DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgement is made of the amendment filed 02/23/2026 which amended claims 1, 8, 14, 19 and 22 and cancelled claim 7. Claims 1-6 and 8-26 are currently pending in the application for patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto (US 2019/0018311).
Regarding Claim 14, Yamamoto teaches a control method of a projection lens (Figure 13; Projection Optical System 300), comprising:
receiving a control signal by a switching assembly (Figure 13; Projection Optical System Driver 180), wherein the control signal includes a state signal and an adjustment signal, the state signal includes state information of the projection lens (see Paragraph [0146]; Figure 13; Projection Optical System 300), and the adjustment signal includes adjustment information of the projection lens (see Paragraph [0146]; wherein it is disclosed that the projection-optical-system driver 180 includes a zoom drive circuit for driving zoom lens 181, thereby changing the zoom position of system 300; a focus drive circuit for driving focus lens 182, thereby changing the focal position of system 300, and an iris diaphragm drive circuit for driving iris diaphragm 183, thereby changing the iris diaphragm position of system 300), the control signal is a first control signal or a second control signal (see Paragraph [0146]);
switching the switching assembly (Figure 13; Projection Optical System Driver 180) to a first state according to the state signal of the first control signal so that a lens element adjustment module (Figure 13; Paragraph [0146]; wherein the zoom drive circuit serves as the lens element adjustment module) adjusts a lens element group (Figure 13; Zoom Lens 181) of a lens body according to the adjustment signal of the first control signal (see Paragraph [0146]); and
switching the switching assembly (Figure 13; Projection Optical System Driver 180) to a second state according to the state signal of the second control signal so that an aperture adjustment module (Figure 13; wherein the iris diaphragm drive circuit serves as the aperture adjustment module) adjusts an aperture assembly (Figure 13; Iris Diaphragm 183) of the lens body according to the adjustment signal of the second control signal (see Paragraph [0146]).
Regarding Claim 15, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the switching assembly (Figure 13; Projection Optical System Driver 180) comprises a signal receiving unit (see Paragraph [0145]; wherein a signal receiving unit is an inherent property of the projection optical system driver 180 due to the fact that it is able to receive a signal from controller 100A to cause each unit of the projection optical system 300 to be adjusted), a control unit (see Paragraphs [0146]-[0147]; wherein the control unit and switching unit correspond to the zoom drive circuit, focus drive circuit and iris diaphragm drive circuit), and a switching unit (see Paragraphs [0146]-[0147]; wherein the control unit and switching unit correspond to the zoom drive circuit, focus drive circuit and iris diaphragm drive circuit), and the control method further comprises:
receiving the first control signal or the second control signal by the signal receiving unit (see Paragraph [0145]; wherein a signal receiving unit is an inherent property of the projection optical system driver 180 due to the fact that it is able to receive a signal from controller 100A to cause each unit of the projection optical system 300 to be adjusted);
controlling the switching unit to switch to the first state by the control unit according to the first control signal (see Paragraphs [0146]-[0147]; wherein it is disclosed that the zoom drive circuit drives zoom lens 181, thereby changing the zoom position of system 300; the focus drive circuit drives focus lens 182, thereby changing the focal position of system 300, and the iris diaphragm drive circuit drives iris diaphragm 183, thereby changing the iris diaphragm position of system 300); and
controlling the switching unit to switch to the second state by the control unit according to the second control signal (see Paragraphs [0146]-[0147]; wherein it is disclosed that the zoom drive circuit drives zoom lens 181, thereby changing the zoom position of system 300; the focus drive circuit drives focus lens 182, thereby changing the focal position of system 300, and the iris diaphragm drive circuit drives iris diaphragm 183, thereby changing the iris diaphragm position of system 300).
Regarding Claim 18, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the projection lens (Figure 13; Projection Optical System 300) further comprises a processor (Figure 13; Controller 100A), and the control method further comprises:
transmitting the control signal to the processor (Figure 13; Controller 100A) by the switching assembly (see Paragraph [0145]); and
controlling the lens element adjustment module (Figure 13; Paragraphs [0146]-[0147]; wherein the lens element adjustment module corresponds to the motor of the focus drive circuit for driving focus lens 182 and the motor of the zoom drive circuit for driving zoom lens 181) to adjust the lens element group (see Paragraphs [0146]-[0147]; wherein it is disclosed that the zoom drive circuit uses a motor for driving zoom lens 181, thereby changing the zoom position of system 300 and that the focus drive circuit uses a motor for driving focus lens 182, thereby changing the focal position of system 300) or controlling the aperture adjustment module (Figure 13; Paragraph [0146]; wherein the aperture adjustment module corresponds to the iris diaphragm drive circuit which is used to drive the iris diaphragm 183) to adjust the aperture assembly (Figure 13; Iris Diaphragm 183) by the processor (Figure 13; Controller 100A) according to the control signal (see Paragraph [0146]; wherein the aperture adjustment module corresponds to the iris diaphragm drive circuit which is used to drive the iris diaphragm 183).
Regarding Claim 19, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the projection lens (Figure 13; Projection Optical System 300) further comprises a processor (Figure 13; Controller 100A), and the control method further comprises:
the switching assembly (Figure 13; Projection Optical System Driver 180) receives the control signal from the processor (see Paragraph [0145]).
Regarding Claim 20, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Yamamoto further teaches the aperture adjustment module (Figure 13; Paragraph [0146]; wherein the aperture adjustment module corresponds to the iris diaphragm drive circuit which is used to drive the iris diaphragm 183) comprises a sensing element (see Paragraph [0156]), and the control method further comprises: sensing a position of the aperture assembly (Figure 13; Iris Diaphragm 183) by the sensing element (see Paragraph [0156]).
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2019/0018311) as applied to claim 15, in view of Waldron et al (US 10,310,284; hereinafter referred to as Waldron).
Regarding Claim 16, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 15 as detailed above.
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose that the signal receiving unit receives the control signal by wireless transmission.
Waldron discloses a signal receiving unit that receives a control signal by wireless transmission (see Column 17, Lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the control method of Yamamoto such that the signal receiving unit receives the control signal by wireless transmission, as taught by Waldron, because doing so would predictably provide greater flexibility in the use of the projection system.
Regarding Claim 17, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 15 as detailed above.
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose that the signal receiving unit receives the control signal from an Internet of things device.
Waldron discloses a signal receiving unit receives the control signal from an Internet of things device (see Column 17, Lines 32-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the control method of Yamamoto such that the signal receiving unit receives the control signal from an Internet of things device, as taught by Waldron, because doing so would predictably provide greater flexibility in the use of the projection system.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto (US 2019/0018311) as applied to claim 14, in view of Furihata et al (US 2017/0285450; hereinafter referred to as Furihata).
Regarding Claim 21, Yamamoto teaches the limitations of claim 14 as detailed above.
Yamamoto does not expressly disclose that the projection lens further comprises a display unit, and the control method further comprises: displaying whether the switching assembly is in the first state or in the second state by the display unit.
Furihata discloses a projection system (Figure 1; Projector 100) comprising a display unit (Figure 1; Display Panel 137), wherein the display unit (Figure 1; Display Panel 137) is configured to display whether the projection system (Figure 1; Projector 100) is in a first state or a second state (see Paragraph [0106]; wherein it is disclosed that the current power supply mode may be displayed on the display panel 137 in the form of letters). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the control method of Yamamoto to include a display unit, as taught by Furihata, wherein upon combination the projection lens would further comprises a display unit, and the control method would further comprise: displaying whether the switching assembly is in the first state or in the second state by the display unit, because doing so would allow for a user to visually identify the mode employed (see Furihata Paragraph [0106]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 22-26 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
Regarding Claim 1, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require the aperture adjustment module comprises an actuating element and a linkage mechanism, the actuating element is disposed on the lens body and coupled to the switching assembly, and the linkage mechanism is disposed on the lens body and connected between the actuating element and the aperture assembly.
These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 1 renders the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Dependent claims 2-6 and 8-13 are likewise allowable by virtue of their dependency upon allowable independent claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, the prior art of record, whether taken alone or in combination, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require the aperture adjustment module comprises an actuating element and a linkage mechanism, the actuating element is disposed on the lens body and coupled to the switching assembly, and the linkage mechanism is disposed on the lens body and connected between the actuating element and the aperture assembly.
These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 22 renders the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Dependent claims 23-26 are likewise allowable by virtue of their dependency upon allowable independent claim 22.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant alleges on page 12 of the arguments filed 02/23/2026 that the prior art of record, fails to teach, suggest or render obvious the limitations which require "the control signal includes a state signal and an adjustment signal" and "switching the state of the switching unit according to the state signal and adjust the lens element group or the aperture assembly according to the adjustment signal" defined in the amended claim 14 of the application.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the arguments presented by the applicant.
In response to argument A, the examiner maintains that Yamamoto does disclose the control signal includes a state signal and an adjustment signal, the state signal includes state information of the projection lens (see Paragraph [0146]; Figure 13; Projection Optical System 300), and the adjustment signal includes adjustment information of the projection lens (see Paragraph [0146]; wherein it is disclosed that the projection-optical-system driver 180 includes a zoom drive circuit for driving zoom lens 181, thereby changing the zoom position of system 300; a focus drive circuit for driving focus lens 182, thereby changing the focal position of system 300, and an iris diaphragm drive circuit for driving iris diaphragm 183, thereby changing the iris diaphragm position of system 300), the control signal is a first control signal or a second control signal (see Paragraph [0146]). Specifically, the system of Yamamoto relies upon a zoom drive circuit for driving the zoom lens 181 a focus drive circuit for driving focus lens 182 and an iris diaphragm drive circuit for driving iris diaphragm 183. These components inherently require signals be transmitted between said components and thereby realizes the claimed state signal and adjustment signal. All of the arguments presented by the applicant have been considered in their entirety, but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882