DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In communications filed on 12/01/2025. Claims 1, 9, and 18 are amended. Claims 2, 6, 11, 15, and 19 are canceled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-10, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 are pending in this examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims for newly added limitation have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant is encouraged to review the relevant references especially the applications of Joon, LUO, and Elias mentioned at the conclusion section of this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 9-10, 13-14, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US2009/0261951) (filed in IDS filed 10/17/2024), and in view of Kazuya Taki (JP4721096B2), and further in view of Brown (US20100308978), and further in view of Baranowski (US2010/0300933).
Regarding claim 1, Chang discloses a secured radio frequency identification device comprising [¶18, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an RFID tag in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. An RFID tag 10 comprises a transmitting/receiving unit 12, a memory 14 and a control unit 16. The memory 14 has four different blocks: a block 14A stored with a first identification code, a block 14B stored with a second identification code, a block 14C stored with a password, and a block 14D stored with a set of data]’ and
a first radio frequency identification (RFID) tag [¶18, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an RFID tag in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. An RFID tag 10 comprises a transmitting/receiving unit 12, a memory 14 and a control unit 16. The memory 14 has four different blocks: a block 14A stored with a first identification code, a block 14B stored with a second identification code, a block 14C stored with a password, and a block 14D stored with a set of data]; and
and a [¶18, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an RFID tag in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. An RFID tag 10 comprises a transmitting/receiving unit 12, a memory 14 and a control unit 16. The memory 14 has four different blocks: a block 14A stored with a first identification code, a block 14B stored with a second identification code, a block 14C stored with a password, and a block 14D stored with a set of data]; and
for selectively [ FIG.2A ¶¶25-26, step S204; FIG.3, ¶¶32-33 step S35] enabling [¶¶FIGs 2A-B, steps 205-208; FIG.3 ¶¶34-35, step S35] and disabling [¶¶FIGs 2A-B, steps 206, 209; FIG.3 ¶34, step S38] data transmission from the secured RFID tag; wherein the first RFID tag is to store non-sensitive data [¶19, In practice, the first identification code is an electronic product code (EPC) of the RFID tag 10, a ubiquitous code or an RFID tag code specified by standards organizations such as the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The codes are unique in principle. The second identification code is a specific code representing the user in possession of the RFID tag 10]; and
A secured radio frequency identification device using multiple radio frequency identification tags to maintain security of data, the secured radio frequency identification device; a separate secured radio frequency identification (RFID) tag , wherein the first RFID tag is to store non-sensitive data from a data set, the non-sensitive data stored in the first RFID tag in an encrypted form, and the secured RFID tag is to store sensitive data from the same data set, wherein the sensitive data stored in the secured RFID tag is an encryption key for decrypting the non-sensitive data, such that all the data of the data set is only accessible when the separate secured RFID tag is enabled for data transmission to allow the non-sensitive data stored in the first RFID tag to be decrypted using the encryption key.
While Chang discloses: [¶¶5-6, Concerning security, the present RFID tag is generally classified into open and closed types. Any RFID reader is capable of accessing the data stored in an open RFID tag, such as an identification number of the tag, or an origin and a date of manufacture of goods to which the tag is attached. The open type of RFID tag is usually applied to a logistics management and a library system with a relatively low security requirement. A possessor of the chip can encrypt the data stored in the tag to increase barriers preventing abuse of the data; however, the measure does not stop an illegal reader from accessing the data stored in the tag. Moreover, once an encryption method of the data stored in the tag is decrypted, other tags applying the same encryption method are also exposed to danger. In contrast, a protection or verification mechanism is provided in an RFID tag of a closed system. In other words, the RFID reader needs to pass an authentication procedure provided inside the tag in order to read/write the data stored in the tag. For example, after obtaining the identification number of the tag, the RFID reader applies a specific encrypting mechanism to encrypt the identification number and transmits the encrypted identification number to the tag. The tag decrypts the encrypted identification number via a decrypting mechanism corresponding to the encrypting mechanism and verifies whether the decrypted result is correct. When the decrypted result is correct, the RFID reader is then allowed to access the data stored in the tag. As a result, software and hardware of the RFID tag and the RFID reader device are specially designed and even a new circuit, such as an encrypting or a decrypting circuit, is added], and [¶8, In view of the foregoing issues, the encrypting mechanism of the reader corresponding to the decrypting mechanism of the tag need be built inside the reader/tag in advance. Furthermore, in order to reduce cost, circuits and functions are usually unchangeable and cannot be reset or revised by an end-user. When the RFID tag is purchased, the encrypting/decrypting algorithm cannot be adapted or changed as desired by an end-user. Therefore, the readers/tags produced by different manufactures are incompatible with one another and cannot operate interchangeably, resulting in great limitations and user inconveniences], and [¶19, In practice, the first identification code is an electronic product code (EPC) of the RFID tag 10, a ubiquitous code or an RFID tag code specified by standards organizations such as the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The codes are unique in principle. The second identification code is a specific code representing the user in possession of the RFID tag 10]; and [¶24, According to the present invention, the verification procedure is rather simple. For example, the administrator can set the RFID tag 10 in advance. When the access request of the RFID reader comprises, the password recorded in the block 14C, the control unit 16 determines the access request successfully passes the password verification procedure. In other words, when the password stored in the block 14C is 10011100, the data stored in the block 14C is accessible only when the request of the RFID reader comprises the password 10011100. When another request associated with the block 14D is transmitted from the RFID reader, such as a request for writing data in the block 14D, the RFID tag 10 determines whether to accept the request according to the password verification procedure], and [¶21, According to the present invention, the RFID tag 10 has two different states. When the block 14D is not under protection, any RFID reader capable of communicating with the RFID tag 10 can access the data stored in the block 14D. Under such circumstances, the RFID tag 10 is regarded as a traditional open RFID tag. On the contrary, when the block 14D is under protection, the data stored in the block 14D is accessible only when the RFID reader passes a password verification procedure corresponding to the password. Under such circumstances, the RFID tag 10 is regarded as a closed RFID tag. The data stored in the block 14D can be encrypted when the possessor/administrator of the RFID 10 wishes to increase security of the data], and [18. The operating method as claimed in claim 13, wherein the set of data is encrypted].
Chang does not explicitly disclose the limitations; however, Kazuya Taki discloses:
[¶¶96-98, the RFID circuit element To of the RFID label T1 constitutes a first RFID circuit element, the RFID circuit element To of the RFID label T2 constitutes a second RFID circuit element, and these two RFID circuit elements To Constitute a wireless tag circuit element group. In the present embodiment configured as described above, information obtained by encrypting read information is stored in the IC circuit unit 150 of the RFID tag circuit element To associated with the RFID label T1 (or the RFID label T2, hereinafter, the same relationship in parentheses). The encrypted data B (or encrypted data A) is stored and held, and the encryption key B (or encryption key A), which is a so-called common key at the time of the encryption, is used as another RFID label T2 (or RFID label T1). Is stored in the IC circuit unit 150 of the wireless tag circuit element To. Then, the scanner unit 200 of the activation controller 100 reads the encrypted data B (or encrypted data A) and the encrypted key B (or encrypted key A) from the two RFID circuit elements To, by decrypting the encrypted data B (or the encrypted data A) using the encryption key B (or the encryption key A), information to be read after decryption is obtained. By reading and storing the encrypted data and the key at the time of encryption in separate RFID circuit elements To, a third party can read the RFID label T1 (or the RFID label T2). Even if the RFID tag circuit element To is found, the RFID tag circuit element To stores and holds only the encrypted data B (or the encrypted data A), and the encryption key B (or the encryption key A) is stored in another RFID label T2 (or the RFID label). Since it is stored and held in the RFID circuit element To of T1), it cannot be decoded to obtain information. As a result, as long as the two RFID circuit elements To related to the RFID labels T1 and T2 cannot be picked up by the same third party, the information is not stolen, so that the security against information theft can be improved], and [¶¶2, 6, 107].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Change by incorporating “a wireless tag circuit element group.”, as taught by Maurer. One could have been motivated to improve the security again the information theft by reading and storing the encrypted data and the key at the time of encryption in separate RFID circuit elements [ Kazuya Taki, ¶¶96-98].
Chang, and Kazuya Taki do not explicitly disclose, however, Brown discloses
controlling when the secured RFID can be read, the transmission control device utilizing a
[¶7, An RFID system generally comprises one or more tags, one or more tag readers, and often other supporting infrastructure such as a database. Often, the purpose of an RFID system is to enable data on an RFID tag to be read and processed by an RFID reader. The amount of processing and the nature of the data is largely dependent on the application. For example, the information transmitted by the tag may provide identification or location information, or specifics about the object to which the tag is affixed. In typical applications such as inventory tracking, the RFID system may use small, inexpensive tags affixed to objects that are being tracked. The tag contains a transponder with a memory that is given a unique code (e.g. a product code). A signal is emitted from the reader, the signal activating the RFID tag such that the reader can read and write data to the tag. When the RFID tag passes through an electromagnetic zone( equated to authorized location) created by the emission, the tag detects the reader's activation signal. The reader decodes the data encoded in the tag's memory and the data is passed to the supporting infrastructure for its particular use], and [Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chang, and Kazuya Taki by incorporating “inventory tracking”, as taught by Brown. One could have been motivated to do so in order to read and process the information transmitted by the tag which provide identification or location information, or specifics about the object to which the tag is affixed [Brown, ¶7].
Chang, Kazuya Taki and Brown do not explicitly disclose, however, Baranowski discloses:
the transmission control device utilizing a location aware circuit to detect its location using Global Positioning System (GPS) signals [¶26, RFID read/write device 110 is configured with a GPS device 120 (described below) to facilitate location-based security features. For example, RFID read/write device 110 is configured to deactivate if it is moved from a specific geographical range. RFID read/write device 110 may also be configured to store, for example, Wired Equivalent Privacy (WEP), Wi-Fi Protected Access (WPA), and/or WPA2 keys. Thus, RFID read/write device 110 is able to implement a variety of secure wireless systems and/or protocols… in one embodiment, configuring an RFID read/write device 110 with GPS device 120 includes storing a digital certificate in a FIPS 20-compliant storage medium inside each RFID read/write device 110 and using that certificate to identify RFID read/write device 110 to system 100.], and [¶34]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chang, Kazuya Taki , and Brown by incorporating “RFID read/write device, and GPS device”, as taught by Baranowski. One could have been motivated to do so in order to facilitate location-based security features. For example, RFID read/write device 110 is configured to deactivate if it is moved from a specific geographical range, and GPS 120 may also be used to prevent RFID devices 110, transponder 170 and/or RFID tags 150 from being used outside of a predetermined geographical boundary (for example, a store or a building. [Baranowski, ¶7].
Regarding claim 5, Chang discloses wherein the data set comprises data for a unit of cargo or inventory [¶38, Refer to FIG. 4 showing a schematic diagram of a logistics process associated with an RFID tag. A good produced in a manufacturing plant 42 is attached with the RFID tag 10 according to the present invention. Manufacture data associated with the good, such as a manufacture date, an expiration date or a producer code, is written into the block 14D of the RFID tag 10 by the producer or is transmitted to a specific server 44 via the Internet 40. According to the present invention, the second identification code of the RFID tag 10 is set as an Internet protocol address of the server 44], and [¶39, A logistics service provider further delivers the good via a transfer station 46 to a sales department 48. During the good delivering process, the transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 record a set of data associated with the good, such as receiving hours and a license number of a lorry, so as to provide the administrator or purchaser with details of the good for future inquiries. The transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 can access the Internet protocol address stored in the block 14B and transmit the set of data to the server 44 via the Internet 40].
Examiner Note: Colby (US2007/0200684) also discloses this limitation as: [0007] RFID tags generate a return radio frequency signal that may include an encoded copy of information stored within the RFID tag. As RFID tags achieve more widespread use they will become ubiquitous on forms of tagging, labeling, identification, and be included in personal and business effects, such as passports, driver's licenses, keys, cell phones, credit cards, PDAs, and so forth. For example, an RFID tag may be incorporated in a driver's license to store personal information about the licensee or in a product label to track inventory].
Regarding claim 7, Chang discloses wherein the first RFID tag is affixed to a unit of cargo on a transport vehicle and the secured RFID tag is disposed in the same transport vehicle [¶¶38-39, Refer to FIG. 4 showing a schematic diagram of a logistics process associated with an RFID tag. A good produced in a manufacturing plant 42 is attached with the RFID tag 10 according to the present invention. Manufacture data associated with the good, such as a manufacture date, an expiration date or a producer code, is written into the block 14D of the RFID tag 10 by the producer or is transmitted to a specific server 44 via the Internet 40. According to the present invention, the second identification code of the RFID tag 10 is set as an Internet protocol address of the server 44. A logistics service provider further delivers the good via a transfer station 46 to a sales department 48. During the good delivering process, the transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 record a set of data associated with the good, such as receiving hours and a license number of a lorry, so as to provide the administrator or purchaser with details of the good for future inquiries. The transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 can access the Internet protocol address stored in the block 14B and transmit the set of data to the server 44 via the Internet 40].
Examiner Note: Colby (US2007/0200684) also discloses this limitation as: [0007] RFID tags generate a return radio frequency signal that may include an encoded copy of information stored within the RFID tag. As RFID tags achieve more widespread use they will become ubiquitous on forms of tagging, labeling, identification, and be included in personal and business effects, such as passports, driver's licenses, keys, cell phones, credit cards, PDAs, and so forth. For example, an RFID tag may be incorporated in a driver's license to store personal information about the licensee or in a product label to track inventory].
Regarding claims 9, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same rational set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claims 10, and 20, Brown does not explicitly disclose, however, the combination of Chang ,Kazuya Taki , and Baranowski discloses when the transmission control has enabled data transmission in the secured RFID tag, reading the sensitive information from the secured RFID tag; reading the non-sensitive information from the regular RFID tag; and combining the sensitive and non-sensitive information to obtain the data set
Chang discloses: [¶19, In practice, the first identification code is an electronic product code (EPC) of the RFID tag 10, a ubiquitous code or an RFID tag code specified by standards organizations such as the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The codes are unique in principle. The second identification code is a specific code representing the user in possession of the RFID tag 10], and [24, According to the present invention, the verification procedure is rather simple. For example, the administrator can set the RFID tag 10 in advance. When the access request of the RFID reader comprises, the password recorded in the block 14C, the control unit 16 determines the access request successfully passes the password verification procedure. In other words, when the password stored in the block 14C is 10011100, the data stored in the block 14C is accessible only when the request of the RFID reader comprises the password 10011100. When another request associated with the block 14D is transmitted from the RFID reader, such as a request for writing data in the block 14D, the RFID tag 10 determines whether to accept the request according to the password verification procedure].
Kazuya Taki discloses: [ ¶¶96-98].
Baranowski: [¶47, In another exemplary embodiment, the processing devices are configured to prevent sensitive parts of tag data from being read by an unauthorized user. For example, processing devices may use a base server to encrypt data before sending to RFID read/write device 110 for writing the data to tag 150].
Regarding claim 13, Brown does not explicitly disclose, however, the combination of Chang ,Kazuya Taki , and Baranowski discloses: wherein the device comprises multiple, regular RFID tags, the method further comprising storing non-sensitive data of one or more data sets in respective regular RFID tags; and storing sensitive data from the one or more data sets in a single secured RFID tag
Chang discloses: [¶18, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an RFID tag in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. An RFID tag 10 comprises a transmitting/receiving unit 12, a memory 14 and a control unit 16. The memory 14 has four different blocks: a block 14A stored with a first identification code (equated to storing non-sensitive data), a block 14B stored with a second identification code, a block 14C stored with a password, and a block 14D stored with a set of data (equated to storing sensitive data)].
Kazuya Taki [ ¶¶96-98].
Regarding claim 14, Chang discloses, wherein the data set comprises data for a unit of cargo or inventory, and the method further comprises affixing a regular RFID tag to each unit of cargo or inventory [¶¶38-39, Refer to FIG. 4 showing a schematic diagram of a logistics process associated with an RFID tag. A good produced in a manufacturing plant 42 is attached with the RFID tag 10 according to the present invention. Manufacture data associated with the good, such as a manufacture date, an expiration date or a producer code, is written into the block 14D of the RFID tag 10 by the producer or is transmitted to a specific server 44 via the Internet 40. According to the present invention, the second identification code of the RFID tag 10 is set as an Internet protocol address of the server 44. A logistics service provider further delivers the good via a transfer station 46 to a sales department 48. During the good delivering process, the transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 record a set of data associated with the good, such as receiving hours and a license number of a lorry, so as to provide the administrator or purchaser with details of the good for future inquiries. The transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 can access the Internet protocol address stored in the block 14B and transmit the set of data to the server 44 via the Internet 40].
Examiner Note: Colby (US2007/0200684) also discloses this limitation as: [0007] RFID tags generate a return radio frequency signal that may include an encoded copy of information stored within the RFID tag. As RFID tags achieve more widespread use they will become ubiquitous on forms of tagging, labeling, identification, and be included in personal and business effects, such as passports, driver's licenses, keys, cell phones, credit cards, PDAs, and so forth. For example, an RFID tag may be incorporated in a driver's license to store personal information about the licensee or in a product label to track inventory].
Regarding claim 16, Chang discloses, further comprising; affixing the one or more regular RFID tags to respective units of cargo on a transport vehicle; and disposing the secured RFID tag in the same transport vehicle [¶¶38-39, Refer to FIG. 4 showing a schematic diagram of a logistics process associated with an RFID tag. A good produced in a manufacturing plant 42 is attached with the RFID tag 10 according to the present invention. Manufacture data associated with the good, such as a manufacture date, an expiration date or a producer code, is written into the block 14D of the RFID tag 10 by the producer or is transmitted to a specific server 44 via the Internet 40. According to the present invention, the second identification code of the RFID tag 10 is set as an Internet protocol address of the server 44. A logistics service provider further delivers the good via a transfer station 46 to a sales department 48. During the good delivering process, the transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 record a set of data associated with the good, such as receiving hours and a license number of a lorry, so as to provide the administrator or purchaser with details of the good for future inquiries. The transfer station 46 and the sales department 48 can access the Internet protocol address stored in the block 14B and transmit the set of data to the server 44 via the Internet 40].
Examiner Note: Colby (US2007/0200684) also discloses this limitation as: [0007] RFID tags generate a return radio frequency signal that may include an encoded copy of information stored within the RFID tag. As RFID tags achieve more widespread use they will become ubiquitous on forms of tagging, labeling, identification, and be included in personal and business effects, such as passports, driver's licenses, keys, cell phones, credit cards, PDAs, and so forth. For example, an RFID tag may be incorporated in a driver's license to store personal information about the licensee or in a product label to track inventory].
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same rational set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US2009/0261951) (filed in IDS filed 10/17/2024), and in view of Kazuya Taki (JP4721096B2), and further in view of Brown (US20100308978), and further in view of Baranowski (US2010/0300933), and, further in view of US Patent No. Colby (US2007/0200684) (filed in IDS filed 10/17/2024).
Regarding claim 3, Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski do not explicitly disclose, however, Colby discloses wherein the transmission control comprises a switch for selectively preventing data of the secured RFID tag from transmission by an antenna of the secured RFID tag [¶64, FIG. 2 illustrates some of many possible locations for Switch 170 within Switchable RFID Device 100 where Switch 170 creates an open circuit. FIG. 3 illustrates some of many possible locations for Switch 170 within Switchable RFID Device 100 wherein Switch 170 creates a short circuit. The embodiments illustrated by FIGS. 2 and 3 include a Transistor 210, a Diode 220, and a Capacitor 230. Possible positions for Switch 170 are indicated by an "X."], and [¶¶58,62 65 109].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski by incorporating “Switchable RFID Device”, as taught by Colby. One could have been motivated to do so in order to create an open circuit between (or within) RFID antenna 140, Circuit 150, and/or Tag 160 and to partially limit the functionality of Tag 160 [ Colby, ¶¶60,65].
Regarding claim 4, Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski do not explicitly disclose, however, Colby discloses further comprising multiple, first RFID tags, each to store non-sensitive data of a data set, the secured RFID tag to store sensitive data corresponding to the non-sensitive data in the multiple first RFID tags [¶111, In some illustrative embodiments, an instance of RF Transmitter 1410 is disposed within a vehicle dashboard and a plurality of Tag 160 are disposed within a steering wheel of the vehicle or rear-view mirror. One of the plurality Tag 160 is configured to control an audio system and another of the plurality of switchable RFID tags is configured to control a climate system (e.g., air conditioner or heating). In some embodiments, the wireless response signals generated by both of these Tag 160 is received by a RF receiver and communicated to a circuit that then controls the separate electronic devices. In alternative embodiments, each of the separate electronic devices (e.g., audio system and climate system) includes a separate RF receiver configured to receive the response signals].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski by incorporating “Switchable RFID Device”, as taught by Colby. One could have been motivated to do so in order to create an open circuit between (or within) RFID antenna 140, Circuit 150, and/or Tag 160 and to partially limit the functionality of Tag 160 [ Colby, ¶¶60,65].
Regarding claim 12, Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski do not explicitly disclose, however, Colby discloses, wherein the transmission control comprises a switch for selectively preventing data of the secured RFID tag from transmission by an antenna of the secured RFID tag [¶64, FIG. 2 illustrates some of many possible locations for Switch 170 within Switchable RFID Device 100 where Switch 170 creates an open circuit. FIG. 3 illustrates some of man possible locations for Switch 170 within Switchable RFID Device 100 wherein Switch 170 creates a short circuit. The embodiments illustrated by FIGS. 2 and 3 include a Transistor 210, a Diode 220, and a Capacitor 230. Possible positions for Switch 170 are indicated by an "X."], and [¶¶58, 109].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski by incorporating “Switchable RFID Device”, as taught by Colby. One could have been motivated to do so in order to create an open circuit between (or within) RFID antenna 140, Circuit 150, and/or Tag 160 and to partially limit the functionality of Tag 160 [ Colby, ¶¶60,65].
Claims 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US2009/0261951) (filed in IDS filed 10/17/2024), and in view of Kazuya Taki (JP4721096B2), and further in view of Brown (US20100308978), and further in view of Baranowski (US2010/0300933), and further in view of Owada Toru (JP2005141529).
Regarding claims 8, and 17, Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski however, Toru discloses further comprising multiple secured RFID tags, wherein the sensitive data is further divided with only a portion of the sensitive data stored in each of the secured RFID tags [Japanese Patent Application Publication JP 2005-141529-A published on Jun. 2, 2005, describes an information communication system. In this system, an information processor includes a host and a reader/writer, and further includes an encryption/key storage unit and a data division/reconstitution unit for dividing data stored in a storage medium. The storage medium includes a plurality of RFID devices which are independently driven. The information processor divides data stored in the storage medium, encrypts divided pieces of data with respective different encryption keys and stores these encrypted divided pieces of data in respective RF ID devices. This allows data stored in the storage devices to be confidential on a communication path], and [¶¶9, 41, 58].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Chang, Kazuya Taki, Brown, and Baranowski by incorporating “The storage medium includes a plurality of RFID devices which are independently driven”, as taught by Toru. One could have been motivated to do so in order to divide data stored in the storage medium, encrypts divided pieces of data with respective different encryption keys and stores these encrypted divided pieces of data in respective RF ID devices. [ Toru, Pages 1625-1630].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LUO (CN 110263888 A)[ the positioning device main body comprises a control module (101), a first RFID read-write module (102), a second RFID read-write module (106), a first analogue switch (103); the second analogue switch (105) and n pieces of antenna module (104), wherein n is the antenna module (104) is marked as follows: first 1 antenna module, antenna module 2, ..., the nth antenna module; the mounting position of the electronic device in each of said antenna module (104) and the position of the monitored location;
In order to solve the problem that a plurality of RFID electronic tag information reading and locating, with reference to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, the present invention provides a location-based RFID tag monitoring system comprising: a locating device main body and the RFID tag, the electronic device of each rack are fixedly mounted a unique RFID tag, RFID tag is a passive RFID electronic tag;
the positioning device main body is equipped with an integrated circuit board, comprising reading the collected and communication function of the RFID tag information, a locating device main body comprises a control module 101, a first RFID read-write module 102. the second RFID read-write module 106, the first analog switch 103, the second analog switch 105 and n antenna module 104, wherein, n the antenna module 104 is marked as follows: first 1 antenna module, antenna module 2, ..., the nth antenna module; each antenna module 104 of the position and location of the monitored electronic device mounting position.
(JOON )KR 102123111 B1 [ Abstract, The present invention provides an RFID reader device, which comprises: an RFID reader unit attaching an RFID tag to an object to be tracked and reading data including an identifier from at least one RFID tag entered within a radio wave range area; a positioning unit detecting a current location; and a control unit wirelessly transmitting current location information sensed by the positioning unit and data of the RFID tag read from at least one RFID tag by the RFID reader unit at the current location to the server device in which an object location map database is built. The RFID reader device is implemented as a moving body and mounted on a moving body.
The RFID location tags 10-1, 10-2 are for providing reference location information to the RFID reader devices 100-1, 100-2, ..., 100-K, and are fixed like the shelf 1 It is mounted on an object. According to an embodiment, when the fixed location information mapped to the identifier (ID) of the RFID location tags 10-1 and 10-2 is previously databaseized in the server device 200, the RFID reader device 100-1 , 100-2, ..., 100-K) can access the server device 200 to obtain location information mapped to the identifier (ID) transmitted from the RFID location tags 10-1, 10-2. have. According to another embodiment, when the RFID location tag (10-1, 10-2) as well as the identifier (ID) information as well as fixed location information, the RFID reader device (100-1, 100-2, .. ., 100-K) may be obtained by receiving fixed location information from RFID location tags 10-1 and 10-2.
The RFID tags 20-1 and 20-2 are attached to a moving object that is a location tracking target, such as an article 2 or a pallet 3 for storing a plurality of articles. According to one embodiment, the ID (ID) of the RFID tag (20-1, 20-2) and the article information attached to the RFID tag (20-1, 20-2) is mapped to the database in advance to the server device 200 If it is, the RFID reader device 100-1, 100-2, ..., 100-K transmits the identifier ID of the RFID tag 20-1, 20-2 to the server device 200. By doing so, the location information of the item mapped to the identifier (ID) can be made into a database. According to another embodiment, when the RFID tag (20-1, 20-2) as well as the identification (ID) information as well as article information, the RFID reader device (100-1, 100-2, ..., 100 -K) can transmit the item information as well as the identifier (ID) information of the RFID tags 20-1 and 20-2 to the server device 200 so that the location information of the item mapped to the identifier (ID) is databased. have.
Brown (US2017/0026789, ¶34…. According to an embodiment, data can be identified, classified, or tagged as sensitive using tags such as RFID tags, which can be attached to the wireless computing device. For example, data may be tagged as sensitive if it is stored on a storage medium that is itself tagged by or associated with an RFID tag. The wireless device can detect the presence of the RFID tag and identify, classify, assign, or tag the data received from the RFID-tagged storage medium as being sensitive data. A single wireless computing device may have different categories, classifications, or tags for different sensitive data.].
Hashimoto (US2006/0047961) [ Abstract, A wireless tag system and a wireless tag access control device make it easy to keep and manage keys of cryptograph with an enhanced level of security. The wireless tag system comprises a plurality of wireless slave tags 1 through 3 which store information encrypted by means of a first key of cryptograph, a wireless master tag 7A which store the first keys of cryptograph of the slave tags belonging thereto encrypted by means of the second key of cryptograph and a wireless tag access control device which accesses the master tag 7A and decrypting the first keys of cryptograph acquired from the master tag 7A by means of the second key of cryptograph and then the tag data acquired from the slave tags 1 through 3 by means of the decrypted first keys of cryptograph]. And [ see Figs 1, and 6 and corresponding text for more details).
Zimmerman ( US2006/0261926) [Abstract, A system and method for limiting the reading out of data from an RFID tag by requiring a reader of the tag to be authenticated by providing the correct key to the tag, static or rotating, before the tag will transmit data. The limitation of transmission is done irrespective of whether the data is encrypted or not. The system and method may have a segmented or tiered access scheme where segments or portions of the data stored in the RFID tag are accessible by differing keys. Additionally, different encryption keys or schemes may be employed to provide differing encryption methods for the data in the differing segments or portions of the data stored in the RFID tag].
Brown (US2017/0026789, ¶34…. According to an embodiment, data can be identified, classified, or tagged as sensitive using tags such as RFID tags, which can be attached to the wireless computing device. For example, data may be tagged as sensitive if it is stored on a storage medium that is itself tagged by or associated with an RFID tag. The wireless device can detect the presence of the RFID tag and identify, classify, assign, or tag the data received from the RFID-tagged storage medium as being sensitive data. A single wireless computing device may have different categories, classifications, or tags for different sensitive data.].
Hashimoto (US2006/0047961) [ A wireless tag system and a wireless tag access control device make it easy to keep and manage keys of cryptograph with an enhanced level of security. The wireless tag system comprises a plurality of wireless slave tags 1 through 3 which store information encrypted by means of a first key of cryptograph, a wireless master tag 7A which store the first keys of cryptograph of the slave tags belonging thereto encrypted by means of the second key of cryptograph and a wireless tag access control device which accesses the master tag 7A and decrypting the first keys of cryptograph acquired from the master tag 7A by means of the second key of cryptograph and then the tag data acquired from the slave tags 1 through 3 by means of the decrypted first keys of cryptograph].
JP 4721096 B2 [Furthermore, for the convenience of collation, in the RFID tag information writing device, the collation identification information generating means generates common collation identification information among a plurality of specific RFID tag circuit elements, and the generated common the verification identification information is written in common to the IC circuit portions of the specific plurality of RFID tag circuit elements by the information writing means. Then, in the RFID tag information reading device, the plurality of specific RFID tag circuit elements that are commonly provided with the identification identification information are identified by the identification tag identification means, and the decoding obtained respectively from the identified RFID tag circuit elements By making a collation judgment on the information after conversion, it is possible to ensure a specific group of a plurality of RFID tag circuit elements in which the encrypted data and the key at the time of encryption are divided and stored in separate RFID tag circuit elements It is possible to identify and reliably perform the collation determination.].
Zimmerman (US2006/0261926) [0004] However, while such attempts have been employed to restrict use of RFID tag information, they do not meet all the needs in the industry. In many examples of RFID tags, the tags are embedded into products, and thereafter they are widely dispersed. For many of these applications, there is no practical way to limit or restrict unwanted users from interrogating RFID tags after they have been embedded in a product which leaves the influence of the entity entering or having responsibility for the information. Encryption of the data on the tags has been used to limit access to the underlying information. However, it is well known that the more opportunities one has to sample examples of coded or encrypted information, the easier it is to crack the code and break into the encryption scheme. Many users of RFID tags would like to better secure their data stored on RFID tags after the tags have been widely dispersed.
Elias ( US20180014150) [0035] In certain embodiments, the tracking device 100 comprises at least one printed circuit board (PCB) comprising one or more of the first location tracking circuit 110, the second location tracking circuit 120, the at least one biometric identification circuit 130, the data storage device 140, and the processor 150. For example, one or more of these components of the tracking circuit 100 can be mounted on the at least one PCB which comprises circuitry configured to provide operational connectivity among the one or more components. In certain embodiments, the at least one PCB further comprises additional circuitry configured to provide one or more additional functionalities (e.g., at least one charger circuit configured to supply power to a power storage device of the tracking device 100; an RFID circuit configured to wirelessly transmit at least one identification signal to an RFID system; a muting circuit configured to control operation of the RFID circuit)
[0037] In certain embodiments, the at least one wireless location system 112 is configured to facilitate location determination across large areas or regions (e.g., outdoors and indoors; outside and inside of buildings; across cities, states, or countries; across campuses; across government, military, or commercial installations). In certain such embodiments, the at least one wireless location system 112 comprises a global positioning and navigation satellite network system. Examples of global positioning and navigation satellite network systems compatible with certain embodiments described herein include but are not limited to, the United States NAVSTAR global positioning system (GPS), GPS-A, Assisted GNSS, the Russian global navigation satellite system (GLONASS), the Chinese BeiDou-2 system, and the European Union global navigation satellite system (Galileo). The first location tracking circuit 110 of certain such embodiments is further configured to generate information regarding a location of the first location tracking circuit 110 in response to the signals received from the global positioning and navigation satellite network. In certain embodiments, the first location tracking circuit 110 is configured to conduct bi-directional communications with the global positioning and navigation satellite network system (e.g., by both receiving signals from the global positioning and navigation satellite network system and transmitting signals to the global positioning and navigation satellite network system), while in certain other embodiments, the first location tracking circuit 110 is configured to only receive signals from the global positioning and navigation satellite network system. In certain embodiments, the first location tracking circuit 110 can provide accurate and current geographical location information of an entity (e.g., a vehicle; an individual) that contains or carries the tracking device 100
[¶52, As described herein, depending on whether the user is determined to be an authorized user of the tracking device 100 or not, the processor 150 can further control aspects of the operation of the tracking device 100, thereby providing a more secure usage of the tracking device 100 (e.g., enabling an RFID circuit to transmit an RFID signal to an RFID system to provide door access, mobile payment, or computer logging).
[0059] FIG. 5A schematically illustrates an example tracking device 100 for use with a radio-frequency identification system 512 in accordance with certain embodiments described herein. The example tracking device 100 of FIG. 5A comprises a radio-frequency identification (RFID) circuit 510 in operative communication with the processor 150. The RFID circuit 510 is configured to receive at least one control signal 514 from the processor 150 and is configured to wirelessly transmit at least one identification signal 516 to an RFID system 512. For example, the RFID system 512 can be securing a restricted area (e.g., an area in which access is only permitted for personnel authorized to access the area), examples of which include, but are not limited to, selected areas of hospitals, airports, prisons, military facilities, government facilities, industrial facilities, and corporate facilities
[0065] The example tracking device 100 of FIG. 6C further comprises at least one charger circuit 630 configured to supply power to the power storage device 610. Examples of charger circuits 630 compatible with certain embodiments described herein include, but are not limited to, solar chargers, wireless inductive chargers, NFC chargers, energy harvesting chargers (e.g., RF, thermal, light) or combinations thereof For example, the tracking device 100, including the first location tracking circuit 110, the second location tracking circuit 120, the biometric identification circuit 130, the data storage device 140, the processor 150, a LoRa WAN communication circuit 410, and the RFID circuit 510 can run indefinitely on solar power. For another example, an NFC charging circuit can be used to charge the tracking device 100, and can be used to receive enough power (e.g., in 10 seconds) to start the biometric identification circuit 130 as well as the RFID circuit 510. In this way, certain embodiments can advantageously enable the tracking device 100 to be charged in remote locations and/or locations where power is not otherwise available.
[0067] In certain embodiments in which the tracking device 100 is to be used for accessing restricted areas of an airport, the tracking device 100 can advantageously provide real-time location information of the staff member to whom the tracking device 100 is assigned. The tracking device 100 can also advantageously generate alerts based on suspicious activities (e.g., attempts at unauthorized access or other use of the tracking device 100). By utilizing biometric authentication for access control (e.g., conditioning or gating operation of the RFID circuit 510 upon successfully determining that the user is an authorized user; disabling the RFID circuit 510 if the biometric authentication determines that the user is not an authorized user), certain embodiments can advantageously provide an added layer of security. In addition, certain embodiments can advantageously provide a distress call alarm and location information upon the user actuating an alarm switch (e.g., push button) of the tracking device 100.
/SHAHRIAR ZARRINEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496