DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed February 03, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-4 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 3: Claim limitation “reception unit being configured to receive an operation performed by an operator” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “to receive an operation performed by an operator” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “unit”.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Claim 3: “a reception unit” refers to the specification [0019] describing a touch panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation it is unclear if “a reception unit” is the same as “a receiver” as recited in claim 1. It is interpreted that they are the same and the added limitation of user input is added by claim 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is further unclear how the target is first switched automatically but now claimed to switch by user input.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ono et al. (US 2015/0320327 A1) (“Ono”) in view of Chen, Yan & Li, Dan & Li, Yanhai & Ma, Xiaoyuan & Wei, Jianming. (2016). Use Moving Average Filter to Reduce Noises in Wearable PPG During Continuous Monitoring. 181. 193-203. 10.1007/978-3-319-49655-9_26. (“Chen”).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Ono discloses A physiological information processing apparatus/method comprising (Abstract and entire document):
a calculator configured to calculate ([0027], “The data calculation device 160 has a moving average calculation device 162.”):
a moving average value of a pulse wave transit time of a subject ([0027], “The moving average calculation device 162 can be configured to calculate a moving average of the PWTT calculated by the PWTT calculation device 126.”); and
a hemodynamic parameter of the subject, using the calculated moving average value ([0047], “The data output device 180 outputs the data for measuring the hemodynamics, which is obtained by synthesizing the moving average of the PWTT values and the body posture of the living body, as a graph as shown in FIG. 4.” See also [0037], “In general, when the blood pressure increases, the blood vessel of the living body becomes hard, so that the rising point of the peripheral pulse wave becomes fast. Therefore, the PWTT value becomes a short time. On the other hand, when the blood pressure decreases, the blood vessel of the living body becomes soft, so that the rising point of the peripheral pulse wave becomes late. Therefore, the PWTT value becomes a long time. Hence, it is possible to capture the change in the blood pressure by calculating the PWTT value.” Blood pressure/hemodynamic parameters are calculated based on the moving average of the PWTT, see also [0053 – 0056]),
Ono fails to disclose a receiver configured to receive a start signal and an end signal, the start signal indicating a start timing of a treatment for the subject, the end signal indicating an end timing of the treatment,
wherein the calculator is configured to switch a calculation target between a first hemodynamic parameter and a second hemodynamic parameter, the first hemodynamic parameter being calculated using a first moving average value of a first pulse wave transit time, the second hemodynamic parameter being calculated using a second moving average value of a second pulse wave transit time comprising fewer pulse wave transit times than the first moving average value
wherein, based on the start signal and the end signal received by the receiver, the calculator is configured to calculate: the first hemodynamic parameter, in a case where the treatment for the subject is not performed and the second hemodynamic parameter, in a case where the treatment for the subject is being performed, and wherein the calculator is configured to automatically switch the calculation target based on the start signal or end signal.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen teaches a receiver configured to receive a start signal and an end signal, the start signal indicating a start timing of a treatment for the subject, the end signal indicating an end timing of the treatment (Abstract, “There are two cascaded moving average filters. The first filter is designed to remove baseline wandering as preprocessing. The second filter whose window size is adjusted according to the additional accelerometer signal is used to remove motion artifacts. During continuous monitoring, the parameters of these two filters change adaptively in accordance with a batch processing method.”),
wherein the calculator is configured to switch a calculation target between a first hemodynamic parameter and a second hemodynamic parameter, the first hemodynamic parameter being calculated using a first moving average value of a first pulse wave transit time, the second hemodynamic parameter being calculated using a second moving average value of a second pulse wave transit time comprising fewer pulse wave transit times than the first moving average value (Page 196, “It is known that moving average filter with narrow window has a smoothing effect on the signal and the moving average filter with wide window can get the general trend of a signal.” And equation 5 and page 198], “Because of continuous changes of motion state and heartbeat in the long-time monitoring, the coefficients of moving average filters need to be changed relatively in order to remove motion artifacts more effectively and improve the accuracy of BPM detection. The flow chart of the whole algorithm is shown as Fig. 3 where MAFBW is the baseline wandering removal algorithm and MAFMA is the motion artifact removal algorithm. We call this method as batch processing method. We select 3–4 s data as a batch and set NBW in the next batch to be T in the current batch (except initialization in the first batch).”),
wherein, based on the start signal and the end signal received by the receiver, the calculator is configured to calculate: the first hemodynamic parameter, in a case where the treatment for the subject is not performed and the second hemodynamic parameter, in a case where the treatment for the subject is being performed, and wherein the calculator is configured to automatically switch the calculation target based on the start signal or end signal (Page 196, “It is known that moving average filter with narrow window has a smoothing effect on the signal and the moving average filter with wide window can get the general trend of a signal.” And equation 5 and page 198], “Because of continuous changes of motion state and heartbeat in the long-time monitoring, the coefficients of moving average filters need to be changed relatively in order to remove motion artifacts more effectively and improve the accuracy of BPM detection. The flow chart of the whole algorithm is shown as Fig. 3 where MAFBW is the baseline wandering removal algorithm and MAFMA is the motion artifact removal algorithm. We call this method as batch processing method. We select 3–4 s data as a batch and set NBW in the next batch to be T in the current batch (except initialization in the first batch).” Automatically switched to second parameter and second moving average value and vice versa based on the period of movement or activity, interpreted as a period of treatment).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the apparatus/method as taught by Ono to include a receiver configured to receive a start signal and an end signal, the start signal indicating a start timing of a treatment for the subject, the end signal indicating an end timing of the treatment, wherein the calculator is configured to switch a calculation target between a first hemodynamic parameter and a second hemodynamic parameter, the first hemodynamic parameter being calculated using a first moving average value of a first pulse wave transit time, the second hemodynamic parameter being calculated using a second moving average value of a second pulse wave transit time comprising fewer pulse wave transit times than the first moving average value, wherein, based on the start signal and the end signal received by the receiver, the calculator is configured to calculate: the first hemodynamic parameter, in a case where the treatment for the subject is not performed and the second hemodynamic parameter, in a case where the treatment for the subject is being performed, and wherein the calculator is configured to automatically switch the calculation target based on the start signal or end signal as taught by Chen to improve signal quality and accuracy (Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Ono as modified discloses The physiological information processing apparatus according to claim 1, Ono as modified further discloses wherein, in a case where a reception unit receives a predetermined operation, the calculator is configured to switch the calculation target from the first hemodynamic parameter to the second hemodynamic parameter, the reception unit being configured to receive an operation performed by an operator (Chen, user interface implicit by the adaptable algorithm, set by a user via the computing system).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not solely rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/TSE W CHEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791