DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hilgers et al. (EP3269280; ids 8/3/23) in view of Zhang et al. (CN111427270; English Translation provided).
Hilgers teaches with respect Independent claim 1, a computer-implemented method (par. 0033) for recipe dependent cleaning (par. 0036) of a multifunction cooking apparatus having a bowl (fig. 1 ref. 205; par. 0004) with an integrated heating element and an integrated stirring element (par. 0029 HSE), comprising:
receiving a recipe program with a plurality of recipe instructions for preparation of a food product (par. 0049) wherein at least a subset of recipe instructions is to be executed in said bowl (par. 0049 heating and stirring functions), executing at least the subset of recipe instructions (par. 0048; pg. 12 lines 54-58), including, for each recipe instruction of at least the subset of the recipe program (par. 0048):
analyzing the respective recipe instruction with regard to: a cooking mode of the multifunction cooking apparatus (par. 0049 heating; par. 0042 cooking scenarios), one or more control parameters for said cooking mode (par. 0049 temperature of heating function), and one or more ingredient identifiers (par. 0049 recipe program associated with course) by:
performing a mode-check to identify if said cooking mode belongs to a subset of cooking modes which require cleaning after execution of a corresponding cooking action (par. 0048; pg. 13 line 36)
performing a temperature-control-parameter-check to identify if a temperature control parameter of the one or more control parameters indicates a cleaning requirement (par. 0044 temperature in each separate step, range specific; par. 0048) and
performing an ingredients-check to identify whether at least one of the ingredient identifiers or a particular combination of ingredient identifiers is associated with a subset of ingredients requiring cleaning after execution of the respective recipe instruction (par. 0049 recipe program associated with course)
determining one or more suitable cleaning modes (par. 0048; pg. 13 line 36) for said bowl dependent on results of the mode-check, temperature-control-parameter-check and ingredients- check by using a decision module (par. 0048 second rule) which associates one or more cleaning modes with the combination of cooking mode, temperature-control-parameter and the one or more ingredient identifiers of the respective recipe instruction (par. 0048; pg. 13 lines 25-26)
selecting, in accordance with predefined selection rules (par. 0048 line 1), a particular cleaning mode from the suitable one or more cleaning modes (par. 0048 cleaning steps reduced; pg. 13 lines 20-21, 39-40), wherein the particular cleaning mode comprises one or more cleaning control parameters not included in the received recipe program (par. 0048 relative number of cleaning steps, alternatively unnecessary cleaning step removed, consolidated; alternatively change of ingredients)
executing the selected cleaning mode after completed execution of the respective recipe instruction by providing one or more cleaning control parameters to the multifunction cooking apparatus (par. 0048) and executing the next recipe instruction (par. 0048 required cleaning step).
Hilgers teaches a recipe program analyzer for determining recipe program steps related to cold food processing steps and warm food processing steps (par. 0029) and further teaches determining based on food products a plurality of cleaning cycles and optimizing cleaning steps to achieve a reduction in energy consumption (par. 0036) and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of food type dependent and corresponding cleaning mode control as taught by Zhang (pg. 2 par. 7).
Thus since Hilgers recognizes and teaches cleaning determined by food type and corresponding recipe steps and since Zhang teaches a further advantage of corresponding food types and cleaning modes is determining appropriate cleaning modes corresponding to difficulty cleaning due to the corresponding food (pg. 2 par. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of further reducing energy consumption as a result of providing a plurality of cleaning modes corresponding to the required cleanliness due to food type as taught by Zhang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of analyzing the partitions for recipe instructions related to cleaning steps of the original separate recipe programs and determine recipe instructions related to a cleaning step (par. 0025) and corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
Though silent to explicitly teaching automatic cleaning of the cooking apparatus. Since Hilgers teaches required cleaning steps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a corresponding self-cleaning as taught Zhang thus achieving the advantage of eliminating time consuming manual cleaning with automatic cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1) which can be adjusted based on recipe as taught by Hilgers by performing a corresponding cleaning action which ensures thorough cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1).
Zhang further teaches the determined cleaning cycle after obtaining a last cooking contained in the menu (pg. 4 par. step 1). Thus since both teach the goal of cleaning and since Hilgers teaches cleaning as defined by a recipe program which due to recipe steps determines cleaning (par. 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the cleaning cycle after executing a substep of the recipe such as after the last cooking for its art recognized purpose of achieving a same predetermined corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
With respect to Independent claim 9, a computer system (par. 0033) for controlling recipe dependent cleaning (par. 0036) of a multifunction cooking apparatus having a bowl (fig. 1 ref. 205; par. 0004) with an integrated heating element and an integrated stirring element (par. 0029 HSE), comprising:
an interface (par. 0033) adapted to receive a recipe program with a plurality of recipe instructions for preparation of a food product (par. 0033) wherein at least a subset of recipe instructions is to be executed in said bowl (par. 0049 heating and stirring functions)
a recipe execution engine (par. 0033 ref. 220) adapted to execute the recipe instructions to control at least the execution of respective cooking steps by the multifunction cooking apparatus (par. 0033)
a cleaning control module (par. 0035 control system; partition module; pg. 11 line 29 2.9 program instruction clean bowl) comprising a recipe instruction analyzer module (par. 0037 program analyzer), a cleaning mode selector module (fig. 4 ref. 2320; par. 0036 relative different HSE, heating or cooling dependent), and a cleaning execution module (fig. 4 ref. 2321; par. 0036 plurality of cleaning steps; par. 0048 identify necessary vs unnecessary) with
the recipe instruction analyzer module adapted to analyze a respective recipe instruction with regard to: a cooking mode of the multifunction cooking apparatus (par. 0049 heating function), one or more control parameters for said cooking mode (par. 0049 temperature, time), and one or more ingredient identifiers (par. 0049 individual course) by:
performing a mode-check to identify if said cooking mode belongs to a subset of cooking modes which require cleaning after execution of a corresponding cooking action (par. 0048; pg. 13 line 36)
performing a temperature-control-parameter-check to identify if a temperature control parameter of the at least one control parameters indicates a cleaning requirement (par. 0044 temperature in each separate step, range specific; par. 0048) and
performing an ingredients-check to identify whether at least one of the ingredient identifiers or a particular combination of ingredient identifiers is associated with a subset of ingredients requiring cleaning after execution of the respective recipe instruction (par. 0049 recipe program associated with course)
the recipe instruction analyzer module (par. 0037 program analyzer) further adapted to determine cleaning caused by a corresponding cooking action (par. 0048) and determine one or more suitable cleaning modes (par. 0048 necessary vs unnecessary; pg. 13 line 36) for said bowl dependent on results of the mode-check, temperature-control-parameter-check and ingredients- check by using a decision module (par. 0048 second rule analysis) which associates one or more cleaning modes with the combination of cooking mode, temperature-control-parameter and the one or more ingredient identifiers of the respective recipe instruction (par. 0048; pg. 13 lines 25-26)
the cleaning mode selector module (fig. 4 ref. 2320; par. 0036 relative different HSE, heating or cooling dependent; pg. 11 line 29 2.9 program instructions) adapted to select, in accordance with predefined selection rules (par. 0048 line 1; fig. 4 ref. 2321 yes; pg. 11 line 29 2.9 program instructions), a particular cleaning mode from the suitable one or more cleaning modes (par. 0048 cleaning steps reduced; pg. 13 lines 20-21, 39-40; fig. 4 ref. 2400; pg. 11 line 29 2.9 program instructions) wherein the particular cleaning mode comprises one or more cleaning control parameters not included in the received recipe program (par. 0048 relative number of cleaning steps, alternatively unnecessary cleaning step removed, consolidated; alternatively change of ingredients) and
the cleaning execution module adapted to execute the selected cleaning mode (fig. 4 ref. 2400 generate; pg. 11 line 29 2.9 clean bowl) after completed execution of the respective recipe instruction if the respective recipe instruction is not associated with a non-cleaning indicator in the recipe program (par. 0048 identified as necessary cleaning step) and to trigger the analyzer module for proceeding with a next recipe instruction (par. 0048 combined recipe program, next program step; par. 0049), else, to trigger the analyzer module for proceeding with the next recipe instruction (par. 0048 required cleaning step).
Hilgers teaches a recipe program analyzer for determining recipe program steps related to cold food processing steps and warm food processing steps (par. 0029) and further teaches determining based on food products a plurality of cleaning cycles and optimizing cleaning steps to achieve a reduction in energy consumption (par. 0036) and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of food type dependent and corresponding cleaning mode control as taught by Zhang (pg. 2 par. 7).
Thus since Hilgers recognizes and teaches cleaning determined by food type and corresponding recipe steps and since Zhang teaches a further advantage of corresponding food types and cleaning modes is determining appropriate cleaning modes corresponding to difficulty cleaning due to the corresponding food (pg. 2 par. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of further reducing energy consumption as a result of providing a plurality of cleaning modes corresponding to the required cleanliness due to food type as taught by Zhang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of analyzing the partitions for recipe instructions related to cleaning steps of the original separate recipe programs and determine recipe instructions related to a cleaning step (par. 0025) and corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
Though silent to explicitly teaching automatic cleaning of the cooking apparatus. Since Hilgers teaches required cleaning steps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a corresponding self-cleaning as taught Zhang thus achieving the advantage of eliminating time consuming manual cleaning with automatic cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1) which can be adjusted based on recipe as taught by Hilgers by performing a corresponding cleaning action which ensures thorough cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1)
Zhang further teaches the determined cleaning cycle after obtaining a last cooking contained in the menu (pg. 4 par. step 1). Thus since both teach the goal of cleaning and since Hilgers teaches cleaning as defined by a recipe program which due to recipe steps determines cleaning (par. 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the cleaning cycle after executing a substep of the recipe such as after the last cooking for its art recognized purpose of achieving a same predetermined corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
With respect to Independent claim 15, a computer program product (par. 0108) for recipe dependent cleaning (par. 0036) of a multifunction cooking apparatus having a bowl (fig. 1 ref. 205; par. 0004) with an integrated heating element and an integrated stirring element (par. 0029 HSE), the computer program product being tangibly embodied on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (par. 0108) and comprising computer readable instructions (par. 0108) that, when executed by at least one processor of a computing device (par. 0105), cause the computing device to
receive a recipe program with a plurality of recipe instructions for preparation of a food product (par. 0049) wherein at least a subset of recipe instructions is to be executed in said bowl (par. 0049 heating and stirring functions), execute at least the subset of recipe instructions (par. 0048; pg. 12 lines 54-58), including, for each recipe instruction of at least the subset of the recipe program (par. 0048):
analyze the respective recipe instruction with regard to: a cooking mode of the multifunction cooking apparatus (par. 0049 heating; par. 0042 cooking scenarios), one or more control parameters for said cooking mode (par. 0049 temperature of heating function), and one or more ingredient identifiers (par. 0049 recipe program associated with course) by:
perform a mode-check to identify if said cooking mode belongs to a subset of cooking modes which require cleaning after execution of a corresponding cooking action (par. 0048; pg. 13 line 36)
perform a temperature-control-parameter-check to identify if a temperature control parameter of the at least one control parameters indicates a cleaning requirement (par. 0044 temperature in each separate step, range specific; par. 0048) and
performing an ingredients-check to identify whether at least one of the ingredient identifiers or a particular combination of ingredient identifiers is associated with a subset of ingredients requiring cleaning after execution of the respective recipe instruction (par. 0049 recipe program associated with course)
determining one or more suitable cleaning modes (par. 0048; pg. 13 line 36) for said bowl dependent on results of the mode-check, temperature-control-parameter-check and ingredients- check by using a decision module (par. 0048 second rule) which associates one or more cleaning modes with the combination of cooking mode, temperature-control-parameter and the one or more ingredient identifiers of the respective recipe instruction (par. 0048; pg. 13 lines 25-26)
selecting, in accordance with predefined selection rules (par. 0048 line 1), a particular cleaning mode from the suitable one or more cleaning modes (par. 0048 cleaning steps reduced; pg. 13 lines 20-21, 39-40), wherein the particular cleaning mode comprises one or more cleaning control parameters not included in the received recipe program (par. 0048 relative number of cleaning steps, alternatively unnecessary cleaning step removed, consolidated; alternatively change of ingredients)
executing the selected cleaning mode after completed execution of the respective recipe instruction by providing one or more cleaning control parameters to the multifunction cooking apparatus (par. 0048) and executing the next recipe instruction (par. 0048 required cleaning step).
Hilgers teaches a recipe program analyzer for determining recipe program steps related to cold food processing steps and warm food processing steps (par. 0029) and further teaches determining based on food products a plurality of cleaning cycles and optimizing cleaning steps to achieve a reduction in energy consumption (par. 0036) and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of food type dependent and corresponding cleaning mode control as taught by Zhang (pg. 2 par. 7).
Thus since Hilgers recognizes and teaches cleaning determined by food type and corresponding recipe steps and since Zhang teaches a further advantage of corresponding food types and cleaning modes is determining appropriate cleaning modes corresponding to difficulty cleaning due to the corresponding food (pg. 2 par. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of further reducing energy consumption as a result of providing a plurality of cleaning modes corresponding to the required cleanliness due to food type as taught by Zhang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of analyzing the partitions for recipe instructions related to cleaning steps of the original separate recipe programs and determine recipe instructions related to a cleaning step (par. 0025) and corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
Though silent to explicitly teaching automatic cleaning of the cooking apparatus. Since Hilgers teaches required cleaning steps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a corresponding self-cleaning as taught Zhang thus achieving the advantage of eliminating time consuming manual cleaning with automatic cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1) which can be adjusted based on recipe as taught by Hilgers by performing a corresponding cleaning action which ensures thorough cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1)
Zhang further teaches the determined cleaning cycle after obtaining a last cooking contained in the menu (pg. 4 par. step 1). Thus since both teach the goal of cleaning and since Hilgers teaches cleaning as defined by a recipe program which due to recipe steps determines cleaning (par. 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the cleaning cycle after executing a substep of the recipe such as after the last cooking for its art recognized purpose of achieving a same predetermined corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
With respect to claims 2 and 10, wherein, in the analyzing, one or more further checks are performed with regard to any of the following additional parameters associated with the respective recipe instruction: rotational-speed-control parameter for the stirring element, rotation-direction-control parameter, ingredient quantities, time interval between an end of a cooking step associated with the respective recipe instruction and a beginning of the cooking step associated with a subsequent recipe instruction, and relative time point associated with the respective recipe instruction in relation to an overall execution time of an entire recipe program (par. 0047, 0049), and
wherein the decision module and the predefined selection rules are further adapted such that the determining and selecting steps take the additional parameters into account (par. 0049).
Claims 3 and 11 and 16, wherein the selected cleaning mode defines a setting of cleaning duration (pg. 11 line 28 table 1; 2.9 clean bowl).
Claims 4 and 12 and 17, wherein default control parameters of the selected cleaning mode are adjusted in accordance with predefined dependencies on a lead indicator of the respective recipe instruction (par. 0058).
Claims 5 and 18, wherein the lead indicator is the temperature-control- parameter or a combination of ingredient identifiers (par. 0049).
Claims 8 and 20, if the respective recipe instruction is associated with a non-cleaning indicator in the recipe program, storing the selected cleaning mode for the respective recipe instruction (par. 0048 unnecessary) and
consolidating the stored cleaning mode with one or more stored or selected cleaning modes of further consolidated recipe instructions so that control parameters of a resulting consolidated cleaning mode are adjusted to remove dirt resulting from all respective cooking steps when executing the consolidated cleaning mode after completed execution of a first consolidated recipe instruction not being associated with a non-cleaning indicator (par. 0048 maintained cleaning steps, required).
Claim 14, further comprising a cleaning mode consolidation module (par. 0048) adapted to:
store the selected cleaning mode for the respective recipe instruction if the respective recipe instruction is associated with a non-cleaning indicator in the recipe program (par. 0048 remove unnecessary cleaning step)
consolidate the stored cleaning mode with one or more stored or selected cleaning modes of further consolidated recipe instructions so that the control parameters of the resulting consolidated cleaning mode are adjusted to remove dirt resulting from all respective cooking steps when executing a consolidated cleaning mode after completed execution of a first consolidated recipe instruction not being associated with a non-cleaning indicator (par. 0048 maintained cleaning steps, required).
With respect to claim 6, Hilgers teaches a display device for interaction with a user (par. 0115). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the option the selected particular cleaning mode is replaced by a cleaning mode received from a user of the cooking apparatus prior to executing thus providing input from the user as taught (par. 0015 last line) and achieving a same plurality of heating cycles which require a plurality of cleaning steps to be executed as a combined recipe program (par. 0048, par. 0062).
With respect to claims 7, 13 and 19,
Hilger teaches the recipe program includes external recipe instructions to be executed by one or more further cooking appliances requiring cleaning (par. 0030, par. 0062), and wherein analyzing includes an analysis of such external recipe instructions (par. 0030).
Thus since Hilger teaches remote controlled appliances for wireless communication (par. 0111) and since Hilger teaches cleaning, though silent to the appliance type. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide the instruction relative to a remote cleaning appliance for its art recognized purpose of achieving cleaning of the bowl prior to execution of subsequent steps (par. 0048).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to program the cleaning mode selected for the remote cleaning appliance includes cleaning control parameters for said remote cleaning appliance such as with respect to distinguishing between rinsing as opposed to washing as taught (par. 0061, 1.5) and achieving the art recognized advantage of consolidated recipe programs which maintain necessary cleaning steps and reducing overall processing time as further taught (par. 0084)
Response to Arguments
With respect to applicants urging Hilgers does not evaluate the physical adhesion of cooking leftovers to determine an expected dirt category that dynamically dictates a cleaning routine. It is initially noted the claims are silent to the urged “leftovers”.
Though silent to the expected dirt category, Hilgers teaches determining required cleaning according to recipe program instruction (par. 0048). Zhang teaches a further advantage of corresponding food types and cleaning modes is determining appropriate cleaning modes corresponding to difficulty cleaning due to the corresponding food (pg. 2 par. 11).
Hilgers teaches a recipe program analyzer for determining recipe program steps related to cold food processing steps and warm food processing steps (par. 0029) and further teaches determining based on food products a plurality of cleaning cycles and optimizing cleaning steps to achieve a reduction in energy consumption (par. 0036) and thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to look to the art of food type dependent and corresponding cleaning mode control as taught by Zhang (pg. 2 par. 7).
Thus since Hilgers recognizes and teaches cleaning determined by food type and corresponding recipe steps and since Zhang teaches a further advantage of corresponding food types and cleaning modes is determining appropriate cleaning modes corresponding to difficulty cleaning due to the corresponding food (pg. 2 par. 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of further reducing energy consumption as a result of providing a plurality of cleaning modes corresponding to the required cleanliness due to food type as taught by Zhang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate in the determined cleaning mode of Hilgers, an expected dirt category (in the instant case with respect to cleaning difficulty) caused by the corresponding cooking action thus achieving the art recognized purpose of Hilgers of analyzing the partitions for recipe instructions related to cleaning steps of the original separate recipe programs and determine recipe instructions related to a cleaning step (par. 0025) and corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
Though silent to explicitly teaching automatic cleaning of the cooking apparatus. Since Hilgers teaches required cleaning steps. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate a corresponding self-cleaning as taught Zhang thus achieving the advantage of eliminating time consuming manual cleaning with automatic cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1) which can be adjusted based on recipe as taught by Hilgers by performing a corresponding cleaning action which ensures thorough cleaning (pg. 2 par. 1).
Zhang further teaches the determined cleaning cycle after obtaining a last cooking contained in the menu (pg. 4 par. step 1). Thus since both teach the goal of cleaning and since Hilgers teaches cleaning as defined by a recipe program which due to recipe steps determines cleaning (par. 0048). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the cleaning cycle after executing a substep of the recipe such as after the last cooking for its art recognized purpose of achieving a same predetermined corresponding cleaning mode depending on cleaning difficulty of the food type thus ensuring thorough cleaning as taught by Zhang (pg. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
20220000331 directed to cleaning determined by food type and 10905305 directed to automated cleaning.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVEN N LEFF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792