DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 15, lines 2-5, the limitation “the first condition, the second condition, the third condition, the fourth condition, the fifth condition, the sixth condition, the seventh condition or the eighth condition” should be “a first condition, a second condition, a third condition, a fourth condition, a fifth condition, a sixth condition, a seventh condition or an eighth condition”.
. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Featonby et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20020152812).
Regarding claim 1, Featonby teaches a sensor, comprising: an element section including: a first beam (Fig.1, 26) including a first portion (Fig.1, right portion of the beam 26) and a first other portion (Fig.1, left portion of the beam 26), a direction from the first portion to the first other portion being along a first direction (Fig.1, beam 26 is along the X-axis direction); a first opposing beam (Fig.1, 28), a second direction (Fig.1, Y-axis direction) from the first opposing beam to the first beam crossing the first direction (Fig.1, X-axis direction), the first opposing beam (Fig.1, 28) including a first opposing portion (Fig.1, right portion of the beam 28) and a first other opposing portion (Fig.1, left portion of the beam 28), a direction from the first opposing portion to the first other opposing portion being along the first direction (Fig.1, beam 28 is along the X-axis direction); a support portion including a first support region (Fig.1, 33) connected to the first portion and the first opposing portion (Fig.1, right portion of the beam 26 and right portion of the beam 28); a first linking portion (Fig.1, 30) connected to the first other portion and the first other opposing portion (Fig.1, left portion of the beam 26 and left portion of the beam 28); and a first connecting portion (Fig.1, 31) connected to the first linking portion (Fig.1, 30), the first linking portion (Fig.1, 30) being provided between the first beam (Fig.1, 26) and the first connecting portion (Fig.1, 31) and between the first opposing beam (Fig.1, 28) and the first connecting portion (Fig.1, 31), a first connecting portion (Fig.1, 31) width along the second direction of the first connecting portion being narrower than a first linking portion (Fig.1, 30) width along the second direction of the first linking portion (As shown in Fig.1, the width of 31 is narrower than the width of 30).
Regarding claim 2, Featonby teaches a base (Fig.2, 18); and a first fixed portion (Fig.2, 16) fixed to the base, a third direction (Figs. 2-3, Z-axis direction) from the base to the first fixed portion crossing a plane including the first direction and the second direction, the first support region (Fig.1, 33) being supported by the first fixed portion (Fig.1, 16), a first gap (Fig.2, clearance “e”) being provided between the base and the element section, the element section including a movable member (Fig.1, 24a+22+16) supported by the support portion, the movable member including a first movable portion (Fig.1, 24a), and the first connecting portion (Fig.1, 31) being connected to the first movable portion (Fig.1, 24a).
Regarding claim 3, Featonby teaches wherein the movable member (Fig.1, 24a+22+16) includes a first movable base portion (Fig.1, a portion of 16 next to the joint 22) supported by the support portion, and a first movable connecting portion (Fig.1, 22) provided between the first movable base portion and the first movable portion (Fig.1, 24a), the first movable connecting portion (Fig.1, 22) connecting the first movable portion (Fig.1, 24a) to the first movable base portion (Fig.1, a portion of 16 next to the joint 22), and a width of the first movable connecting portion in the crossing direction crossing a direction from the first movable base to the first movable connecting portion is narrower than a width of the first movable base portion in the crossing direction, and narrower than a width of the first movable portion in the crossing direction (As shown in Fig.1, joint 22 is narrower than both 24a and the portion of 16 next to the joint 22).
Regarding claim 19, Featonby teaches wherein the first beam (Fig.1, 26) includes a first beam face facing the first opposing beam, the first opposing beam (Fig.1, 28) includes a first opposing beam face facing the first beam, and the first beam face and the first opposing beam face extend along the first direction (As shown in Fig.1).
Regarding claim 20, Featonby teaches an electronic device, comprising: the sensor according to claim 1; and a circuit controller configured to control a circuit based on a signal obtained from the sensor (Abstract and 39-47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Featonby et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20020152812) in view of Masunishi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20230062441).
Regarding claim 4, Featonby teaches all the features of claim 2 as outlined above, Featonby is silent about wherein the first beam further includes a first intermediate portion provided between the first portion and the first other portion, the first opposing beam further includes a first opposing intermediate portion provided between the first opposing portion and the first other opposing portion, the element section includes a first beam electrode connected to the first intermediate portion, and a first opposing beam electrode connected to the first opposing intermediate portion, the first beam is provided between the first opposing beam electrode and the first beam electrode, and the first opposing beam is provided between the first opposing beam electrode and the first beam.
Masunishi teaches wherein the first beam further includes a first intermediate portion (Fig.1B, 12c) provided between the first portion (Fig.1B, 12e) and the first other portion (Fig.1B, 12f), the first opposing beam further includes a first opposing intermediate portion (Fig.1B, 11c) provided between the first opposing portion (Fig.1B, 11e) and the first other opposing portion (Fig.1B, 11f), the element section includes a first beam electrode (Fig.1B, 22b) connected to the first intermediate portion, and a first opposing beam electrode (Fig.1B, 21b) connected to the first opposing intermediate portion, the first beam (Fig.1B, 12) is provided between the first opposing beam electrode (Fig.1B, 21b) and the first beam electrode (Fig.1B, 22b), and the first opposing beam (Fig.1B, 11) is provided between the first opposing beam electrode (Fig.1B, 21b) and the first beam (Fig.1B, 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 4 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches wherein the first beam electrode includes a first extending portion extending along the first direction, and a first extending connecting portion connecting the first extending portion to the first intermediate portion, the first extending connecting portion extending along the second direction, and the first opposing beam electrode include a first opposing extending portion extending along the first direction, and a first opposing extending connecting portion connecting the first opposing extending portion to the first opposing intermediate portion, first opposing extending connecting portion extending along the second direction (Fig.1B, and paragraphs 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 5 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches wherein the first beam electrode includes a plurality of the first extending portions, the first opposing beam electrode includes a plurality of the first opposing extending portions, one of the plurality of first extending portions is provided between the first beam and another one of the plurality of first extending portions, a length of the one of the plurality of first extending portions along the first direction is longer than a length of the other one of the plurality of first extending portions along the first direction, one of the plurality of first opposing extending portions is provided between the first opposing beam and another one of the plurality of first opposing extending portions, and a length of the one of the plurality of first opposing extending portions along the first direction is longer than a length of the other one of the plurality of first opposing extending portions along the first direction (Fig.1B, and paragraphs 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 4 as outlined above, Featonby further teaches wherein the element section includes a second beam, a second opposing beam, a second linking portion, and a second connecting portion, the support portion further includes a second support region, the second beam includes a second portion and a second other portion, a direction from the second portion to the second other portion being along the first direction, the second opposing beam includes a second opposing portion and a second other opposing portion, a direction from the second opposing portion to the second other opposing portion being along the first direction, the second support region is connected to the second portion and the second opposing portion, the second linking portion is connected to the second other portion and the second other opposing portion, the second connecting portion is connected to the second linking portion, the second linking portion is provided between the second beam and the second connecting portion and between the second opposing beam and the second connecting portion, and a second connecting portion width along the second direction of the second connecting portion is narrower than a second linking portion width along the second direction of the second linking portion (As shown in Fig.1, a second pair of beams 26+28 is provided below the base 16).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 7 as outlined above, Featonby further teaches wherein a direction from the second beam to the first beam is along the second direction (As shown in Fig.1, a second pair of beams 26+28 is provided below the base 16).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 7 as outlined above, Featonby further teaches wherein a direction from the second beam to the first beam is along the first direction (As shown in Fig.1, a second pair of beams 26+28 is provided below the base 16).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 7 as outlined above, Featonby further teaches wherein the first linking portion is provided between the first support region and the second support region in the first direction, and the second linking portion is provided between the first linking portion and the second support region in the first direction (As shown in Fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 7 as outlined above, Featonby further teaches wherein the first support region is provided between the first linking portion and the second linking portion in the first direction, and the second support region is provided between the first support region and the second linking portion in the first direction (As shown in Fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 7 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches wherein the second beam further includes a second intermediate portion provided between the second portion and the second other portion, the second opposing beam further includes a second opposing intermediate portion provided between the second opposing portion and the second other opposing portion, the element section includes a second beam electrode connected to the second intermediate portion, and a second opposing beam electrode connected to the second opposing intermediate portion, the second beam is provided between the second opposing beam electrode and the second beam electrode, and the second opposing beam is provided between the second opposing beam electrode and the second beam (Fig.1B, and paragraphs 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 12 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches wherein the second beam electrode includes a second extending portion extending along the first direction, and a second extending connecting portion connecting the second extending portion to the second intermediate portion, the second extending connecting portion extending along the second direction, the second opposing beam electrode includes a second opposing extending portion extending along the first direction, and a second opposing extending connecting portion connecting the second opposing extending portion to the second opposing intermediate portion, the second opposing extending connecting portion extending along the second direction (Fig.1B, and paragraphs 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 13 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches wherein the second beam electrode includes a plurality of the second extending portions, the second opposing beam electrode includes a plurality of the second opposing extending portions, one of the plurality of second extending portions is provided between the second beam and another one of the plurality of second extending portions, a length of the one of the plurality of second extending portions along the first direction is longer than a length of the other one of the plurality of second extending portions along the first direction, one of the plurality of second opposing extending portions is provided between the second opposing beam and another one of the plurality of second opposing extending portions, and a length of the one of the plurality of second opposing extending portions along the first direction is longer than a length of the other one of the plurality of second opposing extending portions along the first direction (Fig.1B, and paragraphs 30-36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 12 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches wherein the first beam electrode and the second beam electrode satisfy at least one of the first condition, the second condition, the third condition, the fourth condition, the fifth condition, the sixth condition, the seventh condition or the eighth condition, in the first condition, a second mass of the second beam electrode is different from a first mass of the first beam electrode, in the second condition, a second thickness of the second beam electrode along the third direction is different from a first thickness of the first beam electrode along the third direction, in the third condition, at least a part of a second material included in the second beam electrode is different from at least a part of a first material included in the first beam electrode, in the fourth condition, a second size of a second hole included in the second beam electrode is different from a first size of a first hole included in the first beam electrode, in the fifth condition, a second density of the second holes is different from a first density of the first holes, in the sixth condition, a second number of the second holes is different from a first number of the first holes, in the seventh condition, a second shape of the second hole is different from a first shape of the first hole, and in the eighth condition, a second layer structure of the second beam electrode is different from a first layer structure of the first beam electrode (Paragraphs 30-36 and 68).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 7 as outlined above, Featonby further teaches wherein the movable member (Fig.1, 24a+22+16) includes a first movable base portion (Fig.1, a portion of 16 next to the joint 22) supported by the support portion, and a first movable connecting portion (Fig.1, 22) provided between the first movable base portion and the first movable portion (Fig.1, 24a), the first movable connecting portion (Fig.1, 22) connecting the first movable portion (Fig.1, 24a) to the first movable base portion (Fig.1, a portion of 16 next to the joint 22), and a width of the first movable connecting portion in the crossing direction crossing a direction from the first movable base to the first movable connecting portion is narrower than a width of the first movable base portion in the crossing direction, and narrower than a width of the first movable portion in the crossing direction, and the crossing direction is along the second direction (As shown in Fig.1, joint 22 is narrower than both 24a and the portion of 16 next to the joint 22).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 4 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches wherein the element section further includes a first fixed electrode and a first opposing fixed electrode fixed to the base, the first fixed electrode faces the first beam electrode, the first opposing fixed electrode faces the first opposing beam electrode, ae direction from the first fixed electrode to the first beam electrode is along the second direction, and a direction from the first opposing fixed electrode to the first opposing beam electrode is along the second direction (Paragraphs 37-38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Featonby and Masunishi teaches all the features of claim 17 as outlined above, Masunishi further teaches a controller, the controller being configured to apply a first AC signal between the first fixed electrode and the first beam electrode, and the controller being configured to detect a first signal generated between the first opposing fixed electrode and the first opposing beam electrode (Paragraphs 41-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Masunishi’s beam electrodes into Featonby’s beams because it would increase accuracy and sensitivity of Featonby’s accelerometer.
Conclusion
/XIN Y ZHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855