DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 10-11, 19, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lucas, JR. et al. (US 2019/0052083) in view of Crane et al. (US 2013/0200691).
Regarding claims 2, 11, Lucas, Jr. discloses a method for frequency estimation in a power system (page 2, [0014, 0017]), the method comprising: detecting, utilizing a protective device (page 6, [0095, 0099]), a condition of the power system, the condition comprising one of anormal condition and a fault condition (page 26, [0286]); process to a voltage signal of the power system responsive to the normal condition being detected (page 27, [0293-0295]); and process to a current signal of the power system responsive to the fault condition being detected (page 26, [0286]). Claim 11, a memory having processor-readable instructions stored therein; and one or more processors configured to access the memory and execute the processor-readable instructions, which, when executed by the one or more processors configured the one or more processors to perform a method (fig. 2; fig. 2A).
Lucas, Jr. discloses all the limitations set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose applying a first estimation; and applying a second estimation.
However, Crane discloses applying a first estimation; and applying a second estimation (page 10, [0113]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was first filed to incorporate the features of Crane within the system of Lucas in order to indicate the power system stability thereby protecting the equipment of the system.
Regarding claims 10, 19, Lucas, JR. discloses wherein detecting the condition comprises one of: detecting the fault condition responsive to an electrical fault being detected in the power system; or detecting the normal condition responsive to the electrical fault not being detected (page 26, [0286]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-9, 12-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with all the limitations in the claims, the prior arts fail to teach or make obvious:
obtaining, utilizing the protective device, a plurality of voltage samples by sampling the voltage signal; and obtaining, utilizing one or more processors, an estimated normal frequency of the power system by: generating a first plurality of shifted voltage samples by multiplying an nth sample of the plurality of voltage samples by e-jwnom n; , where n € [0,N — 1], Nis a number of the plurality of voltage samples, and Wy om 1S a nominal angular frequency of the power system; generating a plurality of filtered voltage samples by filtering the first plurality of shifted voltage samples; generating a second plurality of shifted voltage samples by multiplying an n‘* sample of the plurality of filtered voltage samples by e~/@nom”; obtaining a root x, of a first polynomial defined by the following: N N 2im|V (n _ 5) hx — 2p4x? — (u: +Im lv (n _ 5)}) xX + fy + bo where: V(n) is an n™ sample of the second plurality of shifted voltage samples, u2 = ¼ (Im{V (n+N/2)} +Im{v (n-N/2) +2Im{Im {v (n )} + 2Im{V (n)}). and Im{V(.)} returns an imaginary part of V(.); and calculating the estimated normal frequency according to an operation defined by 2/NII cos-1 xt.
Claim 1 is allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In combination with all the limitations in the claims, the prior arts fail to teach or make obvious:
detecting, utilizing a protective device, a condition of the power system, the condition comprising one of anormal condition and a fault condition; applying a first estimation process to a voltage signal of the power system responsive to the normal condition being detected, applying the first estimation process comprising: obtaining, utilizing the protective device, a plurality of voltage samples by sampling the voltage signal: and obtaining, utilizing one or more processors, an estimated normal frequency of the power system by: generating a first plurality of shifted voltage samples by multiplying an n‘® sample of the plurality of voltage samples by e/@n0m”, where n € [0,N — 1], N is a number of the plurality of voltage samples, and a nominal angular frequency of the power system; generating a plurality of filtered voltage samples by filtering the first plurality of shifted voltage samples; generating a second plurality of shifted voltage samples by multiplying an n*h sample of the plurality of filtered voltage samples by e~/@n0m”; obtaining a root x, of a first polynomial defined by the following: 21m{V(n-N/2}x3-2U1x2-(U1=1m{v(n-N/2)})x+U1+U2 where: V(n) is an n“™ sample of the second plurality of shifted voltage samples by e--fwnomn obtaining a root x1 of a first polynomial defined by the following: u1 = ½(1m{1m(n+n/4)}+1m{v(n-N/4])
U2 = ¼(1m{V(n+n/2)}+1m{v(n-n/2)}+2Im{v(n)}) and Im{V(. )} returns an imaginary part of V(.); and calculating the estimated normal frequency according to an operation defined by cos“! Xp; and applying a second estimation process to a current signal of the power system responsive to the fault condition being detected, applying the second estimation process comprising: obtaining, utilizing the protective device, a plurality of current samples by sampling the current signal; and obtaining, utilizing the one or more processors, an estimated fault frequency of the power system by: generating a plurality of filtered current samples by filtering the plurality of current samples; obtaining a root y, of a second polynomial defined by the following: 21m {v(n-N/2)}x3-2U1x2-(U1+Im{v(n-N/2)})x+U1+U2) where: V(N) is an nth A, = 4(1(n+%)+1(n—-*)) — (1(n +4) +1(n—4)) — 61(n), N N 3N Ay =9(1(n+%)+1(n—4))—(1(n +2) +1(n- 3N/4)) — 161(n), and I(n) is an n™ sample of the plurality of filtered current samples; and calculating the estimated frequency according to an operation defined by 2/NIIcos-1yr.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang (US 6,519,537) discloses apparatus……..power system.
Derviskadic et al. (US 2020/0200806) discloses method……dynamic conditions.
Shrestha et al. (US 2014/0032138) discloses apparatus…….state plane.
Massoud et al. (US 2022/0239097) discloses virtual inertia….networks.
Green et al. (US 2024/0047982) discloses contactor damage and diagnostics.
Lim et al. (US 2014/0167669) discloses offset….driving system.
Goto et al. (US 2012/0148890) discloses battery system.
DP
November 6, 2025
/DANIEL PREVIL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685