DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-8 (i.e. Group I) in the reply filed on 04/26/26 is acknowledged. Accordingly, non-elected Claims 9-18 (i.e. Group II) are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Interpretation
The instant Claims refer to a “micro-oxidizing atmosphere.” For purposes of examination, the term “micro-oxidizing atmosphere” will be interpreted in accordance with [0056] of the Specification as originally filed. Specifically, “micro-oxidizing atmosphere” will be interpreted to mean a protective atmosphere with a micro or low oxidizing power that is higher than the oxidizing power of an inert atmosphere but lower than or equal to the oxidizing power of an air atmosphere (the volume fraction of oxygen in air is presumed to be 21%).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the heat treatment." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (while it is noted that “heat-treating” is referenced in Claim 1, said phrase does not serve as antecedent basis for the term “the heat treatment”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Spahr et al. (US 2015/0079477).
Regarding Claim 1, Spahr teaches a surface-modified synthetic graphite (“modified graphite”), and a method of preparing said surface-modified graphite (“preparation method”) (Abstract). Spahr teaches that the method comprises steps of (1) providing low-area synthetic graphite (“providing a graphite substrate”), and (2) heat-treating, in a suitable furnace, said low-area synthetic graphite in an oxidizing atmosphere (“heat-treating the graphite substrate”) to obtain the surface-modified synthetic graphite ([0071]-[0075]). More specifically, Spahr teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere is air (wherein the volume fraction of oxygen in air is presumed to be 21%), carbon dioxide, ozone, or any combination of said gases (i.e. the oxidizing atmosphere is a “micro-oxidizing” atmosphere comprising, in all instances, a “reactive gas” which is one or more of “CO2, O2, and O3”) ([0071]-[0072]).
Regarding Claim 3, Spahr teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Spahr teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere is air (wherein the volume fraction of oxygen in air is presumed to be 21%). In said instance, the volume fraction of carbon dioxide is less than 100% (i.e. “V1” is “less than or equal to 100%”), the volume fraction of oxygen is 21% (i.e. “V2” is “less than or equal to 21%), and the volume fraction of ozone is 0% (i.e. “V3” is “less than or equal to 21%).
Alternatively, and as previously described (See Claim 1), Spahr teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere is carbon dioxide. In said instance, the volume fraction of carbon dioxide is 100% (i.e. “V1” is “less than or equal to 100%”), the volume fraction of oxygen is 0% (i.e. “V2” is “less than or equal to 21%), and the volume fraction of ozone is 0% (i.e. “V3” is “less than or equal to 21%).
Regarding Claim 4, Spahr teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3), in the instance where the oxidizing atmosphere is carbon dioxide, the volume fraction of oxygen is 0%, and the volume fraction of ozone is 0% (i.e. “V2+V3” is 0, and therefore, “≤ 20%”).
Regarding Claim 5, Spahr teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Spahr further teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere further comprises an inert carrier gas (“non-reactive gas”) such as nitrogen or argon ([0072]).
Regarding Claim 6, Spahr teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Spahr teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere is air (“air atmosphere”).
Alternatively, and as previously described (See Claim 1), Spahr teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere is any combination of air, carbon dioxide, and ozone. Accordingly, the oxidizing atmosphere is interpreted to be an “air atmosphere” under any instance where the oxidizing atmosphere includes air therein (i.e. the inclusion of air in the atmosphere renders the atmosphere, to at least some degree, an air atmosphere).
Regarding Claim 7, Spahr teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Spahr teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere is carbon dioxide (“CO2 atmosphere”).
Alternatively, and as previously described (See Claim 1), Spahr teaches that the oxidizing atmosphere is any combination of air, carbon dioxide, and ozone. Accordingly, the oxidizing atmosphere is interpreted to be a “CO2 atmosphere” under any instance where the oxidizing atmosphere includes carbon dioxide therein (i.e. the inclusion of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere renders the atmosphere, to at least some degree, a carbon dioxide atmosphere).
Regarding Claim 8, Spahr teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described, Spahr teaches a surface-modified synthetic graphite (“modified graphite”) prepared by the method.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (CN 111392723, using the provided machine translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Lin teaches a modified porous graphite (“modified graphite”), and a method of preparing said modified porous graphite (“preparation method”) (Abstract, [0009]). Lin teaches the method comprises steps of (1) providing raw graphite (“providing a graphite substrate”), and (2) heat-treating said raw graphite in a corrosive atmosphere (“heat-treating the graphite substrate”) to obtain the modified porous graphite ([0010]-[0012]). More specifically, Lin teaches that the corrosive atmosphere is air (wherein the volume fraction of oxygen in air is presumed to be 21%), carbon dioxide, or an oxygen-containing atmosphere (i.e. the corrosive atmosphere is a “micro-oxidizing” atmosphere comprising, in all instances, a “reactive gas” which is one or more of “CO2, O2, and O3”) ([0012], [0021]-[0022]).
Regarding Claim 2, Lin teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Lin teaches that the heat-treating is performed at a temperature ranging from 1000-1200°C ([0017]). Lin also teaches that the heat-treating lasts for a period ranging from 0.5-2 hours ([0018]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lin teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Lin teaches that the corrosive atmosphere is air (wherein the volume fraction of oxygen in air is presumed to be 21%). In said instance, the volume fraction of carbon dioxide is less than 100% (i.e. “V1” is “less than or equal to 100%”), the volume fraction of oxygen is 21% (i.e. “V2” is “less than or equal to 21%), and the volume fraction of ozone is 0% (i.e. “V3” is “less than or equal to 21%).
Alternatively, and as previously described (See Claim 1), Lin teaches that the corrosive atmosphere is carbon dioxide. In said instance, the volume fraction of carbon dioxide is 100% (i.e. “V1” is “less than or equal to 100%”), the volume fraction of oxygen is 0% (i.e. “V2” is “less than or equal to 21%), and the volume fraction of ozone is 0% (i.e. “V3” is “less than or equal to 21%).
Regarding Claim 4, Lin teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 3, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 3), in the instance where the corrosive atmosphere is carbon dioxide, the volume fraction of oxygen is 0%, and the volume fraction of ozone is 0% (i.e. “V2+V3” is 0, and therefore, “≤ 20%”).
Regarding Claim 5, Lin teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Lin teaches that the corrosive atmosphere is an oxygen-containing atmosphere. Lin teaches that said atmosphere further comprises an inert gas (“non-reactive gas”) ([0021]).
Regarding Claim 6, Lin teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Lin teaches that the corrosive atmosphere is air (“air atmosphere”).
Regarding Claim 7, Lin teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 1), Lin teaches that the corrosive atmosphere is carbon dioxide (“CO2 atmosphere”).
Regarding Claim 8, Lin teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
As previously described, Lin teaches a modified porous graphite (“modified graphite”) prepared by the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spahr et al. (US 2015/0079477).
Regarding Claim 2, Spahr teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Spahr teaches that the heat-treating is performed at a temperature ranging from about 500-1100°C ([0071]). Spahr also teaches that the heat-treating lasts for a period ranging from 2 minutes to 0.5 hours ([0074]). It is noted that in the case where the claimed range(s) “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (See MPEP 2144.05 (I)).
Conclusion
The following reference(s) is/are deemed relevant to the instant Claims, but is/are not currently relied upon in a prior art rejection:
Ikeda et al. (JP2006164570, provided by Applicant in the 08/04/23 IDS) discloses, as compared to that of the instant Claims, a substantially similar method of preparing a modified graphite material including heat-treating said graphite material in a “micro-oxidizing atmosphere” comprising oxygen therein (e.g. an air atmosphere).
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728