DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an application filed on 8/3/23 in which claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Offino et al. (WO 2023/200660 A1), herein Offino.
As to claim 1, Offino teaches an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) associated with a non-AP MLD in a wireless network, the AP MLD comprising (Offino Fig. 13):
at least two APs, affiliated with the AP MLD; and a processor coupled to the at least two APs, the processor configured to (Offino Fig. 13):
establish a first broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) schedule on a first link between a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD and a first station (STA) affiliated with the non-AP MLD (Offino Fig. 13 and [0143] STA MLD transmitting a TWT setup request frame to AP MLD);
transmit a TWT link replacement information to the non-AP MLD via at least one link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD, the TWT link replacement information indicating that the first broadcast TWT schedule on the first link is replaced by a second broadcast TWT schedule on a second link between a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD and a second STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD (ii) a time for link replacement (Offino [0147] AP MLD may transmit on a second link configured to reschedule r-TWT, the frame may include a b-TWT identifier, a link ID a target wakeup time and a nominla minimal wake duration (configured to reschedule (a time for link replace)));
receive a link replacement acknowledgement from the non-AP MLD via a link between the AP MLD and the non-AP MLD (Offino [0154] STA MLD may acknowledge frame 1302 and the rescheduling by transmitting an ACK frame); and
move the first broadcast TWT schedule on the first link to the second broadcast TWT schedule on the second link at the time indicated in the TWT link replacement information (Offino [0155] [0155] Subsequently AP MLD 1202 may transmit a trigger frame 1308 on second link 1212 after the start of r-TWT SP 1306. Trigger frame 1308 triggers STA MLD 1206 to transmit a data frame 1310 containing traffic associated with the first r-TWT. AP MLD 1202 may acknowledge data frame 1310 by transmitting a BA frame 1312 to STA MLD 1206 on second link 1212. AP MLD 1202 may then transmit a data frame 1314 to STA MLD 1206 containing traffic associated with the first r-TWT. STA MLD 1206 may acknowledge data frame 1314 by transmitting a BA frame 1316 on second link 1212 to AP MLD 1202)
As to claim 11, Offino teaches a non-access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) associated with an AP MLD in a wireless network, the non-AP MLD comprising: at least two stations (STAs), affiliated with the non-AP MLD; and a processor coupled to the at least two STAs, the processor configured to (Offino Fig. 13):
establish a membership of a first broadcast Target Wake Time (TWT) schedule on a first link between a first STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a first AP affiliated with the AP MLD MLD (Offino Fig. 13 and [0143] STA MLD transmitting a TWT setup request frame to AP MLD);
receive a TWT link replacement information from the AP MLD via at least one link between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD, the TWT link replacement information indicating that the first broadcast TWT schedule on the first link is replaced by a second broadcast TWT schedule on a second link between a second STA affiliated with the non-AP MLD and a second AP affiliated with the AP MLD and (ii) a time for link replacement (Offino [0147] AP MLD may transmit on a second link configured to reschedule r-TWT, the frame may include a b-TWT identifier, a link ID a target wakeup time and a nominal minimal wake duration)
; and
in response to receiving the TWT link replacement information, transmit a link replacement acknowledgement to the AP MLD via a link between the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD (Offino [0154] STA MLD may acknowledge frame 1302 and the rescheduling by transmitting an ACK frame);
wherein the first broadcast TWT schedule on the first link is moved to the second broadcast TWT schedule on the second link at the time indicated in the TWT link replacement information (Offino [0155] Subsequently, ( AP MLD 1202 may transmit a trigger frame 1308 on second link 1212 after the start of r-TWT SP 1306. Trigger frame 1308 triggers STA MLD 1206 to transmit a data frame 1310 containing traffic associated with the first r-TWT. AP MLD 1202 may acknowledge data frame 1310 by transmitting a BA frame 1312 to STA MLD 1206 on second link 1212. AP MLD 1202 may then transmit a data frame 1314 to STA MLD 1206 containing traffic associated with the first r-TWT. STA MLD 1206 may acknowledge data frame 1314 by transmitting a BA frame 1316 on second link 1212 to AP MLD 1202)
As to claim 2, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the TWT link replacement information is transmitted on the first link (Offino [0147] AP MLD may transmit on a second link configured to reschedule r-TWT, the frame may include a b-TWT identifier, a link ID a target wakeup time and a nominal minimal wake duration)
Claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
As to claim 3, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the first broadcast TWT schedule on the first link becomes unavailable and the second broadcast TWT schedule on the second link becomes available at the time indicated in the TWT link replacement information (Offino [0155] Subsequently (the time) AP MLD 1202 may transmit a trigger frame 1308 on second link 1212 after the start of r-TWT SP 1306. Trigger frame 1308 triggers STA MLD 1206 to transmit a data frame 1310 containing traffic associated with the first r-TWT. AP MLD 1202 may acknowledge data frame 1310 by transmitting a BA frame 1312 to STA MLD 1206 on second link 1212. AP MLD 1202 may then transmit a data frame 1314 to STA MLD 1206 containing traffic associated with the first r-TWT. STA MLD 1206 may acknowledge data frame 1314 by transmitting a BA frame 1316 on second link 1212 to AP MLD 1202)
Claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 4, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the TWT link replacement information is included in a beacon frame or a probe response frame (Offino [0161] In an embodiment, traffic associated with the first r-TWT may be transmitted on second link 1212 without explicitly re-scheduling r-TWT SP 1222 on second link 1212. In an embodiment, first link 1210 may be identified as a primary link and second link 1212 may be identified as a secondary link during the setup of the r-TWT on first link 1210. The information identifying first link 1210 as a primary link and second link 1212 as a secondary link for the setup r-TWT may be indicated in beacon frame 1402. When traffic associated with the setup r-TWT cannot be transmitted on first link 1210 (Le, the primary link}, AP MLD 1202 may schedule the traffic on second link 1212 (i.e., the secondary link})
Claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 5, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the link replacement acknowledgement includes information that is same as the TWT link replacement information transmitted by the AP MLD (Offino [0154] Returning to FIG. 13, STA MLD 1206 may acknowledge frame 1302 (and the re-scheduling of r-TWT SP 1222 on second link 1212) by transmitting an ACK frame 1304 on second link 1212, thereby confirming the re-scheduling of r- TWT SP 1222 as r-TWT SP 1306 on second link 1212)
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 5.
As to claim 6, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the TWT link replacement information includes an identifier of the first broadcast TWT schedule and an identifier of the second broadcast TWT schedule (Offino [0147] AP MLD may transmit on a second link configured to reschedule r-TWT, the frame may include a b-TWT identifier, a link ID a target wakeup time and a nominal minimal wake duration);
Claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 6.
As to claim 7, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the TWT link replacement information includes a minimum amount of time for which the second STA is expected to be awake for a period of TWT wake interval on the second link (Offino [0147] AP MLD may transmit on a second link configured to reschedule r-TWT, the frame may include a b-TWT identifier, a link ID a target wakeup time and a nominal minimal wake duration);
Claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
As to claim 8, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein the TWT link replacement information includes an identifier of the first link and an identifier of the second link (Offino [0147] AP MLD may transmit on a second link configured to reschedule r-TWT, the frame may include a b-TWT identifier, a link ID a target wakeup time and a nominal minimal wake duration);
Claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
As to claim 9, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 1, wherein: the first broadcast TWT schedule is a first restricted TWT (R-TWT) schedule and the second broadcast TWT schedule is a second R-TWT schedule, and one or more R-TWT traffic identifiers (TIDs) for the second R-TWT schedule on the second link are derived using intersection of a first set of TIDs and a second set of TIDs, wherein the first set of TIDs is one or more R-TWT TIDs of the first R-TWT schedule and the second set of TIDs is one or more TIDs that are mapped on the second link using TID-to-link mapping (Offino [0146] In an embodiment, second link 1212 may be an enabled link (i.¢., a link to which at least one TID is mapped in a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping between AP MLD 1202 and STA MLD 1206). In another embodiment, second link 1212 may be a link to which traffic associated with the first r-TWT (i.¢., at least one TID of the one or more TID(s) associated with the first r-TWT) is mapped in the TID-to-link mapping. In a further embodiment, second link 1212 may be a link to which the traffic associated with the first r-TWT, and sought to be re-scheduled onto second link 1212, is mapped in the TID-to-link mapping)
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 9.
As to claim 10, Offino teaches the AP MLD of claim 9, wherein TWT parameters of the second R-TWT schedule that are not included in the TWT link replacement information are same as TWT parameters of the first R-TWT schedule (Offino [0146] In an embodiment, second link 1212 may be an enabled link (i.¢., a link to which at least one TID is mapped in a traffic identifier (TID)-to-link mapping between AP MLD 1202 and STA MLD 1206). In another embodiment, second link 1212 may be a link to which traffic associated with the first r-TWT (i.¢., at least one TID of the one or more TID(s) associated with the first r-TWT) is mapped in the TID-to-link mapping. In a further embodiment, second link 1212 may be a link to which the traffic associated with the first r-TWT, and sought to be re-scheduled onto second link 1212, is mapped in the TID-to-link mapping)
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant amended the claims to recite (ii) at time for link replacement and at the time indicated in the TWT link replacement information. And the applicant claims Offino is slient as to this frame including any indication of a time for link replacement. The examiner respectfully disagrees. The frame as stated in (Offino [0147] AP MLD may transmit on a second link configured to reschedule r-TWT, the frame may include a b-TWT identifier, a link ID a target wakeup time and a nominal minimal wake duration) the frame is rescheduling and we know that [0155] Subsequently AP MLD 1202 may transmit a trigger frame 1308 on second link 1212 after the start of r-TWT SP 1306. Trigger frame 1308 triggers STA MLD 1206 to transmit a data frame 1310 containing traffic associated with the first r-TWT. The examiner is using the term subsequently and wake duration as “an indication of a time” essentially when the frame is sent this signals the time of replacement. To overcome this rejection the examiner recommends specifying time more clearly. For example, a time in milliseconds, or a counter or stating the time is contained in a time field of the frame.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467