DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Examiner’s Response re: Claim Objection
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 7, filed 28 Aug 2025, with respect to Claim 12 has been fully considered and are persuasive. The Claim Objection of Claim 12 has been withdrawn.
Examiner’s Response re: 103 Rejection
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-13, filed 28 Aug 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oetken, Petersen, and Dix.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 9-12, 14, 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oetken US 20200114957 A1 (herein, Oetken) in view of Petersen et. al., US 20200017077 A1(herein, Petersen), and in further view of Dix US 20200296878 A1 (herein, Dix).
Regarding Claim 1, Oetken discloses, a method of operating a compactor (FIG. 2, #100) in a rolling pattern (FIG. 2, #124) on an asphalt mat ([0027] – asphalt mat) comprising:
propelling the compactor in a first straight-line pass (See below Examiner’s Illustration) of travel direction to conduct a first compaction pass (FIG. 2 illustrates the first pass starting at the bottom of 136 that’s a straight line) over the asphalt mat (FIG. 2, #122 - ¶[0030] – “…the density and/or modulus of the asphalt or soil that forms the surface 122..);
propelling the compactor in a second pass in the first straight-line pass direction of travel to conduct a second compaction pass over the asphalt mat (Examiner’s Illustration), the second compaction pass being adjacent and parallel to the first compaction pass (See Examiner’s Illustration and FIG. 2 illustrates that after making the first turn at 138 that the second straight line path of 136 is parallel to the first path of 136);
sensing the first turnout (FIG. 5, #406, ¶[0045] - receive signals, data, or other information from one or more sensors 406 configured to detect, measure, etc. one or conditions of, factors and/or parameters related to machine operation…compactor 100 based upon such the one or more sensors 406 (e.g., actuate the steering system to perform a turn having a desired radius of curvature, etc.).
Oetken discloses, steering the compactor into a first turnout deviating from the first straight-line pass direction of travel (See Examiner’s Illustration and FIG. 2 illustrates the first turnout in 138 right after 136 at the bottom of the figure that terminates 136 as it goes into 138 and location of the machine per [0024]), but does not disclose, the first turnout terminating the first compaction pass.
However, Petersen teaches, steering the compactor into a first turnout deviating from the first straight-line pass direction of travel, but does not disclose, the first turnout terminating the first compaction pass ([0059] – “…the machine reaches the end of the first pass, at which time the operator places the machine drive controls in a neutral position, releases the throttle control, and/or actuates the brakes to stop the machine at the end of the first pass. If not already facing the second direction, the operator positions the seat in a second orientation,…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating of a compactor as disclosed by Oetken to terminate compaction at the first turnout as taught by Petersen. Doing so prevents the tearing of the freshly compacted asphalt and thereby saving time and money.
Modified Oetken discloses the compactor, the first straight-line pass, a second turnout (FIG. 2 illustrates a second) and the second pass but does not disclose,
steering the compactor into a second turnout deviating from the first straight-line pass direction of travel, the second turnout being spatially past the first turnout and terminating the second compaction pass.
However, Petersen teaches,
steering the compactor into a second turnout deviating from the first straight-line pass direction of travel, the second turnout being spatially past the first turnout and terminating the second compaction pass (¶[0015] – “…an operator of a compactor may wish to make two passes over the same material, e.g. asphalt, in two opposite directions to fully compact the material with the machine. In such circumstances, some existing machine control systems may require the operator to cause the machine to move along the material path in a first direction to the end of the path, stop the machine by applying brakes and/or placing the machine drive controls into a neutral position….”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating of a compactor as disclosed by modified Oetken to terminate compaction at the first turnout as taught by Petersen. Doing so prevents the tearing of the freshly compacted asphalt and thereby saving time and money.
Regarding Claim 11, Oetken discloses, an asphalt compaction system (¶[0002] – asphalt compaction) comprising:
a compactor (FIG. 2, #100 – compactor) configured to make a plurality of passes over an asphalt mat (FIG. 2, #s 136 and 138, ¶[0027] – “…the compactor 100 is passed across an asphalt mat…”) in a rolling pattern (FIG. 2 illustrates rolling pattern per 138).
Oetken discloses the compactor, track of location (FIG. 2, ¶[0032] – “…operational path…” – i.e. a tracking a location and Peterson [0024] – “location of machine”), an electronic controller to steer the compactor (Claim 1 – “a controller…control the steering system…”) and the asphalt mat but does not disclose,
at least one sensor disposed on the compactor and configured to track location of the compactor on the asphalt mat;
an electronic controller in electronic communication with the at least one sensor and programmed to steer the asphalt compactor into a second turnout located spatially past the location of the first turnout.
However, Dix teaches,
at least one sensor (FIG. 2, ¶[0020] – “…the spatial locating device 60 may include a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver configured to receive signals from two or more satellites in orbit (e.g., GPS, GLONASS, Galileo, BeiDou, etc.) to determine the position…”) disposed on the compactor and configured to track location of the compactor of the asphalt mat;
an electronic controller in electronic communication with the at least one sensor and programmed to steer the asphalt compactor into a second turnout located spatially past the location of the first turnout(FIG. 4, ¶[0027] – “…the work vehicle 12 may be configured to execute the end-of-row turn 110 at a first turn starting point 108 disposed in the headland region 98….”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating of a compactor as disclosed by Oetken to include the second turnout past the first turnout as taught by Dix. Doing so provides the requisite information to determine accurately the work area so as to maximize the efficient use of the compactor and thereby saving time and money.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Oetken further discloses, wherein the step of sensing the first turnout utilizes a visual sensor (FIG. 2, ¶[0028] – “…one or more sensors 118 can be remote from the compactor 100 such as a camera or other visual detection device…”) to sense a deviation in an un-compacted edge (FIG. 2, ¶[0028] – “…visual detection device placed adjacent the compactor 100 in or adjacent a compacting area 124…”) of the asphalt map.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Oetken further discloses, wherein the step of sensing the first turnout utilizes a visual senor configured for pattern recognition or color differentiation (¶[0028] – “…temperature sensor 120 can be a visual sensor such as an infra-red sensor(s)…”).
Regarding Claim 6 and 16, modified Oetken further discloses, wherein the step of sensing the first turnout utilizes a force sensor responsive to mechanical forces (¶[0029] – “…steering sensor 130 ... accelerometer(s)…among other example rotary/orientation sensors…”).
Regarding Claims 9 and 19, modified Oetken further discloses a location (FIG. 2, ¶[0032] – a location on a path) but does not disclose, wherein the compactor includes a GNSS transceiver to mark the location of the first turnout on the asphalt mat through pass mapping.
However, Dix teaches, wherein the compactor includes a GNSS transceiver (FIG. 2, #60 – “special locating device 60 may include GNSS”) to mark a location of the first turnout on the asphalt mat through pass mapping.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating of a compactor as disclosed by Oetken to include the second turnout deviating past the first turnout as taught by Dix. Doing so provides the requisite information to determine accurately the work area so as to maximize the efficient use of the compactor and thereby saving time and money.
Regarding Claims 10 and 20, modified Oetken further discloses, wherein the compactor is autonomous (¶[0026] – “…the compactor 100 is operated in an autonomous fashion…”).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Oetken further discloses, wherein the at least one sensor (FIG. 2, ¶[0028] – “…one or more sensors 118 can be remote from the compactor 100 such as a camera or other visual detection device…”) is configured to sense an un-compacted edge (FIG. 2, ¶[0028] – “…visual detection device placed adjacent the compactor 100 in or adjacent a compacting area 124…”) of the asphalt mat.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Oetken further discloses, wherein the at least one sensor is a visual sensor (¶[0028] – “…temperature sensor 120 can be a visual sensor such as an infra-red sensor(s)…”) configured to capture an image (¶[0028] – “…to deliver real-time data…”) of the asphalt mat.
Claims 4-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oetken US 20200114957 A1 (herein, Oetken), in view of Dix US 20200296878 A1 (herein, Dix), and in further view of Avitzur et al., US 20130006484 A1 (herein, Avitzur).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Oetken further discloses a deviation in an un-compacted edge ((FIG. 2, ¶[0028] – “…visual detection device placed adjacent the compactor 100 in or adjacent a compacting area 124…”) but does not disclose, wherein the step of sensing the first turnout utilizes a reflective sensor to sense a deviation in an un-compacted edge.
However, Avitzur teaches, wherein the step of sensing the first turnout utilizes a reflective sensor (¶[0009] – “…Any number and type of sensor systems, such as a laser rangefinder or a radar rangefinder,…”) to sense a deviation in an un-compacted edge.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating of a compactor as disclosed by modified Oetken to include the reflective sensor that’s a rangefinder as taught by Avitzur. Doing so provides the requisite information to determine accurately the work area so as to maximize the efficient use of the compactor and thereby saving time and money.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Oetken further discloses, wherein the reflective sensor is a rangefinder (Avitzur, ¶[0090] – “rangefinder”) configured to determine distance to the asphalt mat to sense deviation in an un-compacted edge.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Oetken discloses the sensor and asphalt mat but does not disclose, wherein the at least one sensor is a reflective sensor emitting waves towards the asphalt mat and receiving reflected waves back.
However, Avitzur teaches, wherein the at least one sensor is a reflective sensor emitting waves (FIG. 1, #s 170/180 – Front and Rear Laser) towards the asphalt mat and receiving reflected waves back.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the asphalt compaction system as disclosed by modified Oetken to include the reflective sensor that emits waves as taught by Avitzur. Doing so provides the requisite information to determine accurately the work area so as to maximize the efficient use of the compactor and thereby saving time and money.
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oetken US 20200114957 A1 (herein, Oetken),in view of Dix US 20200296878 A1 (herein, Dix), and in further view of Corcoran et al. US 20140348587 A1 (herein, Corcoran).
Regarding Claim 7 and 17, modified Oetken discloses the force sensor but does not disclose, wherein the force sensor is a vibration sensor that senses a compaction state of the asphalt mat.
However, Corcoran teaches, wherein the force sensor is a vibration sensor (FIG. 1, #39 – compaction state system) that senses a compaction state of the asphalt mat (¶[0039] – “…the use of a vibratory system to assist in compaction …”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating of a compactor as disclosed by modified Oetken to include the vibration sensor and compaction state as taught by Corcoran. Doing so provides the requisite information to determine accurately the state of compaction of the asphalt mat.
Regarding Claim 8 and 18, modified Oetken discloses the force sensor but does not disclose, wherein the force sensor is a resistive force sensor that senses a compaction state of the asphalt mat.
However, Corcoran teaches, wherein the force sensor is a resistive force sensor (FIG. 1, #27 – compaction sensor system) that senses a compaction state of the asphalt mat (¶[0038] – “…a relative change in the compaction of the work material 101..”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the operating of a compactor as disclosed by modified Oetken to include the resistive force sensor and compaction state as taught by Corcoran. Doing so provides the requisite information to determine accurately the state of compaction of the asphalt mat.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oetken US 20200114957 A1 (herein, Oetken), in view of Dix US 20200296878 A1 (herein, Dix) and in further view of Strong et al., US 20190043201 A1 (herein, Strong).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Oetken discloses a visual camera but does not disclose, wherein the visual sensor is a smart camera configured for pattern recognition or color differentiation.
However, Strong teaches, wherein the visual sensor is a smart camera (¶[0651] – “smart cameras”) configured for pattern recognition (¶[0651] – “…a camera scans a previously unseen field of objects, it applies pattern recognition algorithms…”) or color differentiation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the asphalt compaction system as disclosed by modified Oetken to include the smart camera and pattern recognition as taught by Strong. Doing so permits the generation of the image from the smart camera that provides detailed pictures that allows for better control of the compactor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited but not utilized in the Office Action pertain to the method and system of operating a compactor on an asphalt mat.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUIS G DEL VALLE/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666