DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species 1, Figures 1-2A and 3, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “substantially” is a relative term. Applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the metal terminals intended by “each of the paired metal terminals is extended outside an outer surface of the body parallel to the winding axis”. Applicant should also clarify the structure and/or arrangement intended by “of four quadrants separated from one another by imaginary coordinate axes that orthogonal to one another with a center of the body as an origin in plan view in the winding axis direction, more than half an area of one of the joint portions is disposed in a quadrant not adjacent to a quadrant in which more than half an area of the other joint portion is disposed.” It is unclear where and how the imaginary coordinate axes are located/arranged. The arrangement of the joint portions relative to “quadrants” is/are unclear. Applicant should clarify. Claims 2-10 inherit the defects of the parent claim.
Regarding claim 2, the term “substantial” is a relative term.
Regarding claim 3, applicant should clarify the structure and/or arrangement of the joint portions intended by “the joint portions are on a diagonal line on an imaginary plane extending through the winding axis”. The “imaginary plane” is unclear.
Regarding claim 6, the term “substantial” is a relative term. Applicant should clarify the structure/arrangement of an acute angle intended by “an angle defined by an imaginary straight line from a portion of the conductive wire extended outside the winding portion to the first end of the conductive wire with an imaginary straight line from a portion of the conductive wire extended outside the winding portion to the second end of the conductive wire is an acute angle”. The “imaginary straight line” is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, as best understood in view of the rejection under 35 USC 112 second paragraph, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsugi et al. [JP 2017-037891 A] in view of Kato et al. [JP 11-307357 A].
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7, Mitsugi et al. discloses a coil component [figures 6-8] comprising:
a body [figures 6-8], the body including a winding portion including a conductive wire [102] wound on a winding axis and a magnetic body portion [103], wherein the winding axis extends through a substantial center of the body and wherein the magnetic body portion contains a magnetic metal particle and a resin; and
paired metal terminals [ 104, 105] having joint portions [104c, 105c] to which a first end and a second end of the conductive wire are electrically connected, wherein each of the paired metal terminals is extended outside an outer surface of the body parallel to the winding axis [figures 6-8], of four quadrants separated from one another by imaginary coordinate axes that are orthogonal to one another with a center of the body as an origin in plan view in the winding axis direction, more than half an area of one of the joint portions is disposed in a quadrant not adjacent to a quadrant in which more than half an area of the other joint portion is disposed, and
a height difference between the joint portion closer to the first end and the joint portion closer to the second end is less than or equal to a diameter of the conductive wire [figure 8].
Mitsugi et al. disclose the instant claimed invention except for a specific shape of the body and the joint portions and/or paired terminals arrangement.
The specific hexahedral shape for the body would have been an obvious design consideration based on the intended applications and/or environments uses.
Kato et al. discloses a magnetic component [figures 1-3] comprising:
- a body [15, 19, 20, 21]; and
- a coil [10] disposed in the body, wherein the coil including end portion and terminals arranged at different “quadrants” of the body.
The specific joint portions arrangement [in different quadrant] would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating different internal connections.
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange the terminals or joint portions of the terminals at different quadrant in Mitsugi et al., as suggested by Kato et al., for the purpose of facilitating different external/internal connections.
Mitsugi et al. further discloses the joint portions are on a diagonal line on an imaginary plane extending through the winding axis.
Regarding claim 4, Mitsugi et al. discloses the conductive wire is wound around the winding axis direction in several turns [figure 7], and a height difference between the joint portion closer to the first end or the joint portion closer to the second end and an upper surface of an uppermost tier or a lower surface of a lowermost tier of the winding portion is less than or equal to the diameter of the conductive wire [figures 7-8].
Regarding claim 5, Mitsugi et al. discloses an end portion of the conductive wire electrically connected to the joint portion is flattened to a thickness equal to two-thirds or less of the diameter of the conductive wire [figures 7-8].
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses the coil with ends [11, 12] arranged at an acute angle [figure 1].
Regarding claim 8, Mitsugi et al. discloses a portion of the conductive wire extends from an uppermost tier or a lowermost tier of the winding portion toward a corresponding one of the joint portions [figures 6-8].
Regarding claim 9, Mitsugi et al. further discloses a winding start and a winding finish of the conductive wire are on an outermost side of the winding portion [figure 7].
Regarding claim 10, Mitsugi et al. discloses an entirety of each of the joint portions is inside the body [figures 6-8].
Conclusion
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837