Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1, 2, and 4–21 are pending.
Claim 3 is canceled.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0162574 A1.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 24 June 2026. These drawings are unacceptable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells of claims 1 and 16, the housing of claim 1, the thermal conductive material of claim 11, and the thermal pad of claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the term "first fastener" of claims 1 and 16 does not have proper antecedent basis in the specification.
Claim Objections
Applicants' amendments have overcome the objections of claims 1 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicants' amendments have overcome the rejections of claims 1–9 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claims 1, 2, and 4–21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the lead board, the metal plate, and the circuit board are fixed to the battery bracket using a first fastener." Applicants have indicated this limitation is supported by the original disclosure at paragraphs [0057], [0059], and [0062]. Paragraphs [0057], [0059], and [0062] describes a screw fixing a lead board, a metal plate, and a circuit board to a battery bracket. No other fastener is described as fixing the lead board, the metal plate, and the circuit board to the battery bracket. Therefore, claim 1 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2 and 4–15 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 2 and 4–15 also contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "wherein the lead board, the metal plate, and the circuit board are fixed to the battery bracket using a first fastener." Applicants have indicated this limitation is supported by the original disclosure at paragraphs [0057], [0059], and [0062]. Paragraphs [0057], [0059], and [0062] describes a screw fixing a lead board, a metal plate, and a circuit board to a battery bracket. No other fastener is described as fixing the lead board, the metal plate, and the circuit board to the battery bracket. Therefore, claim 16 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 17–19 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 16. Therefore, claims 17–19 also contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "wherein said metal plate, said hot block, and said circuit board are fixed together using fasteners." Paragraphs [0057], [0059], and [0062] describes screws fixing a lead board, a metal plate, and a circuit board to a battery bracket. No other fasteners are described as fixing the lead board, the metal plate, and the circuit board to the battery bracket. Therefore, claim 20 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the battery pack according to claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claim 21 also contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 10–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "the hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "a hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "a hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "said hot block." The term "hot" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "hot" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the limitation "said hot block" is indefinite.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "wherein said metal plate, said hot block, and said circuit board are fixed together using fasteners." Claim 16, which claim 20 is directly dependent, recites the limitation "wherein the lead board, the metal plate, and the circuit board are fixed to the battery bracket using a first fastener." It is unclear if "a first fastener" recited in claim 16 is one of "fasteners" recited in claim 20. If "a first fastener" recited in claim 16 is one of "fasteners" recited in claim 20, the number of fasteners required by claim 20 is at least two. However if "a first fastener" recited in claim 16 is not one of "fasteners" recited in claim 20, the number of fasteners required by claim 20 is at least three. Therefore, the number of fasteners required by claim 20 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho (US 2022/0085470 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a battery pack (FIG. 7, [0065]), which comprises:
one or more battery cells (22, [0065]);
a circuit board (100), which is located inside a housing (24) of said battery pack (FIG. 7, [0065]);
a lead board (300), which is connected to electrode terminals (see cell tabs, [0006]) of the one or more battery cells (22, [0065]);
a metal plate (60), which is set on said circuit board (100) and electrically connects said lead board (300) to a circuit (121) in said circuit board (100, [0069]),
wherein said metal plate (60) is fixed to said circuit board (100) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 10, [0069]); and
a battery bracket (23) for supporting the one or more battery cells (22, [0065]),
wherein the lead board (300), the metal plate (60), and the circuit board (100) are fixed to said battery bracket (23) using a first fastener (FIG. 7, [0065]).
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said lead board (300) is laser welded to said metal plate (60, [0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (60) is located on a lower surface of said circuit board (100) and partially extends beyond an edge of said circuit board (100) for laser welding with said lead board (100, [0072]).
Regarding claim 6, Cho discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (60) is located on an upper surface of said circuit board (100, [0065]), and
said lead board (300) is laser welded to an upper surface of said metal plate (60, [0072]).
Regarding claim 8, Cho discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, which further comprises:
a fuse (313), which is connected to said metal plate (60) or integrated with said metal plate (60, [0065]).
Regarding claim 21, Cho discloses an electric tool, which comprises a battery pack (see electronic devices, [0003]), the battery pack (FIG. 7, [0065]) comprises:
one or more battery cells (22, [0065]);
a circuit board (100), which is located inside a housing (24) of said battery pack (FIG. 7, [0065]);
a lead board (300), which is connected to electrode terminals (see cell tabs, [0006]) of the one or more battery cells (22, [0065]);
a metal plate (60), which is set on said circuit board (100) and electrically connects said lead board (300) to a circuit (121) in said circuit board (100, [0069]),
wherein said metal plate (60) is fixed to said circuit board (100) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 10, [0069]); and
a battery bracket (23) for supporting the one or more battery cells (22, [0065]),
wherein the lead board (300), the metal plate (60), and the circuit board (100) are fixed to said battery bracket (23) using a first fastener (FIG. 7, [0065]).
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukukawa (JP 2014-041697 A).
Regarding claim 1, Fukukawa discloses a battery pack (100, [0019]), which comprises:
one or more battery cells (10, [0019]);
a circuit board (40), which is located inside a housing (30) of said battery pack (100, [0019]);
a lead board (50), which is connected to electrode terminals of the one or more battery cells (10, [0024]);
a metal plate (42), which is set on said circuit board (40) and electrically connects said lead board (50) to a circuit in said circuit board (40, [0031]),
wherein said metal plate (42) is fixed to said circuit board (40) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 7, [0031]); and
a battery bracket (20) for supporting the one or more battery cells (10, [0021]),
wherein the lead board (50), the metal plate (42), and the circuit board (40) are fixed to said battery bracket (20) using a first fastener (FIG. 7, [0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Fukukawa discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said lead board (50) is laser welded to said metal plate (42, [0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Fukukawa discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said circuit board (40) comprises a notch (42) located at an edge (FIG. 6, [0041]), and
said metal plate (42) partially extends into said notch (42) of said circuit board (40) for laser welding with said lead board (50, [0042]).
Regarding claim 16, Fukukawa discloses a battery pack (100, [0019]), which comprises:
one or more battery cells (10, [0019]);
a circuit board (40, [0019]);
a lead board (50), which is connected to electrode terminals of the one or more battery cells (10, [0024]);
a metal plate (42), which is set on said circuit board (40) and electrically connects said lead board (50) to a circuit in said circuit board (40, [0031]),
a hot block (30), which is in thermal connected to the metal plate (42) to or the lead board (50, [0023]); and
a battery bracket (20) for supporting the one or more battery cells (10, [0021]),
wherein the lead board (50), the metal plate (42), the hot block (30), and the circuit board (40) are fixed to the battery bracket (20) using a first fastener (FIG. 2, [0020]).
Regarding claim 17, Fukukawa discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said hot block (30) is thermally connected to the metal plate (42) or the lead board (50) on an output circuit of the battery pack (10, [0023]).
Regarding claim 18, Fukukawa discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein a plurality of surfaces of said hot block (30) are thermally connected to said metal plate (42) or lead board (50, [0023]).
Regarding claim 20, Fukukawa discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (42), said hot block (30), and said circuit board (40) are fixed together using fasteners (FIG. 2, [0020]).
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dawley (US 2020/0275555 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dawley discloses a battery pack (10, [0029]), which comprises:
one or more battery cells (24, [0034]);
a circuit board (16), which is located inside a housing (29) of said battery pack (10, [0034]);
a lead board (30), which is connected to electrode terminals (26) of the one or more battery cells (24, [0045]);
a metal plate (22), which is set on said circuit board (16) and electrically connects said lead board (30) to a circuit in said circuit board (16, [0053]),
wherein said metal plate (22) is fixed to said circuit board (16) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 3A, [0053]); and
a battery bracket (28) for supporting the one or plurality of battery cells (24, [0043]),
wherein the lead board (30), the metal plate (22), and the circuit board (16) are fixed to said battery bracket (28) using a first fastener (FIG. 3, [0071]).
Regarding claim 2, Dawley discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said lead board (30) is laser welded to said metal plate (22, [0034]).
Regarding claim 4, Dawley discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (22) is located on a lower surface of said circuit board (16) and partially extends beyond an edge of said circuit board (16) for laser welding with said lead board (30, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Dawley discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (22) is located on an upper surface of said circuit board (16, [0034]), and
said lead board (30) is laser welded to an upper surface of said metal plate (22, [0034]).
Claims 1, 8–14, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakakibara (US 2016/0006005 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sakakibara discloses a battery pack (10, [0064]), which comprises:
one or more battery cells (52, [0067]);
a circuit board (62, [0088]; 64, [0088]), which is located inside a housing (30) of said battery pack (10, [0071]);
a lead board (55), which is connected to electrode terminals of the one or more battery cells (52, [0089]);
a metal plate (62d, [0093]; 64d, [0093]), which is set on said circuit board (62, 64) and electrically connects said lead board (55) to a circuit in said circuit board (62, [0095]; 64, [0094]),
wherein said metal plate (62d; 64d) is fixed to said circuit board (62, 64) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 27, [0094]); and
a battery bracket (54) for supporting the one or more battery cells (52, [0077]),
wherein the lead board (55), the metal plate (62d, 64d), and the circuit board (62, 64) are fixed to the battery bracket (54) using a first fastener (63, [0094]).
Regarding claim 8, Sakakibara, discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and a battery pack, which further comprises:
a fuse (62p), which is connected to said metal plate (62d, 64d) or integrated with said metal plate (62d, [0097]; 64d, [0097]).
Regarding claim 9, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said fuse (62p) is located on a lower side of said circuit board (62, [0107]; 64, [0107]), and
said circuit board (62, 64) has an opening above said fuse (62p, [0093]).
Regarding claim 10, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, which further comprises:
a hot block (62y), which is in thermal contact with said metal plate (62d, 64d) to absorb heat from said lead board (55) and said metal plate (62d, [0097]; 64d, [0097]).
Regarding claim 11, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein a thermal conductive material (60) is arranged between said hot block (62y) and said metal plate (62d, [0097]; 64d, [0097]).
Regarding claim 12, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (62d, 64d) comprises a base (63), a lug (54n) extending from the base (63), and a bent portion (62d, 64d) extending from the base (63, [0093]),
wherein said base (63), said lug (54n), and said bent portion (62d, 64d) partially surround said hot block (62y, FIG. 30).
Regarding claim 13, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (62d, 64d), said hot block (62y), and said circuit board are fixed together using the first fastener (63, [0093]).
Regarding claim 14, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, which further comprises:
a thermal pad (54p), which is in thermal contact with said hot block (62y) and/or said metal plate (62d, 64d) to remove heat from said hot block (62y) and said metal plate (62d, [0093]; 64d, [0093]).
Regarding claim 16, Sakakibara discloses a battery pack (10, [0064]), which comprises:
one or more battery cells (52, [0067]);
a circuit board (62, [0088]; 64, [0088]);
a lead board (55), which is connected to electrode terminals of the one or more battery cells (52, [0089]);
a metal plate (62d, [0093]; 64d, [0093]), which is set on said circuit board (62, 64) and electrically connects said lead board (55) to a circuit in said circuit board (62, [0095]; 64, [0094]),
a hot block (62y), which is in thermal connected to the metal plate (62d, 64d) to or the lead board (55, [0097]); and
a battery bracket (54) for supporting the one or more battery cells (52, [0077]),
wherein the lead board (55), the metal plate (62d, 64d), the hot block (62y) and the circuit board (62, 64) are fixed to the battery bracket (54) using a first fastener (63, [0094]).
Regarding claim 18, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein a plurality of surfaces of said hot block (62y) are thermally connected to the metal plate (62d, 64d) or the lead board (55, [0097]).
Regarding claim 19, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (62d, 64d) comprises a base (63), a lug (54n) extending from the base (63), and a bent portion (62d, 64d) extending from the base (63, [0093]),
wherein said base (63), said lug (54n), and said bent portion (62d, 64d) partially surround said hot block (62y, FIG. 30).
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seol et al. (US 2019/0097190 A1, hereinafter Seol).
Regarding claim 1, Seol discloses a battery pack (FIG. 1, [0041]) which comprises:
one or more battery cells (110, [0041]);
a circuit board (130), which is located inside a housing (150) of said battery pack (FIG. 1, [0049]);
a lead board (141), which is connected to electrode terminals (111) of the one or more battery cells (110, [0053]);
a metal plate (130P), which is set on said circuit board (130) and electrically connects said lead board (141) to a circuit in said circuit board (16, [0060]),
wherein said metal plate (130P) is fixed to said circuit board (16) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 4, [0052]); and
a battery bracket (120) for supporting the one or more battery cells (110, [0044]),
wherein the lead board (141), the metal plate (130P), and the circuit board (130) are fixed to the battery bracket (120) using a first fastener (180, [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Seol discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said lead board (141) is laser welded to said metal plate (130P, [0064]).
Regarding claim 5, Seol discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said circuit board (130) comprises a notch (OP) located at an edge (FIG. 4, [0053]), and
said metal plate (130P) partially extends into said notch of said circuit board (130) for laser welding with said lead board (141, [0064]).
Regarding claim 6, Seol discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (130P) is located on an upper surface of said circuit board (130, [0051]), and
said lead board (141) is laser welded to an upper surface of said metal plate (130P, [0064]).
Regarding claim 8, Seol discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack, which further comprises:
a fuse (CF, [0056]; 141c, [0095]; 142c, [0095]), which is connected to said metal plate (130P) or integrated with said metal plate (130P; [0056], [0095]).
Regarding claim 9, Seol discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said fuse (CF; 141c; 142c) is located on a lower side of said circuit board (130; [0056], [0095]), and
said circuit board (130) has an opening (OP) above said fuse (CF, [0056]; 141c, [0095]; 142c, [0095]).
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2021/0194097 A1, hereinafter Yang).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a battery pack (200, [0055]), which comprises:
one or more battery cells (100, [0055]);
a circuit board (212), which is located inside a housing (240) of said battery pack (200, [0107]);
a lead board (230), which is connected to electrode terminals (111) of the one or more battery cells (100, [0069]);
a metal plate (213), which is set on said circuit board (212) and electrically connects said lead board (230) to a circuit in said circuit board (212, [0076]),
wherein said metal plate (213) is fixed to said circuit board (212) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 4, [0066]); and
a battery bracket (240) for supporting the one or more battery cells (100, [0100]),
wherein the lead board (230), the metal plate (213), and the circuit board (212) are fixed to the battery bracket (240) using a first fastener (252, [0102]).
Regarding claim 7, Yang discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a battery pack:
wherein said metal plate (213) is provided with one or more pins (213c1) that fit to corresponding one or more sockets (213h1) in said circuit board (212, [0067]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara (US 2016/0006005 A1) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Coakley et al. (US 2016/0073506 A1, hereinafter Coakley).
Regarding claim 15, Sakakibara discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a battery pack:
wherein said hot block is made of aluminium or copper.
Coakley discloses a battery pack (400) comprising a hot block (402) made of aluminum or copper (see aluminum, [0121]) to improve the thermal uniformity of the battery pack (see cooling systems, [0153]). Sakakibara and Coakley are analogous because they are directed to battery packs to. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the hot block of Sakakibara with aluminum or copper as taught by Coakley in order to improve the thermal uniformity of the battery pack.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 24 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue applicant for a patent is required to furnish a drawing of the invention where necessary for the understanding of the subject matter sought to be patented (P8/¶3). 37 C.F.R. 1.83 (a) states "[t]he drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims." Claims 1 and 16 recite "a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells;" claim 1 also recites "a housing;" claim 11 recites "a thermal conductive material;" and claim 14 recites "a thermal pad." The drawings do not show a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells, a housing, a thermal conductive material, or a thermal pad. As these features have been specified in the claims, the drawings are required to be shown in the drawings.
Applicants argue the drawings have shown a battery bracket in FIG. 5 (P8/¶4). Claims 1 and 16 recite "a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells." FIG. 5 does not show battery cells and does not illustrate the feature of a battery bracket supporting the one or more battery cells. Therefore, the drawings have not shown the feature of "a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells" specified in claims 1 and 16.
Applicants argue the specification provides sufficient written description such that drawings would not be necessary for "housing," "thermal conductive material," or "thermal pad" for compliance with 37 CFR 1.83(a) (P8/¶4). 37 C.F.R. 1.83 (a) states "[t]he drawing in a nonprovisional application must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims." Claim 1 recites "a housing;" claim 11 recites "a thermal conductive material;" and claim 14 recites "a thermal pad." The drawings do not show a housing, a thermal conductive material, or a thermal pad. As these features have been specified in the claims, the drawings are required to be shown in the drawings.
Applicants argue Dawley fails to disclose or suggest the alleged metal plate is fixed to anything using a first fastener (P11/¶2). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "fastener" is a device for fixing or holding in place (see fasten, New Oxford American Dictionary); and the plain meaning of the term "fixed" is fasten securely in a particular place or position. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms does not require all the elements of the limitation to be connected together with a single fastener that is into contact with all the elements. Dawley discloses a battery pack (10, [0029]), which comprises one or more battery cells (24, [0034]); a circuit board (16), which is located inside a housing (29) of said battery pack (10, [0034]); a lead board (30), which is connected to electrode terminals (26) of the one or more battery cells (24, [0045]); a metal plate (22), which is set on said circuit board (16) and electrically connects said lead board (30) to a circuit in said circuit board (16, [0053]), wherein said metal plate (22) is fixed to said circuit board (16) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 3A, [0053]); and a battery bracket (28) for supporting the one or plurality of battery cells (24, [0043]), wherein the lead board (30), the metal plate (22), and the circuit board (16) are fixed to said battery bracket (28) using a first fastener (FIG. 3, [0071]). Dawley discloses all the elements of the battery pack are securely held in place together using a screw (i.e., fixing using a fastener). Therefore Dawley discloses the metal plate is fixed to all the elements of the battery pack using a first fastener.
Applicants argue Dawley fails to disclose or suggest a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells, wherein the lead board, the metal plate, the hot block, and the circuit board are fixed to the battery bracket using a first fastener (P11/¶2). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "fastener" is a device for fixing or holding in place (see fasten, New Oxford American Dictionary); and the plain meaning of the term "fixed" is fasten securely in a particular place or position. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms does not require all the elements of the limitation to be connected together with a single fastener that is into contact with all the elements. Dawley discloses a battery pack (10, [0029]), which comprises one or more battery cells (24, [0034]); a circuit board (16), which is located inside a housing (29) of said battery pack (10, [0034]); a lead board (30), which is connected to electrode terminals (26) of the one or more battery cells (24, [0045]); a metal plate (22), which is set on said circuit board (16) and electrically connects said lead board (30) to a circuit in said circuit board (16, [0053]), wherein said metal plate (22) is fixed to said circuit board (16) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 3A, [0053]); and a battery bracket (28) for supporting the one or plurality of battery cells (24, [0043]), wherein the lead board (30), the metal plate (22), and the circuit board (16) are fixed to said battery bracket (28) using a first fastener (FIG. 3, [0071]). Dawley discloses all the elements of the battery pack are securely held in place together using a screw (i.e., fixing using a fastener). Therefore Dawley discloses a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells, wherein the lead board, the metal plate, the hot block, and the circuit board are fixed to the battery bracket using a first fastener.
Applicants argue Seol does not disclose or suggest that the alleged lead board, metal plate, and circuit board are fixed to a battery bracket using a fastener (P12/¶3). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "fastener" is a device for fixing or holding in place (see fasten, New Oxford American Dictionary); and the plain meaning of the term "fixed" is fasten securely in a particular place or position. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms does not require all the elements of the limitation to be connected together with a single fastener that is into contact with all the elements. Seol discloses a battery pack (FIG. 1, [0041]) which comprises one or more battery cells (110, [0041]); a circuit board (130), which is located inside a housing (150) of said battery pack (FIG. 1, [0049]); a lead board (141), which is connected to electrode terminals (111) of the one or more battery cells (110, [0053]); a metal plate (130P), which is set on said circuit board (130) and electrically connects said lead board (141) to a circuit in said circuit board (16, [0060]), wherein said metal plate (130P) is fixed to said circuit board (16) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 4, [0052]); and a battery bracket (120) for supporting the one or more battery cells (110, [0044]), wherein the lead board (141), the metal plate (130P), and the circuit board (130) are fixed to the battery bracket (120) using a first fastener (180, [0049]). Seol discloses all the elements of the battery pack are securely held in place together using an element that securely holds (i.e., fixing using a fastener). Therefore, Seol discloses the lead board, metal plate, and circuit board are fixed to a battery bracket using a fastener.
Applicants argue Seol does not disclose any battery bracket or fastener (P12/¶3). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "fastener" is a device for fixing or holding in place (see fasten, New Oxford American Dictionary); and the plain meaning of the term "fixed" is fasten securely in a particular place or position. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms does not require all the elements of the limitation to be connected together with a single fastener that is into contact with all the elements. Seol discloses a battery pack (FIG. 1, [0041]) which comprises one or more battery cells (110, [0041]); a circuit board (130), which is located inside a housing (150) of said battery pack (FIG. 1, [0049]); a lead board (141), which is connected to electrode terminals (111) of the one or more battery cells (110, [0053]); a metal plate (130P), which is set on said circuit board (130) and electrically connects said lead board (141) to a circuit in said circuit board (16, [0060]), wherein said metal plate (130P) is fixed to said circuit board (16) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 4, [0052]); and a battery bracket (120) for supporting the one or more battery cells (110, [0044]), wherein the lead board (141), the metal plate (130P), and the circuit board (130) are fixed to the battery bracket (120) using a first fastener (180, [0049]). Seol discloses all the elements of the battery pack are securely held in place together using an element that securely holds (i.e., fixing using a fastener). Therefore, Seol discloses a battery bracket and a fastener.
Applicants argue Yang fails to disclose or suggest that the alleged lead board, metal plate, and circuit board are fixed to a battery bracket using a fastener (P13/¶1). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "fastener" is a device for fixing or holding in place (see fasten, New Oxford American Dictionary); and the plain meaning of the term "fixed" is fasten securely in a particular place or position. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms does not require all the elements of the limitation to be connected together with a single fastener that is into contact with all the elements. Yang discloses a battery pack (200, [0055]), which comprises one or more battery cells (100, [0055]); a circuit board (212), which is located inside a housing (240) of said battery pack (200, [0107]); a lead board (230), which is connected to electrode terminals (111) of the one or more battery cells (100, [0069]); a metal plate (213), which is set on said circuit board (212) and electrically connects said lead board (230) to a circuit in said circuit board (212, [0076]), wherein said metal plate (213) is fixed to said circuit board (212) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 4, [0066]); and a battery bracket (240) for supporting the one or more battery cells (100, [0100]), wherein the lead board (230), the metal plate (213), and the circuit board (212) are fixed to the battery bracket (240) using a first fastener (252, [0102]). Yang discloses all the elements of the battery pack are securely held in place together using an element that securely holds (i.e., fixing using a fastener). Therefore, Yang discloses the lead board, metal plate, and circuit board are fixed to a battery bracket using a fastener.
Applicants argue Sakakibara fails to disclose or suggest that a lead board, a metal plate, and a circuit board are fixed to a battery bracket using a first fastener (P13/¶5). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "fastener" is a device for fixing or holding in place (see fasten, New Oxford American Dictionary); and the plain meaning of the term "fixed" is fasten securely in a particular place or position. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms does not require all the elements of the limitation to be connected together with a single fastener that is into contact with all the elements. Sakakibara discloses a battery pack (10, [0064]), which comprises one or more battery cells (52, [0067]); a circuit board (62, [0088]; 64, [0088]), which is located inside a housing (30) of said battery pack (10, [0071]); a lead board (55), which is connected to electrode terminals of the one or more battery cells (52, [0089]); a metal plate (62d, [0093]; 64d, [0093]), which is set on said circuit board (62, 64) and electrically connects said lead board (55) to a circuit in said circuit board (62, [0095]; 64, [0094]), wherein said metal plate (62d; 64d) is fixed to said circuit board (62, 64) using surface-mount technology (FIG. 27, [0094]); and a battery bracket (54) for supporting the one or more battery cells (52, [0077]), wherein the lead board (55), the metal plate (62d, 64d), and the circuit board (62, 64) are fixed to the battery bracket (54) using a first fastener (63, [0094]). Sakakibara discloses all the elements of the battery pack are securely held in place together using an element that securely holds (i.e., fixing using a fastener). Therefore, Sakakibara discloses a lead board, a metal plate, and a circuit board are fixed to a battery bracket using a first fastener.
Applicants argue Sakakibara fails to disclose or suggest a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells, wherein the lead board, the metal plate, the hot block, and the circuit board are fixed to the battery bracket using a first fastener (P14/¶1). The pending claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP § 2111. The plain meaning of the term "fastener" is a device for fixing or holding in place (see fasten, New Oxford American Dictionary); and the plain meaning of the term "fixed" is fasten securely in a particular place or position. The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim terms does not require all the elements of the limitation to be connected together with a single fastener that is into contact with all the elements. Sakakibara discloses a battery pack (10, [0064]), which comprises one or more battery cells (52, [0067]); a circuit board (62, [0088]; 64, [0088]); a lead board (55), which is connected to electrode terminals of the one or more battery cells (52, [0089]); a metal plate (62d, [0093]; 64d, [0093]), which is set on said circuit board (62, 64) and electrically connects said lead board (55) to a circuit in said circuit board (62, [0095]; 64, [0094]), a hot block (62y), which is in thermal connected to the metal plate (62d, 64d) to or the lead board (55, [0097]); and a battery bracket (54) for supporting the one or more battery cells (52, [0077]), wherein the lead board (55), the metal plate (62d, 64d), the hot block (62y) and the circuit board (62, 64) are fixed to the battery bracket (54) using a first fastener (63, [0094]). Sakakibara discloses all the elements of the battery pack are securely held in place together using an element that securely holds (i.e., fixing using a fastener). Therefore, Sakakibara discloses a battery bracket for supporting the one or more battery cells, wherein the lead board, the metal plate, the hot block, and the circuit board are fixed to the battery bracket using a first fastener.
Applicants argue Coakley fails to cure the above-mentioned deficiencies of Sakakibara (P14/¶4). Sakakibara is not deficient as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725