DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wall gap (claims 7 and 18) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 7/1/2025 are as follows:
Claims 7, 11, and 18 are amended,
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 7, 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanigawa (Japanese Patent Publication JP2011080704A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Tanigawa discloses a heat exchanger (figs 1-3) comprising:
a heat exchanger matrix with a plurality of flow paths (of tubes 6) in a first direction (see annotated fig 1 below) wherein the plurality of flow paths are patterned to create a plurality of inputs to the plurality of flow paths on an input surface (surface of 32);
a header comprising:
a primary distribution header (55, 51, 52) that spans across the input surface in a second direction (see annotated fig 1 below);
a plurality of distribution header channels (31) that span across the input surface in a third direction (see annotated fig 1 below) perpendicular to the second direction wherein each distribution header channel in the plurality of distribution header channels is in fluid communication with the primary distribution header (fig 1); and
a plurality of feeder tubes (6) that fluidly couple the plurality of distribution header channels with the plurality of inputs such that there is a single feeder tube for each input (fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Tanigawa further discloses wherein the plurality of distribution header channels (31) comprises at least two layers stacked in the first direction (see annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding claim 5, Tanigawa further discloses where a first layer of distribution header channels (3) is offset in the second direction from a second layer of distribution header channels (see annotated fig 1 above).
Regarding claim 7, Tanigawa further discloses wherein a wall gap (see annotated fig 3below) spans an entire surface (see annotated fig 3 below) of the input surface and separates the input surface (surface of 32) from the header.
Regarding claim 9, Tanigawa further discloses wherein each distribution header channel (31) has more than one feeder tube (6) extending to the input surface (of 32) along a single plane in the second direction (see annotated fig 1 above).
Regarding claim 10, Tanigawa further discloses wherein each distribution header channel (31) spans more than one input along the second direction (see annotated fig 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Tanigawa further discloses wherein a cross-section of each distribution header channel is shaped like a “D” (see annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding claim 12, Tanigawa further discloses wherein a tubeplate (32) separates the input surface from the header and the tubeplate forms a flat side of the “D” shaped cross-section (fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 13, 15, 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa (Japanese Patent Publication JP2011080704A, previously cited) in view of Garimella (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2005/0006064).
Regarding claim 2, Tanigawa discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Tanigawa does not explicitly disclose wherein each distribution header channel tapers from an interface with the primary distribution header towards a distal end of the distribution header channel. Garimella, however, discloses a header for a heat exchanger (fig 7) wherein each distribution header channel (18) tapers from an interface with a primary distribution header (34) towards a distal end of the distribution header channel. Garimella teaches that this provides uniform flow distribution (¶0023). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tanigawa to have the channels tapered in order to provide uniform flow distribution and therefore enhance heat exchange efficiency.
Regarding claim 13, Tanigawa discloses a heat exchanger (figs 1-3) comprising:
a heat exchanger matrix with a plurality of flow paths (of 6) in a first direction (see annotated fig 1 below) wherein the plurality of flow paths are patterned to create a plurality of inputs to the plurality of flow paths on an input surface (surface of 32);
a header comprising:
a primary distribution header (51, 52, 55) that spans across the input surface in a second direction (see annotated fig 1 below);
a plurality of distribution header channels (31) that span across the input surface in a third direction (see annotated fig 1 below) perpendicular to the second direction and wherein each distribution header channel in the plurality of distribution header channels is in fluid communication with the primary distribution header; and
a plurality of feeder tubes (6) that fluidly couple the plurality of distribution header channels with the plurality of inputs such that there is a single feeder tube for each input.
However, Tanigawa does not explicitly disclose wherein each distribution header channel tapers from an interface with the primary distribution header towards a distal end of the distribution header channel. Garimella, however, discloses a header for a heat exchanger (fig 7) wherein each distribution header channel (18) tapers from an interface with a primary distribution header (34) towards a distal end of the distribution header channel. Garimella teaches that this provides uniform flow distribution (¶0023). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tanigawa to have the channels tapered in order to provide uniform flow distribution and therefore enhance heat exchange efficiency.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Tanigawa and Garimella discloses all previous claim limitations. Tanigawa further discloses wherein the plurality of distribution header channels comprises at least two layers stacked in the first direction (see annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Tanigawa and Garimella discloses all previous claim limitations. Tanigawa further discloses wherein a first layer of distribution header channels is offset in the second direction from a second layer of distribution header channels (see annotated fig 1 above).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tanigawa and Garimella discloses all previous claim limitations. Tanigawa further discloses wherein a wall gap (see annotated fig 3 below) spans an entire surface (see annotated fig 3 below) of the input surface and separates the input surface (surface of 32) from the header.
Regarding claim 20, Tanigawa discloses a heat exchanger comprising:
a heat exchanger matrix with a plurality of flow paths (of 6) in a first direction (see annotated fig 1 below) wherein the plurality of flow paths are patterned to create a plurality of inputs to the plurality of flow paths on an input surface (surface of 3);
a header comprising:
a primary distribution header (51, 52, 55) that spans across the input surface in a second direction (see annotated fig 2 below);
a plurality of distribution header channels (31) that span across the input surface in a third direction (see annotated fig1 below) perpendicular to the second direction and wherein each distribution header channel in the plurality of distribution header channels is in fluid communication with the primary distribution header and wherein the plurality of distribution header channels comprises at least two layers (see annotated fig 1 below) stacked in the first direction and wherein a first layer of distribution header channels is offset in the second direction from a second layer of distribution header channels (fig 1); and
a plurality of feeder tubes (6) that fluidly couple the plurality of distribution header channels with the plurality of inputs such that there is a single feeder tube for each input (fig 1).
However, Tanigawa does not explicitly disclose wherein each distribution header channel tapers from an interface with the primary distribution header towards a distal end of the distribution header channel. Garimella, however, discloses a header for a heat exchanger (fig 7) wherein each distribution header channel (18) tapers from an interface with a primary distribution header (34) towards a distal end of the distribution header channel. Garimella teaches that this provides uniform flow distribution (¶0023). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tanigawa to have the channels tapered in order to provide uniform flow distribution and therefore enhance heat exchange efficiency.
Claim(s) 3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Varvill et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/081562, “Varvill”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 3, Tanigawa discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Tanigawa does not explicitly disclose wherein the cross section of each distribution header channel is shaped in a teardrop. Varvill, however, discloses a header for a heat exchanger (figs 15 and 16) wherein the cross section of each distribution header channel (319) is shaped in a teardrop (fig 16). Varvill teaches that this reduces pressure loss of the surrounding fluid (¶0130). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tanigawa, as modified, to provide the tear drop shape of Varvill in order to reduce the pressure drop of the surrounding fluid (8), thereby increasing the efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tanigawa, Garimella, and Varvill discloses all previous claim limitations. Tanigawa, as modified, further discloses wherein a point of the teardrop (see annotated fig 16 below of Varvill) are all orientated in the second direction (see annotated fig 1 of Tanigawa above).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Anderson (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0291998, previously cited).
Regarding claim 6, Tanigawa discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Tanigawa does not explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of fins run in the second direction and a fin mechanically couples each feeder tube to a distribution header channel. Anderson, however, discloses a heat exchanger wherein a plurality of fins (55) run in the second direction (see annotated fig 3 below) and a fin mechanically couples each feeder tube (45) to a distribution header channel (35). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tanigawa to provide the fins of Anderson in order to enhance heat exchange efficiency of the device.
Claim(s) 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa and Garimella as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Varvill et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/081562, “Varvill”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tanigawa and Garimella discloses all previous claim limitations. However, they not explicitly disclose wherein the cross section of each distribution header channel is shaped in a teardrop. Varvill, however, discloses a header for a heat exchanger (figs 15 and 16) wherein the cross section of each distribution header channel (319) is shaped in a teardrop (fig 16). Varvill teaches that this reduces pressure loss of the surrounding fluid (¶0130). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tanigawa to provide the tear drop shape of Varvill in order to reduce the pressure drop of the surrounding fluid (8), thereby increasing the efficiency of the device.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Tanigawa, Garimella, and Varvill discloses all previous claim limitations. Tanigawa, as modified, further discloses wherein a point of the teardrop (see annotated fig 16 below of Varvill) are all orientated in the second direction (see annotated fig 1 of Tanigawa above).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanigawa and Garimella as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Anderson (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0291998, previously cited).
Regarding claim 17, Tanigawa discloses all previous claim limitations. However, Tanigawa does not explicitly disclose wherein a plurality of fins run in the second direction and a fin mechanically couples each feeder tube to a distribution header channel. Anderson, however, discloses a heat exchanger wherein a plurality of fins (55) run in the second direction (see annotated fig 3 below) and a fin mechanically couples each feeder tube (45) to a distribution header channel (35). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Tanigawa to provide the fins of Anderson in order to enhance heat exchange efficiency of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (page 6) that since the wall in the instance application is labeled as 23 and discussed in the paragraph [0039], the wall gap should not be objected to as not being shown. The Examiner respectfully disagrees; the wall gap is not the same element as the wall. If the wall gap is supported in the drawings, the drawings and specifications should be amended to provide a reference numeral.
Applicant argues (page 7) that the office action has the “plurality of flow paths” and “plurality of feeder tubes” as the same element 6 of Tanigawa. The Examiner respectfully disagrees; in the rejection the “plurality of flow paths” are the paths formed by tubes 6 and the “plurality of feeder tubes” are the tubes themselves.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763