Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/08/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/02/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/08/2026 has been entered. Independent Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. Dependent claims 5-7, 9, 15-17 and 19 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. No claims are new. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to objections of the disclosure have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/08/2026 on pages 9-10 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Wang fails to teach a processing time with an N1 value. However, the argument depends on the patentable weight for a non-selective option. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of a processing time with an N1 value from the teachings of Wang. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/08/2026 on pages 11-12 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 5 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Jung fails to teach that the time offset, tso, is based off of the DSCH processing time. However, the scheduling time offset is a completely different element, and is in different figures than the claimed similarities. The value tso is in fig 10, ¶0236 and has to do with the difference from reception and transmission of a PDCCH and a PDSCH. This does not apply to the claimed element of a plurality PDSCHs and was not mapped to any element, neither the figure nor the paragraph was referenced. As for the argument that the maximum associated value for the plurality of PDSCHs, ¶0188 further shows that the transmissions are through a single response, and one of ordinary art in the skill in the art of electrical engineering would understand that the choice to not overlap two transmissions would mean selecting the largest possible difference, i.e. select the option that does not overlap. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of that the time offset is based off of the DSCH processing time from the teachings of Jung. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/08/2026 on page 12 of applicant’s remark regarding Claim 1 and Claim 7 under 35 USC § 103. The applicant argues that Bae’475 fails to teach a d1,1 value for a relaxation of the time. However, ¶0202 further describes a situation for collision avoidance between the PDSCH overlapping, and using a applying the collision avoidance between the predetermined SPS/CG configuration indices. Which suggests a predetermined value that’s used to fully separate the two communication bursts. Thus, the applicant here fails to patentably distinguish the claimed invention of a d1,1 value for a relaxation of the time from the teachings of Bae’475. The applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub. No.: US 20240080856 A1, hereafter “Wang”) in view of Bae (Pub. No.: US 20240413951 A1, hereafter “Bae”), further in view of Bae’475 (Pub. No.: US 20230032475 A1, hereafter “Bae’475”).
Regarding Claim 1 and Claim 11
Wang teaches a Method and Base Station comprising
and receiving a hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) (Wang Fig. 4: 403, UE transmits the HARQ-ACK) via a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (Wang ¶0141: when configuring the PUCCH), the HARQ-ACK having been sent by a user equipment (UE) (Wang Fig. 4: 403, UE transmits) in response to one of the plurality of PDSCHs (Wang Fig. 4: 402, UE receives one or more PDSCHs), wherein the HARQ-ACK is sent no earlier in time than a time offset (Wang ¶0148: time offset K’) following a reference time (Wang ¶0148: K1) in one of the plurality of PDSCHs (Wang ¶0148: indicated by the PDSCH TDRA table T; Wang teaches a UE sending a HARQ-ACK for configuring a PUCCH that is in response to one or more PDSCHs according to a received DCI, wherein the HARQ-ACK includes a time offset for the plurality of PDSCHs).
Wang does not explicitly teach
A method for transmitting downlink control information (DCI), the method comprising: simultaneously scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) through a single DCI transmitted via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), wherein each of the plurality of PDSCHs is associated with a respective cell in a plurality of cells
However, Bae teaches
A method for transmitting downlink control information (DCI) (Bae ¶0204: DCI), the method comprising: simultaneously scheduling (Bae ¶0204: dynamic HARQ-ACK codebook) a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) (Bae ¶0204: scheduled PDSCH(s)) through a single DCI transmitted via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (Bae ¶0204: DL scheduling PDCCHs), wherein each of the plurality of PDSCHs is associated with a respective cell in a plurality of cells (Bae ¶0204: scheduled serving cells; Bae teaches one DCI for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs through a PDCCH for a plurality of serving cells);
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang by way of Bae, to include an element that teaches one DCI for scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs through a PDCCH for a plurality of serving cells, as taught by Bae in ¶0204, to better improve spatial efficiency by aggregating two DCI types together, taught from Wang, thereby reducing downtime for service with multiple cells in communication with a single UE.
Wang in view of Bae does not explicitly teach
wherein the time offset is determined based on one or more of a processing time (N1 value) determined based on a UE reported PDSCH processing capability,
a relaxation of a PDSCH processing time (d1,1 value) determined based on a number of PDSCH symbols and an overlapping condition between PDSCH and PDCCH, or a PDSCH processing time (N1,0 value) determined based on an additional demodulation reference signal (DMRS).
However, Bae’475 teaches
wherein the time offset (Bae’475 ¶0204: dynamic SPS PDSCHs overlapping in time) is determined based on one or more of a processing time (N1 value) determined based on a UE reported PDSCH processing capability (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), a relaxation of a PDSCH processing time (d1,1 value) determined based on a number of PDSCH symbols and an overlapping condition between PDSCH and PDCCH (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a PDSCH processing time (N1,0 value) (Bae’475 ¶0204: relax unnecessary scheduling restrictions) determined (Bae’475 ¶0204: UE and BS determines) based on an additional demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (Bae’475 ¶0204: based on configuration index; Bae’475 teaches a relaxation for communication while PDSCH is overlapping).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Bae by way of Bae’475, to include an element that teaches a relaxation for communication while PDSCH is overlapping, as taught by Bae’475 in ¶0202 and ¶0204, to improve a wireless communication signal efficiency for transmitting and receiving, improving the throughput of the wireless system, reduce delays or latencies generated during radio communication.
Claim 11 differs by the following limitation, which is also taught by the prior art, Wang teaches
A base station (BS) (Wang Fig. 3B: 102) in a wireless communication network, the BS comprising: a radio frequency (RF) transceiver configured to transmit and receive (Wang Fig. 3B: 372a), via at least one antenna (Wang Fig. 3B: 370a); and processing circuitry coupled to the RF transceiver (Wang Fig. 3B: 374;), the processing circuitry configured to cause the BS to (Wang Fig. 3B: 380; Wang teaches a base station with at least one transceiver coupled to an antenna and a processing circuit connected to a memory containing instructions):
Regarding Claim 2 and Claim 12
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 1. Wang further discloses
wherein the reference time is a last symbol of one of the plurality of PDSCHs that ends last in time (Wang ¶0152: K` corresponds to each PDSCH and is determined to be the respective ending symbol), or a last symbol of one of the plurality of PDSCHs that starts last in time (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Wang teaches K’ is determined according to the position with the respective ending symbol).
Regarding Claim 3 and Claim 13
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 1. Wang further discloses
wherein the reference time is a last symbol of one of the plurality of PDSCHs that is a first scheduled PDSCH (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim), or a last symbol of one of the plurality of PDSCHs that is a last scheduled PDSCH (Wang ¶0152: K` corresponds to each PDSCH and is determined to be the respective ending symbol; Wang teaches K’ is determined according to the position with the respective ending symbol).
Regarding Claim 4 and Claim 14
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 1. Wang further discloses
wherein the reference time is a last symbol of one of the plurality of PDSCHs that ends earliest in time (Wang ¶0152: K1’ corresponds to each PDSCH in accordance to the ending symbol where each K1 is located), or a last symbol of one of the plurality of PDSCHs that starts earliest in time (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Wang teaches a sub-value corresponding to the end of each PDSCH wherein the ending symbol is related to the reference time).
Regarding Claim 6 and Claim 16
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 1. Wang further discloses
wherein the time offset is determined as a largest N1 value associated with all of the plurality of PDSCHs (Wang ¶0116: PDSCH), wherein the N1 value, as a function of a minimum subcarrier spacing (SCS) used for PDSCH (Wang ¶0160: Uplink SCS for PUCCH transmission and PDSCH transmission), PDCCH and uplink channel that carries a HARQ-ACK (Wang ¶0116: HARQ-ACK; Wang teaches a variable set due to Tproc,1 generated by the PDSCH processing time, with uplink and downlink PUCCH and PDSCH generating an SCS, as a factor).
Regarding Claim 7 and Claim 17
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 1. Bae’475 teaches
wherein the time offset is determined as a largest d1,1 value (Bae’475 ¶0204: determine a time region) associated with all of the plurality of PDSCHs (Bae’475 ¶0204: SPS PEDSCHs; Bae’475 teaches a time region in which SPS PEDSCHs are overlapping and relaxing unnecessary scheduling restrictions to reduce collisions)
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Bae by way of Bae’475, to include an element that teaches a time region in which SPS PEDSCHs are overlapping and relaxing unnecessary scheduling restrictions to reduce collisions, as taught by Bae’475 in ¶0204, to improve a wireless communication signal efficiency for transmitting and receiving, improving the throughput of the wireless system, reduce delays or latencies generated during radio communication.
Regarding Claim 8 and Claim 18
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 1. Wang further discloses
wherein the time offset includes an additional time interval (Wang ¶0160: uplink slot n), the additional time interval being based on a capability of a UE (Wang ¶0116: determined according to the set K’; Wang teaches a set uplink slot that’s defined according to the previously set K’).
Regarding Claim 9 and Claim 19
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 8. Wang further discloses
wherein the additional time interval is based on a value of the SCS (Wang ¶0116: SCS; Wang teaches the K’ value being a factor in the SCS generation).
Regarding Claim 10 and Claim 20
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 8. Wang further discloses
wherein the additional time interval is reported by the UE (Wang ¶0116: If set K’={2,3}), or is defined in a wireless specification (Not given patentable weight due to non-selective option in the claim; Wang teaches the UE defining the K’ value).
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (Pub. No.: US 20240080856 A1, hereafter “Wang”) in view of Bae (Pub. No.: US 20240413951 A1, hereafter “Bae”) in view of Jung (Pub. No.: US 20210321442 A1, hereafter “Jung”).
Regarding Claim 5 and Claim 15
Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 teaches the Method and Base Station as explained above in Claim 1. Wang in view of Bae further in view of Bae’475 does not explicitly teach
wherein the time offset is determined as a largest N1,0 value associated with all of the plurality of PDSCHs, wherein the N1,0 value is determined based on the additional DMRS location for 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS).
However, Jung teaches
Wherein the time offset is determined as a largest N1,0 value associated with all of the plurality of PDSCHs (Jung ¶0181: two or more PDSCHs), wherein the N1,0 value is determined based on the DMRS (Jung ¶0181: allocated to PDSCHs or DMRS ports) location for 15 kHz subcarrier spacing (SCS) (Jung ¶0074: supporting subcarrier spacing of 15 KHz; Jung teaches allocating two or more PDSCHs or DMRS with the additional associated 15 KHz SCS).
It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wang in view of Bae by way of Bae’475, further by way of Jung, to include an element that teaches allocating two or more PDSCHs or DMRS with the additional associated 15 KHz SCS, as taught by Jung in ¶0181-¶0182, to better improve throughput through optimizing spatial efficiency using FD-MIMO practices and improve IoT connectivity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN MICHAEL WHITAKER/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/Sudesh M. Patidar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415