of charge (SOC) however, Reid et al. do not mention how the SOC calculation is determined based on the integral of the smooth zero crossing function.
In the same field of endeavor, Eaves teaches a method for SOC calculation by combining the voltage reading from the consecutive power line with the current reading and perform a time integrated measurement for the current, voltage, temperature and a historical information from the previous cycle (Eaves, para 20-23).
It would have been obvious to a person ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention, to combine the above teaching and to incorporate the invention taught by Eaves using a time integrated measurement SOC calculation into the system taught by Reid et al. This would have been obvious because using integrated calculation of SOC will significantly boost the accuracy of the battery state by counteracting the errors generated by current sensor, temperature effects, and other sources, and will enhance battery management by reducing cost.
As per claim 17,
Claim 17 has the same limitations as claim 5. Please see the analysis above.
As per claim 18, Reid et al. teach
calculating an average temperature of the device per cycle, an average voltage of the device per cycle, and a cycle depth profile based on the smooth zero crossing function and the cycle count, the cycle depth profile including a change in stress between adjacent spikes in the smooth zero crossing function; and
determining a fatigue value of the device attributable to the stress characteristic based on the average temperature, the average voltage, and the cycle depth profile.
Claim 18 has the same limitations as claim 3. Please see the analysis of claim 3 above.
Conclusion
/ROKEYA SHAWALI ALAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2118
/SCOTT T BADERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2118