DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 04/28/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-18 remain pending in the application. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. New grounds of rejections are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection in the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every rejection based on 35 USC § 112 to the claims previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action.
However, please refer to response to arguments for further details of the rejection based on 35 USC § 112.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to 1-5, 7-9, and 11-18 in a reply filed 04/28/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) regarding newly added limitations have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant alleges that “(Remarks Page 7) - Applicant submits that the amendment which introduces the term "said base station" which refers directly and unambiguously only to the previous instance "each base station" ensures and renders the claim clear and unambiguous”.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. Introducing the term “said base station” does not explicitly refer directly only to the previous instance "each base station" but rather, the term “said” refers to the initial antecedent phrase and every subsequent instance that uses the term “said” is to definitively link back to that specific item. The term “said” is a legal equivalent to “the” and is used in patent claims to establish antecedent basis. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(e) for more details.
The applicant amended the claim language from “the base station” to “said base station” in an attempt to overcome the ambiguity. However, replacing the term “the” to “said” did not resolve the ambiguity of the claim language. Therefore, the similar indefiniteness and rejection based on 35 USC § 112 in the previous Office Action are applied.
Applicant further respectfully requests “(Remarks Pages 8-9) Applicant should like to know the specific reasons, why Gan and Wang are alleged to disclose every single base station locally and independently generating a set of solutions for all the base stations, which set of solutions includes a solution specific to itself and which is for configuring itself. Applicant notes that the cited paragraphs [0053]-[0054] of Gan teach generating configuration solutions depending upon and subsequent to configurations generated at neighboring base stations: "After the CCO adjustment of the one or more neighboring base stations... the base station may perform CCO adjustment", which teaches away from what is claimed”.
Examiner’s reasoning for Gan and Wang disclosing the claim language recited in claim 1 “locally and independently generating at said base station a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations including a configuration solution specific to said base station for configuring itself, based on the local base station configuration data payloads of all the base stations of the group of base stations” is as follows:
“locally and independently generating at said base station a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations” means that the set of base station configurations solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations are generating locally and independently at said base station. Hence, the generating at said base station is being performed locally and independently.
Gan’s discloses the DSON algorithms of each base station (Fig. 7B 720, another base station) has their own SBSIT and DSON algorithm(s) ([0045] base station 720 may create MnS interface 712 to transmit and receive configuration information of another base station through 3GPP management system 711. Then, base station 720 may store the configuration information in a surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) 713. The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713) and the DSON algorithms are decentralized and are performed at each individual base station ([0003] DSON algorithms which are executed at a base station… to perform self-configuration, self-optimization, and self-healing at the base station… the DSON algorithms are decentralized and executed at each individual base station).
The SBSIT (Fig. 8, surrounding base station information table) includes “the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations” ([0054] In step S1301, according to the content of SBSIT (surrounding base station information table contains local configuration data), the base station may wait for a CCO adjustment of one or more surrounding base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations whose status is activation. After the CCO adjustment of the one or more neighboring base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations are complete, the base station may perform CCO adjustment). Said base station may determine to execute the DSON algorithm(s), “based on the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations” stored in the SBSIT (Fig. 7; [0045] The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713), which the DSON algorithm(s) and the SBSIT are both locally and independently located at said base station.
Therefore, this should clarify the claim “locally and independently generating at said base station” and “based on the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations”.
Furthermore, the locally and independently generating DSON algorithms (e.g., CCO, ANR, PCI) at said base station (Fig. 7B , 714), a set of base station configuration solutions ([0053] when the SBSIT of a base station is updated, the base station would execute one of the CCO, ANR, and PCI DSON algorithms to optimize network performance; [0047] In step S906, the base station may execute DSON algorithms for CCO, ANR, and/or PCI to optimize network performance) for all the base stations of the group of base stations (Fig 14-15; [0058] a DSON performing a CCO adjustment... Base stations 1401˜1407 have corresponding coverage areas. base station 1407 is deactivated, there may be a coverage hole. Base station 1401 may adjust coverage area to fit the coverage hole; [0059] base station 1501 may compute the intersection points A, B, C, D, E of the coverage areas and straight lines between base station 1501 and base stations 1502˜1506. Next, base station 1501 may select a beam pattern and a minimum TxPower which lead to cover an area with the most intersections points). Said base station may want to wait for a CCO adjustment from larger number of surrounding base stations to complete before performing said base station CCO adjustment ([0054] In step S1301, according to the content of SBSIT, the base station may wait for a CCO adjustment of one or more surrounding base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations whose status is activation. After the CCO adjustment of the one or more neighboring base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations are complete, the base station may perform CCO adjustment) in order to avoid, e.g., the ping pong effect, but said base station does not need another base station to execute the CCO adjustment of said base station nor does said base station need to wait for another base station to execute the CCO adjustment of said base station. Hence, “locally and independently generating at said base station a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations”.
The beam pattern and the minimum TxPower are the “configuration solution specific to said base station for configuring itself” (Fig 14-15; [0058] a DSON performing a CCO adjustment... Base stations 1401˜1407 have corresponding coverage areas. base station 1407 is deactivated, there may be a coverage hole. Base station 1401 may adjust coverage area to fit the coverage hole; [0059] To perform CCO adjustment, base station 1501 may compute the coverage area of surrounding base stations 1502˜1506 according to location, TxPower, and/or beam pattern of surrounding base stations 1502˜1506... Next, base station 1501 may select a beam pattern and a minimum TxPower which lead to cover an area with the most intersections points).
Although Gan may not explicitly disclose “(Remarks Pages 8-9) every single base station locally and independently generating a set of solutions for all the base stations”. Gan discloses “locally and independently generating at said base station a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations (see above reasoning)” and the DSON algorithms are decentralized and are performed at each individual base station ([0003] DSON algorithms which are executed at a base station… to perform self-configuration, self-optimization, and self-healing at the base station… the DSON algorithms are decentralized and executed at each individual base station). Gan further discloses said base station in the group of base stations, generating a set of solutions for all the base stations when the database table is updated ([0053] when the SBSIT of a base station is updated, the base station would execute one of the CCO, ANR, and PCI DSON algorithms to optimize network performance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify locally and independently generating at said base station a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations of Gan to include for each base station of the group of base stations to locally and independently generating a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations since the base stations have the same components which are configured to execute embodiments of the disclosure. The DSON algorithms are performed at each individual base station when the database table is updated, in order to optimize the network performance. Therefore, combining the base stations including DSON algorithms and SBSIT of Gan discloses, each and every single base stations locally and independently generating a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations.
Regarding dependent claims 2-5, 7-9, and 11-18, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claim 1.
Examiner recommends using the term “first, second” and/or “third” to differentiate between the base stations in a group of base stations to resolve the ambiguity and further clarifies the data exchange between the base stations and data processing of the base stations (instant specification – Fig. 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “broadcasting by said base station”. It is unclear whether “said base station” in the recitation refers to “each base station of the group of base stations” at line 3 of claim 1 or “for each base station of the group of base stations” at line 5 of claim 1. For the purpose of examination, “said base station” in “broadcasting by said base station” is interpreted as referring to “for each base station of the group of base stations” at line 5 of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites “pertaining to a configuration of said base station”. It is unclear whether “said base station” in the recitation refers to “each base station of the group of base stations” at line 3 of claim 1, “for each base station of the group of base stations” at line 5 of claim 1, or “for the other base stations of the group of base stations” at line 5-6 of claim 1. For the purpose of examination, “said base station” in “pertaining to a configuration of said base station” is interpreted as referring to “for each base station of the group of base stations” at line 5 of claim 1.
Similarly, claim 1 recites “evaluating by said base station... payloads said base station” and “self-configuring by said base station... generating at said base station... specific to said base station” which all have the similar indefiniteness as showed above. Therefore, the examiner applies similar reasoning and interpreted as referring to “for each base station of the group of base stations” at line 8 of claim 1, and “for each base station of the group of base stations” at line 12 of claim 1, respectively.
Claim 1 recites “said self-configuring subsequent... and comprising”. It is unclear whether “and comprising” in the recitation refers to. Based on the claim language of claim 1 and the instant specification ([0044] Once the configuration data has propagated throughout the base stations 104 of the wireless network system 100, each base station configures itself 206 according to that exchanged configuration data with use of the configuration processing 107; Abstract - The base stations use an inter-base station protocol to exchange configuration data for use in configuring the base stations according to an identical solution independently determined by each of the base stations), the examiner is interpreting “and comprising” as “and for each base station of the group of base stations comprising” for the purpose of examination.
Claim 1 recites “locally and independently... based on the local base station configuration data payloads”. It is unclear whether “a set of base station configuration solutions” or “a configuration solution specific to said base station” is the one being referred to “based on the local base station configuration data payloads”. For the purpose of examination, “based on the local base station configuration data payloads” will be interpreted as “ a configuration solution specific to said base station for configuring itself based on the local base station configuration data payloads”.
Claims 2-5, 7-9, and 11-18 have similar indefiniteness as to claim 1. Therefore, the same interpretations are applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-5, 8-9, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan et al. (US 20220201507 A1, hereafter Gan) in view of Wang et al. (US 20200305009 A1, hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Gan discloses:
A method for configuring a wireless network including a group of base stations (Fig. 19; Fig. 10-12; Fig. 7A-7B; Fig. 18-19; Fig. 21; Fig.23) and one or more data bases ([0035] A base station may make use of configuration management service specified by 3GPP management system to receive decision information for DSON algorithms. The base station may establish a surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) to store configuration information for DSON algorithms; [0044] Fig. 7A; DSON system may use 3GPP management system 701 (management system interface manages information (e.g., SBSIT) exchange between base stations, hence database) to manage… information exchange between base station 703 and base station 704), the method comprising:
exchanging data for base station configuration between each base station of the group of base stations (Fig. 7B, Fig, 11, Fig. 14-15; [0038] base station mainly uses the X2/Xn interface to exchange information with other base stations… In addition to X2/Xn and control-plan interfaces, through the configuration management service, the MnS (management system) allows the base station to obtain… information for network optimization management algorithms; [0043] the base station may receive… through the management interface, the configuration information from a base station of the surrounding base stations; [0044] 3GPP management system 701 to manage, via MnS interface 702, information exchange between base station 703 and base station 704; (Base stations are exchanging configuration information/data between other base stations and the Management System via MnS interface)) and the one or more data bases;
for a base station of the group of base stations (Fig. 11, Fig. 7B, Fig. 14-15), broadcasting by said base station to all the other base stations of the group of base stations a local base station configuration data pertaining to a configuration of said base station ([0044] The MnS interface could also be created between base stations 703 and 704 by direct connection; Fig. 7A – element 702; [0050] a base station may create a management interface for receiving configuration information from a surrounding base station through a direct connection. Referring to FIG. 11, base station 1101 may exchange configuration information with base station 1102. In step S1111, base station 1101 may broadcast its configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1102; [0046] FIG. 8 illustrates an implementation example of a surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) used by a base station for storing configuration management information according to one of the exemplary embodiments of the disclosure… SBSIT 800 may store Cell ID 801, transport layer (TNL) address 802… location 806);
for a base station of the group of base stations (Fig. 7B, Fig, 11, Fig. 14-15), evaluating by said base station that a duration of at least a grace period has elapsed (Fig. 9 – S905-S906) during which a number of the local base station configuration data said base station has received from all the other base stations of the group of base stations has not changed ([0047] FIG. 9 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of a method of managing a distributed self-organizing network. In step S901, a base station may retrieve surrounding base station connection information which may include Cell ID, TNL address, and location. In step S902… the base station may also create MnS interface to the surrounding base stations... In step S903, the base station may register SBSIT's information for notification. In step S904, the base station may update the SBSIT through the MnS interface. In one exemplary embodiment, the base station may receive notification, which indicates the registered SBSIT's information being changed, from MnS interface. In step S905, the base station may keep monitoring whether the SBSIT is updated. When the SBSIT is not updated, the base station may repeat step S904 to update the SBSIT through the MnS interface. When the SBSIT is updated (hence the configuration information in the SBSIT is the same and has not changed), the base station may proceed to step S906. In step S906, the base station may execute DSON algorithms for CCO, ANR, and/or PCI to optimize network performance. In one embodiment, the base station may execute the CCO algorithm, the ANR algorithm, and the PCI algorithm sequentially); and
for a base station of the group of base stations (Fig. 7B, Fig, 11, Fig. 14-15), self-configuring by said base station with use of a configuration processing provided at each of the base stations (Fig, 7B; D-SON algorithm; [0045] base station 720 may create MnS interface 712 to transmit and receive configuration information of another base station through 3GPP management system 711…base station 720 may store the configuration information in a surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) 713. The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713; (D-SON algorithm is provided at base station 720 and another base station, therefore the self-configuring with use of the configuration processing are provided at each of the base stations)), said self-configuring (Fig. 9 – S906 execute D-SON algorithm;) subsequent to said evaluating that the duration of the at least a grace period has elapsed (Fig. 9 – S905 is the table updated? Yes; [0047] In step S905, the base station may keep monitoring whether the SBSIT is updated... When the SBSIT is updated (hence the configuration information in the SBSIT is the same and has not changed), the base station may proceed to step S906), and comprising:
locally and independently generating at said base station ([0003] DSON algorithms which are executed at a base station… to perform self-configuration, self-optimization, and self-healing at the base station… the DSON algorithms are decentralized and executed at each individual base station) a set of base station configuration solutions ([0053] when the SBSIT of a base station is updated, the base station would execute one of the CCO (capacity and coverage optimization), ANR, and PCI DSON algorithms; [0047] In step S906, the base station may execute DSON algorithms for CCO, ANR, and/or PCI to optimize network performance) for all the base stations of the group of base stations (Fig 14-15; [0058] a DSON performing a CCO adjustment... Base stations 1401˜1407 have corresponding coverage areas. base station 1407 is deactivated, there may be a coverage hole. Base station 1401 may adjust coverage area to fit the coverage hole; [0059] base station 1501 may compute the intersection points A, B, C, D, E of the coverage areas and straight lines between base station 1501 and base stations 1502˜1506. Next, base station 1501 may select a beam pattern and a minimum TxPower which lead to cover an area with the most intersections points) including a configuration solution specific to said base station for configuring itself (Fig 14-15; [0058] a DSON performing a CCO adjustment... Base stations 1401˜1407 have corresponding coverage areas. base station 1407 is deactivated, there may be a coverage hole. Base station 1401 may adjust coverage area to fit the coverage hole; [0059] To perform CCO adjustment, base station 1501 may compute the coverage area of surrounding base stations 1502˜1506 according to location, TxPower, and/or beam pattern of surrounding base stations 1502˜1506... Next, base station 1501 may select a beam pattern and a minimum TxPower which lead to cover an area with the most intersections points), based on the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations (Fig. 7A-B; [0045] The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713; [0054] In step S1301, according to the content of SBSIT (surrounding base station information table contains local configuration data), the base station may wait for a CCO adjustment of one or more surrounding base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations whose status is activation. After the CCO adjustment of the one or more neighboring base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations are complete, the base station may perform CCO adjustment).
Gan does not explicitly disclose:
for each base station of the group of base stations, broadcasting by said base station to all the other base stations of the group of base stations,
for each base station of the group of base stations, evaluating by said base station that the duration of at least the grace period has elapsed during which the number of the local base station configuration data said base station has received from all the other base stations of the group of base stations has not changed,
for each base station of the group of base stations, self-configuring by said base station with use of a configuration processing provided at each of the base stations, and
for each base station of the group of base stations comprising:
locally and independently generating at said base station a set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations including a configuration solution specific to said base station for configuring itself, based on the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations.
However, Gan discloses said base station includes a transmitter, receiver, and processor in order to receive to configuration information from surrounding base stations and store/update the configuration information into the SBSIT ([0041] FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a base station in accordance with one of the exemplary embodiments of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 5, the base station 50 may include but not limited to a transmitter 501, a receiver 502, and a processor 503 coupled to the transmitter 501 and the receiver 502. The processor 503 may be configured to execute embodiments of the disclosure. For example, processor 503 may be configured to process the method of managing a DSON. In one embodiment, the processor 503 would be configured at least to: create a management interface for receiving configuration information from surrounding base stations; subscribe the configuration information and store the configuration information into a table; receive, via the receiver through the management interface, the configuration information from a base station of the surrounding base stations; update the table based on the configuration information received from the base station; and execute a distributed self-organizing network (DSON) algorithm comprising one of capacity and coverage optimization (CCO) algorithm, automatic neighbor relation (ANR) algorithm, and physical cell id (PCI) algorithm. In one exemplary embodiments of the disclosure, the base station 50 may be a node B, an evolved node B (eNB), or a gNB.). Furthermore, Gan discloses that in order to establish the SBSIT (locally located at each base stations according to Fig. 7B;), said base station may begin with receiving the configuration information from surrounding base stations ([0048] It is to be noted that in order to establish the SBSIT, the base station may begin with receiving configuration information from surrounding base stations) and said base station may broadcast its configuration information to the surrounding base stations in order to exchange configuration with other another station ([0050] Referring to FIG. 11, base station 1101 may exchange configuration information with base station 1102. In step S1111, base station 1101 may broadcast its configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1102).
Gan discloses previously, as cited above, evaluating by said base station that the duration of at least the grace period has elapsed (Fig. 9 – S905-S906) during which the number of the local base station configuration data said base station has received from all the other base stations of the group of base stations has not changed ([0047];);
Gan discloses previously, as cited above, the self-configuring by said base station with use of the configuration processing provided at each of the base stations (Fig, 7B; D-SON algorithm; [0045];).
Gan discloses previously, as cited above, locally and independently generating at said base station ([0003]) a set of base station configuration solutions ([0053];) for all the base stations of the group of base stations (Fig 14-15; [0058]; [0059]) including a configuration solution specific to said base station for configuring itself (Fig 14-15; [0058]; [0059]), based on the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations (Fig. 7A-B; [0045]).
Furthermore, Gan discloses each and every base stations in the group of base stations (Fig. 7B) include the local base station configuration data (Fig. 7B - SBSIT) and the self-configuring with the use of the configuration process (Fig. 7B – D-SON algorithm; Fig. 9 – S906 execute D-SON algorithm) at each of the base stations ([0003] DSON algorithms which are executed at a base station… to perform self-configuration, self-optimization, and self-healing at the base station… the DSON algorithms are decentralized and executed at each individual base station; [0045] base station 720 may create MnS interface 712 to transmit and receive configuration information of another base station through 3GPP management system 711…base station 720 may store the configuration information in a surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) 713. The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713; (D-SON algorithm is provided at base station 720 and another base station, therefore the self-configuring with use of the configuration processing are provided at each of the base stations)) and the self-configuring may be executed according to the local base station configuration data in the SBSIT (Fig. 7A-B; [0045] The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713; [0054] In step S1301, according to the content of SBSIT; [0053] when the SBSIT of a base station is updated, the base station would execute one of the CCO, ANR, and PCI DSON algorithms to optimize network performance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify for the base station of the group of base stations to be for each base station of the group of base stations since the base stations have the same components which are configured to execute embodiments of the disclosure. This allows all of the base stations in the group of base stations to exchange their configuration information and accurately update their SBSIT and execute the DSON algorithms to optimize network performance ([0054] When the SBSIT is updated, the base station may proceed to step S906. In step S906, the base station may execute DSON algorithms for CCO, ANR, and/or PCI to optimize network performance. In one embodiment, the base station may execute the CCO algorithm, the ANR algorithm, and the PCI algorithm sequentially).
Gan does not explicitly disclose the local base station configuration data with a payload and payloads.
However, Wang discloses a data with a payload ([0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field, is optional and is called the Encapsulating Security Payload (ESP). It contains subfields similar to AH: specification of a unique encryption algorithm, such as DES, AES, 3DES or BLOWFISH, a sequence number subfield, the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data. The hash employed for ESP protects the integrity of just the encrypted data, whereas the AH hash protects the entire IP packet which, as indicated for IPSec, always includes the AH field and sometimes the ESP field) and a plurality of data with payloads ([0032]; [0052] The symbols correspond to those defined above. For IPsec messages 1 and 2, the braces notation denotes that message authentication code (MAC) values are added, each representing a hash using the authentication/integrity key, i.e. the shared secret K.sub.s, of all the components of, respectively, each message. Each hash with K.sub.s protects its corresponding IPsec message) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data of Gan to include the payload and payloads as taught by Wang in order to protect the local base station configuration data by using the encrypted payload data (Wang - [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Gan further discloses wherein exchanging data for base station configuration comprises for a base station of the group of base stations ([0044] Fig. 7A; DSON system may use 3GPP management system 701 (management system interface manages information (e.g., SBSIT) exchange between base stations, hence database) to manage… information exchange between base station 703 and base station 704) sending by said local base station data pertaining to said base station (cell ID, location, TNL address, etc) to the one or more data bases ([0045] FIG. 7B; Referring to FIG. 7B, base station 720 may create MnS interface 712 to transmit and receive configuration information of another base station (base stations sending local base station data) through 3GPP management system 711 (Management system is able transmit and receive configuration information. Hence, the management system has a database to store and transmit local base station data); Then, base station 720 may store the configuration information in a surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) 713; [0046] SBSIT 800 may store Cell ID 801, transport layer (TNL) address 802, physical cell id (PCI) 803, neighboring base station's PCI list 804, number of surrounding base stations 805, location 806, transmission power (TxPower)/Beam 807, and status 808).
Gan does not explicitly disclose the exchanging data for the base station configuration comprises for each base station of the group of base stations.
However, Gan discloses said base station includes a transmitter, receiver, and processor in order to receive to configuration information from surrounding base stations and store/update the configuration information into the SBSIT ([0041] FIG. 5 illustrates a block diagram of a base station in accordance with one of the exemplary embodiments of the disclosure. Referring to FIG. 5, the base station 50 may include but not limited to a transmitter 501, a receiver 502, and a processor 503 coupled to the transmitter 501 and the receiver 502. The processor 503 may be configured to execute embodiments of the disclosure. For example, processor 503 may be configured to process the method of managing a DSON. In one embodiment, the processor 503 would be configured at least to: create a management interface for receiving configuration information from surrounding base stations; subscribe the configuration information and store the configuration information into a table; receive, via the receiver through the management interface, the configuration information from a base station of the surrounding base stations; update the table based on the configuration information received from the base station; and execute a distributed self-organizing network (DSON) algorithm comprising one of capacity and coverage optimization (CCO) algorithm, automatic neighbor relation (ANR) algorithm, and physical cell id (PCI) algorithm. In one exemplary embodiments of the disclosure, the base station 50 may be a node B, an evolved node B (eNB), or a gNB.). Furthermore, Gan discloses that in order to establish the SBSIT (locally located at each base stations according to Fig. 7B;), said base station may begin with receiving the configuration information from surrounding base stations ([0048] It is to be noted that in order to establish the SBSIT, the base station may begin with receiving configuration information from surrounding base stations) and said base station may broadcast its configuration information to the surrounding base stations in order to exchange configuration with other another station ([0050] Referring to FIG. 11, base station 1101 may exchange configuration information with base station 1102. In step S1111, base station 1101 may broadcast its configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1102).
Furthermore, Gan discloses each and every base stations in the group of base stations (Fig. 7B) include the local base station configuration data (Fig. 7B - SBSIT) and the self-configuring with the use of the configuration process (Fig. 7B – D-SON algorithm; Fig. 9 – S906 execute D-SON algorithm) at each of the base stations ([0003] DSON algorithms which are executed at a base station… to perform self-configuration, self-optimization, and self-healing at the base station… the DSON algorithms are decentralized and executed at each individual base station; [0045] base station 720 may create MnS interface 712 to transmit and receive configuration information of another base station through 3GPP management system 711…base station 720 may store the configuration information in a surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) 713. The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713; (D-SON algorithm is provided at base station 720 and another base station, therefore the self-configuring with use of the configuration processing are provided at each of the base stations)) and the self-configuring may be executed according to the local base station configuration data in the SBSIT (Fig. 7A-B; [0045] The DSON algorithm 714 may be executed by the base station 720 according to configuration information in SBSIT 713; [0054] In step S1301, according to the content of SBSIT; [0053] when the SBSIT of a base station is updated, the base station would execute one of the CCO, ANR, and PCI DSON algorithms to optimize network performance).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify for the base station of the group of base stations to be for each base station of the group of base stations since the base stations have the same components which are configured to execute embodiments of the disclosure. This allows all of the base stations in the group of base stations to exchange their configuration information and accurately update their SBSIT and execute the DSON algorithms to optimize network performance ([0054] When the SBSIT is updated, the base station may proceed to step S906. In step S906, the base station may execute DSON algorithms for CCO, ANR, and/or PCI to optimize network performance. In one embodiment, the base station may execute the CCO algorithm, the ANR algorithm, and the PCI algorithm sequentially).
Regarding claim 3, Gan further discloses wherein the local base station data sent from each base station comprises GPS locations of the base station ([0046] surrounding base station information table (SBSIT) used by a base station for storing configuration management information; SBSIT 800 may store... location 806… Location 806 could be a global position system (GPS) coordinate with height).
Regarding claim 4, Gan further discloses wherein the local base station data sent from each base station comprises data indicative of network conditions local to the base stations ([0046] SBSIT 800 may store... and status 808… Status 808 could be activation (A) or deactivation (D); [0058] When base station 1407 is deactivated, there may be a coverage hole).
Regarding claim 5, Gan further discloses wherein exchanging data for base station configuration comprises the one or more data bases generating local base station configuration data for each base station including alternative parameters or operating limitations based on the local base station data received by the one or more data bases from each base station ([0063] Fig. 19; base station 1901 (BS7) may get configuration information of base stations 1903 (BS5) and 1904 (BS6) (surrounding BSs local information) through management system 1902; base stations 1903 (BS5) and 1904 (BS6) may also transmit their configuration information (Cell5, L5, TA5) and (Cell6, L6, TA6) to management system 1902. Cell5 is the Cell ID of base station 1903 (BS5), L5 is the location of base station 1903 (BS5), and TA5 is the TNL address of base station 1903 (BS5) (Cell ID, location, and address can be used to compute the maximum transmission distance of a base station)) and
transmitting the local base station configuration data to each base station ([0063]; [0044] According to configuration information gathered through MnS interfaces, 3GPP management system 701 may perform DSON management and DSON evaluation to configure network management parameters. Then, base stations 703, 704 may receive configuration information to executed DSON algorithms such as CCO adjustment, ANR establishment, and PCI allocation or reallocation), the local base station configuration data for each base station (local base station configuration data contains Cell ID, location, TNL address, etc) for inclusion in the local base station configuration data broadcast by each base station ([0050] In step S1111, base station 1101 may broadcast its configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1102… in step S1114, base station 1102 may respond configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1101).
Gan does not explicitly disclose the local base station configuration data broadcast by each base station with a payload.
However, Wang discloses a data with a payload ([0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field… it contains… the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data. The hash employed for ESP protects the integrity of just the encrypted data, whereas the AH hash protects the entire IP packet which, as indicated for IPSec, always includes the AH field and sometimes the ESP field).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data broadcast by each base station of Gan to include a payload as taught by Wang in order to protect the local base station configuration data by using the encrypted payload data (Wang - [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Gan further disclose said broadcasting by said base station the local base station configuration data comprises said base station generating and broadcasting the local base station configuration data ([0050] In step S1111, base station 1101 may broadcast its configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1102… in step S1114, base station 1102 may respond configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1101) over X2 interface ([0039] FIG. 3 illustrates an application scenario of managing a DSON in a situation of PCI confusion and PCI collision. Referring to FIG. 3, a base station obtains PCI configuration from surrounding base stations by X2/Xn interface to determine available PCI values and to select an unused PCI value. Then, UE measurement report is used to determine whether there are PCI collisions).
Gan does not explicitly disclose the local base station configuration data comprises packets with a payload, and the X2 interface operates according to an inter-base station protocol (IBSP).
However, Wang discloses a configuration data comprises packets with a payload, and X2 interface operates according to an inter-base station protocol (IBSP) ([0022] the eNB may then obtain the identities of its X2-connected neighboring eNBs… eNB-Id(s) and/or Cell-Id(s)… and other non-confidential information; [0026] The collection of sensitive information by an eNB from its neighbors occurs… when the inter-eNB authentication and security key associations have taken place; [0028] The first embodiment utilizes the underlying Internet Protocol Security eNB-to-eNB communication for LTE and is structured around the standard TCP/IP protocol suite; [0031] The three basic components of IPSec are Authentication Protection, Confidentiality Protection, and Security Association. The authentication and confidentiality protection mechanisms are implemented via additional fields in the IP packet. The field for authentication, which is mandatory in IPSec, is the Authentication Header (AH); [0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field… it contains… the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data and the X2 interface of Gan to include packets with the payload and the IBSP as taught by Wang when exchanging local base station configuration data. This allows self-configuration of eNBs (Gan, [0048], Wang, [0019]) to add a layer of data integrity and source address protection when exchanging local base station configuration data via the X2/MnS interface (Gan, [0038]) that contains sensitive information.
Regarding claim 9, Gan further discloses wherein the generated local base station configuration data by a base station include all local base station configuration data the base station has received ([0050] base station 1102 may respond configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1101; (base station 1102 received data from 1101 and responded, hence base station 1102 received all the other base stations); Fig. 19 – S1914; [0066] base station 2302 (BS7) may determine TxPower and beam pattern according to configuration information (location, TxPower, and beam pattern) received from base station 2301 (BS5) and base station 2303 (BS6)).
Gan does not explicitly disclose the packets generated according to the IBSP include the local base station configuration data with a payload and a hash of all local base station configuration data with a payload.
However, Wang discloses packets generated according to the IBSP ([0022] the eNB may then obtain the identities of its X2-connected neighboring eNBs… eNB-Id(s) and/or Cell-Id(s)… and other non-confidential information; [0026] The collection of sensitive information by an eNB from its neighbors occurs… when the inter-eNB authentication and security key associations have taken place; [0028] The first embodiment utilizes the underlying Internet Protocol Security eNB-to-eNB communication for LTE and is structured around the standard TCP/IP protocol suite) include a payload and including the data with the payload and a hash of the data with the payload ([0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field… it contains… the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data. The hash employed for ESP protects the integrity of just the encrypted data, whereas the AH hash protects the entire IP packet which, as indicated for IPSec, always includes the AH field and sometimes the ESP field.; [0048] eNB1 and eNB2 (such as the self-configuring eNB and a neighboring eNB…) …the eNBs share a network distributed secret key Ks which is only known by eNB1 and eNB2; [0052] For IPsec messages 1 and 2… Each hash with Ks protects its corresponding IPsec message; If, following the attack… a Man-in-the-middle Attack, the attacker attempts to send… the hash (MAC) in the corresponding message will not agree with that computed by the recipient of the message. As a result, such attempts, or any spoofing attempts, will be detected and defeated).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the packets generated according to the IBSP and the local base station configuration data of Gan and Wang to include a payload and a hash of all the data with the payload as taught by Wang. This allows eNBs to prevent the typical attacks (e.g., address spoofing, man in the middle attack) by sharing a secret key only known by the eNBs and further improving the IPsec Security with respect to the X2C eNB authentication and key association operations (Wang, [0045], [0052]).
Regarding claim 12, Gan further discloses wherein the configuration processing provided at each of said base stations is the same ([0044] Then, base stations 703, 704 may receive configuration information to executed DSON algorithms such as CCO adjustment, ANR establishment, and PCI allocation or reallocation) and
produces a same set of base station configuration solutions for all the base stations of the group of base stations ([0053] when the SBSIT of a base station is updated, the base station would execute one of the CCO (capacity and coverage optimization), ANR, and PCI DSON algorithms; [0054] the CCO algorithm may adjust the coverage area of a base station based on configuration information which could include location, TxPower, beam, and/or status… After the CCO adjustment of the one or more neighboring base stations… the base station may perform CCO adjustment based on the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations (Fig. 7A; Fig. 11), said set of base station configuration solutions ([0053];) including the configuration solution specific to the base station for self-configuring the base station (Fig 14-15; [0058] a DSON performing a CCO adjustment... Base stations 1401˜1407 have corresponding coverage areas. base station 1407 is deactivated, there may be a coverage hole. Base station 1401 may adjust coverage area to fit the coverage hole; [0059] To perform CCO adjustment, base station 1501 may compute the coverage area of surrounding base stations 1502˜1506 according to location, TxPower, and/or beam pattern of surrounding base stations 1502˜1506... Next, base station 1501 may select a beam pattern and a minimum TxPower which lead to cover an area with the most intersections points).
Gan does not disclose the local base station configuration data with payloads.
However, Wang discloses a data with payloads ([0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field… it contains… the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data. The hash employed for ESP protects the integrity of just the encrypted data, whereas the AH hash protects the entire IP packet which, as indicated for IPSec, always includes the AH field and sometimes the ESP field; [0052] The symbols correspond to those defined above. For IPsec messages 1 and 2, the braces notation denotes that message authentication code (MAC) values are added, each representing a hash using the authentication/integrity key, i.e. the shared secret K.sub.s, of all the components of, respectively, each message. Each hash with K.sub.s protects its corresponding IPsec message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data of Gan to include a payloads as taught by Wang in order to protect the local base station configuration data by using the encrypted payload data (Wang - [0032]).
Regarding claim 13, Gan further discloses wherein said self-configuring is performed with use of the same configuration processing for coordinating operation of the base stations ([0054] the base station may wait for a CCO adjustment of one or more surrounding base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations whose status is activation… The base station may estimate coverage area of surrounding base stations based on location, TxPower, beam, and/or status of surrounding base stations… according to coverage hole of the surrounding base stations, the base station may select a beam pattern and determine a TxPower setup to fit the coverage hole) on the basis of the local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations ([0048] in order to establish the SBSIT (surrounding base station information table), the base station may begin with receiving configuration information from surrounding base stations; [0050] In step S1112, base station 1102 may compute a distance from base station 1101… in step S1114, base station 1102 may respond configuration information (for example, Cell ID, location and TNL address) to base station 1101; [0051] In one embodiment, a base station may add configuration information of surrounding base stations to SBSIT by pre-setting the configuration information in the SBSIT).
Gan does not disclose the local base station configuration data with payloads.
However, Wang discloses a data with payloads ([0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field… it contains… the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data. The hash employed for ESP protects the integrity of just the encrypted data, whereas the AH hash protects the entire IP packet which, as indicated for IPSec, always includes the AH field and sometimes the ESP field; [0052] The symbols correspond to those defined above. For IPsec messages 1 and 2, the braces notation denotes that message authentication code (MAC) values are added, each representing a hash using the authentication/integrity key, i.e. the shared secret K.sub.s, of all the components of, respectively, each message. Each hash with K.sub.s protects its corresponding IPsec message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data of Gan to include the payloads as taught by Wang in order to protect the local base station configuration data by using the encrypted payload data (Wang - [0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Gan further discloses wherein said self-configuration (Fig. 7A; [0044] According to configuration information gathered through MnS interfaces, 3GPP management system 701 may perform DSON management and DSON evaluation to configure network management parameters. Then, base stations 703, 704 may receive configuration information to executed DSON algorithms such as CCO adjustment, ANR establishment, and PCI allocation or reallocation) comprises determining from said local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations ([0048] in order to establish the SBSIT (surrounding base station information table), the base station may begin with receiving configuration information from surrounding base stations; [0054] the CCO (capacity and coverage optimization) algorithm may adjust the coverage area of a base station based on configuration information which could include location, TxPower, beam, and/or status… according to the content of SBSIT (surrounding base station information table contains local configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations), the base station may wait for a CCO adjustment of one or more surrounding base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations whose status is activation. After the CCO adjustment of the one or more neighboring base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations are complete, the base station may perform CCO adjustment) a priority for each base station ([0055] when two base stations have the same number of surrounding base stations, the base station with larger Cell ID would perform the CCO (capacity and coverage optimization) adjustment first).
Gan does not disclose the local base station configuration data with payloads.
However, Wang discloses a data with payloads ([0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field… it contains… the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data. The hash employed for ESP protects the integrity of just the encrypted data, whereas the AH hash protects the entire IP packet which, as indicated for IPSec, always includes the AH field and sometimes the ESP field; [0052] The symbols correspond to those defined above. For IPsec messages 1 and 2, the braces notation denotes that message authentication code (MAC) values are added, each representing a hash using the authentication/integrity key, i.e. the shared secret K.sub.s, of all the components of, respectively, each message. Each hash with K.sub.s protects its corresponding IPsec message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data of Gan to include the payloads as taught by Wang in order to protect the local base station configuration data by using the encrypted payload data (Wang - [0032]).
Regarding claim 15, Gan further discloses wherein said self-configuration (Fig. 7A; [0044] According to configuration information gathered through MnS interfaces, 3GPP management system 701 may perform DSON management and DSON evaluation to configure network management parameters. Then, base stations 703, 704 may receive configuration information to executed DSON algorithms such as CCO adjustment, ANR establishment, and PCI allocation or reallocation) comprises sorting said local base station configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations ([0048] in order to establish the SBSIT (surrounding base station information table), the base station may begin with receiving configuration information from surrounding base stations; [0054] the CCO (capacity and coverage optimization) algorithm may adjust the coverage area of a base station based on configuration information which could include location, TxPower, beam, and/or status… according to the content of SBSIT (surrounding base station information table contains local configuration data of all the base stations of the group of base stations)) based on a cardinality of alternative parameters in the local base station configuration data and base station priority ([0054] the base station may wait for a CCO adjustment of one or more surrounding base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations (base stations with the larger number of surrounding base stations perform CCO adjustment first; hence sorting) whose status is activation… After the CCO adjustment of the one or more neighboring base stations with a larger number of surrounding base stations are complete, the base station may perform CCO adjustment).
Gan does not disclose the local base station configuration data with payloads.
However, Wang discloses a data with payloads ([0032] The confidentiality field, which follows the authentication field… it contains… the encrypted payload data, and a subfield containing a hash to integrity protect the encrypted data. The hash employed for ESP protects the integrity of just the encrypted data, whereas the AH hash protects the entire IP packet which, as indicated for IPSec, always includes the AH field and sometimes the ESP field; [0052] The symbols correspond to those defined above. For IPsec messages 1 and 2, the braces notation denotes that message authentication code (MAC) values are added, each representing a hash using the authentication/integrity key, i.e. the shared secret K.sub.s, of all the components of, respectively, each message. Each hash with K.sub.s protects its corresponding IPsec message).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data of Gan to include the payloads as taught by Wang in order to protect the local base station configuration data by using the encrypted payload data (Wang - [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Gan further discloses the method in claim 15, wherein said self-configuration comprises finding a configuration solution to mutually exclusive configurations using said sorting ([0057] when a base station with a larger number of surrounding base stations changes status from deactivation to activation and meanwhile there is another base station with a smaller number of surrounding base stations performing the CCO adjustment, the base station with a larger number of surrounding base stations would use a default TxPower and beam pattern until next CCO adjustment).
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Wang and in further view of Potharaju et al. (US 20210185541 A1, hereafter Potharaju).
Regarding claim 7, Gan and Wang does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the local base station configuration data payload broadcast by each base station includes a list of channels on which the base station may operate.
However, Potharaju discloses a base station configuration data includes a list of channels on which each base station may operate ([0060] For each one of these active neighboring 3GPP base stations, the 3GPP base station may receive, from an active neighboring 3GPP base station, one or more messages including the active neighbor list of small cell frequencies of neighboring small cells of the active neighboring 3GPP base station… At least some of the small cell frequencies of the neighboring small cells… may be added to a potential neighbor list 452 of small cell frequencies of potential neighboring small cells of the 3GPP base station; [0064] Fig. 5; Each entry in active neighbor list 500 of small cell frequencies may include a frequency channel number of a neighboring small cell and an identifier of the neighboring small cell… each entry may include one or more of a PCI of the neighboring small cell… an IP address associated with the neighboring small cell… and an X2 connection status indicator associated with the neighboring small cell; [0067] UE(s)… perform measurements on signals from neighboring small cells based on the neighbor lists, and report these measurements to the 3GPP base station which determines whether to handover the UE and to which cell to handover).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the local base station configuration data payload broadcast by each base station of Gan and Wang to include a list of channels on which each base station may operate as taught by Potharaju. The use of a neighbor list in association with ANR function (Gan, [0038] automatic neighbor relations (ANR)) of the base station having the list of channels would allow for UE(s) to handover or transition within a coverage area of the base station, from different cells as needed for optimal signal strength (Potharaju, [0067]; Gan, [0059]).
9. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Wang in further view of STARK et al. (US 20170295574 A1, hereafter STARK).
Regarding claim 16, Gan and Wang do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 15, wherein cardinality of alternative parameters comprises a number of channels on which the base station may operate on.
However, STARK discloses cardinality of alternative parameters comprises a number of channels on which each base station may operate on ([0083] The serving eNodeB 901 knows the following things that are related to the serving cell 902: configured neighbor frequencies include f2, f3, and f4. In principle known neighbor cells from X2 information exchange can include the following: 2 cells at frequency 2, 2 cells at frequency 3, no cells at frequency 4; Handovers have, in this example, happened to two cells at frequency 2, no cells at frequency 3, and no cells at frequency 4).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Gan and Wang to include the cardinality comprising a number of channels on which the base station may operate on as taught by STARK. This allows ANR function (Gan, [0038] automatic neighbor relations (ANR)) of the base station to accurately configured to remove neighbor cell relations of the surrounding base stations from NCRT (Gan, [0060] neighbor cell relations table (NCRT)) if the relation has not been used frequently enough. Signal loss during handovers can be minimized by having an accurate NCRT and selecting the best neighbor cell for handover.
10. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Wang in further view of MESHKATI et al. (US 20150358959 A1, hereafter MESHKATI).
Regarding claim 18, Gan and Wang do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 1, wherein said self-configuration comprises determining from said received local base station configuration data payloads of all the base stations of the group of base stations, data parameters to be synchronized with use of a performance metric. However, MESHKATI discloses the data parameters to be synchronized with use of a performance metric ([0036] femto node 104 can determine a number of channel elements (CE), backhaul capacity, maximum transmission power, a downlink/uplink load metric, preferred users, access mode, etc. of macro node 102 or femto node 106. This information can be obtained from the macro node 102 or femto node 106 in broadcast channel (BCH) messages, or can be embedded at the physical layer (e.g., in a secondary synchronization channel); [0037] Femto node 104 can compare the observed capability information to its own capabilities, in one example, to determine an adjustment of transmission power, resource allocation (e.g., allocation of time and/or frequency blocks), frequency spectrum, etc. For example, where femto node 104 determines femto node 106 has more CEs, femto node 104 can decrease transmission power to reduce its coverage area, which makes reselection or handover of devices communicating with femto node 104 more likely (e.g., to femto node 106 or other nodes)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the received local base station configuration data payloads of Gan and Wang to include the data parameters to be synchronized with use of a performance metric as taught by MESHKATI. This would ensure a smooth handover from the transmitting base station to the receiving base station. A handover can fail without proper synchronization of the base stations.
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Gan and Wang are the most relevant prior arts toward the claimed invention as cited above in claim 1, 8, and 9 which claim 11 depends on. However, Gan and Wang, either alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the method of claim 9 wherein said evaluating by said base station comprises determining by said base station that the hash of all local base station configuration payloads said base station has received has not changed for a duration of at least the grace period, as recited in claim 11. No additional evidence was found to reasonably render a case of obviousness against the claimed invention.
Conclusion
12. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418