DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 03/23/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-34 remain pending in the application.
Examiner acknowledges the applicant’s comments regarding 35 USC 112(f) and have added additional examples of the corresponding structures may be found throughout the instant specification (e.g., [0066]; [0117]; [0125 - 0127]; [0130 - 0131]). The applicant may provide additional examples of the corresponding structures for the examiner to consider if the applicant deems the provided examples are not sufficient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-34 in a reply filed 03/23/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding Claim 1:
The applicant respectfully argues “(Remarks Page 14) YOU, PARK, and DEOGUN do not disclose or suggest "wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation," as recited in amended claim 1”.
However, Examiner disagrees. YOU discloses:
transmit capability signaling associated with a channel state information (CSI) report, the capability signaling indicating a number of supported reference signal resources (Fig. 18 – S188; [0295] the UE may report capability information to the base station indicating that it can perform CSI measurement and/or CSI report using only some of the frequency resources determined to perform CSI measurement or to receive CSI-RS) in a full duplex operation,
wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation ([0288] configurations for frequency resources for receiving CSI-RS and/or excluding CSI-RS from reception may be limited to apply only to some slot resources. Information about these slot resources can be set from the network; [0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];)).
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 17, 29 and 30, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 31-34:
Claim limitations “means for transmitting capability signaling… means for receiving… CSI report configurations” in the application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, “means for transmitting capability signaling… means for receiving… CSI report configurations” being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents as disclosed “[0055] In some aspects, a UE (e.g., the UE 120) may include a communication manager 140. As described in more detail elsewhere herein, the communication manager 140 may transmit capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report, the capability signaling indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources for codebook reporting in a full duplex operation; and receive, based at least in part on the capability signaling, one or more CSI report configurations indicating a number of reference signal resources for the full duplex operation. Additionally, or alternatively, the communication manager 140 may perform one or more other operations described herein”. Similarly, additional structures may be found throughout the instant specification (e.g., [0066]; [0117]; [0125 - 0127]; [0130 - 0131]).
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 17 and 29-32 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 “for codebook reporting” should read “for a codebook reporting”.
Claims 17, and 29-32 have the same informalities as claim 1, therefore the same objections are applied.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOU et al. (US 20250105895 A1, hereinafter, YOU) in view of PARK et al. (US 20200169303 A1, hereinafter, PARK) and in view of DEOGUN (WO 2024034440 A1).
Regarding claim 1, YOU discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) ([0002] method of operating a device in a wireless communication system and a device that using the method; [0012] an apparatus of a user equipment (UE)), comprising:
one or more memories ([0012] at least one memory); and
one or more processors ([0012] one processor), coupled to the one or more memories ([0012] one processor operably coupled to the at least one memory), and configured to cause the UE to ([0012] The processor performs the method):
transmit capability signaling associated with a channel state information (CSI) report, the capability signaling indicating a number of supported reference signal resources (Fig. 18 – S188; [0295] the UE may report capability information to the base station indicating that it can perform CSI measurement and/or CSI report using only some of the frequency resources determined to perform CSI measurement or to receive CSI-RS) in a full duplex operation, wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation ([0288] configurations for frequency resources for receiving CSI-RS and/or excluding CSI-RS from reception may be limited to apply only to some slot resources. Information about these slot resources can be set from the network; [0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];)); and
receive (Fig. 16; Fig. 18), based at least in part on the capability signaling ([0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific), one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) indicating a number of reference signal resources ([0319] Referring to FIG. 16, the UE receives a configuration message, wherein the configuration message is used to configure the frequency domain occupation of a channel state information (CSI) measurement resource; [0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message (the configuration message described above in FIG. 16) to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) that the CSI measurement resource spans and… the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)),
wherein the one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) comprise a first CSI report configuration associated with a subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186); [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD) and a second CSI report configuration associated with a non-SBFD operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184), and
wherein a first CSI report is based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report is based at least in part on the second CSI report configuration (Fig. 8 – S188; [0333] the device performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S184) when it is determined that all CSI measurement resources are available, and a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S1846) when it is determined that only part of the CSI measurement resources are available, and reports the first CSI value and the second CSI value to the base station independently and separately. In this case, the first CSI value and the second CSI value are distinguishable from each other so that it can be known whether the CSI measurement is a first CSI measurement or a second CSI measurement. Then, the base station can know that the second CSI value is generated by measuring CSI-RS on only some of the CSI measurement resources, and can perform further procedures (e.g., resource allocation to the UE) in consideration thereof. In this sense, base stations can make more appropriate use of CSI-RS measurement results without changing their existing reference signal configuration).
YOU does not explicitly disclose the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report and the capability signaling indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources; the CSI report associated with the transmitted capability signaling comprises the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, PARK discloses the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report ([0012] According to the present specification, a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting) and indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling of YOU to include the codebook for CSI report and indicating the maximum number of supported reference signal resources as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the CSI report is comprises of the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, DEOGUN discloses a joint CSI report comprises of a first CSI report and a second CSI report ([0290] Accordingly, given that some of the parameters can remain common between the PDSCH transmission in SBFD and non-SBFD slots, the UE 3 does not have to transmit the entire CSI report for PDSCH associated to SBFD slots and for PDSCH associated to legacy DL slots separately. For discussions sake, we will subsequently use "SBFD PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during SBFD slots" and "legacy DL PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during legacy DL slots"; [0291] Hence, the communication system 1 may beneficially employ one or more mechanisms for joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead. Specifically, the CSI reporting corresponding to an SBFD PDSCH may be interpreted (decoded) based on a related CSI report corresponding to a legacy DL PDSCH (or vice versa)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first and second CSI reports of YOU and PARK to include the joint CSI report as taught by DEOGUN in order to reduce uplink overhead (DEOGUN – [0291] r joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead).
Regarding claim 2, YOU further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to:
receive a reference signal (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184)); and
transmit (Fig. 18 – S187-S188), based at least in part on the one or more CSI report configurations, the CSI report (Fig. 17 – CSI reporting), wherein the CSI report indicates a measurement associated with the reference signal ([0343] The UE measures a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (e.g., performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value) (S185); [0346] The base station receives the first CSI value and the second CSI value from the UE, which are distinct from each other. From the UE's point of view, it transmits the first CSI value and the second CSI value independently (separately)).
Regarding claim 3, YOU further discloses wherein the reference signal is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)) and the number of reference signal resources is a number of CSI-RS resources ([0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message (the configuration message described above in FIG. 16) to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) that the CSI measurement resource spans and… the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose the maximum number of supported reference signal resources is a maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for the codebook reporting.
However, PARK discloses the maximum number of supported reference signal resources is a maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for the codebook reporting ([0012] a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting; [0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the number of supported reference signal resources of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for the codebook reporting as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
Regarding claim 4, YOU further discloses wherein the full duplex operation is the SBFD operation ([0347] According to the methods described in FIGS. 16 to 18, in a system supporting full duplex operation, e.g., SB-FD, the measurement of CSI-RS can be performed more appropriately and the CSI-RS measurement value (CSI value) can be used appropriately without changing the conventional reference signal configuration).
Regarding claim 5, YOU further discloses wherein, one reference signal resource and N reference signal report settings (Fig. 17; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific) having a same duplexing type (Fig. 18; [0343] The UE measures a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (e.g., performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (half duplex slot)) (S185); [0345] The UE measures (e.g., performs a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (full duplex slot)) the channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (S187); [0342] first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184); [0344] second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)) and N is an integer value greater than one (Fig. 17; Fig. 18; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources, a number of reference signal resources and a number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted N times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by the reference signal report settings and N is greater than one.
However, PARK discloses a number of reference signal resources ([0713] the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE is expressed as the second control information; [0677] In the present specification, the number of NZP CSI-RS resources may be expressed as ‘M or K’ and the number of CSI-RS ports for each CSI-RS resource may be expressed as ‘K or M’) and
a number of reference signal ports (total number (K) of CSI-RS ports) associated with one reference signal resource ([0712] and/or information on the total number (K) of CSI-RS ports maximally supported for each CSI-RS resource) are counted N times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource ([0692] Hereinafter, the total number of CSI-RS ports that the UE may maximally support is expressed as ‘P’ and P is equal to the product of the M (counted N times) value and the K value (P=M*K)) being referred to by N reference signal report settings (Fig. 23 – S2330 - S2360; [0444] the base station (alternatively, network) configures the CSI-RS configurations for multiple candidate CSI-RSs by using the RRC signaling and explicitly or implicitly announces an ‘activation’ indication for at least one CSI-RS in which the CSI-RS measurement and reporting are performed among the multiple candidate CSI-RSs to the UE) and N is greater than one ([0650] Further, in the beamformed CSI-RS based operation, and the like, an operation that allows the UE to the best (alternatively, preferred) N (>=1) CSI-RS resource among multiple, that is, M CSI-RS resources may be considered; [0653] In a method for supporting the beamformed CSI-RS based operation, an Rel-13 CSI process configuration may include M (>1) legacy NZP (Non-Zero Power) CSI-RS resources and each CSI-RS resource have K CSI-RS ports).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the N reference signal report settings of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources, the number of reference signal resources and the number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted N times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by the N reference signal report settings as taught by PARK in order to help calculate the maximum number of supported reference signal resources to help reduce complexity of UE implementations (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0441] Accordingly, hereinafter, the CSI measurement and reporting method for removing or significantly reducing the RRC-level latency will be described in detail; [0444];).
Regarding claim 6, YOU further discloses the same duplexing type is a full duplex type ([0346] The base station receives the first CSI value and the second CSI value from the UE, which are distinct from each other. From the UE's point of view, it transmits the first CSI value and the second CSI value independently (separately); [0344] second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)).
Regarding claim 7, YOU further discloses the same duplexing type is a half-duplex type ([0346] The base station receives the first CSI value and the second CSI value from the UE, which are distinct from each other. From the UE's point of view, it transmits the first CSI value and the second CSI value independently (separately); [0342] first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184)).
Regarding claim 8, YOU further discloses wherein, one reference signal resource being referred by N1 reference signal report settings (Fig. 17; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific; [0343] The UE measures a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (e.g., performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value) (S185)) for a half-duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184)) and
N2 reference signal report settings (Fig. 17; [0299]; [0345] The UE measures (e.g., performs a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value) the channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (S187)) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)), and
N1 and N2 are integer values greater than one (Fig. 17; Fig. 18; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific; [0335] Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may be configured with CSI measurement resources (or CSI-RS frequency resources) having a specific periodicity. Some of the CSI measurement resources (N1) may be located within HD slots (DL resources) operating in half duplex, such as slots #n-k2, and others may be located within FD slots (DL and UL resources coexist) operating in full duplex (N2), such as slots #n-k1, and overlapping with DL unavailable resources).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources and a number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted a maximum of N1 or N2 times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by a reference signal report settings.
However, PARK discloses a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0712] UE capability information (alternatively, signaling) including information on the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources that may be maximally supported… and/or information),
a number of reference signal resources ([0713] the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE is expressed as the second control information; [0677] In the present specification, the number of NZP CSI-RS resources may be expressed as ‘M or K’ and the number of CSI-RS ports for each CSI-RS resource may be expressed as ‘K or M’) and
a number of reference signal ports (total number (K) of CSI-RS ports) associated with one reference signal resource ([0712] and/or information on the total number (K) of CSI-RS ports maximally supported for each CSI-RS resource) are counted a maximum of N1 or N2 times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource ([0692] Hereinafter, the total number of CSI-RS ports that the UE may maximally support is expressed as ‘P’ and P is equal to the product of the M (counted N1 times or N2 times) value and the K value (P=M*K)) being referred to by a reference signal report settings (Fig. 23 – S2340 - S2360; [0444] the base station (alternatively, network) configures the CSI-RS configurations for multiple candidate CSI-RSs by using the RRC signaling and explicitly or implicitly announces an ‘activation’ indication for at least one CSI-RS in which the CSI-RS measurement and reporting are performed among the multiple candidate CSI-RSs to the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the N1 and N2 reference signal report settings of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources, the number of reference signal resources and the number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted a maximum of N1 or N2 times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by the reference signal report settings as taught by PARK in order to help calculate the maximum number of supported reference signal resources to help reduce complexity of UE implementations (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0441] Accordingly, hereinafter, the CSI measurement and reporting method for removing or significantly reducing the RRC-level latency will be described in detail; [0444];).
Regarding claim 9, YOU and PARK disclose the capability signaling associated with the codebook in claim 1.
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the capability signaling indicates first codebook UE features associated with a half-duplex operation and second codebook UE features associated with the full duplex operation.
However, DEOGUN discloses a first codebook UE features associated with a half-duplex operation and second codebook UE features associated with the full duplex operation (Fig. 19; [0275] the base station 5 is able to determine (at S2912) optimum transmission parameters for SBFD slots and non-SBFD slots (e.g. precoding, rank, ports, and/or the like) based on the SRS transmission from UEs 3 (capability signaling). Accordingly, in one technique, the base station can prepare different sets of codebooks including one set for legacy TDD UL slots (half duplex), and another set for SBFD slots (full duplex)based on an assumption that a certain set of antenna elements are not available for UL transmission at the UE 3 during those slots. Accordingly, the base station 5 may configure PUSCH transmission parameters for SBFD slots and for non-SBFD slots appropriately).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling and codebook of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the first codebook associated with a half-duplex operation and second codebook associated with the full duplex operation as taught by DEOGUN in order to help the base station optimizes its transmission parameters (DEOGUN [0275] the base station 5 is able to determine (at S2912) optimum transmission parameters for SBFD slots and non-SBFD slots (e.g. precoding, rank, ports, and/or the like)).
Regarding claim 10, YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose wherein the second codebook UE features are independent of the first codebook UE features.
However, DEOGUN discloses the second codebook UE features (SBFD slots) are independent of the first codebook UE features (non-SBFD slots) ([0275] Accordingly, in one technique, the base station can prepare different sets of codebooks including one set for legacy TDD UL slots (half duplex), and another set for SBFD slots (full duplex )based on an assumption that a certain set of antenna elements are not available for UL transmission at the UE 3 during those slots. Accordingly, the base station 5 may configure PUSCH transmission parameters for SBFD slots and for non-SBFD slots appropriately).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling and codebook of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the second codebook UE features are independent of the first codebook UE features as taught by DEOGUN in order to help the base station optimizes its transmission parameters (DEOGUN [0275] the base station 5 is able to determine (at S2912) optimum transmission parameters for SBFD slots and non-SBFD slots (e.g. precoding, rank, ports, and/or the like)).
Regarding claim 11, YOU further discloses wherein the capability signaling (Fig. 17 - CSI reporting; Fig. 18) indicates a first component that is specific to a half-duplex operation ([0335] Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may be configured…the CSI measurement resources may be located within HD slots (DL resources) operating in half duplex, such as slots #n-k2; [0336] the UE performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value for slots #n-k2) and a first component that is specific to the full duplex operation ([0335] Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may be configured…the CSI measurement resources may be located within… FD slots (DL and UL resources coexist) operating in full duplex, such as slots #n-k1; [0336] a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value for slots #n-k1).
Regarding claim 12, YOU further discloses wherein the first component that is specific to the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S187) is dependent on the first component (Fig. 18 – S185) that is specific to the half-duplex operation ([0314] the UE may obtain two CSI values for the same CSI reporting frequency resource: a first CSI value measured using the CSI-RS(s) receiving over the full frequency resource of the CSI-RS's transmission frequency resources and a second CSI value measured using the CSI-RS(s) receiving over a partial frequency resource of the CSI-RS's transmission frequency resources).
Regarding claim 13, YOU further discloses the first component that is specific to the half-duplex operation is associated with the maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0336] In such a case, as described in FIG. 16, the UE performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (half-duplex) for slots #n-k2 because it is determined that all of the CSI measurement resources are available) across a plurality of component carriers (Fig. 13; Fig 14); and
the first component that is specific to the full duplex operation is associated with the number of supported reference signal resources for the full duplex operation ([0336] a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (full duplex) for slots #n-k1 because it is determined that only some of the CSI measurement resources are available) across the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 13; Fig. 14).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose the maximum number of supported transmit ports in the one reference signal resource and a total number of supported transmit ports that is specific to the half-duplex; and the maximum number of supported transmit ports in one reference signal resource, the maximum number of supported reference signal resources and the total number of supported transmit ports that is specific to the full duplex.
However, PARK discloses a maximum number of supported transmit ports in one reference signal resource ([0712] and/or information on the total number (K) of CSI-RS ports maximally supported for each CSI-RS resource) and a total number of supported transmit ports ([0692] Hereinafter, the total number of CSI-RS ports that the UE may maximally support is expressed as ‘P’ and P is equal to the product of the M value and the K value (P=M*K); [0713] the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE) that is specific to the UE capability (Abstract - transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting); and
the maximum number of supported reference resources ([0712] UE capability information (alternatively, signaling) including information on the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources that may be maximally supported… and/or information) that is specific to the UE capability (Abstract - transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the half-duplex operation and full duplex operation of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the maximum number of supported transmit ports in one reference signal resource, the total number of supported transmit ports, and the maximum number of supported reference resources as taught by PARK in order to help calculate the maximum number of CSI-RS ports and resources that is supported by the UE to help reduce complexity of UE implementations (PARK – [0005] the present specification has been made in an effort to provide a method for transmitting/receiving UE capability information including the maximum number of CSI-RS resources supported by a UE in a specific CSI reporting type or class; [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; YOU - [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD, the CSI-RS measurement results can be used more appropriately without changing the conventional reference signal setup. As a result, the communication efficiency of the wireless communication system is increased).
Regarding claim 14, YOU further discloses wherein the capability signaling (Fig. 18 – S188) indicates a second component ([0255] Hereinafter, CSI may include at least one of the following; [0256] Channel Quality Information (CQI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), CSI-RS Resource Indicator (CRI), SS/PBCH Resource Block Indicator (SSBRI), Layer Indicator (LI), Rank Indicator (RI), and/or LI-RSRP; [0257] When a UE performs CSI reporting to the network, there can be two granularities of frequency granularity for CSI reporting: wide-band and subband) that is common to a half-duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S185) and the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S187).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose the second component is associated with codebook modes.
However, PARK discloses a component associated with codebook modes ([0421] The codebook based precoding technique represents a technique that predetermines a set of precoding matrixes in the transmitting side and the receiving side, feeds back to the transmitting side which matrix the most appropriate precoding matrix is by measuring the channel information from the transmitting side (e.g., the base station) by the receiving side (e.g., the UE), and applies the appropriate precoding to signal transmission based on the PMI by the transmitting side).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the second component of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the codebook modes as taught by PARK in order to reduce feedback overhead (PARK – [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
Regarding claim 15, YOU further discloses wherein the capability signaling indicates a third component (‘CSI-FrequencyOccupation’) that is common to a half-duplex operation and the full duplex operation ([0240] Alternatively, for example, the determination of CSI-RS transmission frequency resources in an FD slot may be different from that in an HD slot. In HD slots, the resource set by ‘CSI-FrequencyOccupation’ is determined as the CSI-RS transmission frequency resource without considering the PRB resources that are excluded from CSI-RS transmission, while in FD slots, the PRB resources that are excluded from CSI-RS transmission are excluded from the CSI-RS transmission frequency resource to determine the transmission frequency resource of CSI-RS), and the third component is associated with a maximum number of reference signal resources in a resource set ([0274] the ‘startingRBs’ and ‘nrofRBs’ of multiple (e.g., two) sets of ‘CSI-FrequencyOccupation’ are set in the ‘CSI-FrequencyOccupation’, the index of the set corresponding to the location of the frequency resource for which the UE can perform CSI measurements may be reported; Fig. 18 – S185, S187).
Regarding claim 16, YOU and PARK do not disclose the codebook is a Type I single panel codebook, a Type I multi-panel codebook, a Type II codebook with port selection, or an enhanced Type II (e-Type-II) codebook.
However, DEOGUN discloses a Type I single panel codebook, a Type I multi-panel codebook, a Type II codebook with port selection, or an enhanced Type II (e-Type-II) codebook ([0179] The precoder matrices are categorised into four different codebook categories: type 1, single panel; type 1, multi-panel; type 2, single panel; type 2, port selection. Type 1 codebooks generally provide relative course information, whereas Type 2 codebooks provide more detailed information albeit at the expense of signalling overhead).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the codebook of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the Type I single panel codebook, Type I multi-panel codebook, or the Type II codebook with port selection as taught by DEOGUN in order for UE to send feedback to the BS indicating a preferred precoding for PDSCH transmission, which would help the base station to optimize its downlink transmission (DEOGUN – [0177] the PMI may be used by the UE 3 to report a preferred precoding for PDSCH transmissions. The PMI (or at least partial PMI) may be sent as feedback to the base station 5 in either closed loop or semi-open loop transmission schemes).
Regarding claim 17, YOU discloses an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig. 1) at a network node ([0015] In still another aspect, provided is a base station (BS) comprising a transceiver), comprising:
one or more memories ([0015] at least one memory); and
one or more processors ([0015] at least one processor), coupled to the one or more memories ([0015] coupled to the at least one memory and the transceiver), and configured to cause the network node to ([0015] The processor performs the method):
receive capability signaling associated with a channel state information (CSI) report ([0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE), the capability signaling indicating a number of supported reference signal resources ([0299] only some frequency resources) in a full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S188; [0347] in FIGS. 16 to 18, in a system supporting full duplex operation, e.g., SB-FD; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186); [0346] The base station receives the first CSI value and the second CSI value from the UE), wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation ([0288] configurations for frequency resources for receiving CSI-RS and/or excluding CSI-RS from reception may be limited to apply only to some slot resources. Information about these slot resources can be set from the network; [0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];)); and
transmit (Fig. 18), based at least in part on the capability signaling, one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182) indicating a number of reference signal resources ([0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message… to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)… which the CSI measurement resource starts (or may be expressed as indicating the starting resource block and the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted)) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)),
wherein the one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) comprise a first CSI report configuration associated with a subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186); [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD) and a second CSI report configuration associated with a non-SBFD operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184), and
wherein a first CSI report is based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and the second CSI report configuration (Fig. 8 – S188; [0333] the device performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S184) when it is determined that all CSI measurement resources are available, and a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S1846) when it is determined that only part of the CSI measurement resources are available, and reports the first CSI value and the second CSI value to the base station independently and separately. In this case, the first CSI value and the second CSI value are distinguishable from each other so that it can be known whether the CSI measurement is a first CSI measurement or a second CSI measurement. Then, the base station can know that the second CSI value is generated by measuring CSI-RS on only some of the CSI measurement resources, and can perform further procedures (e.g., resource allocation to the UE) in consideration thereof. In this sense, base stations can make more appropriate use of CSI-RS measurement results without changing their existing reference signal configuration).
YOU does not explicitly disclose the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report and the capability signaling indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources.
However, PARK discloses the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report ([0012] According to the present specification, a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting) and indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling of YOU to include the codebook for CSI report and indicating the maximum number of supported reference signal resources as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the CSI report is comprises of the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, DEOGUN discloses a joint CSI report comprises of a first CSI report and a second CSI report ([0290] Accordingly, given that some of the parameters can remain common between the PDSCH transmission in SBFD and non-SBFD slots, the UE 3 does not have to transmit the entire CSI report for PDSCH associated to SBFD slots and for PDSCH associated to legacy DL slots separately. For discussions sake, we will subsequently use "SBFD PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during SBFD slots" and "legacy DL PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during legacy DL slots"; [0291] Hence, the communication system 1 may beneficially employ one or more mechanisms for joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead. Specifically, the CSI reporting corresponding to an SBFD PDSCH may be interpreted (decoded) based on a related CSI report corresponding to a legacy DL PDSCH (or vice versa)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first and second CSI reports of YOU and PARK to include the joint CSI report as taught by DEOGUN in order to reduce uplink overhead (DEOGUN – [0291] r joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead).
Regarding claim 18, YOU further discloses the one or more processors are further configured to cause the network node to:
transmit a reference signal (Fig. 18 – S184, S186; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184); [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)); and
receive, based at least in part on the one or more CSI report configurations, the CSI report (Fig. 18 – S188), wherein the CSI report indicates a measurement associated with the reference signal ([0346] The base station receives the first CSI value and the second CSI value from the UE; [0343] The UE measures a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (e.g., performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value) (S185); [0345] The UE measures (e.g., performs a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value) the channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (S187)).
Regarding claim 19, YOU further discloses wherein the reference signal is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Fig. 18 – S184, S186; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184); [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)) and the number of reference signal resources is a number of CSI-RS resources ([0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message (the configuration message described above in FIG. 16) to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) that the CSI measurement resource spans and… the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose the maximum number of supported reference signal resources for the codebook reporting is a maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources.
However, PARK discloses the maximum number of supported reference signal resources is a maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for the codebook reporting ([0012] a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting; [0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the number of supported reference signal resources of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for codebook reporting as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
Regarding claim 20, YOU further discloses wherein the full duplex operation is the SBFD operation ([0347] According to the methods described in FIGS. 16 to 18, in a system supporting full duplex operation, e.g., SB-FD, the measurement of CSI-RS can be performed more appropriately and the CSI-RS measurement value (CSI value) can be used appropriately without changing the conventional reference signal configuration).
Regarding claim 21, YOU further discloses wherein, one reference signal resource and N reference signal report settings (Fig. 17; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific) having a same duplexing type (Fig. 18; [0343] The UE measures a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (e.g., performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (half duplex slot)) (S185); [0345] The UE measures (e.g., performs a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (full duplex slot)) the channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (S187); [0342] first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184); [0344] second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)) and N is an integer value greater than one (Fig. 18; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources, a number of reference signal resources and a number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted N times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by a reference signal report settings and N is greater than one.
However, PARK discloses a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0712] UE capability information (alternatively, signaling) including information on the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources that may be maximally supported… and/or information),
a number of reference signal resources ([0713] the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE is expressed as the second control information; [0677] In the present specification, the number of NZP CSI-RS resources may be expressed as ‘M or K’ and the number of CSI-RS ports for each CSI-RS resource may be expressed as ‘K or M’) and
a number of reference signal ports (total number (K) of CSI-RS ports) associated with one reference signal resource ([0712] and/or information on the total number (K) of CSI-RS ports maximally supported for each CSI-RS resource) are counted N times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource ([0692] Hereinafter, the total number of CSI-RS ports that the UE may maximally support is expressed as ‘P’ and P is equal to the product of the M (counted N times) value and the K value (P=M*K)) being referred to by N reference signal report settings (Fig. 23 – S2340 - S2360; [0444] the base station (alternatively, network) configures the CSI-RS configurations for multiple candidate CSI-RSs by using the RRC signaling and explicitly or implicitly announces an ‘activation’ indication for at least one CSI-RS in which the CSI-RS measurement and reporting are performed among the multiple candidate CSI-RSs to the UE) and N is greater than one ([0650] Further, in the beamformed CSI-RS based operation, and the like, an operation that allows the UE to the best (alternatively, preferred) N (>=1) CSI-RS resource among multiple, that is, M CSI-RS resources may be considered; [0653] In a method for supporting the beamformed CSI-RS based operation, an Rel-13 CSI process configuration may include M (>1) legacy NZP (Non-Zero Power) CSI-RS resources and each CSI-RS resource have K CSI-RS ports).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the N reference signal report settings of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources, the number of reference signal resources and the number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted N times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by the N reference signal report settings as taught by PARK in order to help calculate the maximum number of supported reference signal resources to help reduce complexity of UE implementations (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0441] Accordingly, hereinafter, the CSI measurement and reporting method for removing or significantly reducing the RRC-level latency will be described in detail; [0444];).
Regarding claim 22, YOU further discloses wherein the same duplexing type is a full duplex type ([0346] The base station receives the first CSI value (half duplex) and the second CSI value (full duplex) from the UE; [0344] second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)) or
a half-duplex type ([0342] first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184)).
Regarding claim 23, YOU further discloses wherein, one reference signal resource being referred by N1 reference signal report settings (Fig. 17; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific; [0343] The UE measures a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (e.g., performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value) (S185)) for a half-duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184)) and
N2 reference signal report settings (Fig. 17; [0299]; [0345] The UE measures (e.g., performs a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value) the channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from the CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (S187)) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)), and
N1 and N2 are integer values 17; Fig. greater than one (Fig. 17; Fig. 18; [0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. For example, these configurations may be set differently for wide band reporting and subband reporting. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific; [0335] Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may be configured with CSI measurement resources (or CSI-RS frequency resources) having a specific periodicity. Some of the CSI measurement resources (N1) may be located within HD slots (DL resources) operating in half duplex, such as slots #n-k2, and others may be located within FD slots (DL and UL resources coexist) operating in full duplex (N2), such as slots #n-k1, and overlapping with DL unavailable resources).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources and a number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted a maximum of N1 or N2 times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by a reference signal report settings.
However, PARK discloses a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0712] UE capability information (alternatively, signaling) including information on the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources that may be maximally supported… and/or information),
However, PARK discloses a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0712] UE capability information (alternatively, signaling) including information on the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources that may be maximally supported… and/or information),
a number of reference signal resources ([0713] the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE is expressed as the second control information; [0677] In the present specification, the number of NZP CSI-RS resources may be expressed as ‘M or K’ and the number of CSI-RS ports for each CSI-RS resource may be expressed as ‘K or M’) and
a number of reference signal ports (total number (K) of CSI-RS ports) associated with one reference signal resource ([0712] and/or information on the total number (K) of CSI-RS ports maximally supported for each CSI-RS resource) are counted a maximum of N1 or N2 times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource ([0692] Hereinafter, the total number of CSI-RS ports that the UE may maximally support is expressed as ‘P’ and P is equal to the product of the M (counted N1 times or N2 times) value and the K value (P=M*K)) being referred to by a reference signal report settings (Fig. 23 – S2340 - S2360; [0444] the base station (alternatively, network) configures the CSI-RS configurations for multiple candidate CSI-RSs by using the RRC signaling and explicitly or implicitly announces an ‘activation’ indication for at least one CSI-RS in which the CSI-RS measurement and reporting are performed among the multiple candidate CSI-RSs to the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the N1 and N2 reference signal report settings of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include a calculation of the maximum number of supported reference signal resources, the number of reference signal resources and the number of reference signal ports associated with one reference signal resource are counted a maximum of N1 or N2 times based at least in part on the one reference signal resource being referred to by the reference signal report settings as taught by PARK in order to help calculate the maximum number of supported reference signal resources to help reduce complexity of UE implementations (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0441] Accordingly, hereinafter, the CSI measurement and reporting method for removing or significantly reducing the RRC-level latency will be described in detail; [0444];).
Regarding claim 24, YOU and PARK disclose the capability signaling associated with the codebook in claim 17.
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the capability signaling indicates first codebook user equipment (UE) features associated with a half-duplex operation and second codebook UE features associated with the full duplex operation, and the second codebook UE features are independent of the first codebook UE features.
However, DEOGUN discloses a first codebook UE features associated with a half-duplex operation and second codebook UE features associated with the full duplex operation (Fig. 19; [0275] the base station 5 is able to determine (at S2912) optimum transmission parameters for SBFD slots and non-SBFD slots (e.g. precoding, rank, ports, and/or the like) based on the SRS transmission from UEs 3 (capability signaling). Accordingly, in one technique, the base station can prepare different sets of codebooks including one set for legacy TDD UL slots (half duplex), and another set for SBFD slots (full duplex)based on an assumption that a certain set of antenna elements are not available for UL transmission at the UE 3 during those slots. Accordingly, the base station 5 may configure PUSCH transmission parameters for SBFD slots and for non-SBFD slots appropriately) and
the second codebook UE features (SBFD slots) are independent of the first codebook UE features (non-SBFD slots) ([0275] Accordingly, in one technique, the base station can prepare different sets of codebooks including one set for legacy TDD UL slots (half duplex), and another set for SBFD slots (full duplex )based on an assumption that a certain set of antenna elements are not available for UL transmission at the UE 3 during those slots. Accordingly, the base station 5 may configure PUSCH transmission parameters for SBFD slots and for non-SBFD slots appropriately).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling and codebook of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the first codebook associated with a half-duplex operation and second codebook associated with the full duplex operation and the second codebook UE features are independent of the first codebook UE features as taught by DEOGUN in order to help the base station optimizes its transmission parameters (DEOGUN [0275] the base station 5 is able to determine (at S2912) optimum transmission parameters for SBFD slots and non-SBFD slots (e.g. precoding, rank, ports, and/or the like)).
Regarding claim 25, YOU further discloses wherein the capability signaling (Fig. 17 - CSI reporting; Fig. 18) indicates a first component that is specific to a half-duplex operation ([0335] Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may be configured…the CSI measurement resources may be located within HD slots (DL resources) operating in half duplex, such as slots #n-k2; [0336] the UE performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value for slots #n-k2) and a first component that is specific to the full duplex operation ([0335] Referring to FIG. 17, the UE may be configured…the CSI measurement resources may be located within… FD slots (DL and UL resources coexist) operating in full duplex, such as slots #n-k1; [0336] a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value for slots #n-k1).
Regarding claim 26, YOU further discloses wherein the first component that is specific to the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S187) is dependent on the first component (Fig. 18 – S185) that is specific to the half-duplex operation ([0314] the UE may obtain two CSI values for the same CSI reporting frequency resource: a first CSI value measured using the CSI-RS(s) receiving over the full frequency resource of the CSI-RS's transmission frequency resources and a second CSI value measured using the CSI-RS(s) receiving over a partial frequency resource of the CSI-RS's transmission frequency resources).
Regarding claim 27, YOU further discloses the first component that is specific to the half-duplex operation is associated with a maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0336] In such a case, as described in FIG. 16, the UE performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (half-duplex) for slots #n-k2 because it is determined that all of the CSI measurement resources are available) across a plurality of component carriers (Fig. 13; Fig 14); and
the first component that is specific to the full duplex operation is associated with the number of supported reference signal resources for the full duplex operation ([0336] a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (full duplex) for slots #n-k1 because it is determined that only some of the CSI measurement resources are available) across the plurality of component carriers (Fig. 13; Fig. 14).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose the maximum number of supported transmit ports in one reference signal resource and a total number of supported transmit ports that is specific to the half-duplex; and the maximum number of supported transmit ports in one reference signal resource, the maximum number of supported reference signal resources and the total number of supported transmit ports that is specific to the full duplex.
However, PARK discloses a maximum number of supported transmit ports in one reference signal resource ([0712] and/or information on the total number (K) of CSI-RS ports maximally supported for each CSI-RS resource) and a total number of supported transmit ports ([0692] Hereinafter, the total number of CSI-RS ports that the UE may maximally support is expressed as ‘P’ and P is equal to the product of the M value and the K value (P=M*K); [0713] the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE) that is specific to the UE capability; and
the maximum number of supported reference resources ([0712] UE capability information (alternatively, signaling) including information on the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources that may be maximally supported… and/or information) that is specific to the UE capability.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the half-duplex operation and full duplex operation of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the maximum number of supported transmit ports in one reference signal resource, the total number of supported transmit ports, and the maximum number of supported reference resources as taught by PARK in order to help calculate the maximum number of CSI-RS ports and resources that is supported by the UE to help reduce complexity of UE implementations (PARK – [0005] the present specification has been made in an effort to provide a method for transmitting/receiving UE capability information including the maximum number of CSI-RS resources supported by a UE in a specific CSI reporting type or class; [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; YOU - [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD, the CSI-RS measurement results can be used more appropriately without changing the conventional reference signal setup. As a result, the communication efficiency of the wireless communication system is increased).
Regarding claim 28, YOU further discloses wherein the counting criteria is associated with counting a number of channel state information reference signal (CSI RS) resources ([0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];)).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose a counting number of CSI-RS ports.
However, PARK discloses a counting number of CSI-RS ports ([0712] a method for transmitting/receiving UE capability information (alternatively, signaling) including... information on the total number (K) of CSI-RS ports maximally supported for each CSI-RS resource).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the counting number YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the counting number of CSI-RS ports as taught by PARK in order to prevent signaling overhead while matching the resources configured by the BS to the UE’s capabilities (PARK - [0720] When the base station receives a capability signaling having a specific condition between the M and K values from the UE, the base station provides an associated CSI-RS configuration to the UE within a range to satisfy corresponding capability-signaled upperlimit values at the time of providing the CSI process and the NZP CSI-RS to the UE; [0983] as the number of Ns (number of ports according to [0980]) per CSI-RS configuration increases, the RS resource overhead also increases proportionally and as a result, throughput may be reduced).
Regarding claim 29, YOU discloses a method of wireless communication performed at a user equipment (UE) ([0010] a method of operating a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system), comprising:
transmitting capability signaling associated with a channel state information (CSI) report, the capability signaling indicating a number of supported reference signal resources in a full duplex operation ([0295] the UE may report capability information to the base station indicating that it can perform CSI measurement and/or CSI report using only some of the frequency resources determined to perform CSI measurement or to receive CSI-RS) in a full duplex operation, wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation ([0288] configurations for frequency resources for receiving CSI-RS and/or excluding CSI-RS from reception may be limited to apply only to some slot resources. Information about these slot resources can be set from the network; [0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];)); and
receiving (Fig. 16; Fig. 18), based at least in part on the capability signaling ([0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific), one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) indicating a number of reference signal resources ([0319] Referring to FIG. 16, the UE receives a configuration message, wherein the configuration message is used to configure the frequency domain occupation of a channel state information (CSI) measurement resource; [0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message (the configuration message described above in FIG. 16) to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) that the CSI measurement resource spans and… the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)),
wherein the one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) comprise a first CSI report configuration associated with a subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186); [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD) and a second CSI report configuration associated with a non-SBFD operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184), and
wherein a first CSI report is based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report is based at least in part on the second CSI report configuration (Fig. 8 – S188; [0333] the device performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S184) when it is determined that all CSI measurement resources are available, and a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S1846) when it is determined that only part of the CSI measurement resources are available, and reports the first CSI value and the second CSI value to the base station independently and separately. In this case, the first CSI value and the second CSI value are distinguishable from each other so that it can be known whether the CSI measurement is a first CSI measurement or a second CSI measurement. Then, the base station can know that the second CSI value is generated by measuring CSI-RS on only some of the CSI measurement resources, and can perform further procedures (e.g., resource allocation to the UE) in consideration thereof. In this sense, base stations can make more appropriate use of CSI-RS measurement results without changing their existing reference signal configuration).
YOU does not explicitly disclose the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report and the capability signaling indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources.
However, PARK discloses the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report ([0012] According to the present specification, a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting) and indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling of YOU to include the codebook for CSI report and indicating the maximum number of supported reference signal resources as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the CSI report is comprises of the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, DEOGUN discloses a joint CSI report comprises of a first CSI report and a second CSI report ([0290] Accordingly, given that some of the parameters can remain common between the PDSCH transmission in SBFD and non-SBFD slots, the UE 3 does not have to transmit the entire CSI report for PDSCH associated to SBFD slots and for PDSCH associated to legacy DL slots separately. For discussions sake, we will subsequently use "SBFD PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during SBFD slots" and "legacy DL PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during legacy DL slots"; [0291] Hence, the communication system 1 may beneficially employ one or more mechanisms for joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead. Specifically, the CSI reporting corresponding to an SBFD PDSCH may be interpreted (decoded) based on a related CSI report corresponding to a legacy DL PDSCH (or vice versa)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first and second CSI reports of YOU and PARK to include the joint CSI report as taught by DEOGUN in order to reduce uplink overhead (DEOGUN – [0291] r joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead).
Regarding claim 30, YOU discloses a method of wireless communication performed at a network node ([0014] a method of operating a base station in a wireless communication system), comprising:
receiving capability signaling associated with a channel state information (CSI) report ([0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE), the capability signaling indicating a number of supported reference signal resources ([0299] only some frequency resources) in a full duplex operation, wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation ([0288] configurations for frequency resources for receiving CSI-RS and/or excluding CSI-RS from reception may be limited to apply only to some slot resources. Information about these slot resources can be set from the network; [0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];));
and transmitting (Fig. 18), based at least in part on the capability signaling, one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182) indicating a number of reference signal resources ([0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message… to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs)… which the CSI measurement resource starts (or may be expressed as indicating the starting resource block and the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted)) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)),
wherein the one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) comprise a first CSI report configuration associated with a subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186); [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD) and a second CSI report configuration associated with a non-SBFD operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184), and
wherein a first CSI report is based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report is based at least in part on the second CSI report configuration (Fig. 8 – S188; [0333] the device performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S184) when it is determined that all CSI measurement resources are available, and a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S1846) when it is determined that only part of the CSI measurement resources are available, and reports the first CSI value and the second CSI value to the base station independently and separately. In this case, the first CSI value and the second CSI value are distinguishable from each other so that it can be known whether the CSI measurement is a first CSI measurement or a second CSI measurement. Then, the base station can know that the second CSI value is generated by measuring CSI-RS on only some of the CSI measurement resources, and can perform further procedures (e.g., resource allocation to the UE) in consideration thereof. In this sense, base stations can make more appropriate use of CSI-RS measurement results without changing their existing reference signal configuration).
YOU does not explicitly disclose the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report and the capability signaling indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources.
However, PARK discloses the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report ([0012] According to the present specification, a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting) and indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling of YOU and DEOGUN to include the codebook for CSI report and indicating the maximum number of supported reference signal resources as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the CSI report is comprises of the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, DEOGUN discloses a joint CSI report comprises of a first CSI report and a second CSI report ([0290] Accordingly, given that some of the parameters can remain common between the PDSCH transmission in SBFD and non-SBFD slots, the UE 3 does not have to transmit the entire CSI report for PDSCH associated to SBFD slots and for PDSCH associated to legacy DL slots separately. For discussions sake, we will subsequently use "SBFD PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during SBFD slots" and "legacy DL PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during legacy DL slots"; [0291] Hence, the communication system 1 may beneficially employ one or more mechanisms for joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead. Specifically, the CSI reporting corresponding to an SBFD PDSCH may be interpreted (decoded) based on a related CSI report corresponding to a legacy DL PDSCH (or vice versa)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to the first and second CSI reports of YOU and PARK to include the joint CSI report as taught by DEOGUN in order to reduce uplink overhead (DEOGUN – [0291] r joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead).
Regarding claim 31, YOU discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium ([0012] at least one memory) that stores a set of instructions for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) ([0002] method of operating a device in a wireless communication system and a device that using the method; [0012] an apparatus of a user equipment (UE); [0013] In still another aspect, provided is at least one computer readable medium (CRM) having instructions to be executed by at least one processor), the set of instructions, when executed by one or more processors of the UE ([0012] one processor operably coupled to the at least one memory), cause the UE to:
transmit capability signaling associated with a channel state information (CSI) report, the capability signaling indicating a number of supported reference signal resources (Fig. 18 – S188; [0295] the UE may report capability information to the base station indicating that it can perform CSI measurement and/or CSI report using only some of the frequency resources determined to perform CSI measurement or to receive CSI-RS) in a full duplex operation, wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation ([0288] configurations for frequency resources for receiving CSI-RS and/or excluding CSI-RS from reception may be limited to apply only to some slot resources. Information about these slot resources can be set from the network; [0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];)); and
receive (Fig. 16; Fig. 18), based at least in part on the capability signaling ([0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific), one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) indicating a number of reference signal resources ([0319] Referring to FIG. 16, the UE receives a configuration message, wherein the configuration message is used to configure the frequency domain occupation of a channel state information (CSI) measurement resource; [0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message (the configuration message described above in FIG. 16) to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) that the CSI measurement resource spans and… the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)),
wherein the one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) comprise a first CSI report configuration associated with a subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186); [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD) and a second CSI report configuration associated with a non-SBFD operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184), and
wherein a first CSI report is based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report is based at least in part on the second CSI report configuration (Fig. 8 – S188; [0333] the device performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S184) when it is determined that all CSI measurement resources are available, and a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S1846) when it is determined that only part of the CSI measurement resources are available, and reports the first CSI value and the second CSI value to the base station independently and separately. In this case, the first CSI value and the second CSI value are distinguishable from each other so that it can be known whether the CSI measurement is a first CSI measurement or a second CSI measurement. Then, the base station can know that the second CSI value is generated by measuring CSI-RS on only some of the CSI measurement resources, and can perform further procedures (e.g., resource allocation to the UE) in consideration thereof. In this sense, base stations can make more appropriate use of CSI-RS measurement results without changing their existing reference signal configuration).
YOU does not explicitly disclose the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report and the capability signaling indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources; the CSI report associated with the transmitted capability signaling comprises the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, PARK discloses the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report ([0012] According to the present specification, a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting) and indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling of YOU to include the codebook for CSI report and indicating the maximum number of supported reference signal resources as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the CSI report is comprises of the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, DEOGUN discloses a joint CSI report comprises of a first CSI report and a second CSI report ([0290] Accordingly, given that some of the parameters can remain common between the PDSCH transmission in SBFD and non-SBFD slots, the UE 3 does not have to transmit the entire CSI report for PDSCH associated to SBFD slots and for PDSCH associated to legacy DL slots separately. For discussions sake, we will subsequently use "SBFD PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during SBFD slots" and "legacy DL PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during legacy DL slots"; [0291] Hence, the communication system 1 may beneficially employ one or more mechanisms for joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead. Specifically, the CSI reporting corresponding to an SBFD PDSCH may be interpreted (decoded) based on a related CSI report corresponding to a legacy DL PDSCH (or vice versa)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to the first and second CSI reports of YOU and PARK to include the joint CSI report as taught by DEOGUN in order to reduce uplink overhead (DEOGUN – [0291] r joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead).
Regarding claim 32, YOU discloses an apparatus for wireless communication ([0002] method of operating a device in a wireless communication system and a device that using the method; [0012] an apparatus of a user equipment (UE)), comprising:
means for transmitting capability signaling associated with a channel state information (CSI) report, the capability signaling indicating a number of supported reference signal resources (Fig. 18 – S188; [0295] the UE may report capability information to the base station indicating that it can perform CSI measurement and/or CSI report using only some of the frequency resources determined to perform CSI measurement or to receive CSI-RS) in a full duplex operation, wherein the capability signaling is based at least in part on a counting criteria for the full duplex operation ([0288] configurations for frequency resources for receiving CSI-RS and/or excluding CSI-RS from reception may be limited to apply only to some slot resources. Information about these slot resources can be set from the network; [0289] these slot resources may be slots set/determined as FD slots. That is, the UE can determine the location of the frequency resource for receiving CSI-RS for CSI measurement as described above only from the FD slot resource; [0291] Within the frequency resources within the CSI reporting band for which the UE has been determined to perform CSI measurements, or within the frequency resources for which the UE has been determined to receive CSI-RS for CSI measurements, the UE may not be able to receive DL because some of the resources are DL-unavailable frequency resources or because of the UE's capabilities (hence the UE only counts some of the FD frequency resources (set by the BS) based on the UE’s capabilities and report the indication to the BS in [0295];)); and
means for receiving (Fig. 16; Fig. 18), based at least in part on the capability signaling ([0299] The base station may set the operation method of the UE based on capability information for CSI measurement and/or CSI report operation using only some frequency resources reported by the UE. Alternatively, these configurations can be configured within ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ and configured to ‘CSI-ResourceConfig’ specific. Alternatively, it may be configured to ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific or ‘CSI-RS-Resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource)’ specific), one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) indicating a number of reference signal resources ([0319] Referring to FIG. 16, the UE receives a configuration message, wherein the configuration message is used to configure the frequency domain occupation of a channel state information (CSI) measurement resource; [0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message (the configuration message described above in FIG. 16) to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) that the CSI measurement resource spans and… the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted) for the full duplex operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)),
wherein the one or more CSI report configurations (Fig. 18 – S182, S184, S186) comprise a first CSI report configuration associated with a subband full duplex (SBFD) operation (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186); [0016] In systems supporting full duplex operation, e.g. SB-FD) and a second CSI report configuration associated with a non-SBFD operation (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184), and
wherein a first CSI report is based at least in part on the first CSI report configuration and a second CSI report is based at least in part on the second CSI report configuration (Fig. 8 – S188; [0333] the device performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S184) when it is determined that all CSI measurement resources are available, and a second CSI measurement to generate a second CSI value (associates with the first CSI-RS Fig. 8 – S1846) when it is determined that only part of the CSI measurement resources are available, and reports the first CSI value and the second CSI value to the base station independently and separately. In this case, the first CSI value and the second CSI value are distinguishable from each other so that it can be known whether the CSI measurement is a first CSI measurement or a second CSI measurement. Then, the base station can know that the second CSI value is generated by measuring CSI-RS on only some of the CSI measurement resources, and can perform further procedures (e.g., resource allocation to the UE) in consideration thereof. In this sense, base stations can make more appropriate use of CSI-RS measurement results without changing their existing reference signal configuration).
YOU does not explicitly disclose the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report and the capability signaling indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources; the CSI report associated with the transmitted capability signaling comprises the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, PARK discloses the capability signaling associated with a codebook for a CSI report ([0012] According to the present specification, a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting) and indicating a maximum number of supported reference signal resources ([0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the capability signaling of YOU to include the codebook for CSI report and indicating the maximum number of supported reference signal resources as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
YOU and PARK do not explicitly disclose the CSI report is comprises of the first CSI report and the second CSI report.
However, DEOGUN discloses a joint CSI report comprises of a first CSI report and a second CSI report ([0290] Accordingly, given that some of the parameters can remain common between the PDSCH transmission in SBFD and non-SBFD slots, the UE 3 does not have to transmit the entire CSI report for PDSCH associated to SBFD slots and for PDSCH associated to legacy DL slots separately. For discussions sake, we will subsequently use "SBFD PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during SBFD slots" and "legacy DL PDSCH" to mean "PDSCH transmission during legacy DL slots"; [0291] Hence, the communication system 1 may beneficially employ one or more mechanisms for joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead. Specifically, the CSI reporting corresponding to an SBFD PDSCH may be interpreted (decoded) based on a related CSI report corresponding to a legacy DL PDSCH (or vice versa)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first and second CSI reports of YOU and PARK to include the joint CSI report as taught by DEOGUN in order to reduce uplink overhead (DEOGUN – [0291] r joint coding of CSI reports respectively corresponding to SBFD PDSCH and legacy DL PDSCH to reduce CSI reporting overhead).
Regarding claim 33, YOU further discloses the apparatus of claim 32 ([0002]; [0012];), further comprising:
means for receiving a reference signal (Fig. 18 – S184; [0342] The base station transmits the first CSI-RS in the first time region (e.g., half duplex (HD) slot) (S184)); and
means for transmitting (Fig. 18 – S187-S188), based at least in part on the one or more CSI report configurations, the CSI report (Fig. 17 – CSI reporting), wherein the CSI report indicates a measurement associated with the reference signal ([0343] The UE measures a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) from a CSI measurement resource determined to be available among CSI measurement resources (e.g., performs a first CSI measurement to generate a first CSI value) (S185); [0346] The base station receives the first CSI value and the second CSI value from the UE, which are distinct from each other. From the UE's point of view, it transmits the first CSI value and the second CSI value independently (separately)).
Regarding claim 34, YOU further discloses wherein the reference signal is a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) (Fig. 18 – S186; [0344] The base station transmits the second CSI-RS in the second time region (e.g., full duplex (FD) slot) (S186)) and the number of reference signal resources is a number of CSI-RS resources ([0339] The base station transmits a CSI configuration message (the configuration message described above in FIG. 16) to the UE (S182). The CSI configuration message may indicate the number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) that the CSI measurement resource spans and… the number of resource blocks of the CSI-RS frequency resources over which the CSI-RS is transmitted).
YOU and DEOGUN do not explicitly disclose the maximum number of supported reference signal resources is a maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for the codebook reporting.
However, PARK discloses the maximum number of supported reference signal resources is a maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for the codebook reporting ([0012] a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system, which is performed by a UE includes: transmitting to a base station UE capability information including control information indicating a codebook configuration supported by the UE with respect to a specific class related with the CSI reporting; [0695] Herein, the UE capability information (or UE capability signaling) may further include second control information in addition to the first control information; [0696] The second control information is information indicating the total number (M) of CSI-RS resources maximally supported by the UE in one or a specific CSI process).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the number of supported reference signal resources of YOU, PARK and DEOGUN to include the maximum number of supported CSI-RS resources for the codebook reporting as taught by PARK in order to help reduce complexity of UE implementation (PARK [0025] a CSI operation related parameter which may be supported by a UE, and the like are transmitted while being included in UE capability information, and as a result, a base station configures the CSI operation related parameter, and the like for the UE to reduce complexity of UE implementation; [0422] Since the codebook based precoding technique is a technique that selects the appropriate matrix in the predetermined set of precoding matrixes… feedback overhead may be reduced as compared with a technique that explicitly feeds back the optimal precoding information to the actual channel information).
Conclusion
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418