DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 05/26/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 4-11, 14-20, and 23-24 remain pending in the application. The amendments changes the scope of the previously presented claims. New grounds are applied to the amended claims and the current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 4-11, 14-20, and 23-24 in a reply filed 05/26/2026 (hereinafter, Remarks) have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references being used in the current rejection.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant respectfully argues that “(Remarks Page 8) Okamura does not teach, or suggest, or otherwise disclose a "time offset ... defined as being between an end of the PDCCH and a beginning of the first PDSCH of the plurality of the PDSCHs," as recited in claim 1...and Okamura fails to teach or suggest a "time offset is determined independently based on a mapping type," as recited in claim 1... Therefore, Lee, Jung, and Okamura, fail to teach, suggest, or render obvious features of claims 1 and 11”.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner is not relying on the teaching of OKAMURA to disclose “time offset is determined independently based on a mapping type”. Rather, the examiner is relying on LEE to disclose “the time offset ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 1 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+S; [0243] the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0);) is determined independently based on a mapping type ([0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0)... In addition, the PDSCHs may be scheduled with different SLIVs and mapping types on the time domain according to a TDRA table row index; [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value (the time offset is based on the PDSCHs with different mapping types and slot offset). The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 1 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+S; [0259] situation 1 may be generated by scheduling the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values of all PDSCHs to be less than timeDurationForQCL through adjustment of the slot offset (K0) value or the adjustment of the start symbol (S) in the slot)”.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the mapping type of LEE to include the mapping type A or the mapping type B as taught by OKAMURA in order to improve resource allocation and avoid resource collision by calculating the time offset based on the mapping types of the PDSCHs since the mapping types indicate the starting symbol of the PDSCH (OKAMURA – [0270] Each of the mini slots may be configured of one or a plurality of symbols in the time domain... PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted in time unit greater than the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type A. PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted by using the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type B; LEE – [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 1 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+S).
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding claim 5, the applicant respectfully argues that “(Remarks Pages 8-9) dependent claim 5 recites, among other features, that "the time offset is further determined based on a particular PDSCH in the plurality of the PDSCHs that has a largest time offset relaxation d." The Office relies on Lee's paragraphs [0249] and [0284] to allegedly show this feature (Office Action, pp. 21-22). Applicant respectfully disagrees. In contrast, Lee discusses "the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH" (Lee, para.[0249], emphasis added). Lee further states that "the time offset relaxation d is based on the SCS of the PDCCH and the SCS for each of the PDSCHs are different" (Lee, para. [0284], emphasis added). There is no concept of "the time offset... [being] determined based on a particular PDSCH in the plurality of the PDSCHs that has a largest time offset relaxation d," suggested, taught, or otherwise disclosed in Lee”.
However, examiner respectfully disagrees. LEE discloses wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173] time-domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing (corresponding to a time gap in slot units between a time point of receiving a PDCCH and a time point of transmitting a PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, and marked as K0; [0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0)) is further determined based on a particular PDSCH in the plurality of the PDSCHs that has a largest time offset relaxation d ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information, the following situation may be assumed in the PDSCH reception TCI state/QCL assumption configuration. Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH; [0284] when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different (8-05, μPDSCH≠μPDCCH), a data slot number and a control slot number are different, and thus the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH (the time offset relaxation d is based on the SCS of the PDCCH and the SCS for each of the PDSCHs are different. Therefore, at least one of the PDSCHs will have a larger/largest time offset relaxation d compare to others). The timeDurationForQCL, which is UE capability, may be configured in a similar manner. When enableDefaultBeamForCCS is configured, an additional timing delay value
(
d
2
μ
P
D
S
C
H
2
μ
P
D
C
C
H
)
defined in Table 27 below may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL).
The time offset may be calculated based on the slot offset, wherein each of the PDSCH have a different time offset relaxation d compare to the others, therefore, at least one of the PDSCH will have a larger/largest time offset relaxation d compare to others. The UE may add additional slot(s) to the slot offset, K0, based on the SCS of the PDCCH and the SCS PDSCH being different. Furthermore, additional timing delay value may be added to the time offset to accommodate for the time required for the UE to successfully receive the PDSCH ([0244] if the beam switching time is not considered... a problem may occur that the UE cannot normally receive some or all of the PDSCHs). Hence, the time offset is further determined based on the particular PDSCH that has the largest time offset relaxation d (e.g., additional timing delay value required).
Therefore, the applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Regarding claims 11 and 15, the applicant submits the same arguments as presented in claims 1 and 5, respectively. Thus, examiner applies the same reasoning as presented in claims 1 and 5. Similarly, examiner applies the same reasoning for their dependent claims.
Examiner notes that LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not appear to explicitly disclose wherein when the PDCCH is greater than an SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs (
μ
P
D
C
C
H
>
μ
P
D
S
C
H
) and the specifics of Npdsch PDCCH symbols as described in the instant of the specification, Table 5.5-1.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2026 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 24 “the time offset assumung the SCS” should read “the time offset assuming the SCS”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-11, 14-20, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the time offset is determined independently based on a mapping type and based on a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the PDCCH compared to an SCS of the first PDSCH of the plurality of the PDSCHs” is indefinite because it is unclear what “the time offset is determined independently based on” implies since the meaning of “independently” and “based on” have the opposite definition from one another. The instant specification states the following: “[0051] the K0 processing time requirement is determined independently depending on two factors, specifically: (1) the mapping type, either type A or type B; and (2) the value of the SCS of the scheduled PDSCH compared to the value of the SCS of the scheduling PDCCH. These two factors lead to a possible four combinations”. For the purpose of examination, “the time offset is determined independently based on” will be interpreted as “the time offset is determined based on either a mapping type or a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the PDCCH compared to an SCS of the first PDSCH of the plurality of the PDSCHs”.
Claim 11 has the similar indefiniteness; therefore, the examiner applied the same reasoning for the rejection as claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same rejection for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7-9, 11, 14, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 20220295530 A1, hereafter LEE) in view of JUNG et al. (US 20210321442 A1, hereafter JUNG) and in view of Okamura et al. (US-20230319823-A1, hereinafter OKAMURA).
Regarding claim 1, LEE discloses a method for transmitting downlink control information (DCI) (Fig. 12), the method comprising:
simultaneously scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) through a single DCI transmitted via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0017] The method includes transmitting, to a terminal, DCI scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs on a PDCCH; Fig. 12),
wherein a first PDSCH (Fig. 12 – PDSCH #1) of the plurality of PDSCHs is associated with a first cell in a plurality of cells (Fig. 12 - multiple PDSCHs 12-05, 12-10, 12-15, and 12-20; [0280] PDSCH scheduled in the DCI format is transmitted to a serving sell other than the scheduling cell (hence “a plurality of cell”). A serving cell corresponding to a value of the CIF field is called a scheduled cell for convenience; [0286] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information when cross-carrier scheduling is configured, the following situation may be assumed in the PDSCH reception TCI state/QCL assumption configuration) and a second PDSCH (Fig. 12 – PDSCH #1) of the plurality of the PDSCHs is associated with a second cell in the plurality of cells ([0280];); and
transmitting data to or receiving data from a user equipment (UE) based on scheduling information ([0086] scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) is transmitted from a base station to a UE through the DCI),
wherein the plurality of PDSCHs occur no earlier in time than a time offset following the PDCCH ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173] time-domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing (corresponding to a time gap in slot units between a time point of receiving a PDCCH and a time point of transmitting a PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, and marked as K0 (the PDCCH needs to be received first in order to schedule a time point of transmitting a PDSCH – Hence the PDSCHs cannot occur before the PDCCH and K0)); [0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0); Fig. 12),
the time offset ([0249]; [0173]; [0243];) being configured to permit at least one of beam switching or PDCCH decoding by the UE ([0257] PDSCHs 12-05 and 12-10 have PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values less than timeDurationForQCL 12-25, and the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values of the remaining PDSCHs 12-15 and 12-20 are equal to or greater than the timeDurationForQCL. Since DCI decoding and PDSCH reception beam configuration complete are expected after timeDurationForQCL, the UE cannot use the TCI field in DCI before timeDurationForQCL. Therefore, PDSCH #1 12-05 and PDSCH #2 12-10, having the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values less than timeDurationForQCL, can be received based on the default TCI state/QCL assumption configuration… When the TCI field in DCI is used, it is necessary to consider a beam switching time due to a change in the TCI state/QCL assumption configuration. Here, beam configurations for multiple PDSCHs may expect the following operations),
wherein the time offset ([0249]; [0173]; [0243];) is defined as being between an end of the PDCCH and a beginning of the first PDSCH of the plurality of the PDSCHs ([0243] FIG. 12 illustrates the multi-PDSCH scheduling according to an embodiment of the disclosure. Single DCI 12-00 transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs 12-05, 12-10, 12-15, and 12-20… or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0); [0173] time-domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing (corresponding to a time gap in slot units between a time point of receiving a PDCCH and a time point of transmitting a PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, and marked as K0).
wherein the time offset ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 1 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+S; [0243] the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0);) is determined independently based on a mapping type ([0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0)... In addition, the PDSCHs may be scheduled with different SLIVs and mapping types on the time domain according to a TDRA table row index; [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value (the time offset is based on the PDSCHs with different mapping types and slot offset). The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated; [0259] situation 1 may be generated by scheduling the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values of all PDSCHs to be less than timeDurationForQCL through adjustment of the slot offset (K0) value or the adjustment of the start symbol (S) in the slot) and based on a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the PDCCH compared to an SCS of the first PDSCH of the plurality of the PDSCHs (Fig. 12; [0284] when DCI and PDSCH have the same subcarrier spacing... the base station and the UE may expect a predetermined K0 value... when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different… the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH; [0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0)).
LEE does not appear to explicitly disclose the beam is an analog beam.
However, JUNG discloses the use of an analog beam for beamforming ([0003] For higher data transmit rates, 5G communication systems are considered to be implemented on ultra-high frequency bands (mmWave)… the following techniques are taken into account for the 5G communication system: beamforming… array antenna, analog beamforming, and large scale antenna).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the beam of LEE to be an analog beam as taught by JUNG in order to reduce path loss of radio waves and increase a propagation distance of radio waves in millimeter wave frequency bands, in 5G communication system (JUNG - [0002]; LEE – [0003] [0004] there has been ongoing standardization regarding beamforming and massive multiple- input and multiple-output (MIMO) for mitigating radio-wave path loss and increasing radio-wave transmission distances in mmWave).
LEE does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cell is different from the second cell.
However, OKAMURA discloses wherein a first cell is different from a second cell (Fig. 7 – PDSCH on CC#x, PDSCH on CC#y; [0120] For example, suppose CC#x corresponds to CC of “Cell, PSCell, PUCCH-SCell” and CC#y corresponds to CC of cells other than “Cell, PSCell, PUCCH-SCell”; [0121] In this case, for example, one CC of two CCs to be scheduled is PCell (or PSCell or PUCCH-SCell) and the other CC is CC of a cell other than “PCell, PSCell, PUCCH-SCell”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first cell and the second cell of LEE to include the first cell is different from the second cell as taught by OKAMURA in order to improve the transmission efficiency by transmitting the HARQ information once for multiple PDSCH ([0060] If the timing of returning HARQ information is different between CC#x and CC#y, use of PUCCH resources is inefficient because the terminal 20 must return HARQ information twice; [0061] Accordingly, in the present embodiment, when PDSCH reception of multiple CCs is scheduled with a single DCI, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal 20 can transmit HARQ information for PDSCH reception of each CC at the same timing (that is, in the same slot) between the multiple CCs).
LEE does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the mapping type comprises a mapping type A or a mapping type B.
However, OKAMURA discloses wherein a mapping type comprises a mapping type A or a mapping type B ([0270] The slot may include a plurality of mini slots... The mini slot may be configured of symbols of which the number is less than that of the slot. PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted in time unit greater than the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type A. PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted by using the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the mapping type of LEE to include the mapping type A or the mapping type B as taught by OKAMURA in order to improve resource allocation and avoid resource collision by calculating the time offset based on the mapping types of the PDSCHs since the mapping types indicate the starting symbol of the PDSCH (OKAMURA – [0270] Each of the mini slots may be configured of one or a plurality of symbols in the time domain... PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted in time unit greater than the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type A. PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted by using the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type B; LEE – [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 1 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+S).
Regarding claim 4, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) is determined independently for each one of the plurality of the PDSCHs ([0243] Single DCI 12-00 transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs 12-05, 12-10, 12-15, and 12-20. Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset (K0) for each PDSCH through DCI information).
Regarding claim 7, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) includes an additional time interval, the additional time interval being based on a capability of a UE ([0243] The UE reports timeDurationForQCL 12-25 to the base station according to capability transmission; ([0284] when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different… the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH. The timeDurationForQCL, which is UE capability, may be configured in a similar manner. When enableDefaultBeamForCCS is configured, an additional timing delay value
(
d
2
μ
P
D
S
C
H
2
μ
P
D
C
C
H
)
defined in Table 27 below may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL).
LEE and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose wherein the additional time interval supports a single physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) associated with the simultaneously scheduling the plurality of PDSCHs through the single DCI.
However, JUNG discloses wherein the additional time interval supports a single PUCCH HARQ-ACK associated with the simultaneously scheduling the plurality of PDSCHs through the single DCI ([0432] Referring to FIGS. 16, 17, and 18, FIGS. 16-00, 17-00, and 18-00 correspond to a case in which Koffset between a plurality of PDSCHs allocated to the UE by the base station is 0 based on scheme 3 or 4. In particular, the base station may transmit the first PDCCH and the first and second PDSCHs corresponding thereto to the UE… The UE may receive the plurality of PDSCHs and transmit an HARQ ACK/NACK to PUCCHs #1 and #2 indicated in the PDCCH set by the base station according to whether decoding is successful. A plurality of PDSCHs scheduled in a single PDCCH may repeatedly transmit the same data (e.g., when the indicated RV value is the same); [0437] For example, the UE identifies that the TCI states {#1, #2, #3, #4} are indicated through the TCI codepoint within the DCI, and it may be identified as illustrated in 16-00 that it is instructed to apply TCI state #1 to the first PDSCH, TCI state #2 to the second PDSCH, TCI state #3 to the third PDSCH, and TCI state #4 to the fourth PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the additional time interval of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include a single PUCCH HARQ-ACK associated with the simultaneously scheduling the plurality of PDSCHs through the single DCI as taught by JUNG in order for the UE to efficiently indicate to the base station whether decoding is successful for a plurality of PDSCHs (JUNG – [0432] The UE may… transmit an HARQ ACK/NACK to PUCCHs #1 and #2 indicated in the PDCCH set by the base station according to whether decoding is successful).
Regarding claim 8, LEE further discloses:
wherein the additional time interval is based on a value of a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) ([0284] when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different… the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH. The timeDurationForQCL, which is UE capability, may be configured in a similar manner… an additional timing delay value... may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL).
Regarding claim 9, LEE further discloses, wherein the additional time interval is reported by the UE ([0243] The UE reports timeDurationForQCL 12-25 to the base station according to capability transmission; [0284] an additional timing delay value… may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL).
Regarding claim 11, LEE discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication network, the BS comprising ([0304] Fig. 17 illustrates a structure of a base station in a wireless communication system):
a radio frequency (RF) transceiver configured to transmit and receive, via at least one antenna ([306] The base station receiver 17-00 and the base station transmitter 17-10 may be collectively called a transceiver);
and processing circuitry coupled to the RF transceiver, the processing circuitry configured to cause the BS to ([306] the base station receiver 17-00, the base station transmitter 17-10, and the base station processor 17-05 may be implemented in the form of a single chip):
simultaneously schedule a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs) through a single DCI transmitted via a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) ([0017] a method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system is provided. The method includes transmitting, to a terminal, DCI scheduling a plurality of PDSCHs on a PDCCH; Fig. 12),
wherein a first PDSCH of the plurality of PDSCHs is associated with a first cell in a plurality of cells (Fig. 12 - multiple PDSCHs 12-05, 12-10, 12-15, and 12-20; [0280] PDSCH scheduled in the DCI format is transmitted to a serving sell other than the scheduling cell (hence “a plurality of cell”). A serving cell corresponding to a value of the CIF field is called a scheduled cell for convenience; [0286] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information when cross-carrier scheduling is configured, the following situation may be assumed in the PDSCH reception TCI state/QCL assumption configuration) and a second PDSCH (Fig. 12 – PDSCH #1) of the plurality of the PDSCHs is associated with a second cell in the plurality of cells ([0280];); and
transmit data to or receive data from a user equipment (UE) based on scheduling information ([0086] scheduling information about uplink data (or physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or downlink data (or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)) is transmitted from a base station to a UE through the DCI),
wherein the plurality of PDSCHs occurs no earlier in time than a time offset following the PDCCH ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173] time-domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing (corresponding to a time gap in slot units between a time point of receiving a PDCCH and a time point of transmitting a PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, and marked as K0 (the PDCCH needs to be received first in order to schedule a time point of transmitting a PDSCH – Hence the PDSCHs cannot occur before the PDCCH and K0)); [0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0); Fig. 12),
the time offset ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) being configured to permit at least one of beam switching by the UE or PDCCH decoding by the UE ([0257] PDSCHs 12-05 and 12-10 have PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values less than timeDuratio/nForQCL 12-25, and the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values of the remaining PDSCHs 12-15 and 12-20 are equal to or greater than the timeDurationForQCL. Since DCI decoding and PDSCH reception beam configuration complete are expected after timeDurationForQCL, the UE cannot use the TCI field in DCI before timeDurationForQCL. Therefore, PDSCH #1 12-05 and PDSCH #2 12-10, having the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values less than timeDurationForQCL, can be received based on the default TCI state/QCL assumption configuration… When the TCI field in DCI is used, it is necessary to consider a beam switching time due to a change in the TCI state/QCL assumption configuration. Here, beam configurations for multiple PDSCHs may expect the following operations),
wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) is defined as being between an end of the PDCCH and a beginning of the first PDSCH of the plurality of the PDSCHs ([0243] FIG. 12 illustrates the multi-PDSCH scheduling according to an embodiment of the disclosure. Single DCI 12-00 transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs 12-05, 12-10, 12-15, and 12-20… or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0); [0173] time-domain resource allocation information may include PDCCH-to-PDSCH slot timing (corresponding to a time gap in slot units between a time point of receiving a PDCCH and a time point of transmitting a PDSCH scheduled by the received PDCCH, and marked as K0),
wherein the time offset ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 1 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+S; [0243] the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0);) is determined independently based on a mapping type ([0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0)... In addition, the PDSCHs may be scheduled with different SLIVs and mapping types on the time domain according to a TDRA table row index; [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value (the time offset is based on the PDSCHs with different mapping types and slot offset). The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated; [0259] situation 1 may be generated by scheduling the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset values of all PDSCHs to be less than timeDurationForQCL through adjustment of the slot offset (K0) value or the adjustment of the start symbol (S) in the slot) and based on a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the PDCCH compared to an SCS of the first PDSCH of the plurality of the PDSCHs (Fig. 12; [0284] when DCI and PDSCH have the same subcarrier spacing... the base station and the UE may expect a predetermined K0 value... when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different… the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH; [0243] Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset for each PDSCH through DCI information, or only the first PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a slot offset (K0)).
LEE does not appear to explicitly disclose the beam is an analog beam.
However, JUNG discloses the use of an analog beam for beamforming ([0003] For higher data transmit rates, 5G communication systems are considered to be implemented on ultra-high frequency bands (mmWave)… the following techniques are taken into account for the 5G communication system: beamforming… array antenna, analog beamforming, and large scale antenna).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the beam of LEE to be an analog beam as taught by JUNG in order to reduce path loss of radio waves and increase a propagation distance of radio waves in millimeter wave frequency bands, in 5G communication system (JUNG - [0002]; LEE – [0003] [0004] there has been ongoing standardization regarding beamforming and massive multiple- input and multiple-output (MIMO) for mitigating radio-wave path loss and increasing radio-wave transmission distances in mmWave).
LEE does not explicitly disclose wherein the first cell is different from the second cell.
However, OKAMURA discloses wherein a first cell is different from a second cell (Fig. 7 – PDSCH on CC#x, PDSCH on CC#y; [0120] For example, suppose CC#x corresponds to CC of “Cell, PSCell, PUCCH-SCell” and CC#y corresponds to CC of cells other than “Cell, PSCell, PUCCH-SCell”; [0121] In this case, for example, one CC of two CCs to be scheduled is PCell (or PSCell or PUCCH-SCell) and the other CC is CC of a cell other than “PCell, PSCell, PUCCH-SCell”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first cell and the second cell of LEE to include the first cell is different from the second cell as taught by OKAMURA in order to improve the transmission efficiency by transmitting the HARQ information once for multiple PDSCH ([0060] If the timing of returning HARQ information is different between CC#x and CC#y, use of PUCCH resources is inefficient because the terminal 20 must return HARQ information twice; [0061] Accordingly, in the present embodiment, when PDSCH reception of multiple CCs is scheduled with a single DCI, as shown in FIG. 7, the terminal 20 can transmit HARQ information for PDSCH reception of each CC at the same timing (that is, in the same slot) between the multiple CCs).
LEE does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the mapping type comprises a mapping type A or a mapping type B.
However, OKAMURA discloses wherein a mapping type comprises a mapping type A or a mapping type B ([0270] The slot may include a plurality of mini slots... The mini slot may be configured of symbols of which the number is less than that of the slot. PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted in time unit greater than the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type A. PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted by using the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type B).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the mapping type of LEE to include the mapping type A or the mapping type B as taught by OKAMURA in order to improve resource allocation and avoid resource collision by calculating the time offset based on the mapping types of the PDSCHs since the mapping types indicate the starting symbol of the PDSCH (OKAMURA – [0270] Each of the mini slots may be configured of one or a plurality of symbols in the time domain... PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted in time unit greater than the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type A. PDSCH (or PUSCH) to be transmitted by using the mini slot may be referred to as a PDSCH (or PUSCH) mapping type B; LEE – [0250] i) When a slot offset is indicated by a different value for each PDSCH, each PDSCH may have a different PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset value. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 1 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+S).
Regarding claim 14, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) is determined independently for each one of the plurality of the PDSCHs ([0243] Single DCI 12-00 transmitted via the PDCCH is configured to schedule one or multiple PDSCHs 12-05, 12-10, 12-15, and 12-20. Each PDSCH may be configured to receive indication of a different slot offset (K0) for each PDSCH through DCI information).
Regarding claim 17, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) includes an additional time interval, the additional time interval being based on a capability of a UE ([0243] The UE reports timeDurationForQCL 12-25 to the base station according to capability transmission; ([0284] when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different… the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH. The timeDurationForQCL, which is UE capability, may be configured in a similar manner. When enableDefaultBeamForCCS is configured, an additional timing delay value
(
d
2
μ
P
D
S
C
H
2
μ
P
D
C
C
H
)
defined in Table 27 below may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL).
LEE and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose wherein the additional time interval supports a single physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) associated with the simultaneously scheduling the plurality of the PDSCHs through the single DCI.
However, JUNG discloses wherein the additional time interval supports a single PUCCH HARQ-ACK associated with the simultaneously scheduling the plurality of PDSCHs through the single DCI ([0432] Referring to FIGS. 16, 17, and 18, FIGS. 16-00, 17-00, and 18-00 correspond to a case in which Koffset between a plurality of PDSCHs allocated to the UE by the base station is 0 based on scheme 3 or 4. In particular, the base station may transmit the first PDCCH and the first and second PDSCHs corresponding thereto to the UE… The UE may receive the plurality of PDSCHs and transmit an HARQ ACK/NACK to PUCCHs #1 and #2 indicated in the PDCCH set by the base station according to whether decoding is successful. A plurality of PDSCHs scheduled in a single PDCCH may repeatedly transmit the same data (e.g., when the indicated RV value is the same); [0437] For example, the UE identifies that the TCI states {#1, #2, #3, #4} are indicated through the TCI codepoint within the DCI, and it may be identified as illustrated in 16-00 that it is instructed to apply TCI state #1 to the first PDSCH, TCI state #2 to the second PDSCH, TCI state #3 to the third PDSCH, and TCI state #4 to the fourth PDSCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the additional time interval of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include a single PUCCH HARQ-ACK associated with the simultaneously scheduling the plurality of PDSCHs through the single DCI as taught by JUNG in order for the UE to efficiently indicate to the base station whether decoding is successful for a plurality of PDSCHs (JUNG – [0432] The UE may… transmit an HARQ ACK/NACK to PUCCHs #1 and #2 indicated in the PDCCH set by the base station according to whether decoding is successful).
Regarding claim 18, LEE further discloses:
wherein the additional time interval is based on a value of a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) ([0284] when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different… the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH. The timeDurationForQCL, which is UE capability, may be configured in a similar manner… an additional timing delay value... may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL).
Regarding claim 19, LEE further discloses, wherein the additional time interval is reported by the UE ([0243] The UE reports timeDurationForQCL 12-25 to the base station according to capability transmission; [0284] an additional timing delay value… may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL).
Claims 5-6, 10, 15-16 and 20 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of JUNG and Okumura, and in further view of ETSI TS 138 214 3GPP TS 38.214, "5G; NR; Physical layer procedures for data", Version 16.2.0 Release 16, July 2020 (hereafter ETSI TS).
Regarding claim 5, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) is further determined based on a particular PDSCH in the plurality of the PDSCHs that has a largest time offset relaxation d ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information, the following situation may be assumed in the PDSCH reception TCI state/QCL assumption configuration. Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH; [0284] when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different (8-05, μPDSCH≠μPDCCH), a data slot number and a control slot number are different, and thus the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH (the time offset relaxation d is based on the SCS of the PDCCH and the SCS for each of the PDSCHs are different. Therefore, at least one of the PDSCHs will have a larger/largest time offset relaxation d compare to others). The timeDurationForQCL, which is UE capability, may be configured in a similar manner. When enableDefaultBeamForCCS is configured, an additional timing delay value
(
d
2
μ
P
D
S
C
H
2
μ
P
D
C
C
H
)
defined in Table 27 below may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL (hence, the PDSCH that has the largest time offset relaxation d requires additional timing delay value to be added to the timing offset)), wherein d is 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 0, 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 1, 14 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 2, wherein the µPDCCH is the subcarrier spacing for the PDCCH ([0284] Table 27).
LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose wherein the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise.
However, ETSI TS discloses the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise (Page 36 - an additional timing delay is added to the timeDurationForQCL, where d is defined in 5.2.1.5.1a-1, otherwise d is zero).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the time offset relaxation d of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise as taught by ETSI TS in order to ensure the standardization and interoperability across different mobile networks and devices when implementing the additional timing delay. Thereby fostering a harmonized mobile telecommunication network globally.
Regarding claim 6, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) is further determined independently for each of the plurality of PDSCHs each determination being based on a time offset relaxation d ([0249], [0284]), wherein d is 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 0, 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 1, 14 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 2, wherein the µPDCCH is the subcarrier spacing for the PDCCH ([0284] Table 27).
LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose wherein the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise.
However, ETSI TS discloses the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise (Page 36 - an additional timing delay is added to the timeDurationForQCL, where d is defined in 5.2.1.5.1a-1, otherwise d is zero).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the time offset relaxation d of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise as taught by ETSI TS in order to ensure the standardization and interoperability across different mobile networks and devices when implementing the additional timing delay. Thereby fostering a harmonized mobile telecommunication network globally.
Regarding claim 10, LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 7, wherein the additional time interval is defined in a wireless specification.
However, ETSI TS discloses the additional time interval is defined in a wireless specification (Page 59 - Table 5.2.1.5.1a-1: Additional beam switching timing delay d (ETSI TS is a wireless specification)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the additional time interval of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA as taught by ETSI TS in order to ensure full functional integrity and interoperability of 5G NR specifications through standardization of the Table 27 (LEE; [0284]).
Regarding claim 15, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) is further determined based on a particular PDSCH in the plurality of the PDSCHs that has a largest time offset relaxation d ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information, the following situation may be assumed in the PDSCH reception TCI state/QCL assumption configuration. Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH; [0284] when the subcarrier spacing of the DCI and the subcarrier spacing of the PDSCH are different (8-05, μPDSCH≠μPDCCH), a data slot number and a control slot number are different, and thus the base station and the UE add a slot correction value to the predetermined K0 value based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH (the time offset relaxation d is based on the SCS of the PDCCH and the SCS for each of the PDSCHs are different - at least one of the PDSCHs will have a larger/largest time offset relaxation d compare to others). The timeDurationForQCL, which is UE capability, may be configured in a similar manner. When enableDefaultBeamForCCS is configured, an additional timing delay value
(
d
2
μ
P
D
S
C
H
2
μ
P
D
C
C
H
)
defined in Table 27 below may be added to the determined timeDurationForQCL (hence, the PDSCH that has the largest time offset relaxation d requires additional timing delay value to be added to the timing offset)), wherein d is 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 0, 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 1, 14 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 2, wherein the µPDCCH is the subcarrier spacing for the PDCCH ([0284] Table 27).
LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose wherein the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise.
However, ETSI TS discloses the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise (Page 36 - an additional timing delay is added to the timeDurationForQCL, where d is defined in 5.2.1.5.1a-1, otherwise d is zero).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the time offset relaxation d of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise as taught by ETSI TS in order to ensure the standardization and interoperability across different mobile networks and devices when implementing the additional timing delay. Thereby fostering a harmonized mobile telecommunication network globally.
Regarding claim 16, LEE further discloses, wherein the time offset (Fig. 12; [0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information... Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH; [0173]; [0243];) is further determined independently for each of the plurality of PDSCHs, each determination being based on a time offset relaxation d ([0249], [0284]), wherein d is 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 0, 8 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 1, 14 PDCCH symbols if µPDCCH is 2, wherein the µPDCCH is the subcarrier spacing for the PDCCH ([0284] Table 27).
LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose wherein the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise.
However, ETSI TS discloses the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise (Page 36 - an additional timing delay is added to the timeDurationForQCL, where d is defined in 5.2.1.5.1a-1, otherwise d is zero).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the time offset relaxation d of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include the time offset relaxation d is zero otherwise as taught by ETSI TS in order to ensure the standardization and interoperability across different mobile networks and devices when implementing the additional timing delay. Thereby fostering a harmonized mobile telecommunication network globally.
Regarding claim 20, LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not explicitly disclose the method of claim 11, wherein the additional time interval is defined in a wireless specification.
However, ETSI TS discloses the additional time interval is defined in a wireless specification (Page 59 - Table 5.2.1.5.1a-1: Additional beam switching timing delay d (ETSI TS is a wireless specification)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the additional time interval of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA as taught by 3GPP in order to ensure full functional integrity and interoperability of 5G NR specifications through standardization of the Table 27 (LEE; [0284]).
Regarding claim 23, LEE further discloses:
wherein when the SCS of the PDCCH is different than an SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information, the following situation may be assumed in the PDSCH reception TCI state/QCL assumption configuration. Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH) and wherein none of the remaining PDSCHs of the plurality of PDSCHs have an SCS different than the SCS of the PDCCH ([0251] ii) When a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH, the n-th PDSCH may obtain a PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset by adding (n−1) slot to the slot offset. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 2 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+14*(n−1)+S), the plurality of PDSCHs are subject to the time offset assuming the SCS of the PDCCH that is different than the SCS of the at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs (Fig. 8; [0178] when the subcarrier spacing of the data channel and the subcarrier spacing of the control channel are different (8-05, μ.sub.PDSCH≠μ.sub.PDCCH) a data slot number and a control slot number are different, and thus the base station and the UE recognize that a scheduling offset occurs in accordance with predetermined slot offset K.sub.0 based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH).
LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not disclose wherein when the PDCCH is greater than an SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs (
μ
P
D
C
C
H
>
μ
P
D
S
C
H
).
However, ETSI TS discloses wherein when the PDCCH is greater than an SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs (
μ
P
D
C
C
H
>
μ
P
D
S
C
H
) (Page 104 - If the µPDCCH > µPDSCH, the UE is expected to receive the scheduled PDSCH, if the first symbol in the PDSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K0 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI starts no earlier than Npdsch PDCCH symbols after the end of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH; Table 5.5-1 Npdsch as a function of the subcarrier spacing of the scheduling PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the plurality of PDSCHs are subject to the time offset assuming the SCS of the PDCCH that is different than the SCS of the at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include when the PDCCH is greater than the SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs as taught by ETSI TS in order to calculate the time offset based on the SCS of the PDCCH to ensure that the UE has enough time to process and decode the DCI before receiving the PDSCH(s) since the slot duration of the PDCCH is narrower than the slot duration of the PDSCH due to the SCS of the PDCCH being larger (ETIS TS Page 36 - If the µPDCCH > µPDSCH... the scheduling DCI starts no earlier than Npdsch PDCCH symbols after the end of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH; Table 5.5-1; LEE - [0244] if the beam switching time is not considered... a problem may occur that the UE cannot normally receive some or all of the PDSCHs).
Regarding claim 24, LEE further discloses:
wherein when the SCS of the PDCCH is different than an SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs ([0249] If the UE receives multi-PDSCH scheduling through single DCI information, the following situation may be assumed in the PDSCH reception TCI state/QCL assumption configuration. Here, the PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset calculation may be divided into i) a case in which a slot offset is indicated with different values for each PDSCH, and ii) a case in which a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH) and wherein none of the remaining PDSCHs of the plurality of PDSCHs have a SCS different than the SCS of the PDCCH ([0251] ii) When a slot offset is indicated only for the first PDSCH, the n-th PDSCH may obtain a PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset by adding (n−1) slot to the slot offset. The PDCCH-to-PDSCH time offset according to the slot offset (K0) and the start symbol (S) of the PDSCH may be calculated as in Equation 2 below. Min(14*K0−number of symbol for PDCCH,0)+14*(n−1)+S), the plurality of PDSCHs are subject to the time offset assumung the SCS of the PDCCH that is different than the SCS of the at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs (Fig. 8; [0178] when the subcarrier spacing of the data channel and the subcarrier spacing of the control channel are different (8-05, μ.sub.PDSCH≠μ.sub.PDCCH) a data slot number and a control slot number are different, and thus the base station and the UE recognize that a scheduling offset occurs in accordance with predetermined slot offset K.sub.0 based on the subcarrier spacing of the PDCCH).
LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA do not disclose wherein when the PDCCH is greater than an SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs (
μ
P
D
C
C
H
>
μ
P
D
S
C
H
).
However, ETSI TS discloses wherein when the PDCCH is greater than an SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs (
μ
P
D
C
C
H
>
μ
P
D
S
C
H
) (Page 104 - If the µPDCCH > µPDSCH, the UE is expected to receive the scheduled PDSCH, if the first symbol in the PDSCH allocation, including the DM-RS, as defined by the slot offset K0 and the start and length indicator SLIV of the scheduling DCI starts no earlier than Npdsch PDCCH symbols after the end of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH; Table 5.5-1 Npdsch as a function of the subcarrier spacing of the scheduling PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the plurality of PDSCHs are subject to the time offset assuming the SCS of the PDCCH that is different than the SCS of the at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs of LEE, JUNG and OKAMURA to include when the PDCCH is greater than the SCS of at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs as taught by ETSI TS in order to calculate the time offset based on the SCS of the PDCCH to ensure that the UE has enough time to process and decode the DCI before receiving the PDSCH(s) since the slot duration of the PDCCH is narrower than the slot duration of the PDSCH due to the SCS of the PDCCH being larger (ETIS TS Page 36 - If the µPDCCH > µPDSCH... the scheduling DCI starts no earlier than Npdsch PDCCH symbols after the end of the PDCCH scheduling the PDSCH; Table 5.5-1; LEE - [0244] if the beam switching time is not considered... a problem may occur that the UE cannot normally receive some or all of the PDSCHs).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418