Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schaller (US 20200383833 A1).
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 1:
Schaller teaches: a pick head system, comprising;
A pick head having a tip through which a vacuum-assisted force can be applied to pick up an object at the tip of the pick head, the pick head (Figs. 3A, 3B, element 2761) having an internal lumen (Figs. 3A, 3B) element 2763) that forms a tip opening at the tip of the pick head ([0071], Figs. 3A, 3B, assembly element 2761);
A housing having an internal shaft in which the pick head is positioned ([0055], Fig. 2B elements 2759, 2761, Fig. 3A-B 3320), wherein the system can be actuated to achieve relative movement between the pick head and the housing ([0057], lines 7-10, [0109]) and transition the pick head between a retracted state that applies the vacuum-assisted force for picking up an object and an extended state that interrupts the vacuum-assisted force to release the object ([0066]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The relative movement comprises the pick head moving relative to a stationary housing ([0006] Lines 3-5).
Regarding Claim 3:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The relative movement comprises the housing moving relative to a stationary pick head [0055], Fig. 2B elements 2755).
Regarding Claim 4:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The pick head is an elongated body positioned within the internal shaft ([0055], Fig. 2B element 2761).
Regarding Claim 5:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The housing has a vacuum shaft or chamber that aligns with a port in the pick head when the pick head is in the retracted state such that the vacuum shaft communicates with the tip opening of the tip head via the internal lumen of the pick head, and wherein the vacuum shaft communicates with a vacuum pressure source ([0065]).
Regarding Claim 6:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The housing further has a high-pressure shaft or chamber that aligns with a port in the pick head when the pick head is in the extended state such that the high-pressure shaft communicates with the tip opening of the tip head via the internal lumen of the pick head, and wherein the high-pressure shaft communicates with a high pressure source ([0065]).
Regarding Claim 7:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The housing includes a venturi passageway that can be positioned to communicate with a port in the pick head ([0066]).
Regarding Claim 8:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The pick head is key-shaped such that the pick head can be positioned within the internal shaft when aligned with a complementary key-shape of the internal shaft ([0055] Lines 6-8).
Regarding Claim 13:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The housing further has a shaft or chamber connected to ambient pressure, wherein the shaft aligns with a port in the pick head when the pick head is in the extended state ([0117]).
Regarding Claim 14:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The pick head includes a lumen exposed to ambient pressure in the extended state to interrupt the vacuum-assisted force to release the object([0117]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schaller in view of Skujins (EP 4000659 A2).
Regarding Claim 9:
The pick head has a circumferential channel that extends around on an outer surface of the pick head.
Schaller teaches: a pick head having
A channel interfacing with the pick head
Schaller does not teach:
A circumferential channel that extends around on an outer surface of the pick head
Skujins further teaches: a cam assembly [having]
A circumferential channel that extends around an outer surface of the [cam assembly] (Fig. 2B element 50)
The addition of the channel from Skujins to the pick head assembly of Schaller would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing as it provides and alternate method of control or waste evacuation.
Regarding Claim 10:
Schaller teaches:
A plurality of ports are positioned to interface with a channel
Schaller does not teach:
A plurality of ports are positioned in the circumferential channel
Skujins further teaches:
A circumferential channel to interface with control methods
The modification of Schaller’s pick head and suction port system to integrate the circumferential channel as a method of control would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing as it would provide an integrated method of pick head control and a path for fluid movement.
Regarding Claim 11:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
The pick head can rotate within the internal shaft housing of the housing ([0066]).
Regarding Claim 12:
Schaller teaches: [a] system wherein
At least one port of the plurality of ports can align with a vacuum channel of the housing as the pick head rotates ([0116], Figs. 12G, 12H).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Craven US-20220221476-A1, Miller US-20220125287-A1, Polido US-11077564-B1, Balkenbush US-20190365567-A1.
/D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/Victoria P Augustine/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654