DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “pneumatic conditioning unit” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8, 11, 14, 15-17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 2, 3, 5, 11, 14, 16, and 18 recite the term “selectively”, which renders each of the claims indefinite as it is unclear how exactly “selectively” is being used.
Claim 2 recites in lines 1-4 that “the control signal is configured to permit the user to selectively and remotely transition the tripper pin between an activated configuration…and a disabled configuration”. However, it is unclear how exactly a “signal” is configured to permit a user to selectively perform the intended use. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 3 recites in lines 1-3 that “the control signal is configured to permit the user to selectively and remotely initiate and cease operation”. However, it is unclear how exactly a “signal” is configured to permit a user to selectively perform the intended use. Further clarification is needed.
Claim 4 recites in lines 1-2 that “the control signal includes one or more of a pneumatic air flow, a hydraulic fluid flow”. However, it is unclear how exactly a control signal can have one or more of a pneumatic air flow, a hydraulic fluid flow. Is it that the control signal can have one or more or a pneumatic air flow signal or a hydraulic fluid flow signal? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in lines 1-2 “a pneumatic conditioning unit configured to receive and condition a pneumatic air source”. However, it is unclear how exactly this unit receives and conditions a pneumatic air source. In what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 8 recites in lines 1-2 that “the control signal includes at least a portion of the pneumatic air flow”. However, it is unclear how exactly a control signal can include at least a portion of the pneumatic air flow. Additionally, it is unclear what exactly is catalogued as a “portion of the pneumatic air flow”? In what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 15 recites in lines 1-2 “a pneumatic conditioning unit configured to receive and condition a pneumatic air source”. However, it is unclear how exactly this unit receives and conditions a pneumatic air source. In what sense? Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith US 10,413,971.
In regards to claim 1, Smith discloses a remote lathe control system (800) for a portable lathe (104) that includes a fixed ring configured to be fixedly mounted on a cylindrical workpiece, a rotating ring rotatably and operatively coupled to the fixed ring, a drive motor configured to rotate the rotating ring relative to the fixed ring, a tool slide assembly mounted to the rotating ring and including a tool bit and a star wheel, and a tripper pin tower fixedly coupled to and extending radially away from the fixed ring and including a tripper pin (Figure 4), the remote lathe control system (800) comprising: an operator pendant (as presented by Applicant, see Figure 7) configured to receive a user input from a human user and to generate a control signal for remote operation of the portable lathe; and a control tether (e.g. 804) extending from the operator pendant (as in Figure 7) to convey the control signal to another component of the remote lathe control system. See column 16, lines 5-55.
In regards to claim 2, Smith discloses the remote lathe control system of claim 1, Smith also discloses that wherein the control signal is configured to permit the user to selectively and remotely transition the tripper pin between an activated configuration, in which the tripper pin is positioned to engage and rotate the star wheel as the tool slide assembly moves past the tripper pin tower, and a disabled configuration, in which the tripper pin is positioned to be spaced apart from the star wheel when the tool slide assembly moves past the tripper pin tower (as the control signal and the remote control are in charge of the operation of the lathe, then the control signal is capable of performing the intended use).
In regards to claim 3, Smith discloses the remote lathe control system of claim 1, Smith also discloses that the control signal is configured to permit the user to selectively and remotely initiate and cease operation of the drive motor to rotate the rotating ring relative to the fixed ring (as the control signal and the remote control are in charge of the operation of the lathe, then the control signal is capable of performing the intended use).
In regards to claim 4, Smith discloses the remote lathe control system of claim 1, Smith also discloses that the control signal includes an electrical signal (column 16, lines 27-34).
In regards to claim 5, Smith discloses the remote lathe control system of claim 1, Smith also discloses that the operator pendant includes a machine-start control (806) configured to initiate rotation of the rotating ring relative to the fixed ring; and (iii) a machine-stop control (e-stop 806) configured to halt rotation of the rotating ring relative to the fixed ring.
In regards to claim 6, Smith discloses the remote lathe control system of claim 1, Smith also discloses a pneumatic conditioning unit configured to receive and condition a pneumatic air source.
In regards to claim 14, Smith discloses the remote lathe control system of claim 1, Smith also discloses that the control signal is configured to regulate a pneumatic air flow to the drive motor (206) to selectively rotate the rotating ring relative to the fixed ring.
In regards to claim 19, Smith discloses the remote lathe control system of claim 1, Smith also discloses the portable lathe.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9-10, 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 11, 15-18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722