DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on January 31, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 10 and 11 have been amended. Claims 9 and 15 have been cancelled. Claims 16-19 have been newly added. Claims 1-8, 10-14 and 16-19 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 10-12, 14 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutcher et al. (Cutcher; US Patent No. 10,388,132 B2) in view of Merchant (US Pub No. 2023/0186670 A1).
As per claim 1, Cutcher teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
tracking, using an least one processor, a pursuer object and a pursued object (col. 7, lines 47-65; col. 8, line 55), wherein the pursuer object is engaged in movement consistent with potentially entering a Field Of View (FOV) of at least one fixed-location camera at a future point in time (Fig. 4 & 5, Patrol Object 104, Field of View 112, Camera 120);
using analytics on first video or image data (col. 5, lines 25-28: suspect located in area to be searched by patrol).
Cutcher does not expressly teach using analytics on first video or image data corresponding to at least the pursuer object to determine a plurality of pursuit-context details;
matching, using the at least one processor, of the pursuit-context details to [[a]] effect selection specific behavior-targeted analytic from a plurality of object behavior-targeted analytics;
after the selection of the specific behavior-targeted analytic specific behavior-targeted analytic[[s]] to act on second video or image data captured by the at least one fixed-location camera in generating information relevant to a potential pursuer confrontation
making the generated information electronically accessible to a mobile electronic device prior to the potential pursuer confrontation
wherein the analytics is further used to determine, based on a change in a behavior of the pursued object, an increase in a threat level to the pursuer object.
Merchant teaches using analytics on first video or image data corresponding to at least the pursuer object to determine a plurality of pursuit-context details (paragraph [0016], lines 8-15: location, environment; paragraph [0020], lines 48-49: length of time);
matching, using the at least one processor, of the pursuit-context details to [[a]] effect selection specific behavior-targeted analytic from a plurality of object behavior-targeted analytics (paragraph [0021], lines 21-51: once a change in a field of view has been detected monitoring a specific threat);
after the selection of the specific behavior-targeted analytic specific behavior-targeted analytic[[s]] to act on second video or image data captured by the at least one fixed-location camera in generating information relevant to a potential pursuer confrontation (paragraph [0044]); and
making the generated information electronically accessible to a mobile electronic device prior to the potential pursuer confrontation (paragraph [0015])
wherein the analytics is further used to determine, based on a change in a behavior of the pursued object, an increase in a threat level to the pursuer object (paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the threat detection as taught by Merchant, since Merchant state in paragraph [0015] that such a modification would result in notifying law enforcement of a situation which requires police attention.
As per claim 2, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein the pursuer object is a police officer (Cutcher, col. 5, lines 4-5) and the pursued object is a suspected perpetrator of an offence (Cutcher, col. 2, lines 5-6).
As per claim 3, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 further comprising automatically generating an audibly or visibly perceivable alert on the mobile electronic device (Cutcher, col. 8, lines 12-15).
As per claim 4, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3 wherein the generating of the audibly or visibly perceivable alert (Cutcher, col. 8, lines 12-15) is in response to detecting that a following distance (Cutcher, col. 7, lines 7-8: patrol enters a location, therefore, the patrol is following behind the suspect), determined based on a geographic-following separation of the pursued object relative to the pursuer object, has dropped below an alert-triggering threshold (Cutcher, col. 2, lines 14-36; col. 7, lines 47-65).
As per claim 5, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 3 wherein the generating of the audibly or visibly perceivable alert (Cutcher, col. 8, lines 12-15) is in response to detecting that an approaching distance (Cutcher, col. 1, lines 64-65: approaching), determined based on a geographic-approaching separation of the pursuer object relative to the pursued object, has dropped below an alert-triggering threshold (Cutcher, col. 2, lines 14-36; col. 7, lines 47-65).
As per claim 8, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein:
the first video or image data corresponds to both the pursued object and the pursuer object (Merchant, paragraph [0015]), and
the analytics is further used to determine a change in mobility potential of the pursued object (Cutcher, col. 7, lines 47-65: suspect concealing themself).
As per claim 10, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim [[9]] 1 further comprising automatically generating, on the mobile electronic device, an audibly or visibly perceivable alert corresponding to the (Cutcher, col. 8, lines 4-15: difference in images indicating the suspect is concealing themself).
As per claim 11, Cutcher teaches a system comprising:
at least one processor (col. 4, line 41);
at least one fixed-location camera configured to capture video or image data (Fig. 1, Camera 102); and
at least one electronic storage medium storing program instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the at least one processor to perform (col. 4, lines 41-56):
tracking a pursuer object and a pursued object (col. 7, lines 47-65; col. 8, line 55), wherein the pursuer object is engaged in movement consistent with potentially entering a Field Of View (FOV) of the at least one fixed-location camera at a future point in time (Fig. 4 & 5, Patrol Object 104, Field of View 112, Camera 120);
analyzing additional video or image data (col. 5, lines 25-28: suspect located in area to be searched by patrol).
Cutcher does not expressly teach analyzing additional video or image data corresponding to at least the pursuer object to determine a plurality of pursuit-context details;
matching of the pursuit-context details to [[a]] effect selection specific behavior-targeted analytic from a plurality of object behavior-targeted analytics;
after the selection of the specific behavior-targeted analytic specific behavior-targeted analytic[[s]] to act on second video or image data captured by the at least one fixed-location camera in generating information relevant to a potential pursuer confrontation
making the generated information electronically accessible to a mobile electronic device prior to the potential pursuer confrontation
wherein the analyzing further includes having analytics determine, based on a change in a behavior of the pursued object, an increase in a threat level to the pursuer object.
Merchant teaches analyzing additional video or image data corresponding to at least the pursuer object to determine a plurality of pursuit-context details (paragraph [0016], lines 8-15: location, environment; paragraph [0020], lines 48-49: length of time);
matching of the pursuit-context details to [[a]] effect selection specific behavior-targeted analytic from a plurality of object behavior-targeted analytics (paragraph [0021], lines 21-51: once a change in a field of view has been detected monitoring a specific threat);
after the selection of the specific behavior-targeted analytic specific behavior-targeted analytic[[s]] to act on second video or image data captured by the at least one fixed-location camera in generating information relevant to a potential pursuer confrontation (paragraph [0044]); and
making the generated information electronically accessible to a mobile electronic device prior to the potential pursuer confrontation (paragraph [0015])
wherein the analyzing further includes having analytics determine, based on a change in a behavior of the pursued object, an increase in a threat level to the pursuer object (paragraph [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the threat detection as taught by Merchant, since Merchant state in paragraph [0015] that such a modification would result in notifying law enforcement of a situation which requires police attention.
As per claim 12, (see rejection of claim 2 above) the system of claim 11 wherein the pursuer object is a police officer and the pursued object is a suspected perpetrator of an offence.
As per claim 14, (see rejection of claim 8 above) the system of claim 11 wherein:
the additional video or image data corresponds to both the pursued object and the pursuer object, and
the at least one processor is further caused to perform determining a change in mobility potential of the pursued object.
As per claim 16, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein the specific behavior-targeted analytic is ambush detection, and the change in the behavior of the pursued object is consistent with a potential ambush (Cutcher, col. 7, lines 47-65: suspect concealing themself).
As per claim 17, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 16 further comprising automatically generating an audibly or visibly perceivable ambush alert on the mobile electronic device (Cutcher, col. 8, lines 28-40).
As per claim 18, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the system of claim 11 wherein the specific behavior-targeted analytic is ambush detection, and the change in the behavior of the pursued object is consistent with a potential ambush (Cutcher, col. 7, lines 47-65: suspect concealing themself).
As per claim 19, Cutcher in view of Merchant further teaches the system of claim 18 wherein the at least one processor is further caused to perform generating an audibly or visibly perceivable ambush alert on the mobile electronic device (Cutcher, col. 8, lines 28-40).
Claim(s) 6, 7 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cutcher in view of Merchant as applied above, and further in view of Soo et al. (Soo; US Patent No. 11,417,105 B1).
As per claim 6, Cutcher in view of Merchant teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1.
Cutcher in view of Araya does not expressly teach wherein:
the first video or image data is video data captured from another fixed-location camera, and
the analytics is configured to generate a notification of the pursuer object leaving an FOV of the another fixed-location camera when the pursuer object moves into a defined exit region of the FOV of the another fixed-location camera.
Soo teaches wherein:
the first video or image data is video data captured from another fixed-location camera (col. 3, line 32: multiple cameras), and
the analytics is configured to generate a notification of the pursuer object leaving an FOV of the another fixed-location camera when the pursuer object moves into a defined exit region of the FOV of the another fixed-location camera (col. 2, lines 41-51).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to implement the multiple cameras and monitoring users entering and exiting a field of view of each camera as taught by Soo, since Soo states in column 2, lines 41-65 that such a modification would result in determining in which direction a suspect is travelling.
As per claim 7, Cutcher in view of Merchant, and further in view of Soo, further teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 6 further comprising automatically displaying, on a screen of the mobile electronic device and based on the notification (Soo, col. 2, lines 49-51), live video captured by the at least one fixed-location camera (Merchant, paragraph [0031]).
As per claim 13, (see rejection of claim 6 above) the system of claim 11 wherein:
the additional video or image data is video data captured from another fixed-location camera, and
the at least one processor is further caused to perform generating a notification of the pursuer object leaving an FOV of the another fixed-location camera when the pursuer object moves into a defined exit region of the FOV of the another fixed-location camera.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the above claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NAOMI J SMALL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685