This Office Action is in response to remarks filed on 11/14/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 14 & 15 have been amended.
Objection to claim 14 has been withdrawn based on amendments to this claim.
Rejections of claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 under 35 USC 103 based on Jena et al. (US 2023/0396991)(herein after “Jena”) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 2023/0388204)(herein after “Ramachandra”) have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 8 and 15. However, new grounds of rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Jena in view of Ramachandra and further in view of new references Loehr et al. (US 20230199642)(herein after “Loehr”) and Park et al. (US 20220385409)(herein after “Park”) have been introduced based on amendments to claims 1, 8 & 15.
Objection to claim 15 has been introduced based on amendments to this claim.
Rejections of claims 4, 10 and 16-20 under 35 USC 103 based on Jena in view of Ramachandra and further in view of, where indicated in the previous office action, Han et al. (US 2022/0124579)(herein after “Han”), da Silva et al. (US 2019/0141557)(herein after “daSilva”), 3GPP et al. (3GPP TS 38.473, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NG-RAN, F1 application protocol (F1AP), Rel-17, V17.0.0, 2022-4)(herein after “3GPP”) or Tweet4Technology et al. (Tweet4Technology, https://tweet4technology.blogspot.com/2016/11/measurement-controlrrc-connection.html, LTE 5G-NR Wireless Technology Blog, November 28, 2016)(herein after “T4T”), have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1, 8 and 15. However, new grounds of rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Jena in view of Ramachandra and new references Loehr and Park and further in view of, where indicated in this office action, Han, da Silva, 3GPP or T4T have been introduced based on amendments to claims 1, 8 & 15.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to objection to claim 14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 14 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 11/14/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5-9 and 11-15 under 35 USC 103 based on Jena in view of Ramachandra have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made in view of new references Loehr and Park.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejections do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant submits that claims 4, 10 & 16-20 overcome the rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 based on Jena in view of Ramachandra and further in view of, where indicated in the previous office action, Han, da Silva, 3GPP or T4T based on amendments to, and their dependency on, claims 1, 8 or 15. Examiner agrees and these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made in view of new references Loehr and Park.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/7/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: claim 15 recites “based on determining that a channel state information report of the channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer”. For clarity, examiner suggests rewording this limitation to recite “based on determining that a channel state information report of the periodic channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9 & 11-15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jena et al. (US 2023/0396991)(herein after “Jena”) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 2023/0388204)(herein after “Ramachandra”), and further in view of Loehr et al. (US 20230199642)(herein after “Loehr”) and Park et al. (US 20220385409)(herein after “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Jena discloses a system comprising: communicating broadband cellular communications with a user equipment ([0001] & [0029] discloses a UE communicating with a gNB from a 5G NR system (i.e. 5G broadband communication).);
initiating receiving periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications ([0029] discloses a gNB configuring a UE to periodically report Channel State Information (CSI). To someone skilled in the art, CSI reporting from a UE to a gNB corresponds to 5G broadband cellular communications.); and
in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction with regard to the user equipment, and sending a user equipment context release request to a centralized unit of a base station of the system ([0029] discloses a gNB-DU determining that a specified consecutive “n” number of periodic CSI reports have not been received, and in response a DU-initiated UE context release procedure is employed with regard to the UE, and the DU-initiated UE context release procedure is employed between the gNB-DU and a gNB-CU (i.e. a UE context release request is sent from the gNB-DU to the centralized gNB-CU).).
Jena fails to disclose a system comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations.
However, Ramachandra teaches a system comprising: at least one processor ([0038] & [0234] disclose a system for reporting radio link failures consisting of UEs and gNBs comprising a digital signal processor); and
At least one memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations ([0234]-[0235] discloses the digital signal processor processing circuitry can execute instructions stored in memory.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprising: communicating broadband cellular communications with a user equipment; initiating receiving periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications; and in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction with regard to the user equipment, and sending a user equipment context release request to a centralized unit of a base station of the system, as disclosed by Jena, wherein the system comprises: at least one processor; and at least one memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations, as taught by Ramachandra. The motivation to do so would be to have a system including a processor capable of executing instructions in a memory module for implementing procedures for detecting radio link failures in a 5G system.
Jena fails to disclose based on determining that a channel state information report of the periodic channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer.
However, Loehr further teaches based on determining that a channel state information report of the periodic channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer (Fig 5 & [0066]-[0067] disclose a UE, based on receiving information indicating a discontinuous transmission, starting a discontinuous transmission timer. [0058] discloses that the absence of a CSI report may be considered the same as a DTX condition.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system initiating receiving periodic channel state information reports from a user equipment, as disclosed by Jena, that facilitates performance operations comprising: based on determining that a channel state information report of the periodic channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer, as further taught by Loehr. The motivation to do so would be to have a sidelink communication system where a source UE can determine when no sidelink data is available at a destination UE by the absence of receiving a CSI report from the destination UE indicating a DTX condition, then starting a timer that, after expiry of the timer, if no CSI report is received the source UE determines that no sidelink data is available at the destination UE.
Jena fails to disclose based on expiry of the timer.
However, Park further teaches based on expiry of the timer ([0158] discloses a UE declaring an RLF based on not receiving consecutive CSI reports before an RFL timer expires.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system initiating receiving periodic channel state information reports from a user equipment, and in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction with regard to the user equipment, as disclosed by Jena, wherein the initiating of the user equipment release transaction is based on expiry of a timer, as further taught by Park. The motivation to do so would be to have a sidelink communication system where a source UE can determine when no sidelink data is available at a destination UE by the absence of receiving a CSI report from the destination UE indicating a DTX condition, then starting a timer that, after expiry of the timer, if a defined number of CSI report are not received then the source UE determines that no sidelink data is available at the destination UE.
Regarding claim 2, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the system of claim 1.
Jena discloses wherein the system comprises a distributed unit of the base station, and wherein the sending of the user equipment context release request to the centralized unit is performed by the distributed unit ([0001] & [0029] discloses a 5G system comprising a gNB-DU (distributed unit of a 5G base station), where a DU-initiated UE context release procedure is employed between the gNB-DU and a gNB-CU (i.e. a UE context release request is sent from the gNB-DU to the centralized gNB-CU).
Regarding claim 3, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the system of claim 1.
Jena discloses wherein the operations further comprise: determining the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on a time value of the timer, wherein is configured for measurement of whether the user equipment is synchronized with the system ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context. [0026] discloses stale user context based on a timer that could have a default time value of 30 min. [0006] discloses reasons for stale UE context include desynchronization between different components in the UE and a gNB-CU. Thus disclosed is a procedure for determining a number of consecutive CSI reports based on a time value of the timer of claim 1 that indicates whether a UE context is stale or synchronized/desynchronized with the system.).
Regarding claim 5, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the system of claim 1.
Jena discloses wherein the operations further comprise: determining the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on a time measurement during which a downlink radio quality on a radio link monitoring reference signal resource is evaluated to determine whether a first value of the downlink radio quality is less than a second value of a synchronization signal block quality threshold metric ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context. [0040] discloses that stale UE context may be determined by an A1 measurement report (MR) first value being less than a second value a1-Threshold = -120 dBm. To one skilled in the art, A1 measurement reports in 5G are downlink radio quality measurements based on radio monitoring reference signals such as a Synchronization Signal (SS) or CSI-RS. [0006] discloses reasons for stale UE context include desynchronization between different components in the UE and a gNB-CU. Thus disclosed is a procedure for determining a number of consecutive CSI reports not received indicating stale UE context where the number of consecutive CSI reports would be based on a first A1 measurement value being less than a second ai-Threshold = -120 dBm (i.e. synchronization signal block quality threshold metric.).
Regarding claim 6, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the system of claim 1.
Jena discloses wherein the operations further comprise: determining the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on a defined number of consecutive occurrences of out-of-sync indications for a primary cell with respect to the user equipment system ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context by a gNB. Since only one gNB is mentioned in [0029] the gNB must be a primary cell. [0026]-[0027] discloses that stale user context may be based on a timer that could have a default time value of 30 min and based on A1 MRs reported every 512 ms being below an a1-Threshold = -120 dBm. Thus, stale user context would be based on (30 min)/(512 ms) = 3516 consecutive A1 MRs being below -120 dBm (i.e. a number of consecutive occurrences of out-of-sync indications). [0006] discloses reasons for stale UE context include desynchronization between different components in the UE and a gNB-CU. Thus disclosed is a procedure for determining a number of consecutive CSI reports not received indicating stale UE context where the number of consecutive CSI reports would be based on 3516 consecutive occurrences of A1 MR reports being below -120 dBm (i.e. out-of-sync indications) at a gNB primary cell with respect to a UE.).
Regarding claim 7, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the system of claim 6.
Jena discloses wherein the operations further comprise: determining the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on a product of, the defined number of consecutive occurrences of out-of-sync indications for a primary cell with respect to the user equipment, and a time value of the timer, wherein the timer is configured for measurement of whether the user equipment is synchronized with the system ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context. [0026]-[0027] discloses that stale user context may be based on a timer that could have a default time value of 30 min and based on A1 MRs reported every 512 ms being below an a1-Threshold = -120 dBm. Thus, stale user context would be based on (30 min)/(512 ms) = 3516 consecutive A1 MRs being below -120 dBm. [0006] discloses reasons for stale UE context include desynchronization between different components in the UE and a gNB-CU (i.e. a primary cell). Note that 512 ms represents a time value of a timer configured for A1 measurements to determine whether a UE is synchronized with the system. Therefore, the number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale UE context would be based on the product of 3516 consecutive occurrences of A1 MRs being below -120 dBm (i.e. out-of-sync indications) and a 512 ms time value of a timer for A1 measurement reports indicating whether the UE is synchronized (i.e. above -120 dBm) with the system. Thus disclosed is a procedure for determining a number of consecutive CSI reports not received indicating stale UE context where the number of consecutive CSI reports would be based on a product of 3516 consecutive occurrences of A1 MR reports, being received by a gNB-CU primary cell from a UE, below -120 dBm (i.e. out-of-sync indications) and a 512 ms time value of the timer from claim 1 for A1 measurement reports indicating whether the UE is synchronized (i.e. above -120 dBm) with the system.).
Regarding claim 8, Jena discloses a method, comprising: facilitating broadband cellular communications with a user equipment ([0001] & [0029] discloses a UE communicating with a gNB from a 5G NR system (i.e. 5G broadband communication).);
instructing, by the system, the user equipment to provide periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment to the system, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications ([0029] discloses a gNB configuring a UE to periodically report Channel State Information (CSI). To someone skilled in the art, CSI reporting from a UE to a gNB corresponds to 5G broadband cellular communications.); and
in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating, by the system, a user equipment release transaction for the user equipment, and sending, by the system, a user equipment context release request to a centralized unit of a base station ([0029] discloses a gNB-DU determining that a specified consecutive “n” number of periodic CSI reports have not been received, and in response a DU-initiated UE context release procedure is employed with regard to the UE, and the DU-initiated UE context release procedure is employed between the gNB-DU and a gNB-CU (i.e. a UE context release request is sent from the gNB-DU to the centralized gNB-CU).).
Jena fails to disclose a system comprising at least one processor.
However, Ramachandra teaches a system comprising at least one processor ([0038] & [0234] disclose a system for reporting radio link failures consisting of UEs and gNBs comprising a digital signal processor);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method comprising: facilitating broadband cellular communications with a user equipment; instructing, by a system, the user equipment to provide periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment to the system, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications; and in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating, by the system, a user equipment release transaction for the user equipment, and sending, by the system, a user equipment context release request to a centralized unit of a base station, as disclosed by Jena, wherein the method comprises system with at least one processor, as taught by Ramachandra. The motivation to do so would be to have a method, for a system including a processor, that implements procedures for detecting radio link failures in a 5G system.
Jena fails to disclose based on determining, by the system, that a channel state information report of the periodic channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer.
However, Loehr further teaches based on determining, by the system, that a channel state information report of the periodic channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer (Fig 5 & [0066]-[0067] disclose a UE, based on receiving information indicating a discontinuous transmission, starting a discontinuous transmission timer. [0058] discloses that the absence of a CSI report may be considered the same as a DTX condition. [0004] discloses that the UE is part of a system for performing the methods discussed above.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method comprising a system initiating receiving periodic channel state information reports from a user equipment, as disclosed by Jena, that facilitates performance operations comprising: based on determining, by the system, that a channel state information report of the periodic channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer, as further taught by Loehr. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for a sidelink communication system where a source UE can determine when no sidelink data is available at a destination UE by the absence of receiving a CSI report from the destination UE indicating a DTX condition, then starting a timer that, after expiry of the timer, if no CSI report is received the source UE determines that no sidelink data is available at the destination UE.
Jena fails to disclose based on expiry of the timer.
However, Park further teaches based on expiry of the timer ([0158] discloses a UE declaring an RLF based on not receiving consecutive CSI reports before an RFL timer expires.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method comprising a system initiating receiving periodic channel state information reports from a user equipment, and in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction with regard to the user equipment, as disclosed by Jena, wherein the initiating of the user equipment release transaction is based on expiry of a timer, as further taught by Park. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for a sidelink communication system where a source UE can determine when no sidelink data is available at a destination UE by the absence of receiving a CSI report from the destination UE indicating a DTX condition, then starting a timer that, after expiry of the timer, if a defined number of CSI report are not received then the source UE determines that no sidelink data is available at the destination UE.
Regarding claim 9, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the method of claim 8,
Jena discloses further comprising: determining, by the system, the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on a time value of the timer, wherein the timer is configured for measurement of whether the user equipment is synchronized with the system ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context. [0026] discloses stale user context based on a timer that could have a default time value of 30 min. [0006] discloses reasons for stale UE context include desynchronization between different components in the UE and a gNB-CU. Thus disclosed is a procedure for determining a number of consecutive CSI reports based on a time value of the timer of claim 8 that indicates whether a UE context is stale or synchronized/desynchronized with the system.).
Regarding claim 11, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the method of claim 8.
Jena discloses further comprising: determining, by the system, the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on a time measurement during which a downlink radio quality on a radio link monitoring reference signal resource is evaluated to determine whether a first value of the downlink radio quality is less than a second value of a synchronization signal block quality threshold metric ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context. [0040] discloses that stale UE context may be determined by an A1 measurement report (MR) first value being less than a second value a1-Threshold = -120 dBm. To one skilled in the art, A1 measurement reports in 5G are downlink radio quality measurements based on radio monitoring reference signals such as a Synchronization Signal (SS) or CSI-RS. [0006] discloses reasons for stale UE context include desynchronization between different components in the UE and a gNB-CU. Thus disclosed is a procedure for determining a number of consecutive CSI reports not received indicating stale UE context where the number of consecutive CSI reports would be based on a first A1 measurement value being less than a second ai-Threshold = -120 dBm (i.e. synchronization signal block quality threshold metric.).
Regarding claim 12, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the method of claim 8.
Jena discloses further comprising: determining, by the system, the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on a periodicity value of the periodic channel state information reports ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context. [0026] discloses that stale UE context may be determined by a periodic timer with a periodicity of 30 min.).
Regarding claim 13, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the method of claim 12.
Jena discloses further comprising: determining, by the system, the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports based on dividing a first value by the periodicity value of the periodic channel state information reports ([0029] discloses a specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale user context. [0026]-[0027] discloses that stale user context may be based on a timer that could have a default time value of 30 min and A1 MR reports with periodicity 512 ms. Thus, the specified number of consecutive CSI reports for detecting stale context would be based on 3516 consecutive indications of A1 MRs being below -120 dBm A1 MRs, where the 3516 consecutive A1 MRs is based on dividing the first timer value (30 min) by the periodicity value of the periodic A1 MR reports (512 ms).).
Regarding claim 14, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the method of claim 8.
Jena discloses further comprising: as part of establishing the broadband cellular communications with the user equipment, sending, by the system to the user equipment, a radio resource control reconfiguration message that indicates to the user equipment to report the channel state information reports over uplink control information ([0029] discloses a gNB configuring CSI reporting for a UE by sending an RRC Setup Request or Reconfiguration message. [0015] discloses a PUCCH control channel can be used as UE UL resources for sending CSI.).
Regarding claim 15, Jena discloses a system comprising at least one of sending or receiving broadband cellular communications to or from a user equipment, respectively ([0001] & [0029] discloses a UE communicating with a gNB from a 5G NR system (i.e. 5G broadband communication).);
instructing the user equipment to send periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment to the system, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications ([0029] discloses a gNB configuring a UE to periodically report Channel State Information (CSI). To someone skilled in the art, CSI reporting from a UE to a gNB corresponds to 5G broadband cellular communications.); and
in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction for the user equipment ([0029] discloses a gNB-DU determining that a specified consecutive “n” number of periodic CSI reports have not been received, and in response a DU-initiated UE context release procedure is employed with regard to the UE.).
Jena fails to disclose wherein the system comprises non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, in response to execution, cause the system comprising at least one processor to facilitate performance of operations.
However, Ramachandra teaches wherein the system comprises a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, in response to execution, cause a system comprising at least one processor to facilitate performance of operations ([0038] & [0234] disclose a system for reporting radio link failures consisting of UEs and Radio Network Nodes (RNNs) comprising non-transitory computer-readable media storing program instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause a processor in UEs or Radio Network Nodes (RNNs) to perform operations.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprising instructions that, in response to execution, cause a system to facilitate performance of operations, comprising: at least one of sending or receiving broadband cellular communications to or from a user equipment, respectively; instructing the user equipment to send periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment to the system, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications; and in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction for the user equipment, as disclosed by Jena, wherein the system comprises a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, in response to execution, cause the system comprising at least one processor to facilitate performance of operations, as taught by Ramachandra. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions that can be executed by a processor for implementing procedures for detecting radio link failures in a 5G system.
Jena fails to disclose based on determining that a channel state information report of the channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer.
However, Loehr further teaches based on determining that a channel state information report of the channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer (Fig 5 & [0066]-[0067] disclose a UE, based on receiving information indicating a discontinuous transmission, starting a discontinuous transmission timer. [0058] discloses that the absence of a CSI report may be considered the same as a DTX condition.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprising instructions that, in response to execution, cause a system to facilitate performance of operations, comprising: at least one of sending or receiving broadband cellular communications to or from a user equipment, respectively; instructing the user equipment to send periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment to the system, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications; and in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction for the user equipment, as disclosed by Jena, that facilitates performance operations comprising: based on determining that a channel state information report of the channel state information reports satisfies a discontinuous transmission criterion, initiating a timer, as further taught by Loehr. The motivation to do so would be to have a sidelink communication system where a source UE can determine when no sidelink data is available at a destination UE by the absence of receiving a CSI report from the destination UE indicating a DTX condition, then starting a timer that, after expiry of the timer, if no CSI report is received the source UE determines that no sidelink data is available at the destination UE.
Jena fails to disclose based on expiry of the timer.
However, Park further teaches based on expiry of the timer ([0158] discloses a UE declaring an RLF based on not receiving consecutive CSI reports before an RFL timer expires.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a system comprising instructions that, in response to execution, cause a system to facilitate performance of operations, comprising: at least one of sending or receiving broadband cellular communications to or from a user equipment, respectively; instructing the user equipment to send periodic channel state information reports from the user equipment to the system, wherein the channel state information reports correspond to the broadband cellular communications; and in response to determining that a defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, initiating a user equipment release transaction for the user equipment, as disclosed by Jena, wherein the initiating of the user equipment release transaction is based on expiry of a timer, as further taught by Park. The motivation to do so would be to have a sidelink communication system where a source UE can determine when no sidelink data is available at a destination UE by the absence of receiving a CSI report from the destination UE indicating a DTX condition, then starting a timer that, after expiry of the timer, if a defined number of CSI report are not received then the source UE determines that no sidelink data is available at the destination UE.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jena et al. (US 2023/0396991)(herein after “Jena”) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 2023/0388204)(herein after “Ramachandra”) and Loehr et al. (US 20230199642)(herein after “Loehr”) and Park et al. (US 20220385409)(herein after “Park”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Han et al. (US 2022/0124579)(herein after “Han”).
Regarding claim 4, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the system comprises the centralized unit.
Jena fails to disclose wherein the user equipment is communicatively coupled to an access and mobility management function component as part of the broadband cellular communications, and wherein the operations further comprise: triggering, by the centralized unit, a user equipment context release that corresponds to the user equipment context release request with the access and mobility management function component.
However, Han further teaches wherein the user equipment is communicatively coupled to an access and mobility management function component as part of the broadband cellular communications, and wherein the operations further comprise: triggering, by the centralized unit, a user equipment context release that corresponds to the user equipment context release request with the access and mobility management function component (Fig 10 & [0222] & [0228] disclose a UE communicatively coupled to an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) as part of a network including a distributed gNB-DU unit and a centralized gNB-CU unit (i.e. part of 5G broadband communications), and wherein the procedures comprise the gNB-CU centralized unit initiating (i.e. triggering) an RRC connection release with the UE (i.e. a UE context release) that corresponds to a UE context release request from the gNB-CU to the AMF.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the system of claim 1, as disclosed by Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park, wherein the user equipment is communicatively coupled to an access and mobility management function component as part of the broadband cellular communications, and wherein the operations further comprise: triggering, by the centralized unit, a user equipment context release that corresponds to the user equipment context release request with the access and mobility management function component, as further taught by Han. The motivation to do so would be to have a system that can release an RRC connection on a serving gNB as part of a handover to a target gNB and inform an AMF of the RRC release, to assist the AMF in mobility management of the UE.
Claim 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jena et al. (US 2023/0396991)(herein after “Jena”) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 2023/0388204)(herein after “Ramachandra”) and Loehr et al. (US 20230199642)(herein after “Loehr”) and Park et al. (US 20220385409)(herein after “Park”), as applied to Claim 8, and further in view of da Silva et al. (US 2019/0141557)(herein after “daSilva”).
Regarding claim 10, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the method of claim 8, comprising: determining, by the system, the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports for a primary cell with respect to the user equipment.
Jena fails to disclose the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports being based on a consecutive occurrences of in-sync indications.
However, daSilva teaches the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports is based on a consecutive occurrences of in-sync indications ([0046] discloses a radio link monitoring (RLM) based on N311 consecutive in-sync indications.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 8, comprising: determining, by the system, the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports for a primary cell with respect to the user equipment, as disclosed by Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park, where the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports is based on a consecutive occurrences of in-sync indications, as further taught by daSilva. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for a system that can avoid a radio link failure declaration by having a number of consecutive CSI reports not received from a UE be based on a number of consecutive in-sync indications by the UE.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jena et al. (US 2023/0396991)(herein after “Jena”) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 2023/0388204)(herein after “Ramachandra”) and Loehr et al. (US 20230199642)(herein after “Loehr”) and Park et al. (US 20220385409)(herein after “Park”), as applied to Claim 15, and further in view of 3GPP et al. (3GPP TS 38.473, Technical Specification Group Radio Access Network, NG-RAN, F1 application protocol (F1AP), Rel-17, V17.0.0, 2022-4)(herein after “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 16, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Jena discloses wherein the operations further comprise: in response to the determining that the defined number of consecutive channel state information reports of the periodic channel state information reports have not been received, sending a user equipment context release request to a centralized unit of a base station ([0029] discloses a gNB-DU determining that a specified consecutive “n” number of periodic CSI reports have not been received, and in response a DU-initiated UE context release procedure is employed with regard to the UE, and the DU-initiated UE context release procedure (as specified in 3GPP TS 38.473) is employed between the gNB-DU and a gNB-CU (i.e. a UE context release request is sent from the gNB-DU to the centralized gNB-CU).).
Jena fails to disclose wherein the user equipment context release request indicates a reason for the user equipment context release request.
However, 3GPP further teaches wherein the user equipment context release request indicates a reason for the user equipment context release request (Page 53, Section 8.3.2.2 discloses a UE context release message shall indicate the appropriate cause value (i.e. a reason for the context release).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: sending a user equipment context release request to a centralized unit of a base station, as disclosed by Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park, wherein the user equipment context release request indicates a reason for the user equipment context release request, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium store instructions that can be executed by a processor in a gNB that can send a 3GPP NR-RAN based UE context release message that indicates the cause for release so that the NR network can take action, if necessary, to prevent future undesirable UE context releases.
Regarding claim 17, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park and 3GPP disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Jenna fails to disclose wherein the reason indicates a radio network layer.
However, 3GPP further teaches wherein the reason indicates a radio network layer (Page 231, third row in the table discloses a Radio Network Layer Cause.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, as disclosed by Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park and 3GPP, wherein the reason indicates a radio network layer, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium store instructions that can be executed by a processor in a gNB that can send a 3GPP NR-RAN based UE context release message that indicates a Network Layer cause for release, such as no radio resources available, so that the NR network can take action, if necessary, to eliminate congestion in the network to avoid future UE context releases.
Regarding claim 18, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park and 3GPP disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Jenna fails to disclose wherein the reason indicates a radio link failure.
However, 3GPP further teaches wherein the reason indicates a radio link failure (Page 232, second row in the table discloses a RL Failure cause.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, as disclosed by Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park and 3GPP, wherein the reason indicates a radio link failure, as further taught by 3GPP. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium store instructions that can be executed by a processor in a gNB that can send a 3GPP NR-RAN based UE context release message that indicates a radio link failure cause for release, such as due to exceeding a maximum number of ARQ retransmission, so that the NR network can take action, if necessary, to attempt to handover or reselect a UE to a gNB with improved link quality.
Claims 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jena et al. (US 2023/0396991)(herein after “Jena”) in view of Ramachandra et al. (US 2023/0388204)(herein after “Ramachandra”) and Loehr et al. (US 20230199642)(herein after “Loehr”) and Park et al. (US 20220385409)(herein after “Park”), as applied to Claim 15, and further in view of Tweet4Technology et al. (Tweet4Technology, https://tweet4technology.blogspot.com/2016/11/measurement-controlrrc-connection.html, LTE 5G-NR Wireless Technology Blog, November 28, 2016)(herein after “T4T”).
Regarding claim 19, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Jenna discloses wherein the operations further comprise: configuring a channel state information reporting with the user equipment initiating the receiving of the periodic channel state information reports ([0029] discloses a gNB configuring CSI reporting with a UE through an RRC Reconfiguration message that causes the UE to periodically report the CSI.).
Jenna fails to disclose wherein the configuring comprises a UE confirmation before initiating CSI reporting.
However T4T further teaches wherein the configuring comprises a UE confirmation before initiating CSI reporting (First page discloses a UE sending RRC Connection complete (i.e. confirmation) before measurement reports are sent (i.e. CSI reporting).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: configuring a channel state information reporting with the user equipment initiating the receiving of the periodic channel state information reports, as disclosed by Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park, wherein the configuring comprises a UE confirmation before initiating CSI reporting, as further taught by T4T. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium store instructions that can be executed by a processor in a gNB that can send an RRC reconfiguration message to a UE to setup periodic CSI reporting and receive a complete message before the UE begins reporting CSI so that the gNB can be prepared to look for CSI reporting from the UE.
Regarding claim 20, Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Jena discloses wherein the operations further comprise: configuring a channel state information periodicity with the user equipment initiating the receiving of the periodic channel state information reports ([0029] discloses a gNB configuring periodic CSI reporting with a UE through an RRC Reconfiguration message that causes the UE to periodically report the CSI with a periodicity.).
Jenna fails to disclose wherein the configuring of the channel state information periodicity occurs before initiating the receiving of the periodic CSI information.
However T4T further teaches wherein the configuring of the channel state information periodicity occurs before initiating the receiving of the periodic CSI information (First page discloses a UE sending RRC Connection complete (i.e. for periodic CSI reporting) before measurement reports are sent (i.e. CSI reporting).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: configuring a channel state information periodicity with the user equipment initiating the receiving of the periodic channel state information reports, as disclosed by Jena in view of Ramachandra and Loehr and Park, wherein the configuring of the channel state information periodicity occurs before initiating the receiving of the periodic CSI information, as further taught by T4T. The motivation to do so would be to have a non-transitory computer-readable medium store instructions that can be executed by a processor in a gNB that can send an RRC reconfiguration message to a UE to setup periodic CSI reporting with a configured periodicity before the UE begins reporting CSI so that the gNB can determine windows of time to look for CSI reporting from the UE.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419