DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to amendments filed 7/14/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copy required by 37 CFR 1.55 for parent Application Nos
KR10-2022-0154167 filed on 11/17/2022.
KR10-2022-0128660 filed on 10/07/2022
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application No PCT/KR2023/008501 filed on 12/6/2023
Abstract
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of “Disclosed herein…” language used. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were pending for examination in previous Office Action mailed 4/20/2026.
Claims 1, 5, 7-12 and 16-20 have been amended with Claims 1 and 12 being independent and Claim 6 cancelled.
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s remarks pg. 7-12, filed 7/14/2026, with respect to Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-20 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments that in substance the prior art of record does not disclose “adjusting the number of links by considering the number of duplication data received by the external electronic device,” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Here, Shi et al. (US 20190200251; hereinafter Shi) was relied upon to disclose previously presented dependent Claim 6 which has been incorporated into independent Claims 1 and 12. As provided in the previous office action Shi discloses the following:
[0057] In an embodiment, whether a multi-connection duplication transmission mode is cancelled may be determined according to the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference. However, this disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, whether multi-link split transmission or single-link transmission is performed may be determined according to these pieces of information, in addition, flow controlling may be performed according to these pieces of information, etc.
[0076] 203: the transmitting device counts transmission rates of the plurality of radio links based on the PDCP layer status report.
[0077] In this embodiment, after receiving the PDCP layer status report of the multi-connection duplication transmission mode transmitted by the receiving device, the transmitting device may count the number of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links.
[0078] For example, according to the PDCP layer status report, it may be counted that the number of successfully transmitted PDCP PDUs via link 1 (such as an MCG link) is 30, and the number of successfully transmitted PDCP PDUs via link 2 (such as an SCG link) is 3.
[0081] 205: the transmitting device determines whether to continue to perform duplication transmission of data packets by using a plurality of radio links, based on the information on transmission rate difference.
[0082] For example, when the ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links is greater than a threshold (a preset threshold), or the difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links is greater than a threshold, the transmitting device may deem that a gain of the duplication transmission mode is relatively small at this moment, may cancel configuration of the duplication transmission mode, and no longer transmit identical PDCP PDUs by using a plurality of links; and identical data packets may be transmitted by using a link with a relatively good transmission rate only.
[0087] 302: the receiving device counts transmission rates of the plurality of radio links.
[0088] In this embodiment, the receiving device may count the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links; for example, a ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links, or a difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links may be obtained; hence, information on the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links may be obtained.
[0089] 303: the receiving device feeds back a PDCP layer status report to the transmitting device; the PDCP layer status report indicates the information on the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links.
[0094] For example, “a PDU ratio field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates a ratio of the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links; or “a PDU number field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates values of the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links; or “a PDU difference field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates a difference between the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links.
Further, regarding Claim 12, MPEP § 2111.04(II) states “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met. For example, assume a method claim requires step A if a first condition happens and step B if a second condition happens. If the claimed invention may be practiced without either the first or second condition happening, then neither step A or B is required by the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim. If the claimed invention requires the first condition to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires step A. If the claimed invention requires both the first and second conditions to occur, then the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim requires both steps A and B.” Newly amended Claim 12 includes the limitation to “selecting one mode from at least two modes, including a first mode in which data is divided and transmitted through the multiple links…and transmitting the data to the external electronic device through the selected mode…”
Therefore, the prior art of record still discloses the claimed invention of the independent claims, and the prior art rejection is maintained below and altered as required by the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-15, and 17-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 20190200251 A1; hereinafter Shi).
Regarding Claim 1, Shi discloses:
An electronic device comprising: a communication circuit configured to perform short-range wireless communication through one link or multiple links that are set up between an external electronic device and the electronic device; and
a processor operatively connected to the communication circuit, the processor configured to:[(See Shi ¶ 199-207; Fig. 17-18)]
identify a state of the multiple links, based on information received from the external electronic device; [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-4; ¶ 8-9; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; Fig. 1-3)
[0003] Issues related to the next-generation wireless communication systems are under study in the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) to meet needs of new services. One of the most important services is ultra-reliable and low-latency communications (URLLC). This type of service has high transmission latency and reliability requirements. Existing long-term evolution (LTE) systems are difficult to meet the requirements of such type of service.
[0004] In researches of the fifth generation (5G) communication, a method that can significantly improve the transmission reliability and reduce the transmission latency is to transmit identical data packets of the same service simultaneously by using a plurality of radio links, and data transmission reliability may be improved and transmission latency may be lowered by duplication transmission.
[0008] …However, a gain of the reduced latency brought about by the multi-connection duplication transmission is closely related to such factors as link quality, and load situation, etc. If data rates and signal quality of the two radio links performing duplication transmission differ relatively much, or scheduling latency differs relatively much, then a radio link of relatively poor quality contributes less to the data transmission, and compared to transmission by using a single link of relatively good quality, the gain of the reduced latency brought about by the duplication transmission will become low. In such a case, a network device needs to balance a relationship between the waste of radio resources caused by the duplication transmission and the reduction of latency, and then determines whether the multi-connection duplication transmission mode is suitable in the current radio environment.
[0009] However, in an existing dual-connectivity mode, reports on link quality and network load and the like do not accurately reflect the gain of the packet latency in multi-connection duplication transmission. For example, a current network load report can only reflect situation on a quality of service (QoS) class identifier (QCI) level, which is not very accurate. There may still exist a large scheduling latency difference and link quality difference between radio links of the same QCI parameter, which in turn leads to a significant decrease in the gain of the multi-connection duplication transmission. That is, even radio links with the same QCI parameter are not necessarily suitable for performing multi-connection duplication transmission.
[0025] a transmitting device configured to obtain information on transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links; the information on transmission rate difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links successfully transmitting packet data convergence protocol layer data packets, and the information on scheduling latency difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links transmitting radio link control layer data packets.
[0026] An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that the information on the transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links are/is obtained according to information on the transmission statuses of the radio links successfully transmitting the PDCP layer data packets and/or the information on the transmission statuses of the radio links transmitting the RLC layer data packets. Hence, an accurate reference basis may be provided for the transmitting device in determining whether a current network is suitable to performing duplication transmission, gains and losses between wasted radio resources and reduced latency in the multi-connection duplication transmission mode may be better weighted, and a more suitable data transmission mode or flow control mode may be configured..
]
select one mode from at least two modes, including a first mode in which data is divided and transmitted through the multiple links and a second mode in which duplicate data is transmitted through the multiple links, based on the state of the multiple links; and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)
[0003] Issues related to the next-generation wireless communication systems are under study in the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) to meet needs of new services. One of the most important services is ultra-reliable and low-latency communications (URLLC). This type of service has high transmission latency and reliability requirements. Existing long-term evolution (LTE) systems are difficult to meet the requirements of such type of service.
[0004] In researches of the fifth generation (5G) communication, a method that can significantly improve the transmission reliability and reduce the transmission latency is to transmit identical data packets of the same service simultaneously by using a plurality of radio links, and data transmission reliability may be improved and transmission latency may be lowered by duplication transmission.
[0005] The duplication transmission under multiple connections usually adopts the 3C architecture of the dual-connectivity technique, that is, data packets are split in the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer into two radio links for transmission, and convergence and duplication detection of data are performed at a PDCP layer of a receiving device. When a duplication transmission mode is used, the same PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) is simultaneously distributed to two radio link control (RLC) protocol layers for transmission. The PDCP layer at the receiving device receives only a PDCP PDU that is first successfully transmitted from two radio links, and discards duplicate PDCP PDUs.
[0025] a transmitting device configured to obtain information on transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links; the information on transmission rate difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links successfully transmitting packet data convergence protocol layer data packets, and the information on scheduling latency difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links transmitting radio link control layer data packets.
[0026] An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that the information on the transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links are/is obtained according to information on the transmission statuses of the radio links successfully transmitting the PDCP layer data packets and/or the information on the transmission statuses of the radio links transmitting the RLC layer data packets. Hence, an accurate reference basis may be provided for the transmitting device in determining whether a current network is suitable to performing duplication transmission, gains and losses between wasted radio resources and reduced latency in the multi-connection duplication transmission mode may be better weighted, and a more suitable data transmission mode or flow control mode may be configured.
[0057] In an embodiment, whether a multi-connection duplication transmission mode is cancelled may be determined according to the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference. However, this disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, whether multi-link split transmission or single-link transmission is performed may be determined according to these pieces of information, in addition, flow controlling may be performed according to these pieces of information, etc.
[0067] 201: a transmitting device transmits data packets to the receiving device via a plurality of radio links.
[0068] In this embodiment, when a network side configures that a current multi-connection transmission is of a duplication transmission mode (that is, the PDCP layer of the transmitting device may transmit identical PDCP PDUs to a plurality of radio links), or configures a PDCP status report of multi-connection duplication transmission, a PDCP layer entity at the receiving device performs the following operation: in storing a PDCP PDU, recording an RLC layer entity delivering the PDCP PDU, that is, recording a radio link by which each PDCP PDU is successfully transmitted; the radio link is, for example, a master cell group (MCG) link or a secondary cell group (SCG) link..
]
control the communication circuit to transmit the data to the external electronic device through the selected mode; and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)]
based on the second mode being selected,
while operating in the second mode, identify a number of times the duplicate data is received by the external electronic device through at least part of the multiple links based on the information received from the external electronic device, and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-94; Fig. 1-3)
[0056] Block 102: the transmitting device determines whether to continue to perform duplication transmission of data packets by using the plurality of radio links, based on the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference.
[0057] In an embodiment, whether a multi-connection duplication transmission mode is cancelled may be determined according to the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference. However, this disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, whether multi-link split transmission or single-link transmission is performed may be determined according to these pieces of information, in addition, flow controlling may be performed according to these pieces of information, etc.
[0076] 203: the transmitting device counts transmission rates of the plurality of radio links based on the PDCP layer status report.
[0077] In this embodiment, after receiving the PDCP layer status report of the multi-connection duplication transmission mode transmitted by the receiving device, the transmitting device may count the number of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links.
[0078] For example, according to the PDCP layer status report, it may be counted that the number of successfully transmitted PDCP PDUs via link 1 (such as an MCG link) is 30, and the number of successfully transmitted PDCP PDUs via link 2 (such as an SCG link) is 3.
]
adjust a number of links through which duplicate data is to be transmitted among the multiple links based on the number of times of receiving the duplicate data. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-94; Fig. 1-3)
[0057] In an embodiment, whether a multi-connection duplication transmission mode is cancelled may be determined according to the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference. However, this disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, whether multi-link split transmission or single-link transmission is performed may be determined according to these pieces of information, in addition, flow controlling may be performed according to these pieces of information, etc.
[0079] 204: the transmitting device obtains the information on transmission rate difference between a plurality of radio links according to a counting result.
[0080] For example, a ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links (for example, 30/3=10 in the above example), or a difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links (for example, 30−3=27 in the above example) may be obtained.
[0081] 205: the transmitting device determines whether to continue to perform duplication transmission of data packets by using a plurality of radio links, based on the information on transmission rate difference.
[0082] For example, when the ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links is greater than a threshold (a preset threshold), or the difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links is greater than a threshold, the transmitting device may deem that a gain of the duplication transmission mode is relatively small at this moment, may cancel configuration of the duplication transmission mode, and no longer transmit identical PDCP PDUs by using a plurality of links; and identical data packets may be transmitted by using a link with a relatively good transmission rate only.
[0083] In another embodiment, the information on transmission rate of the plurality of radio links and/or the information on transmission rate difference between the plurality of radio links may be included in the PDCP layer status report. For example, information on the number of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links may be indicated in the PDCP layer status report.
[0086] In this embodiment, when the network side configures that a current multi-connection transmission is of a duplication transmission mode, or configures a PDCP status report of multi-connection duplication transmission, a PDCP layer entity at the receiving device performs the following operation: in storing a PDCP PDU, recording an RLC layer entity delivering the PDCP PDU, that is, recording a radio link by which each PDCP PDU is successfully transmitted.
[0087] 302: the receiving device counts transmission rates of the plurality of radio links.
[0088] In this embodiment, the receiving device may count the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links; for example, a ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links, or a difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links may be obtained; hence, information on the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links may be obtained.
[0089] 303: the receiving device feeds back a PDCP layer status report to the transmitting device; the PDCP layer status report indicates the information on the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links.
[0094] For example, “a PDU ratio field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates a ratio of the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links; or “a PDU number field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates values of the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links; or “a PDU difference field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates a difference between the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links.
]
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify a first latency required to transmit the data in a case of operating in the first mode and a second latency required to transmit the data in case of operating in the second mode; and (See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)
identify the state of the multiple links, based on a result of comparing the first latency and the second latency. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)
[0025] a transmitting device configured to obtain information on transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links; the information on transmission rate difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links successfully transmitting packet data convergence protocol layer data packets, and the information on scheduling latency difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links transmitting radio link control layer data packets.
[0026] An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that the information on the transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links are/is obtained according to information on the transmission statuses of the radio links successfully transmitting the PDCP layer data packets and/or the information on the transmission statuses of the radio links transmitting the RLC layer data packets. Hence, an accurate reference basis may be provided for the transmitting device in determining whether a current network is suitable to performing duplication transmission, gains and losses between wasted radio resources and reduced latency in the multi-connection duplication transmission mode may be better weighted, and a more suitable data transmission mode or flow control mode may be configured.
]
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to select the first mode, when the second latency is larger than the first latency, or select the second mode, when the second latency is smaller than the first latency. [(See Shi ¶ 76-90; Fig. 2-3)]
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to select the second mode, when the second latency is smaller than both the first latency and a latency required by a service related to transmission of the data. [(See Shi ¶3-4; ¶8-9; ¶76-90; Fig. 2-3)]
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to decrease the number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, based on an increase in the number of times the duplicate data is received. [(See Shi ¶ 76-90; Fig. 2-3)]
Regarding Claim 11, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to select a mode from a first mode in which data is divided and transmitted through the multiple links, based on the state of the multiple links and characteristics of a service related to transmission of the data, and a second mode in which duplicate data is transmitted through the multiple links. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-90; Fig. 1-3)]
Regarding Claim 12, Shi discloses:
A method for operating an electronic device, the method comprising:
identifying a state of multiple links that are set up between an external electronic device and the electronic device to perform short-range wireless communication, based on information transmitted by the external electronic device; (See Shi abstract; ¶3-4; ¶ 8-9; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; Fig. 1-3)
selecting one mode from at least two modes, including a first mode in which data is divided and transmitted through the multiple links and a second mode in which duplicate data is transmitted through the multiple links, based on the state of the multiple links; [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)]
transmitting the data to the external electronic device through the selected mode; and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)]
based on the second mode being selected,
while operating in the second mode, identifying a number of times the duplicate data is received by the external electronic device through at least part of the multiple links based on the information received from the external electronic device, and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-91; Fig. 1-3)
[0056] Block 102: the transmitting device determines whether to continue to perform duplication transmission of data packets by using the plurality of radio links, based on the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference.
[0057] In an embodiment, whether a multi-connection duplication transmission mode is cancelled may be determined according to the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference. However, this disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, whether multi-link split transmission or single-link transmission is performed may be determined according to these pieces of information, in addition, flow controlling may be performed according to these pieces of information, etc.
[0076] 203: the transmitting device counts transmission rates of the plurality of radio links based on the PDCP layer status report.
[0077] In this embodiment, after receiving the PDCP layer status report of the multi-connection duplication transmission mode transmitted by the receiving device, the transmitting device may count the number of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links.
[0078] For example, according to the PDCP layer status report, it may be counted that the number of successfully transmitted PDCP PDUs via link 1 (such as an MCG link) is 30, and the number of successfully transmitted PDCP PDUs via link 2 (such as an SCG link) is 3.
]
adjusting a number of links through which duplicate data is to be transmitted among the multiple links based on the number of times of receiving the duplicate data. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-94; Fig. 1-3)
[0057] In an embodiment, whether a multi-connection duplication transmission mode is cancelled may be determined according to the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference. However, this disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, whether multi-link split transmission or single-link transmission is performed may be determined according to these pieces of information, in addition, flow controlling may be performed according to these pieces of information, etc.
[0079] 204: the transmitting device obtains the information on transmission rate difference between a plurality of radio links according to a counting result.
[0080] For example, a ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links (for example, 30/3=10 in the above example), or a difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links (for example, 30−3=27 in the above example) may be obtained.
[0081] 205: the transmitting device determines whether to continue to perform duplication transmission of data packets by using a plurality of radio links, based on the information on transmission rate difference.
[0082] For example, when the ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links is greater than a threshold (a preset threshold), or the difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links is greater than a threshold, the transmitting device may deem that a gain of the duplication transmission mode is relatively small at this moment, may cancel configuration of the duplication transmission mode, and no longer transmit identical PDCP PDUs by using a plurality of links; and identical data packets may be transmitted by using a link with a relatively good transmission rate only.
[0083] In another embodiment, the information on transmission rate of the plurality of radio links and/or the information on transmission rate difference between the plurality of radio links may be included in the PDCP layer status report. For example, information on the number of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links may be indicated in the PDCP layer status report.
[0086] In this embodiment, when the network side configures that a current multi-connection transmission is of a duplication transmission mode, or configures a PDCP status report of multi-connection duplication transmission, a PDCP layer entity at the receiving device performs the following operation: in storing a PDCP PDU, recording an RLC layer entity delivering the PDCP PDU, that is, recording a radio link by which each PDCP PDU is successfully transmitted.
[0087] 302: the receiving device counts transmission rates of the plurality of radio links.
[0088] In this embodiment, the receiving device may count the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links; for example, a ratio of the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links, or a difference between the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted between different links may be obtained; hence, information on the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links may be obtained.
[0089] 303: the receiving device feeds back a PDCP layer status report to the transmitting device; the PDCP layer status report indicates the information on the numbers of PDCP PDUs successfully transmitted via different links.
[0094] For example, “a PDU ratio field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates a ratio of the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links; or “a PDU number field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates values of the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links; or “a PDU difference field” is added to the PDCP layer status report, which indicates a difference between the numbers of data packets successfully transmitted via different links.
]
Regarding Claims 17, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive, from the external electronic device, information related to a number of times the duplicate data is received through the multiple links, while operating in the second mode; and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-90; Fig. 1-3)]
determine the number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on the number of times the duplicate data is received. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-90; Fig. 1-3)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 8-10 and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 20190200251 A1; hereinafter Shi), and further in view of Stephens et al. (US 20170223712 A1; hereinafter Stephens).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1
Shi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to increase the number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, based on a decrease in the number of times the duplicate data is received.
However Stephens, analogous art also teaching communication over multiple links, does disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to increase the number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, based on a decrease in the number of times the duplicate data is received. [(See Stephens ¶11-12; ¶31-32; ¶155-163; Fig. )
[0155] 2.2 Pipe Allocation and Adjustments
[0156] In some embodiments, the system may be configured to allocate bandwidth to one or more groups of sizes of communication links. As a non-limiting, illustrative example, a frequency range, which may be defined using a various multiplexing techniques, may be utilized for example to provide a set of 1000 low bandwidth communication links and 10 high bandwidth communication links.
[0157] The ratio/number/size of groups of bandwidth communication links may be dynamically changed by the system. For example, the system may provide 20 fat pipes and 500 thin pipes at a particular time, but then provide 10 fat pipes and 1000 thin pipes at another time.
[0158] Where the number of pipes is reduced, the system may be configured to manage the re-allocation of pipes to terminals where those terminals no longer have pipes.
[0159] The system, in some embodiments, may also change the sizing of various communication links and/or create new groups various communication links (e.g. the establishment of one or more super-fat pipes, or one or more super-thin pipes).
[0160] 2.3 Pipe Duplication
[0161] In some embodiments, information may be sent in duplicate over two or more different pipes. The pipes may be chosen such that the pipes are not adjacent in frequencies, or further, may be in different frequency ranges.
[0162] A potential advantage of such an implementation is a reduced chance of signal interference, signal degradation and/or signal loss as the signal is sent in different frequency bands.
[0163] The devices may further be configured to communicate using pipes associated with two or more base stations.
]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Shi with that of Stephens in order to increase the number of links when successful transmissions decrease in order to improve signal loss, as per Stephens (¶162), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
confirm whether the duplicate data is [(Shi ¶76-98)]
determine the number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on whether the duplicate data is [(Shi ¶76-98)]
Shi does not explicitly disclose:
confirm whether the duplicate data is retransmitted, while operating in the second mode; and
determine a number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on whether the duplicate data is retransmitted.
However Stephens, analogous art also teaching communication over multiple links, does disclose:
confirm whether the duplicate data is retransmitted, while operating in the second mode; and
determine a number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on whether the duplicate data is retransmitted. [Stephens discloses retransmission and packet loss [(See Stephens ¶8; ¶11-17; ¶31-32; ¶155-163; ¶738)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Shi with that of Stephens to perform retransmissions to correct packet loss, as per Stephens (¶738), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 10, Shi and Stephens disclose:
The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to increase the number of links through which the duplicate data is transmitted, based on the occurrence of retransmission of the duplicate data. [(See Stephens ¶11-12; ¶31-32; ¶155-163)]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468