DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stump (2021/0000347) in view of Li et al (US 2019/0373471).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 19, Stump discloses a computing system, method, and instructions to facilitate continuously monitoring a patient having a wireless wearable device 500 while changing from a first monitoring hub to a second mobile monitoring hub, the computing system, method, and instructions comprising:
an in-room display device 537 configured to electronically monitor a patient, see paragraph [0142], the in-room display device including display indicia responsive to physiological data of the patient originating from a wearable device 140 on the patient, see paragraph [0196] and FIGS. 12A and 12B,
wherein the wearable device comprises a wireless wearable device (i.e. using Bluetooth, [0086]),
wherein the wireless wearable device includes wireless configuration data governing wireless transmission of said physiological data from the wearable device (i.e. using Bluetooth, [0086]);
one or more hardware computer processors 580 configured to execute computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to:
receive, via the in-room display device 575, a request to transfer wireless monitoring of the patient from the in-room display device to a mobile monitoring hub 502, the request comprising identification data associated with a user requesting to transfer the wireless monitoring, see paragraphs [0133] and [0142].
Stump does not disclose determining whether the user has permission to transfer the wireless monitoring based on at least the identification data.
Li teaches determining whether the user has permission to transfer the wireless monitoring based on at least the identification data, see paragraphs [0009], [0026] and [0039].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine an entitlement server, as taught by Li with the RFID Data module 543 in Stump to determine whether the user has permission to transfer the wireless monitoring based on at least the identification data because the entitlement server provides an increased level of security for sensitive transactions without additional user input.
The combination of the entitlement server as taught by Li with the RFID Data module 543 in Stump renders the system responsive to determining that the user has permission to transfer the wireless monitoring:
access said wireless configuration data associated with the wireless wearable device on the patient, said wireless configuration data received from the in-room display device 537; and
wirelessly transmit said wireless configuration data associated with the wireless wearable device on the patient to the mobile monitoring hub 502 to cause the mobile monitoring hub 502 to establish a wireless communication between the mobile monitoring hub and the wearable device 500.
Regarding claims 2, 13, and 20, Li teaches using the entitlement server 130 for processing a swap account request, see paragraph [0041]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the one or more hardware computer processors to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to:
receive, via the mobile monitoring hub, second identification data; and
determine an approval status of the request to transfer the wireless monitoring based on at least comparing the identification data with the second identification data because the second identification data has a similar process as that to effect the account swap in Li.
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Stump discloses the one or more hardware computer processors is configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to receive said identification data via the in-room display device via radio frequency identification (RFID) 136.
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Stump discloses RFID subsystem 136 broadcasts its unique identification string for registration purposes with a mobile communication and display device, the one or more hardware computer processors is configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to receive said request to transfer wireless monitoring comprising said identification data via a non-contact user input via the in-room display device 537, see paragraphs [0133] and [0142].
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 16, Stump teaches a subject biometric can be used to register and assign monitoring devices, see paragraph [0036], and Li teaches a profile can be identified by a unique number, see paragraph [0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the identification data as a serial number, or a biological marker because these represent equivalent identifiable marks for the equivalent purpose of creating unique marks.
Regarding claim 7, Stump teaches: received electronic signals include respective location data for a subject, program code executable by the processor will determine a distance between the respective subject and the user of the mobile communication and display device, and generate respective machine readable values indicative of location for the respective subject using the received electronic signals at block 834, see paragraph [0173].
One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to configure the one or more hardware computer processors to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to:
determine a proximity of the wearable device to the mobile monitoring hub based on at least determining a signal strength associated with the wearable device; and
establish said wireless communication between the mobile monitoring hub and the wearable device based on at least determining that the wearable device is within a threshold proximity of the mobile monitoring hub because too great of a distance between the respective subject and the user of the mobile communication and display device would render the system inoperative due to wireless communication network not working.
Regarding claim 8, Stump discloses the one or more hardware computer processors is configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to, responsive to determining that the user has permission to transfer the wireless monitoring:
wirelessly transmit historical physiological data to the mobile monitoring hub, the historical physiological data previously collected by the wearable device and communicated to the in-room display device from the wearable device, see paragraph [0117].
Regarding claim 9, Stump discloses the wireless configuration data comprises a device address associated with the wearable device and one or more link keys associated with establishing wireless communication with the wearable device, see paragraph [0142].
Regarding claim 10, Stump discloses the one or more hardware computer processors is configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to, responsive to an indication that the mobile monitoring hub is in a transfer mode, terminate a wireless communication connection between the in-room display device and the wearable device, see paragraph [0142].
Regarding claim 11, Stump discloses the one or more hardware computer processors is configured to execute the computer executable instructions to cause the computing system to receive said wireless configuration data from the in-room display device, see paragraphs [0117], [0139] and [0141].
Regarding claim 17, Stump discloses monitoring the patient with the wearable device comprises monitoring the patient with a watch, see paragraph [0131].
Regarding claim 18, Stump discloses monitoring the patient with the wearable device comprises monitoring the patient with a wearable hub in communication with one or more of an ECG sensor, SpO2 sensor, a blood pressure sensor, see paragraphs [0056] and [0064].
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached on regular business days.
/George Manuel/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit: 3792
1/10/2026