DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-29 were pending for examination in Application No. 18/364,709, filed August 3rd, 2023. In the remarks and amendments filed on April 29th, 2026, claim 1 is amended, no claims are cancelled, and no claims are added. Claims 7-29 were previously withdrawn due to a restriction election. Accordingly, claims 1-6 are currently pending for examination in the application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed April 29th, 2026 have overcome each and every claim and specification objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed December 31st, 2025. Accordingly, the objections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant alleges that Senechal, el Kaliouby, and Gallagher do not teach the new limitations as amended. However, the examiner asserts that Senechal further teaches “a visual frame extractor” and “an audio extractor” as in Para [0082]. Namely, the cognitive state data analysis requires video and audio data from the user, among other data. See the new rejection below for the inclusion of Tellamekala for the remainder of the new limitations.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "module" in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “wherein the first output is further processed by at least one of: a facial point tracking module, a head orientation tracking module, a body tracking module, a social gaze tracking module, an action unit intensity module”, but later claims “wherein, the face detection module produces a face bounding box output; wherein, the facial point tracking module produces a facial point coordinates output; wherein, the head orientation tracking module produces a head orientation angles output; wherein, the body tracking module produces a body point coordinates output; wherein, the social gaze tracking module produces a gaze direction output; wherein, the action unit intensity tracking module produces an action unit intensities output”. In other words, “at least one of” the modules can be used in the system, but all modules produce an output.
The examiner recommends removing “at least one of” and adding “and” after “a social gaze tracking module” to resolve the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senechal et al. (US-20210001862-A1) and further in view of el Kaliouby et al. (US-20200226355-A1), Tellamekala et al., "COLD Fusion: Calibrated and Ordinal Latent Distribution Fusion for Uncertainty-Aware Multimodal Emotion Recognition", arXiv:2206.05833v1 (hereinafter referred to as Tellamekala), and Gallagher et al. (US-20190332902-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Senechal teaches a system comprising:
a task for an automobile interior (“The in-cabin sensor data includes images of the vehicle interior,” Para [0023]) having at least one subject (“an occupant of the vehicle,” Para [0024]) that creates a video input (“Images of a vehicle interior can be collected. The images can include video,” Para [0025]), an audio input (“Other in-vehicle sensors can be used for data collection, such as a microphone for collecting audio data or voice data,” Para [0025]), and a context descriptor input (“other sensors to collect physiological data,” Para [0025]);
wherein the video input relating to the at least one subject is processed by a face detection module (“The set of seating locations is scanned for performing facial detection for each of the seating locations using a facial detection model,” Para [0023]), a facial point registration module (“perform processing tasks such as… identifying landmarks of the face,” Para [0091]), and a visual frame extractor (“The data collected on the user 610 or on a plurality of users can be in the form of one or more videos, video frames, Para [0082]) to produce a first output (“The input layer can then perform processing tasks such as identifying boundaries of the face, identifying landmarks of the face, extracting features of the face,” Para [0091]);
wherein the first output is further processed by at least one of: a facial point tracking module (“the deep learning can be applied to vehicular in-cabin facial tracking,” Para [0086]), a head orientation tracking module (“Facial data as contained in the raw video data can include… head gestures,” Para [0088]), a body tracking module,” (“A third track 564 can include upper body data 540,” Para [0078]), an action unit intensity tracking module (“The processing can include analysis of… action units,” Para [0088]);
wherein the facial point tracking module produces a facial point coordinates output (“In embodiments, a much less computationally intense model, such a facial landmark model, can be used to track movement, especially facial movement,” Para [0063]);
wherein the head orientation tracking module produces a head orientation angles output (“Gestures can also be identified, and can include a head tilt to the side,” Para [0088]);
wherein the body tracking module produces a body point coordinates output (“The flow 200 further includes tracking upper body movement 250 of the vehicle occupant, based on analysis of further additional images,” Para [0063]);
wherein the action unit intensity tracking module produces an action unit intensities output (“The action units can be used to identify smiles, frowns, and other facial indicators of expressions,” Para [0088]);
wherein the audio input relating to the at least one subject (Senechal, “The cognitive state data that is analyzed can include image data, facial data, audio data,” Para [0042]) is processed by
wherein a temporal behavior primitives buffer processes: the face bounding box output; the valence and arousal scores output; the facial point coordinates output; the head orientation angles output; the body point coordinates output; the gaze direction output; and, the action unit intensities output, all to produce a temporal behavior output (“The cognitive state data that is analyzed can include image data, facial data, audio data, voice data, speech data, non-speech vocalizations, physiological data, and the like,” Para [0042]);
wherein the context descriptor input relating to the at least one subject produces a context descriptor output (“Respiration, heart rate, heart rate variability, perspiration, temperature, and other physiological indicators of cognitive state can be determined by analyzing the images and video data,” Para [0088]);
wherein a mental state prediction module processes mental state analysis, cognitive state analysis, and so on,” Para [0104]).
Senechal fails to teach the following limitations as further claimed. el Kaliouby, however, further teaches a social gaze tracking module (el Kaliouby, “The cognitive state data can include one or more of… gaze direction,” Para [0054]),
wherein, the face detection module produces a face bounding box output (el Kaliouby, “the detection of the first face, the second face, and multiple faces can include identifying facial landmarks, generating a bounding box, and predicting of a bounding box and landmarks for a next frame,” Para [0082]);
and wherein, the social gaze tracking module produces a gaze direction output (el Kaliouby, “The cognitive state data can include one or more of… gaze direction. Various cognitive states can be inferred,” Para [0054]).
Senechal and el Kaliouby fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Gallagher, however, further teaches
wherein the audio input relating to the at least one subject (Senechal, “The cognitive state data that is analyzed can include image data, facial data, audio data,” Para [0042]) is processed by a valence and arousal affect states tracking module (Gallagher, “a process 300C,” Para [0072]) and an audio extractor (Senechal, “the multiple mobile devices can be used separately or in combination to collect… audio data,” Para [0082]) to produce a second output (Gallagher, Fig. 4, “stress”, “frustrated”, or other emotions in the graph) and to produce a valence and arousal scores output (Gallagher, “vector 404” plotted on graph in Fig. 4);
wherein the valence and arousal affect states tracking module (Gallagher, “a process 300C,” Para [0072]) processes the temporal behavior output (Gallagher, “A large magnitude arousal state may indicate that the occupant is fearful or angry or is drowsy or distracted. At 405, an output to the occupant of the vehicle is produced in an attempt to return the occupant to a calm and alter state,” Para [0075]).
Senechal, el Kaliouby, and Gallagher are not relied upon to teach the following limitations. Tellamekala, however, further teaches:
wherein the first output is further processed by a temporal-aware convolutional deep neural network (pg. 2, Fig. 2, “EmoFAN”) to produce video subject probability distribution data (“We model the variance values of the… visual latent distributions, σV and σA, as the confidence measures towards emotional prediction,” Introduction, pg. 2, also see the probability distribution in Fig. 2);
wherein the second output is further processed by a temporal-aware deep neural network (Fig. 2, “VGGish”, pg. 2) to produce audio subject probability distribution data (“We model the variance values of the… audio latent distributions, σV and σA, as the confidence measures towards emotional prediction,” Introduction, pg. 2, also see the probability distribution in Fig. 2);
wherein a fusion model processes the video subject probability distribution data and the audio subject probability distribution data to produce model prediction data (Fig. 2, “Uncertainty Weighted Fusion” outputs “emotion labels” (Section 3, “Feature Fusion”, pg. 4));
and wherein a mental state prediction module processes the model prediction data (“we concatenate the per-frame audiovisual features into a single sequence, Z = [ZV,ZA], then pass it to a common temporal network gAV : Z → Y to predict emotion labels,” “Feature Fusion”, pg. 4).
El Kaliouby is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of determining an occupant’s mental state in a vehicle using multiple sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of el Kaliouby into Senechal for the benefit of improved mental state detection.
Gallagher is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of determining an occupant’s mental state in a vehicle using multiple sensors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Gallagher into Senechal for the benefit of improved mental state detection.
Tellamekala is considered to be obvious to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of uncertainty-aware audiovisual fusion for human emotion prediction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Tellamekala into Senechal for the benefit of more accurate emotion detection.
Additionally, in regards to the limitation “the head orientation tracking module produces a head orientation angles output”, Considering that Senechal teaches identification of “a head tilt to the side” (see [0088]), one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to determine, as claimed, the head orientation angles output. Specifically, tilting one’s head to the side inherently involves a change in a head orientation angle. The Supreme Court set forth in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) an "Obvious to try" rationale that encompassed choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Specifically, the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art of image analysis would have found it obvious to look to head tilt angles in order to determine whether a person’s head is tilting in a captured image. An artisan taking into consideration head tilt angles would have been one of a finite number of predictable head tilt identification solutions and have with it a reasonable expectation of success.
See also MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Senechal in view of the combination teach the system of claim 1, and Senechal further teaches wherein the mental states comprise at least one of: pain, mood, drowsiness, engagement, depression, and anxiety (“A human perception metric can include a quantification of activity, involvement, cognitive load, distractedness, drowsiness, or impairment evaluation for the occupant, demographics, mood, etc,” Para [0044]).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Senechal in view of the combination teach the system of claim 1, and Gallagher further teaches the task activating a self-driving system in response to the mental state of the at least one subject (Gallagher, “The present system can be used in an autonomous vehicle, e.g., a levels 1-2 automobile(s), where the vehicle uses the level of distraction, a determination of distractedness, or the multiple sensor determination of a distracted driver, to be able to judge the most appropriate time to switch from manual to autonomous drive and vice-versa,” Para [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Gallagher into Senechal for the benefit of improved safety for occupants in a vehicle that are unfit to drive.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Senechal in view of the combination teach the system of claim 1, and Senechal further teaches the task activating an emergency communication system in response to the mental state of the at least one subject (“In embodiments, V2V or V2I communications can be used to alert authorities that a particular vehicle occupant is impaired, can contact emergency services for a sick vehicle occupant, and the like,” Para [0060]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senechal et al. (US-20210001862-A1), el Kaliouby et al. (US-20200226355-A1), Tellemekala, and Gallagher et al. (US-20190332902-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ferren et al. (US-20120157127-A1).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Senechal in view of the combination teach the system of claim 1, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Ferren, however, further teaches wherein the task verifies which of the at least one subject is creating the audio input (“audio inputs may be processed to identify things such as but not limited to… the identity of the person speaking,” Para [0026]).
Ferren is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of systems used to determine the mental state of a user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated Ferren into the combination for the benefit of a system that can be used on multiple passengers of a vehicle.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Senechal et al. (US-20210001862-A1), el Kaliouby et al. (US-20200226355-A1), Tellamekala, and Gallagher et al. (US-20190332902-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sobhany (US-20200242421-A1).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Senechal in view of the combination teach the system of claim 1, but fail to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Sobhany, however, further teaches: a query to the at least one subject about the mental state of the at least one subject (“upon detecting an emotional state of the user, the system may provide a prompt to the user requesting confirmation of the detected emotional state. For instance, the prompt may include the question “We have detected that you are stressed, is that correct?”,” Para [0151]).
Sobhany is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the field of detecting an emotional state of a person in a vehicle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Sobhany into the combination for the benefit of fewer false emotional state detections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Moriuchi et al. (JP-2023131730-A) teaches a method for estimating emotion of a driver based on their face/facial expression.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Rachel Anne Ometz/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 5/18/26
Rachel.ometz@uspto.gov
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668