DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations
Movement mechanism (claim 1)
Restriction member (claim 9)
Lock mechanism (claim 10)
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder
Mechanism (Movement mechanism - claim 1)
Member (Restriction member - claim 9)
mechanism (Lock mechanism - claim 10)
coupled with functional language
interlocking the hub fixation part with the skin fixation part… (Movement mechanism - claim 1)
that restricts a movable region of the hub fixation part (Restriction member - claim 9)
configured to fix a position of the hub fixation part with respect to the skin fixation part (Lock mechanism - claim 10)
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 1 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
guide rails (¶0019), linear guide (¶0027), wheel (¶0034), flexible member (¶0052) or stoppers (¶0053)(Movement mechanism - claim 1)
stoppers (¶0053) (Restriction member - claim 9)
lock pin (¶0014) (Lock mechanism - claim 10)
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11:
The claim limitation “a fixing surface” in line 2 is unclear. The limitation is unclear because of the earlier recitation of the limitation “a fixing surface” in line 8 of claim 1 (on which this claim depends) which raises a question of if two of fixing surfaces are required by the claim 11 or only one. For the sake of examination, the office has assumed that only one fixing surface is required by the claim. This rejection is made due to the amendments to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120041378 A1 to Bierman in view of WO 2010002393 A1 to Ciccone et al. (Ciccone).
Regarding claim 1:
Bierman discloses:
A catheter fixing device (figures 3-8) comprising:
a skin fixation part (16) configured to come into contact with skin (¶0055);
a hub fixation part (20) configured to retain a catheter hub (25/28); and
a movement mechanism (rails 100 or latch 94/114/112/110/116 which is consistent with the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation above) provided between the skin fixation part (16) and the hub fixation part (20) (as shown in figure 8) and interlocking the hub fixation part (20) with the skin fixation part (16) such that the hub fixation part (20) and the skin fixation part (16) are movable relative to each other (the rails 100 and latch 94 allows hub fixation part 20 to move relative to the skin fixation part 16; ¶0105, ¶0131) in a length direction of the skin fixation part (the rails 100 and latch 94 allows hub fixation part 20 to move in the length wise direction relative skin fixation part 16).
Bierman fails to disclose:
The hub fixation part and the skin fixation part are movable relative to each other in both a length direction of the skin fixation part and a width direction of the skin fixation part, the length direction and the width direction being parallel to a fixing surface of the skin fixation part, and the width direction being perpendicular to the length direction.
Ciccone teaches:
A catheter fixation device (figure 4) that includes a skin fixation part (22) and hub fixation part (24). The reference further teaches that there should be play or leeway between the skin fixation part and the hub fixation part (¶0073) to allow for the parts to mate together despite manufacturing tolerances of the parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bierman to allow for a gap/play/leeway between the movement mechanism between the skin and hub fixation parts as taught by Ciccone to allow for the movement mechanism to better fit the skin and hub fixation parts despite the manufacturing tolerances of the movement mechanism (Ciccone, ¶0073). The gap/play/leeway added to the movement mechanism would allow for movement in the width direction perpendicular to the length direction so that the mating parts of the movement mechanism would fit together despite manufacturing tolerances.
Regarding claim 9:
Bierman discloses:
The catheter fixing device according to claim 1, wherein:
the movement mechanism (rails 100 or latch 94/114/112/110/116) comprises a restriction member (see the wall/stopper B in figure 1 below of the rails 100 that limits the motion of the 120 and by extension hub fixation part 20) that restricts a movable region of the hub fixation part (20).
Figure 1 – figure 8 of Bierman, annotated by the examiner
Regarding claim 10:
Bierman discloses:
The catheter fixing device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a lock mechanism (pawl/latch/lock 114 which is consistent with the 35 USC 112(f) interpretation above) configured to fix a position of the hub fixation part (20) with respect to the skin fixation part (16/20) at a predetermined position in a releasable manner (¶0105; ¶0131).
Regarding claim 11:
Bierman discloses:
The catheter fixing device according to claim 1, wherein:
the skin fixation part (16/20) comprises an adhesive material layer (adhesive bottom side 18) on a fixing surface that faces the skin (¶0055).
Regarding claim 12:
Bierman discloses:
The catheter fixing device according to claim 1, wherein:
the hub fixation part (20) comprises a protrusion portion (54/58 as shown in figures 3-4b) that fits and retains (as shown in figure 2) the catheter hub (25/28).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20120041378 A1 to Bierman in view of US 7666166 B1 to Emmert.
Regarding claim 13:
Bierman discloses:
A catheter fixing device (figures 3-8) comprising:
a skin fixation part (16/20) configured to come into contact with skin (¶0055), the skin fixation part (16/20) comprising:
an adhesive material layer (adhesive bottom side 18) on a fixing surface that faces the skin (¶0055),
a pair of guide rails (rails 100) that extend in a length direction of the skin fixation part (16/20) (as shown in figure 7b where 100/108 extends in the length direction), the pair of guide rails (rails 100) defining a guide groove (see the guide groove 118 as shown in figure 8), and
a locking mechanism (112/110) located at a bottom portion of the guide groove (118) (as shown in figure 8)
a hub fixation part (20) comprising:
a slider part (120/20a) on a lower surface side (as shown in figure 8) of the hub fixation part (20) and located in the guide groove (118) so as to be slidably supported by the locking mechanism (112/110), and
a retaining protrusion (54/58 as shown in figures 3-4b) on a top surface side (as shown in figure 5) of the hub fixation part (20), the retaining protrusion (54/58) being configured to retain (as shown in figure 2) a catheter hub (25/28).
Bierman fails to disclose:
A free ball bearing located at a bottom portion of the guide groove.
Emmert teaches:
An integrated catheter that includes an inner sliding member (248) and an outer housing (246). Further, the catheter includes a free ball bearing (260) that engages with grooves/tabs (216) to restrain the inner sliding member (248) relative to the outer housing (246)(column 10, lines 42-53).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bierman to replace the locking mechanism in Bierman with the ball bearing/locking mechanism as taught by Emmert. This would replace locking mechanism (112/110) of Bierman with the free ball bearing to engage with the grooves/tabs (112/110) of Bierman. This is a simple substitution of one known element (locking mechanism 114 of Bierman) for another (free ball bearing/locking mechanism of Emmet) to obtain predictable results (to hold the skin fixation part and the hub fixation part in place).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 8/12/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 9-12 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bierman and Ciccone.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 13:
The applicant has provided arguments for why this rejection is improper however the office is not persuaded. The applicant argues that the ball bearing 260 of Emmert incorporated into Bierman does not enable relative movement between its components and therefore its combination with Bierman would not result in this function (see page 10 of the remarks). However, this overlooks the fact that the structure 260 is referred to as a ball bearing indicating that it does aid in the function of movement of the 248 relative to the body 246. In short, the ball bearings have a dual function of allowing for sliding and for locking the 248 and 246 structures relative to each other. Further, the ball bearing allows the 248 and 246 components to be locked relative to each other at multiple positions as shown by the multiple locking grooves 272 in figure 8a. This further addresses the applicant’s argument that the positioning mechanism 90 of Bierman needs to be able to lock in multiple positions or for fine adjustment (see page 10 of the remarks). Therefore, the ball bearing locking mechanism of Emmert would be able to perform the function of the locking mechanism in Bierman and further read on the structure of the ball bearing required by the claim. For this reason, the applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the above rejection is maintained.
Regarding the 35 USC 112(b) rejection of claim 13:
The applicant’s amendments to the claims have addressed the previous claim rejections and for this reason they have been withdrawn. However, a new set of rejections have been made due to the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WESLEY G HARRIS/Examiner, Art Unit 3783