Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 5, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Lee does not disclose that a single CSI configuration includes both "a first parameter that indicates a first set of resources and comprises a second parameter that indicates a second set of resources," as recited in amended independent claim 1. Instead, Lee allegedly describes general resource information without any mention of indicating "a first set of resources" and "a second set of resources" using "a first parameter" and "a second parameter," respectively, as claimed. However, this is incorrect. Lee discloses, for example in paragraph [0146], that a base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams; and in paragraph [0161], that the base station transmits to a UE, CSI-RS and SSB resource configuring information. A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have known that configuration information may be referred to as “parameters.” Lee additionally discloses, for example in paragraph [0398], that information may be referred to as “parameters.” Lee’s information of CSI-RS resources is the claimed “first parameter” and Lee’s information of SSB resources is the claimed “second parameter.”
Additionally, paragraph [0136] of Applicant’s published Specification discloses that an example of a “first parameter” is a “resourceForChannelMeasurement” parameter, and that an example of a “second parameter” is a “resourceForChannelMeasurement2” parameter. Applicant does not provide any explanation for a scope of the terms “first parameter” and “second parameter” which would include the a “resourceForChannelMeasurement” parameter and “resourceForChannelMeasurement2” parameter, but would exclude the information in a CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources disclosed in Lee.
Applicant further argues that the claims are patentable because Lee allegedly only discloses that CSI-RS resources and SSB resources are configured in two separate CSI configurations. However, this is incorrect. Again, Lee discloses, for example in paragraph [0146], that a base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams; and in paragraph [0161], that the base station transmits to a UE, CSI-RS and SSB resource configuring information. There is no indication in Lee CSI-RS resources and SSB resources must be in separate CSI configurations.
Applicant further asserts that the claims are patentable because Lee allegedly does not disclose “the first measurement and the second measurement are training data according to which a beam management model is trained to use measurements of the first set of reference signals to predict one or more characteristics of the second set of reference signals,” because Lee is allegedly silent as to “a beam management model” to “to use measurements of the first set of reference signals to predict one or more characteristics of the second set of reference signals.” However, this is incorrect. Lee discloses, for example in paragraph [0179]-[0189], that a Machine Learning model is used for deriving candidate beams based on the CSI-RS and SSB reference signals configured by the base station, and that the ML model is trained based on learning, serving beam index is input to the trained ML model, UE connected to the serving beam measures surrounding beams that are predicted to have the highest intensity and a list of n candidate beams is derived as an output.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2024/0292232).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a user equipment (UE) (Lee, Fig. 22; paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station), comprising:
one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE (Lee, Fig. 22; paragraph [0330], memory, executable code, processor) to:
receive a downlink control information message that comprises an indication of a channel state information report configuration, wherein the channel state information report configuration comprises a first parameter that indicates, from a plurality of sets of resources associated with channel measurement, a first set of resources and comprises a second parameter that indicates, from the plurality of sets of resources associated with channel measurement, a second set of resources, wherein the first set of resources corresponds to a first set of reference signals and the second set of resources corresponds to a second set of reference signals (Lee, Fig. 12; paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals; paragraph [0072], UE received DCI including control information such as resource allocation information; paragraph [0103], deep learning based AI algorithm requires training data in order optimize training parameters; paragraph [0142], base station configures a CSI measurement and reporting method for beam/link management; paragraph [0146], base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams; paragraph [0161], base station transmits to a UE, CSI-RS and SSB resource configuring information);
receive one or more first reference signals of the first set of reference signals via the first set of resources and one or more second reference signals of the second set of reference signals via the second set of resources (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals); and
transmit a measurement report comprising at least a first measurement associated with at least one of the one or more first reference signals and at least a second measurement associated with at least one of the one or more second reference signals based at least in part on the downlink control information message and reception of the one or more first reference signals and the one or more second reference signals (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals), wherein the first measurement and the second measurement are training data according to which a beam management model is trained to use measurements of the first set of reference signals to predict one or more characteristics of the second set of reference signals (Lee, Figs. 10, 11; paragraph [0103], deep learning based AI algorithm requires training data in order optimize training parameters; paragraph [0176], measure optimal candidate beams using ML model mapping information for optimal candidate beams for a pre-learned serving beam; [0180], Machine Learning model is used for deriving candidate beams based on the CSI-RS and SSB reference signals configured by the base station; paragraph [0189], ML model is trained based on learning, serving beam index is input to the trained ML model, UE connected to the serving beam measures surrounding beams that are predicted to have the highest intensity and a list of n candidate beams is derived as an output; paragraph [0213], UE may measure a signal of the CSI-RSs with the QCL relationship with the SSB to perform beam refinement to a narrower beam than the serving beam mapped to the SSB; paragraph [0216], UE may measure the CSI-RSs/SSBs corresponding to the selected N optimal beams; paragraph [0217], UE may report the measurement values to the base station; paragraph [0218], UE may be indicated a serving beam change).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the downlink control information message, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive the downlink control information message that includes the indication of the channel state information report configuration, the channel state information report configuration comprising one or more parameters that indicate one or more serving cells associated with the first set of resources and the second set of resources (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals; paragraph [0072], UE received DCI including control information such as resource allocation information; paragraph [0142], base station configures a CSI measurement and reporting method for beam/link management; paragraph [0146], base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams). .
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the UE of claim 3,
wherein the one or more parameters comprise a single parameter that indicates that the first set of resources and the second set of resources correspond to a same serving cell, and wherein, to receive the one or more first reference signals and the one or more second reference signals, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive the one or more first reference signals and the one or more second reference signals via the same serving cell (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the UE of claim 3, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a third parameter that indicates that the first set of resources corresponds to a first serving cell and a fourth parameter that indicates that the second set of resources corresponds to a second serving cell, and wherein, to receive the one or more first reference signals and the one or more second reference signals, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive the one or more first reference signals via the first serving cell; and receive the one or more second reference signals via the second serving cell (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of the one or more first reference signals or the one or more second reference signals, the one or more first reference signals or the one or more second reference signals being a subset of the first set of reference signals or the second set of reference signals, respectively (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a single receive beam associated with measurement of each reference signal of the one or more first reference signals and each reference signal of the one or more second reference signals; and measure the one or more first reference signals and the one or more second reference signals using the single receive beam, wherein at least the first measurement and at least the second measurement are based at least in part on using the single receive beam (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to:
receive an indication of a first receive beam associated with measurement of each reference signal of the one or more first reference signals and a second receive beam associated with measurement of each reference signal of the one or more second reference signals; measure the one or more first reference signals using the first receive beam to generate the first measurement; and measure the one or more second reference signals using the second receive beam to generate the second measurement (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals; paragraph [0072], UE received DCI including control information such as resource allocation information; paragraph [0142], base station configures a CSI measurement and reporting method for beam/link management; paragraph [0146], base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the UE of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: switching, during a time duration between the first set of resources and the second set of resources, from the first receive beam to the second receive beam based at least in part on the first receive beam being associated with the measurement of each reference signal of the one or more first reference signals and the second receive beam being associated with the measurement of each reference signal of the one or more second reference signals (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals; paragraph [0072], UE received DCI including control information such as resource allocation information; paragraph [0142], base station configures a CSI measurement and reporting method for beam/link management; paragraph [0146], base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams, allowing the UE to measure a narrow candidate beam and report measurements and then switch to a new beam; paragraph [0218], UE may be indicated beam switching from the bases station and the UE may repeat the steps on the changed serving beam).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a request for measurement reporting of each of the first set of reference signals and each of the second set of reference signals, wherein the measurement report comprises a set of measurements that correspond to the first set of reference signals and the second set of reference signals (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals; paragraph [0142], base station configures a CSI measurement and reporting method for beam/link management; paragraph [0146], base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams, allowing the UE to measure a narrow candidate beam and report measurements and then switch to a new beam; paragraph [0165], candidate beams are configured by informing resource information of CSI-RS and SSB that has to be measured by the UE; paragraph [0173], beams measured based on CSI reporting configuration as values of CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the UE of claim 11, wherein the measurement report comprises:
an absolute measurement that corresponds to a reference signal, of the first set of reference signals or the second set of reference signals, associated with a highest reference signal receive power (RSRP) measurement (Lee, paragraph [0173], beams measured based on CSI reporting configuration as values of CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP; paragraph [0294], RSRP transmission for four beams with highest RSRP are transmitted on CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP);
a resource index that corresponds to the reference signal associated with the highest RSRP measurement (Lee, paragraph [0283], index of the SSB or CSI-RS with RSRP above the rsrp-ThresholdBFR); and
differential measurements, relative to the absolute measurement, for each of a remainder of the first set of reference signals and the second set of reference signals (Lee, paragraph [0173], beams measured based on CSI reporting configuration as values of CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP; paragraph [0294], RSRP transmission for four beams with highest RSRP are transmitted on CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP, and further, a differential RSRP value based on the highest RSRP is reported to reduce the RSRP overhead).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a request for measurement reporting of a first subset of the first set of reference signals and a second subset of the second set of reference signals, wherein the measurement report comprises a first set of measurements that correspond to the first subset of the first set of reference signals and a second set of measurements that correspond to the second subset of the second set of reference signals, and wherein the one or more first reference signals comprise the first subset and the one or more second reference signals comprise the second subset (Lee, paragraph [0008], UE receives from a base station, configuration information including resource information on a plurality of reference signals and candidate beam determining algorithm information for at least one serving beam, and determining N candidate beams related to N reference signals of the plurality of reference signals, receiving the N references signals and transmitting measurement information to the base station including at least one measurement value among the N reference signals; paragraph [0142], base station configures a CSI measurement and reporting method for beam/link management; paragraph [0146], base station informs UE of candidate beams via CSI-ResourceConfig to preconfigure CSI-RS resources and SSB resources for candidate beams, allowing the UE to measure a narrow candidate beam and report measurements and then switch to a new beam; paragraph [0165], candidate beams are configured by informing resource information of CSI-RS and SSB that has to be measured by the UE; paragraph [0173], beams measured based on CSI reporting configuration as values of CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the UE of claim 13, wherein the measurement report comprises:
first resource indices that correspond to the first subset of the first set of reference signals (Lee, paragraph [0283], index of the SSB or CSI-RS with RSRP above the rsrp-ThresholdBFR);
an absolute measurement that corresponds to a reference signal, of the first subset of the first set of reference signals, associated with a highest reference signal receive power (RSRP) measurement (Lee, paragraph [0173], beams measured based on CSI reporting configuration as values of CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP; paragraph [0294], RSRP transmission for four beams with highest RSRP are transmitted on CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP);
first differential measurements, relative to the absolute measurement, for each of a remainder of the first subset of the first set of reference signals (Lee, paragraph [0173], beams measured based on CSI reporting configuration as values of CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP; paragraph [0294], RSRP transmission for four beams with highest RSRP are transmitted on CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP, and further, a differential RSRP value based on the highest RSRP is reported to reduce the RSRP overhead);
second resource indices that correspond to the second subset of the second set of reference signals (Lee, paragraph [0283], index of the SSB or CSI-RS with RSRP above the rsrp-ThresholdBFR); and
second differential measurements, relative to the absolute measurement, for each of the second subset of the second set of reference signals(Lee, paragraph [0173], beams measured based on CSI reporting configuration as values of CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP; paragraph [0294], RSRP transmission for four beams with highest RSRP are transmitted on CSI/SS BR1+L1-RSRP, and further, a differential RSRP value based on the highest RSRP is reported to reduce the RSRP overhead).
Claims 15 and 17-19 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 1 and 3-5, respectively.
Claims 20 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 6 and 11.
Claims 21-26 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 7-8 and 11-14, respectively.
Regarding claim 27, Lee discloses the network entity of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
train a machine learning model configured to predict spatial-domain characteristics associated with the second set of reference signals based at least in part on at least the first measurement and at least the second measurement (Lee, Figs. 10, 11; paragraph [0176], measure optimal candidate beams using ML model mapping information for optimal candidate beams for a pre-learned serving beam; paragraph [0189], ML model is trained based on learning, serving beam index is input to the trained ML model, UE connected to the serving beam measures surrounding beams that are predicted to have the highest intensity and a list of n candidate beams is derived as an output; paragraph [0213], UE may measure a signal of the CSI-RSs with the QCL relationship with the SSB to perform beam refinement to a narrower beam than the serving beam mapped to the SSB; paragraph [0216], UE may measure the CSI-RSs/SSBs corresponding to the selected N optimal beams; paragraph [0217], UE may report the measurement values to the base station; paragraph [0218], UE may be indicated a serving beam change); and
select a downlink beam for communication with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on an output of the machine learning model (Lee, paragraph [0189], a list of n candidate beams is derived as an output; paragraph [0218], UE may be indicated a serving beam change).
Regarding claim 28, Lee discloses the network entity of claim 27, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
receive measurement information associated with at least a subset of the first set of reference signals; input the measurement information into the machine learning model; and obtain, as an output of the machine learning model, predicted spatial-domain characteristics associated with the second set of reference signals, wherein selecting the downlink beam is based at least in part on the predicted spatial-domain characteristics (Lee, Figs. 10, 11; paragraph [0176], measure optimal candidate beams using ML model mapping information for optimal candidate beams for a pre-learned serving beam; paragraph [0189], ML model is trained based on learning, serving beam index is input to the trained ML model, UE connected to the serving beam measures surrounding beams that are predicted to have the highest intensity and a list of n candidate beams is derived as an output; paragraph [0213], UE may measure a signal of the CSI-RSs with the QCL relationship with the SSB to perform beam refinement to a narrower beam than the serving beam mapped to the SSB; paragraph [0216], UE may measure the CSI-RSs/SSBs corresponding to the selected N optimal beams; paragraph [0217], UE may report the measurement values to the base station; paragraph [0218], UE may be indicated a serving beam change).
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2024/0292232) in view of Shi et al. (US 2022/0053546).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the UE of claim 9. Lee does not explicitly disclose, but Shi discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit an indication of a minimum time duration associated with a beam switching capability of the UE (Shi, paragraph [0380], capability reported by the UE of the minimum value of a time interval supported by the terminal devices to complete beam switching), wherein the time duration between the first set of resources and the second set of resources is greater than or equal to the minimum time duration (Shi, paragraph [0291], time interval is greater than the time for time for the terminal to perform switching).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the time duration between the first set of resources and the second set of resources is greater than or equal to the minimum time duration, in the invention of Lee. The motivation to combine the references would have been for the terminal to be able to receive the second set of resources after switching beams.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsai et al. (US 20240015741) discloses that a UE can start listening on the SSB with the wider SSB beams and step by step converges to the narrower beam via using CSI-RS in connected mode.
Kaya et al. (US 20220190883) discloses that, at a first level, a set of basic beams or broad beams, such as synchronization signal block and physical broadcast channel (SSB/PBCH) beams (e.g., which may be referred to as SSB beams), which may include, for example, up to 64 SSB beams within a cell; and, at a second (more refined) level, a set of refined beams, e.g., such as a set of CSI-RS (channel state information-reference signal) beams. For example, the CSI-RS beams may be narrower refinement beams, while with SSB beams may be wider or root (or basic) beams.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413