DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to amendments filed on 06/12/2026. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2026 was filed after the filing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Binnard et al. US 20040252287 A1 (Hereinafter “Binnard”).
Regarding Claim 1, Binnard teaches a stage apparatus (Fig. 2A, 224) comprising:
a first stage (Fig. 2A, 206) configured to be movable in a first direction (Fig. 2A, X);
a first driving unit (Fig. 2A, 236A) configured to generate a first thrust force to move the first stage in the first direction ([0053-0054]);
a second driving unit (Fig. 2A, 240) configured to generate a second thrust force to move the first stage in a second direction (Fig. 2A, Y) perpendicular to the first direction ([0058]); and
a reaction force reducing unit (Fig. 2A, 289) configured to generate a third thrust force to reduce a reaction force generated by the generation of the first thrust force of the first driving unit ([0075]),
wherein at least part of the reaction force reducing unit is coupled to a part of the second driving unit (Abstract, the first mass assembly (256) is coupled to the stage mover assembly (204)), and
wherein the reaction force reducing unit is configured to generate third thrust forces with different magnitudes from each other at a plurality of positions in the second direction, and to generate third thrust forces with different magnitudes from each other at a plurality of positions in a third direction (Fig. 2A, Z) perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction ([0075]).
Regarding Claim 2, Binnard teaches the stage apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a measuring unit (Fig. 1, 28) configured to measure a position of the first stage; and
a controller (Fig. 2A, 226) configured to control the reaction force reducing unit,
wherein the reaction force reducing unit includes a plurality of thrust force generating units (Fig. 2A, 290 & 292) each of which is arranged at respective positions, and
wherein the controller is configured to determine at least one thrust force generating unit generating the third thrust force to reduce the reaction force based on the position in the second direction of the first stage measured by the measuring unit ([0075], the control system 226 can direct current to the flywheel mover 292 secured to the Y mass 266A to rotate the flywheel 290 about the Z axis in the first rotational direction. This causes a theta Z correction torque from the flywheel mover 292 to be imparted upon the Y mass 266A about the Z axis in the second rotational direction that counteracts, reduces and/or cancels the theta Z reaction force).
Regarding Claim 14, Binnard teaches the stage apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the reaction force reducing unit is provided on both sides in the first direction of the first stage ([0075] Additionally, the reaction frame assembly 230 can include one or more torque reducers 289 that reduce the magnitude of torque experienced by one or both of the mass assemblies 256, 266).
Regarding Claim 15, Binnard teaches a pattern forming apparatus for forming a pattern on a substrate, comprising the stage apparatus according to claim 1 configured to control driving of the first stage on which the substrate is mounted ([0012] The present invention is also directed to an exposure apparatus, a device made with the exposure apparatus, a wafer made with the exposure apparatus, a method for making a stage assembly, a method for making an exposure apparatus, a method for making a device and a method for manufacturing a wafer).
Regarding Claim 16, Binnard teaches a method for manufacturing an article, comprising: forming a pattern on the substrate by using the pattern forming apparatus according to claim 15; and processing the substrate on which the pattern is formed to obtain the article ([0012] The present invention is also directed to an exposure apparatus, a device made with the exposure apparatus, a wafer made with the exposure apparatus, a method for making a stage assembly, a method for making an exposure apparatus, a method for making a device and a method for manufacturing a wafer).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
determining the magnitudes of the third thrust forces generated at each of the plurality of positions in the second direction based on the position in the second direction of the first stage measured in the measuring step and a gain parameter.
Claims 3-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Binnard US 6844694 B2 teaches a stage assembly comprising: a guide assembly including: a guide bar movable in a first direction, the guide bar having a center of gravity and a guiding portion; a stage movable along the guiding portion of the guide bar in a second direction substantially perpendicular to the first direction and exerting a reaction force on the guide bar, the stage having a center of gravity spaced apart from the center of gravity of the guide bar in the first direction; a first actuator component positioned on the guide bar and aligned with the center of gravity of the stage in the second direction to apply a compensating force on the guide bar to cancel the reaction force exerted by the stage; and a second actuator component positioned on the guide bar and aligned with the center of gravity of the guide bar in the second direction to apply a force on the guide bar to control a position of the guide bar in the second direction. Mayama US 20020104950 A1 teaches a vibration suppression apparatus adjusts the driving force generated by the linear-acting actuator 51 to drive the inertial load 52 so as to control a thrust applied as a reaction force to the vibration suppression target.
/CORTEZ M COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837