DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 4, 5, 12, 13, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Burkhardt (U.S. 2012/0182823A1).
Regarding claim 1, Burkhardt teaches a treatment element for treating material by means of a screw machine (the treatment element is considered the shaft and screw inside the housing 2) comprising: a conveying section (item 23 feed zone, which material is conveyed towards item 23) and a melting section (item 24 melt zone) which is arranged downstream of the conveying section in a conveying direction (item 24 is downstream of item 23), and which is connected in one piece with the conveying section (the shaft connects the elements 27, 29, through zones 23 and 24).
Regarding claim 4, Burkhardt teaches wherein the melting section comprises at least one kneading disk which is twisted between a first side and a second side (figure 9 shows a twisted shape for kneading discs, figure 1 shows kneading discs in item 24).
Regarding claim 5, Burkhardt teaches wherein the at least one kneading disk has a twist angled between the first side and the second side, wherein the angle is more than zero degrees and less than or equal to 30 degrees (paragraph 58 teaches a range between 0 and 360 degrees from A1 to A2, and 30 degrees is considered a value in the range).
Regarding claim 12, Burkhardt teaches wherein the conveying section and the melting section have an offset angle b relative to one another wherein b is less than or equal to zero degrees and less than or equal to 90 degrees (a portion of the screw thread shown in item 23 is considered having an angle offset of one of the kneading discs in item 24 with a degree angle between 0 and 90 since the screw thread rotates as it extends along the shaft).
Regarding claim 13, Burkhardt teaches comprising a supporting section (mixing zone 26 is considered reading on a support section) which is arranged downstream of the melting section in the conveying direction and is connected in one piece with the melting section (the drive shaft connects items 29 and 31).
Regarding claim 14, Burkhardt teaches wherein the supporting section comprises at least one kneading disk (item 31 kneading element is considered reading on a kneading disc).
Regarding claim 19, Burkhardt teaches a screw machine for a treatment material (see figure 1), comprising a housing (housing formed by items 3, 4, 5, 6), at least one housing bore formed in the housing (opening through which items 27, 29, 31, and 33 are located in the housing), and
at least one treatment element shaft which is arranged in the at least one housing bore, wherein the at least one treatment element shaft comprises at least one treatment element according to claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 15, 16, 17, and 18, are rejected under 3 5 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhardt (U.S. 2012/0182823A1).
Regarding claim 2, Burkhard teaches several kneading discs in the melt section of the treatment element (see items 29 in section 24). Regarding claim 2, Burkhardt is silent to the specific number of kneading discs in the melt zone. Regarding claim 2, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling of the claimed invention to choose the desired number of kneading discs based on the desired agitation of material since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 3, Burkhardt teaches kneading discs with an offset configuration and an angle that is more than or equal to 0 degrees and less than or equal to 90 degrees (paragraph 58 teaches an offset angle of 37) Regarding claim 3, Burkhardt is silent to the offset angle specifically in the melt zone. Regarding claim 3, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to rearrange the angle of the kneading discs in the melting zone in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 6, Burkhardt is silent to the specific size of the kneading disc. Regarding claim 6, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to modify the shape of the disc in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 7, Burkhardt teaches kneading discs with an offset configuration and an angle that is more than or equal to 5 degrees and less than or equal to 70 degrees (paragraph 58 teaches an offset angle of 37) Regarding claim 7, Burkhardt is silent to the offset angle specifically in the melt zone. Regarding claim 7, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to rearrange the angle of the kneading discs in the melting zone in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 8, Burkhardt is silent to the specific size of the kneading disc. Regarding claim 6, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the disc in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 10, Burkhardt is silent to the specific size of the conveying section. Regarding claim 10, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the conveying section in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 11, Burkhardt is silent to the specific size of the conveying section. Regarding claim 11, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the conveying section in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 15, Burkhardt is silent to the specific shape of the kneading disc. Regarding claim 15, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the disc in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 16, Burkhardt is silent to the specific shape of the kneading disc. Regarding claim 15, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the disc in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 17, Burkhardt is silent to the specific shape of the melt and support sections. Regarding claim 17, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the melt and support sections in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 18, Burkhardt is silent to the specific shape of the conveying and support sections. Regarding claim 18, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the conveying and support sections in order to obtain the desired degree of agitation since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 S.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burkhardt (U.S. 2012/0182823A1) in view of Christie (U.S. Patent 9,718,216).
Regarding claim 9, Burkhardt is silent to the chamfered configuration for the disc. Regarding claim 9, Christie teaches a kneading disk (column 7 lines 20-28 ring 15 is considered reading on a kneading disk) having a tip chamfer (column 7 lines 20-28 teaches a chamfer shape on the outer surface). Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the ring to have a chamfer in order to obtain the desired agitation through the kneading disk.
Conclusion
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774