DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 8/3/2023.
Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, 19-21 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer et al. (WO 2020/144624 A1); in view of Liu et al. (US 2023/0100135 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 29; Faxer discloses receiving, from a network node, a configuration that indicates a first measurement resource set and a second measurement resource set, wherein the first measurement resource set and the second measurement resource set each include one or more interference measurement resources (IMRs) (a wireless device receives one or more CLI-IMR measurement resource sets from a base station; each CLI-IMR measurement resource set includes one or more CLI-IMRs; see paragraph [0099] and Fig. 8); and transmitting, to the network node, a report that includes information related to the CLI level associated with each of the one or more IMRs included in the first measurement resource set and the second measurement resource set (the wireless device reports the CLI measurement(s) in accordance with the CLI-IMR aggregation configuration(s); for example, one report for one CLI-IMR measurement resource set; see paragraph [0099] and Fig. 8).
Faxer discloses a UE measures CLI based upon IMR measurement resource sets.
Faxer does not explicitly disclose measuring CLI associated with a downlink receive beam associated with a TRP.
Liu discloses measuring, for each IMR included in the first measurement resource set or the second measurement resource set, a cross-link interference (CLI) level associated with a downlink receive beam associated with one or more of a first transmission reception point (TRP) or a second TRP (in a multiple TRP transmission scenario, each measurement resource in the CLI measurement resource configuration may be indicated with one or more TRPs; the UE may perform CLI measurement towards every TRP according to the CLI measurement resource configuration and report the CLI measurement result for every TRP; see paragraph [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer and Liu to measure a CLI associated with a TRP for each measurement resource set to support multiple TRP transmission (see paragraph [0063] of Liu).
Specifically for claim 1; Faxer discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (UE 1400; see paragraph [0122] and Fig. 14), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (processors; see Fig. 14) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (memory; see Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 12; Faxer discloses wherein the report indicates the CLI level associated with each IMR according to a CLI metric (CLI-IMR resource sets are associated with CLI-RSSI report; see paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claims 19 and 30; Faxer discloses transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a configuration that indicates a first measurement resource set and a second measurement resource set, wherein the first measurement resource set and the second measurement resource set each include one or more interference measurement resources (IMRs) (a network node transmits one or more CLI-IMR measurement resource sets; each CLI-IMR measurement resource set includes one or more CLI-IMRs; see paragraph [0099] and Fig. 8).
Faxer discloses a UE measures CLI based upon IMR measurement resource sets.
Faxer does not explicitly disclose measuring CLI associated with a downlink receive beam associated with a TRP.
Liu discloses receiving, from the UE, a report that includes information related to a cross-link interference (CLI) level associated with each of the one or more IMRs included in the first measurement resource set and the second measurement resource set for a first transmission reception point (TRP) or a second TRP (in a multiple TRP transmission scenario, each measurement resource in the CLI measurement resource configuration may be indicated with one or more TRPs; the UE may perform CLI measurement towards every TRP according to the CLI measurement resource configuration and report the CLI measurement result for every TRP; see paragraph [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer and Liu to measure a CLI associated with a TRP for each measurement resource set to support multiple TRP transmission (see paragraph [0063] of Liu).
Specifically for claim 19; Faxer discloses a network node for wireless communication (processing node; see paragraph [0119] and Fig. 12), comprising: a processing system that includes one or more processors (processors; see Fig. 12) and one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors (memories; see Fig. 12).
Regarding claims 2 and 20; Faxer discloses a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
Faxer does not explicitly disclose each measurement resource set is used to measurement associated with a TRP.
Liu discloses wherein the first measurement resource set and the second measurement resource set to measure the CLI level associated with one or more downlink receive beams associated with the first TRP and a second IMR set to measure the CLI level associated with one or more downlink receive beams associated with the second TRP (in a multiple TRP transmission scenario, each measurement resource in the CLI measurement resource configuration may be indicated with one or more TRPs; the UE may perform CLI measurement towards every TRP according to the CLI measurement resource configuration and report the CLI measurement result for every TRP; see paragraph [0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer and Liu to measure a CLI associated with a TRP for each measurement resource set to support multiple TRP transmission (see paragraph [0063] of Liu).
Regarding claims 3 and 21; Faxer discloses a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
Faxer does not explicitly disclose measurement resource sets are associated with a same downlink receive beam associated with the first TRP and the second TRP.
Liu discloses wherein the first measurement resource set and the second measurement resource set each include at least one IMR set to measure the CLI level associated with a same downlink receive beam associated with the first TRP and the second TRP (measurement may be performed based on QCL assumptions and pertaining to one or more TRPs using one or more reception beams; beams may be considered to be QCLed; QCLed beams may be considered as the same beam or originating from the same transmitter or transmission source; see paragraphs [0007] and [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer and Liu to have measurement resource sets associated with a same downlink receive beam associated with the first TRP and the second TRP to support a feedback radio node for a radio access network (see paragraph [0007] of Liu).
Claims 4 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Liu; and in further view of Matsumura et al. (WO 2021/156953 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 22; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu do not explicitly disclose the first measurement is associated with the downlink receive beam on the first panel and second measurement is associated with the downlink receive beam on the second panel.
Matsumura discloses wherein the CLI level associated with the at least one IMR set includes a first CLI level associated with the downlink receive beam on a first panel and a second CLI level associated with the downlink receive beam on a second panel (the transceiver may use the first panel or the second panel to perform measurements; see paragraph [0265]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Matsumura to perform measurements associated with downlink receive beams on different panels to optimally utilize a panel specific report (see ABSTRACT of Matsumura).
Claims 5-6, 8, 10, 23-24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Liu; and in further view of Ye et al. (WO 2023/044697 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 23; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu do not explicitly disclose a set of CMRs is associated with a set of IMRs.
Ye discloses wherein the first measurement resource set includes a first set of channel measurement resources (CMRs) associated with a first set of IMRs, and wherein the second measurement resource set includes a second set of CMRs associated with a second set of IMRs (CMR set 1 is related to TRP1, IMR set 1 is configured for CMR set 1; CMR set 2 is related to TRP2, IMR set 2 is configured for CMR set 2; see paragraph [80]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Ye to associate a set of IMRs to a set of CMRs to support measurement for inter-beam interference (see paragraph [79] of Ye).
Regarding claims 6 and 24; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu do not explicitly disclose a set of CMRs is associated with a set of IMRs for a TRP.
Ye discloses wherein the first set of IMRs are associated with measuring the CLI level with respect to the first set of CMRs for the first TRP, and wherein the second set of IMRs are associated with measuring the CLI level with respect to the second set of CMRs for the second TRP (CMR set 1 is related to TRP1, IMR set 1 is configured for CMR set 1; CMR set 2 is related to TRP2, IMR set 2 is configured for CMR set 2; see paragraph [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Ye to associated a set of IMRs to a set of CMRs for a TRP to support measurement for inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 (see paragraph [79] of Ye).
Regarding claims 8 and 26; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu do not explicitly disclose a measurement resource set include equal quantities of CMRs and IMRs.
Ye discloses wherein one or more of the first measurement resource set or the second measurement resource set includes equal quantities of CMRs and IMRs (CMR set 1 and CMR set 2 each include 4 CMRs; IMR set1 and IMR set 2 each include 4 IMRs; see paragraph [80] and Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Ye to have a measurement resource set including equal quantities of CMRs and IMRs to support measurement for inter-beam interference for Tx beams associated with TRP1 and TRP2 (see paragraph [79] of Ye).
Regarding claim 10; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu do not explicitly disclose a measurement resource set includes a quantity of IMRs that exceeds a quantity of CMRs.
Ye discloses wherein one or more of the first measurement resource set or the second measurement resource set includes a quantity of IMRs that exceeds a quantity of CMRs (CMR set 1 include one CMR; and IMR set 1 include 4 IMRs; see paragraph [89] and Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Ye to have a measurement resource set including a quantity of IMRs that exceeds a quantity of CMRs to support measurement for inter-beam interference (see paragraph [79] of Ye).
Claims 7, 11, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Liu; and in further view of Yuk et al. (WO 2024/010566 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 25; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu does not explicitly disclose the set of IMRs is associated with one aggressor UE.
Yuk discloses wherein the first set of IMRs and the second set of IMRs are each associated with one or more aggressor UEs (the aggressor UE can be configured with one or more additional IMRs for CLI; see paragraph [0077]), one or more transmit beams associated with the one or more aggressor UEs, or one or more receive beams of the UE (no patent weight is given due to the claim language or).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Yuk to associate an aggressor UE to a set of IMRs to support UE-to-UE CLI measurement (see paragraph [0060] of Yuk).
Regarding claims 11 and 27; the combination of Faxer and Liu discloses a UE reports a CLI measurement report based on CLI-IMRs in a CLI-IMR set.
The combination of Faxer and Liu does not explicitly disclose the report the CLI associated with IMR according to a CSI metrics.
Yuk discloses wherein the report indicates the CLI level associated with each IMR according to one or more channel state information (CSI) metrics (the aggressor UE can be configured with a CSI reporting with one or more additional IMR for CLI; see paragraph [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Yuk to report the CLI associated with IMR according to a CSI metrics in order to support UE-to-UE CLI measurement (see paragraph [0060]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Liu; in view of Ye; and in further view of Zou et al. (WO 2024/103550 A1).
Regarding claim 9; the combination of Faxer, Liu and Ye disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer, Liu and Ye do not explicitly disclose a measurement resource set includes a quantity of CMRs that exceeds a quantity of IMRs.
Zou discloses wherein one or more of the first measurement resource set or the second measurement resource set includes a quantity of CMRs that exceeds a quantity of IMRs (in a CMR configuration, all CMRs is associated with one IMR; see paragraph [0056] and Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu, Ye and Zou to have a measurement resource set including a quantity of CMRs that exceeds a quantity of IMRs to support MIMO in new radio system (see paragraph [0003] of Zou).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Liu; and in further view of Kim et al. (EP 3567795 B1).
Regarding claim 13; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu do not explicitly disclose the report include a highest value of the CLI metrics.
Kim discloses wherein the report indicates, per each of the first TRP and the second TRP, one or more IMRs associated with highest values for the CLI metric (the report includes information on a highest value among the measured RSSI of CLI; see paragraph 4 of page 30) or one or more IMRs associated with lowest values for the CLI metric (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Kim to include a highest value of the CLI metrics in a report to improve communication performance of a flexible duplex wireless transmission scheme (see paragraph 10 of page 2 of Kim).
Regarding claim 14; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits measurement resources sets comprising IMR sets to measure CLI.
The combination of Faxer and Liu do not explicitly disclose the report include a highest value of the CLI metrics.
Kim discloses wherein the report indicates, among the first TRP and the second TRP, one or more IMRs associated with highest values for the CLI metric (the report includes information on a highest value among the measured RSSI of CLI; see paragraph 4 of page 30) or one or more IMRs associated with lowest values for the CLI metric (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Kim to include a highest value of the CLI metrics in a report to improve communication performance of a flexible duplex wireless transmission scheme (see paragraph 10 of page 2 of Kim).
Claims 15-18 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Faxer; in view of Liu; and in further view of Hindy et al. (WO 2022/070117 A1).
Regarding claims 15 and 28; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits a configuration of measurement resources to a UE.
The combination of Faxer and Liu does not explicitly disclose the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report.
Hindy discloses wherein the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report (an additional parameter that indicates multi-TRP measurements can be configured; see paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Hindy to have the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report in order to support one report setting for multiple hypotheses (see paragraph [0067] of Hindy).
Regarding claim 16; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits a configuration of measurement resources to a UE.
The combination of Faxer and Liu does not explicitly disclose the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report.
Hindy discloses wherein the multiple hypotheses include a metric measured with respect to a downlink receive beam associated with communicating with the first TRP in single TRP operation (hypothesis 1: a single-TRP transmission from a first TRP; see paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Hindy to have the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report in order to support one report setting for multiple hypotheses (see paragraph [0067] of Hindy).
Regarding claim 17; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits a configuration of measurement resources to a UE.
The combination of Faxer and Liu does not explicitly disclose the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report.
Hindy discloses wherein the multiple hypotheses include a metric measured with respect to a downlink receive beam associated with communicating with the second TRP in single TRP operation (hypothesis 2: a single-TRP transmission from a second TRP; see paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Hindy to have the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report in order to support one report setting for multiple hypotheses (see paragraph [0067] of Hindy).
Regarding claim 18; the combination of Faxer and Liu disclose a gNB transmits a configuration of measurement resources to a UE.
The combination of Faxer and Liu does not explicitly disclose the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report.
Hindy discloses wherein the multiple hypotheses include a CLI metric measured with respect to one or more downlink receive beams associated with communicating with the first TRP and the second TRP in multiple TRP operation (hypothesis 3: multi-TRP transmission from both TRPs; see paragraph [0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Faxer, Liu and Hindy to have the configuration indicates multiple hypotheses to be indicated in the report in order to support one report setting for multiple hypotheses (see paragraph [0067] of Hindy).
Conclusion
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415