Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 , 6-7 , 13-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Huegerich , US 2014/0199446 A1 . As per Claim 1, Huegerich teaches a toaster for toasting a bread product (¶ 19; toaster 100 of Figure 1) comprising: a first conveyor configured to receive the bread product thereon and move the bread product through a first toasting zone (¶ 23; conveyor 114 of Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4); a first heat source positioned to direct heat energy into the first toasting zone (¶ 24; heating element 122 of Figures 5 and 6); a second conveyor configured to receive the bread product thereon (¶ 20; as “more than two conveyors can also be used”) and move the bread product through a second toasting zone (¶ 23), wherein the first and second conveyors are coplanar and laterally spaced apart by a first distance and are configured to operate in a same direction of travel (¶¶ 19-20; as “conveyors 114 can operate at different speeds to expose different food products different amounts of thermal exposure within the cooking chamber 112” as in Figures 5 and 6); a second heat source positioned to direct heat energy into the second toasting zone wherein interior extents of the first heat source and the second heat source are laterally spaced apart by a second distance, the second distance being less than the first distance (¶¶ 19, 23; heating element 124 of Figures 5 and 6); and a controller configured to operate the first conveyor to at least a first speed and a second speed and configured to operate the second conveyor to at least the first speed and the second speed (¶ 19; “the conveyors 114 can operate at different speeds to expose different food products different amounts of thermal exposure within the cooking chamber 112”). As per Claim 6, Huegerich teaches that the first and second conveyors each comprise a drive shaft (¶ 22; motor shaft 158 of Figure 5), a driven shaft (¶ 25; near roller 170 of Figures 5 and 6), and a continuous belt. As per Claim 7, Huegerich teaches that the first heat source is positioned interior of the first conveyor and the second heat source is positioned interior of the second conveyor (¶ 123; heating elements 122 and 124 of Figures 5 and 6). As per Claim 13, Huegerich further teaches: first and second side supports (¶ 19; outer walls of housing 110 of Figures 1, 2 and 4); and first and second interior supports (¶ 19; to define opening 116 of Figure 4); and that the first conveyor is connected to the first side support and the first interior support and the second conveyor is connected to the second side support and the second interior support (¶¶ 19, 24-25; as conveyors 114 are shown in Figures 2 and 4). As per Claim 14, Huegerich teaches that the first and second interior supports are a unitary construction (¶ 19; as shown in Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4). As per Claim 17, Huegerich teaches a housing defining an open interior (¶ 19; housing 110 of Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4) and an opening through the housing (¶ 19; opening 116 of Figure 4), wherein the first and second conveyors extend within the open interior of the housing and extend exterior of the housing through the opening (¶ 119; conveyors 114 of Figures 2, 5 and 6). As per Claim 18, Huegerich teaches that the open interior of the housing is unobstructed between the first toasting zone and the second toasting zone (¶ 19; opening 116 of Figures 1 and 4). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 2-5 , 8-12 , 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huegerich in view of Veltrop , et al., US 2012/0121782 A1 . As per Claim 2, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the first and second heat sources are electric heating elements which each comprise a plurality of interior loops and a plurality of exterior loops. Veltrop teaches that the first and second heat sources are electric heating elements which each comprise a plurality of interior loops and a plurality of exterior loops (¶ 51; “electrically resistive heating element 404” of Figure 5). At the time of the invention, a person of skill in the art would have thought it obvious to combine the toaster of Huegerich with the heating elements of Veltrop , in order to ensure a more even distribution of heat across an entire food surface. As per Claim 3, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the plurality of interior loops comprise first and second end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop. Veltrop teaches that the plurality of interior loops comprise first and second end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop (¶ 51; “electrically resistive heating element 404” as illustrated in Figure 5). See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. As per Claim 4, Huegerich teaches that the end interior loops of the first and second heat sources are laterally spaced apart by the second distance (¶¶ 23-24; “heating elements 122 and 124” of Figures 5 and 6). As per Claim 5, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the at least one intermediate interior loop of the first and second heat sources are laterally spaced apart by a third distance, the third distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance. Veltrop teaches that the at least one intermediate interior loop of the first and second heat sources are laterally spaced apart by a third distance, the third distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance (¶ 51; “electrically resistive heating element 404” as it winds in a snaking nature in Figure 5). As per Claim 8, Huegerich does not expressly teach: a third heat source positioned above the first conveyor; and a fourth heat source positioned above the second conveyor. Veltrop teaches: a third heat source positioned above the first conveyor; and a fourth heat source positioned above the second conveyor (¶ 53, 56; as “different heated platens” work toward “heating all sides of the food products as required”). See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. As per Claim 9, Huegerich teaches that the third and fourth heat source are laterally spaced apart by the second distance (¶¶ 23-24; “heating elements 122 and 124” of Figures 5 and 6). As per Claim 10, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the first, second, third, and fourth heat sources are electric heating elements which each include a plurality of interior loops and a plurality of exterior loops. Veltrop teaches that the first, second, third, and fourth heat sources are electric heating elements which each include a plurality of interior loops and a plurality of exterior loops (¶ 51; “electrically resistive heating element 404” of Figure 5). See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. As per Claim 11, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the plurality of interior loops of the electric heat sources of the third and fourth heat sources comprise first and second end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop; wherein the end interior loops of the first and second heat sources are laterally spaced apart by the second distance; and wherein the at least one intermediate interior loop of the third and fourth heat sources are laterally spaced apart by a third distance, the third distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance. Veltrop teaches: that the plurality of interior loops of the electric heat sources of the third and fourth heat sources comprise first and second end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop (¶ 53, 56; as “different heated platens” work toward “heating all sides of the food products as required”); that the end interior loops of the first and second heat sources are laterally spaced apart by the second distance (¶ 32; as “relatively short sections of rib material extend around the inside surface but are separated from each other by small spaces”); and that the at least one intermediate interior loop of the third and fourth heat sources are laterally spaced apart by a third distance, the third distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance (¶ 26; as “conveyor spacing distance 231 is selected to ensure that a food product dropped into the opening 202 will be slightly compressed between the conveyors and thus ‘grabbed’ by the conveyor belts 220 and pulled through them” as in Figure 2). See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. As per Claim 12, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the plurality of interior loops of each of the electric heat sources comprise first and second end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop; wherein the first and second end interior loops of the first heat source are laterally spaced apart from the first and second end interior loops of the second heat source by the second distance; wherein the first and second end interior loops of the third heat source are laterally spaced apart from the first and second end interior loops of the fourth heat source by a third distance; and wherein the at least one intermediate interior loop of the first heat source is laterally spaced apart from the at least one intermediate interior loop of the second heat source by a fourth distance, the fourth distance being greater than the first, second, and third distances;. Veltrop teaches: that the plurality of interior loops of each of the electric heat sources comprise first and second end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop (¶ 53, 56; as “different heated platens” work toward “heating all sides of the food products as required”); wherein the first and second end interior loops of the first heat source are laterally spaced apart from the first and second end interior loops of the second heat source by the second distance (¶ 26; distance 231 of Figure 2); wherein the first and second end interior loops of the third heat source are laterally spaced apart from the first and second end interior loops of the fourth heat source by a third distance (¶ 26; as “conveyor spacing distance 231 is selected to ensure that a food product dropped into the opening 202 will be slightly compressed between the conveyors and thus ‘grabbed’ by the conveyor belts 220 and pulled through them” as in Figure 2); and wherein the at least one intermediate interior loop of the first heat source is laterally spaced apart from the at least one intermediate interior loop of the second heat source by a fourth distance, the fourth distance being greater than the first, second, and third distances (¶ 32; “relatively short sections of rib material extend around the inside surface but are separated from each other by small spaces”). Veltrop does not expressly teach that the at least one intermediate interior loop of the third heat source is laterally spaced apart from the at least one intermediate interior loop of the fourth heat source by a fifth distance, the fifth distance being greater than the first, second, and third distances. In light of Huegerich’s depiction of the spacing between the heating elements (¶ 19; radiant heating elements 122 and 124 of Figures 5 and 6), it would have been obvious to a person of skill in the art to space other heating elements farther apart as claimed. See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. As per Claim 15, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the first and second heat sources are electric heating elements each comprising a plurality of interior loops and a plurality of exterior loops. Veltrop teaches that the first and second heat sources are electric heating elements each comprising a plurality of interior loops and a plurality of exterior loops (¶ 51; “electrically resistive heating element 404” of Figure 5). Huegerich does teach: that the first interior support comprises a first plurality of apertures, wherein the interior loops of the first heat source extend interior of the first interior support though the first plurality of apertures (¶ 22; apertures 164 of Figure 5); and that the second interior support comprises a second plurality of apertures, wherein the interior loops of the second heat source extend interior of the second interior support through the second plurality of apertures (¶ 25; on the ends of parallel rollers 168 and 170 of Figures 5 and 6). See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. As per Claim 16, Huegerich teaches that the first plurality of apertures are open through the first interior support towards the first conveyor from the first heat source (¶ 22; apertures 164 of Figure 5) and the second plurality of apertures are open through the second interior support towards the second conveyor from the second heat source (¶ 25; on the ends of parallel rollers 168 and 170 of Figures 5 and 6). As per Claim 19, Huegerich teaches a toaster for toasting a bread product (¶¶ 4-5, 19) comprising: a first conveyor configured to receive the bread product thereon and move the bread product through a first toasting zone (¶ 23; conveyor 114 of Figures 1, 2, 3 and 4); a first electric heating element extending interior of the first conveyor and comprising a first plurality of interior loops and a first plurality of exterior loops (¶ 19; heating element 122 of Figures 5 and 6); and a second conveyor configured to receive the bread product thereon (¶ 20; as “more than two conveyors can also be used”) and move the bread product through a second toasting zone (¶ 23), wherein the first and second conveyors are coplanar and laterally spaced apart by a first distance and are configured to operate in a same direction of travel (¶¶ 19-20; as “conveyors 114 can operate at different speeds to expose different food products different amounts of thermal exposure within the cooking chamber 112” as in Figures 5 and 6). Huegerich does not expressly teach: a second electric heating element extending interior of the second conveyor and comprising a second plurality of interior loops and a second plurality of exterior loops, wherein the first plurality of interior loops are laterally spaced apart from the second plurality of interior loops by a second distance, the second distance being less than the first distance; a third electric heating element positioned above the first conveyor and comprising a third plurality of interior loops comprising two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop, the third electric heating element comprising a third plurality of exterior loops; and a fourth electric heating element positioned above the second conveyor and comprising a fourth plurality of interior loops comprising two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop, the fourth electric heating element comprising a fourth plurality of exterior loops, wherein the at least one intermediate interior loop of the third electric heating element is laterally spaced apart from the at least one intermediate interior loop of the fourth electric heating element by a third distance, the third distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance. Veltrop teaches: a second electric heating element extending interior of the second conveyor and comprising a second plurality of interior loops and a second plurality of exterior loops, wherein the first plurality of interior loops are laterally spaced apart from the second plurality of interior loops by a second distance, the second distance being less than the first distance (¶ 51; “electrically resistive heating element 404” of Figure 5); a third electric heating element positioned above the first conveyor and comprising a third plurality of interior loops comprising two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop, the third electric heating element comprising a third plurality of exterior loops (¶ 51, 53, 56; as “different heated platens” work toward “heating all sides of the food products as required”); and a fourth electric heating element positioned above the second conveyor and comprising a fourth plurality of interior loops comprising two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop, the fourth electric heating element comprising a fourth plurality of exterior loops (¶ 51, 53, 56; as “different heated platens” work toward “heating all sides of the food products as required”); wherein the at least one intermediate interior loop of the third electric heating element is laterally spaced apart from the at least one intermediate interior loop of the fourth electric heating element by a third distance, the third distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance (¶ 26; as “conveyor spacing distance 231 is selected to ensure that a food product dropped into the opening 202 will be slightly compressed between the conveyors and thus ‘grabbed’ by the conveyor belts 220 and pulled through them” as in Figure 2). See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. As per Claim 20, Huegerich does not expressly teach that the first plurality of interior loops comprise two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop, and the second plurality of interior loops comprise two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop; wherein the at least one intermediate interior loop of the first electric heating element is laterally spaced apart from the at least one intermediate interior loop of the second electric heating element by a fourth distance, the fourth distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance. Veltrop teaches : that the first plurality of interior loops comprise two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop (¶ 53, 56; as “different heated platens” work toward “heating all sides of the food products as required”), and the second plurality of interior loops comprise two end interior loops and at least one intermediate interior loop (¶ 53, 56; as “different heated platens” work toward “heating all sides of the food products as required”); and that the at least one intermediate interior loop of the first electric heating element is laterally spaced apart from the at least one intermediate interior loop of the second electric heating element by a fourth distance, the fourth distance being greater than the first distance and the second distance (¶ 32; “relatively short sections of rib material extend around the inside surface but are separated from each other by small spaces”). See Claim 2 above for the rationale based on obviousness, motivations and reasons to combine. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ATUL TRIVEDI whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (313)446-4908 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri; 9:00 AM-5:00 PM EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Peter Nolan can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7016 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT ATUL TRIVEDI Primary Examiner Art Unit 3661 /ATUL TRIVEDI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661