DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In response to the restriction requirement dated 17 February, 2026, Applicant elects, without
traverse: Group I, claims 1-20 for examination. In response to a species election, Applicant elects , without traverse, the compound MBX 1416 as disclosed in Fig. 7. Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 15 and 20 read on the elected species. Applicant’s election in the reply filed on 16 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 15 and 20 are hereby examined on the merits. Claims 5, 6, 10, 12-14, 16-19 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
This application filed 08/03/2023 claims priority from Provisional Application 63395783 , filed 08/05/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/20/2024, 08/22/2025 and 01/21/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over James T. Patterson et al., hereinafter Patterson (James T. Patterson et al., A Novel Human-Based Receptor Antagonist of Sustained Action Reveals Body Weight Control by Endogenous GLP-1, ACS Chem. Biol. 2011, 6, 135-145; published October 2010; reference provided in IDS) in view of Defelippis et al., hereinafter Defelippis (Defilippis et al., WO 03/020201A2; published 13 March 2003) as evidenced by Jesper Mikkelsen et al., hereinafter Jesper (Jesper Mikkelsen et al., Selective N‑Terminal Acylation of Peptides and Proteins with Tunable Phenol Esters, Bioconjugate Chem. 2022, 33, 625−633); published 23 March 2022).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
For prior art purpose, the Examiner interprets “comprising the amino acid sequence of” in claim 1, as any sequence comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 97, as elected by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Patterson teaches GLP-1/Ex-4 hybrid peptides, to generate a pure GLP-1 based antagonist (see Abstract in the main article) comprising the sequence of DVSSYLEEQAVREFIAWLVKGGPSSGAPPPS-NH2 (peptide 28; Jant-4 (9-39)a) (see Supplementary information, page 5, Table 1). The sequence in Patterson, differs from the instant sequence SEQ ID NO: 97, at the underlined residue. As noted, in Table 1 of the main article, Patterson teaches that Jant-4(9-39)a has an IC50 (antagonism) of 70±10 nM and is superior to the well-established antagonist peptide 4 in Table 1 (page 138, first paragraph). Patterson teaches that Jant-4 antagonists acylated with palmitic acid is synthesized with the objective of extending serum half-life by binding to albumin. Patterson teaches that acylation of Jant-4 (9-40)a at Lys40 improves potency by approximately 3-fold. Notably, Patterson teaches that C8, C14 and C18 fatty acids (i.e. C18 diacid as recited in the claim) show similar improvements in potency (page 138, first paragraph, last two lines). Patterson teaches that acylated Jant-4, (peptide 28) has a 10-fold preferential activity at the GLP-1 receptor, demonstrating that the fatty acid increases inherent potency but lessens selectivity (page 139, last few lines of first paragraph).
Patterson does not teach that the C18 diacid is covalently linked to the N-terminal alpha amine. Patterson does not teach substituting position 34 with arginine. Position 34 is underlined in the sequence of Patterson, as set forth above.
Defilippis teaches GLP-1/Extendin-4 peptide analogs (see page 17, last paragraph). A preferred group of GLP-1 analogs represented in Formula III (SEQ ID NO: 3) is a 100 % match to SEQ ID NO: 97 in the instant application. Defilippis teaches, that Xaa at position 34 is Lys or Arg or Glu or Asp or Asn or His (page 20, line 10). Defilippis teaches a preferred group of Glp-1 analogs wherein the amino-terminal end of the peptides is alternated with the C-terminal ends (see pages 20-22 for a list).
Consequently, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Patterson, of a potent acylated GLP-1 receptor antagonist with the teachings of Defilippis, and alternate the -N and -C terminal ends of the peptide, substitute the ‘K’ with ‘R’ as suggested in Defilippis and modify Nα with fatty acid side chains as evidenced by Jesper (see Abstract).
Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re
Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (discussing rationale underlying the
motivation-suggestion-teaching test as a guard against using hindsight in an obviousness analysis).
One motivated to do so would have a reasonable expectation of success, as all references are directed to GLP-1 peptide analogs. Patterson teaches that acylated Jant-4, (peptide 28) has a 10-fold preferential activity at the GLP-1 receptor, demonstrating that the fatty acid increases inherent potency. Therefore, one would have recognized that applying the teachings in Patterson with the teachings in Defilippis, would yield predictable results, as Defillippis discloses that a conservative substitution is a replacement of an amino acid with another that has the same net electronic charge and approximately the same size and shape (see page 16, first paragraph). (See MPEP § 2143 I(A)(B)).
Regarding claims 2-4, 7-9, 11, 15 the claim limitations, as elected by the Applicant, are met by the obviousness rationale set forth above.
Regarding claim 20, Defilippis teaches pharmaceutically acceptable buffer (page 3, line 23; page 8, line 6).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11, 15 and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 34 of copending Application No. 18264157 (reference application) in view of Defilippis et al., WO 03/020201A2; published 13 March 2003. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-4, 7-9, 11 and 15, reference application ‘157 teaches GLP-1 receptor antagonist comprising the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 97 which is identical to the sequence in the instant application and accompanying R10 and R20 modifications. The reference application ‘157 clearly anticipates the instant claims. The teachings of Defilippis, has been set forth above. It is noted that Defillippis teaches that a conservative substitution is a replacement of an amino acid with another that has the same net electronic charge and approximately the same size and shape (see SEQ ID NO: 3 in Defillippis).
Consequently, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of ‘157 with the teachings of Defillippis to generate the specific GLP-1 receptor antagonist (elected by the Applicant) in the instant claims (see page 16, first paragraph). (See MPEP § 2143 I(A)(B)).
Regarding claim 20, reference application ‘157 teaches pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent or excipient (see claim 34).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Correspondence
/ARCHANA VARADARAJ/ Examiner, Art Unit 1658
/Melissa L Fisher/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658