DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 02/12/2026.
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18 are currently pending.
Claims 1-4, 8-11 and 15-18 are rejected.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 4, 11 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. For claims 4, 11 and 18,“ceasing forwarding in symbols not indicated as downlink nor uplink” is not found in the specification of current application.
- Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 1-2, 4, 8-9, 11, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattias BERGSTROM et al. (US 2026/0046968 A1 based on provisional application No. 63/370,834 filed on Aug. 9, 2022), hereinafter BERGSTROM, in view of Jaenam SHIM et al. (US 2025/0274185 A1), hereinafter SHIM.
For claim 1, BERGSTROM teaches a method performed by a network-controlled repeater (NCR) comprising an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) entity and an NCR-forwarding (NCR- Fwd) entity in a wireless communication system (BERGSTROM, Fig. 1 and paragraphs 35-36), the method comprising:
receiving, from a base station by the NCR-MT entity, configuration information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also Figs. 4, 7 and paragraphs, 32, 43, 63-64.);
detecting, by the NCR-MT entity, a beam failure (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. BERGSTROM, Claim 10 further teaches wherein the failure event is a beam failure. See also Fig. 3B and paragraph 42.);
ceasing, by the NCR-Fwd entity, forwarding during a beam failure recovery (BFR) (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also BERGSTROM, Fig. 3A.); and
resuming, by the NCR-Fwd entity, forwarding after the BFR is completed by using a previous forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also Fig. 2 and paragraphs 21, 32.)
SHIM further teaches receiving, from a base station by the NCR-MT entity, control information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity (SHIM, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 135-140, 148-156.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM with receiving, from a base station by the NCR-MT entity, control information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity taught in SHIM so that the signal can be stably transmitted to the receiver. [SHIM: paragraph 145.].
For claim 2, BERGSTROM and SHIM further teach the method of Claim 1, the method further comprising:
detecting a radio link failure (RLF) (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
releasing, by the NCR-MT entity, the previous forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
ceasing forwarding during a radio resource control (RRC) connection re-establishment (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
receiving, from the base station by the NCR-MT entity, a periodic forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38-39.); and
forwarding, by the NCR-Fwd entity, based on the periodic forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38-39.).
For claim 4, BERGSTROM and SHIM further teach the method of Claim 1, further comprising: ceasing forwarding in symbols not indicated as downlink nor uplink (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.).
For claim 8, BERGSTROM teaches a network-controlled repeater (NCR) comprising an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) entity and an NCR- forwarding (NCR-Fwd) entity in a wireless communication system (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1, 7 and paragraphs 35-36), the NCR comprising:
a transceiver (BERGSTROM, Fig. 7 and paragraph 47); and
a controller (BERGSTROM, Fig. 7 and paragraph 47) coupled with the transceiver and configured to:
receive, from a base station by the NCR-MT entity, configuration information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also Figs. 4, 7 and paragraphs, 32, 43, 63-64.);
detect, by the NCR-MT entity, a beam failure (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. BERGSTROM, Claim 10 further teaches wherein the failure event is a beam failure. See also Fig. 3B and paragraph 42.);
cease, by the NCR-Fwd entity, forwarding during a beam failure recovery (BFR) (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also BERGSTROM, Fig. 3A.); and
resume, by the NCR-Fwd entity, forwarding after the BFR is completed by using a previous forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also Fig. 2 and paragraphs 21, 32.)
SHIM further teaches receiving, from a base station by the NCR-MT entity, control information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity (SHIM, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 135-140, 148-156.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM with receiving, from a base station by the NCR-MT entity, control information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity taught in SHIM so that the signal can be stably transmitted to the receiver. [SHIM: paragraph 145.].
For claim 9, BERGSTROM and SHIM further teach the NCR of Claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to:
detect a radio link failure (RLF) (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
release, by the NCR-MT entity, the previous forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
cease forwarding during a radio resource control (RRC) connection re-establishment (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
receive, from the base station by the NCR-MT entity, a periodic forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38-39.); and
forward, by the NCR-Fwd entity, based on the periodic forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38-39.).
For claim 11, BERGSTROM and SHIM further teach the NCR of Claim 8, wherein the controller is further configured to: cease forwarding in symbols not indicated as downlink nor uplink (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.).
For claim 15, BERGSTROM teaches a base station operating in a wireless communication system with a network-controlled repeater (NCR) comprising an NCR mobile termination (NCR-MT) entity and an NCR-forwarding (NCR-Fwd) entity (BERGSTROM, Figs. 1, 5), the base station comprising:
a transceiver (BERGSTROM, Fig. 5) configured to:
transmit, to the NCR-MT entity, configuration information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also Figs. 4, 7 and paragraphs, 32, 43, 63-64.),
wherein:
a beam failure is detected by the NCR-MT entity (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. BERGSTROM, Claim 10 further teaches wherein the failure event is a beam failure. See also Fig. 3B and paragraph 42.),
forwarding by the NCR-Fwd entity is ceased during a beam failure recovery (BFR) (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also BERGSTROM, Fig. 3A.), and
forwarding by the NCR-Fwd is resumed after the BFR is completed, using a previous forwarding configuration in the control information (BERGSTROM, paragraph 9 teaches a method is provided that comprises establishing a control link between a first network node and a second network node; and sending a failure event configuration from the second network node to the first network node. According to embodiments, the configuration comprises one or more configurations for ceasing forwarding operations or starting a timer upon detection of a failure event by the first network node. The configuration may also provide for resuming one or more forwarding operations, for example, following re-establishment. In some embodiments, the first network node is a repeater device, such as a network-controlled repeater, and the second network node is a base station, such as a gNB. See also Fig. 2 and paragraphs 21, 32.).
SHIM further teaches transmit, to the NCR-MT entity, control information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity (SHIM, Fig. 8 and paragraphs 135-140, 148-156.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM with transmit, to the NCR-MT entity, control information on beams for the NCR-Fwd entity taught in SHIM so that the signal can be stably transmitted to the receiver. [SHIM: paragraph 145.].
For claim 16, BERGSTROM and SHIM further teach the base station of Claim 15, wherein:
a radio link failure (RLF) is detected (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
the previous forwarding configuration is released by the NCR-MT entity (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
forwarding is ceased during a radio resource control (RRC) connection re-establishment (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.);
the transceiver is further configured to transmit, to the NCR-MT entity, a periodic forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38-39.); and
forwarding by the NCR-Fwd entity is based on the periodic forwarding configuration (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38-39.).
For claim 18, BERGSTROM and SHIM further teach the base station of Claim 15, wherein forwarding is ceased in symbols not indicated as downlink nor uplink (BERGSTROM, Fig. 2 and paragraphs 9, 38.).
11. Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattias BERGSTROM et al. (US 2026/0046968 A1 based on provisional application No. 63/370,834 filed on Aug. 9, 2022), hereinafter BERGSTROM, in view of Jaenam SHIM et al. (US 2025/0274185 A1), hereinafter SHIM, and Masato FUJISHIRO et al. (US 2026/0113101 A1), hereinafter FUJISHIRO.
For claim 3, BERGSTROM and Nilsson all the limitations of parent claim 1. BERGSTROM and Nilsson do not explicitly teach in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state.
However, FUJISHIRO explicitly teaches in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state (FUJISHIRO, Fig. 13-14 and paragraphs 103-116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM and Nilsson with in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state taught in FUJISHIRO to have in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state, continuing forwarding, by the NCR-Fwd entity, based on a periodic forwarding configuration; and in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC IDLE state, ceasing forwarding by the NCR-Fwd entity. Because it is well known in the art that there could be small data transmission when the device is in RRC inactive state but no data transmission when the device is in RRC IDLE state.
For claim 10, BERGSTROM and Nilsson all the limitations of parent claim 8. BERGSTROM and Nilsson do not explicitly teach in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state.
However, FUJISHIRO explicitly teaches in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state (FUJISHIRO, Fig. 13-14 and paragraphs 103-116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM and Nilsson with in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state taught in FUJISHIRO to have in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state, continuing forwarding, by the NCR-Fwd entity, based on a periodic forwarding configuration; and in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC IDLE state, ceasing forwarding by the NCR-Fwd entity. Because it is well known in the art that there could be small data transmission when the device is in RRC inactive state but no data transmission when the device is in RRC IDLE state.
For claim 17, BERGSTROM and Nilsson all the limitations of parent claim 15. BERGSTROM and Nilsson do not explicitly teach in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state.
However, FUJISHIRO explicitly teaches in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state (FUJISHIRO, Fig. 13-14 and paragraphs 103-116.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in BERGSTROM and Nilsson with in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state or RRC IDLE state taught in FUJISHIRO to have in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC INACTIVE state, continuing forwarding, by the NCR-Fwd entity, based on a periodic forwarding configuration; and in case that the NCR-MT entity is transited to an RRC IDLE state, ceasing forwarding by the NCR-Fwd entity. Because it is well known in the art that there could be small data transmission when the device is in RRC inactive state but no data transmission when the device is in RRC IDLE state.
Response to Arguments
12. Applicant's arguments filed 02/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412