DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to claims filed 8/4/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 8/4/2023, 4/16/2024, 10/11/2024, and 9/25/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) are being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copy required by 37 CFR 1.55 for parent Application Nos
KR10-2022-0154167 filed on 11/17/2022.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on application no KR10-2022-0128660 filed on 10/07/2022 . It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit/national stage under 35 U.S.C. 119(e), 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) for parent Application No PCT/KR2023/008051 filed on 6/12/2023.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 8/4/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 11-15, and 17-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (US 20190200251 A1; hereinafter Shi).
Regarding Claim 1, Shi discloses:
An electronic device comprising: a communication circuit configured to perform short-range wireless communication through multiple links that are set up between an external electronic device and the electronic device; and
a processor operatively connected to the communication circuit, the processor configured to:[(See Shi ¶ 199-207; Fig. 17-18)]
identify a state of the multiple links, based on information transmitted by the external electronic device; [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-4; ¶ 8-9; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; Fig. 1-3)
[0003] Issues related to the next-generation wireless communication systems are under study in the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) to meet needs of new services. One of the most important services is ultra-reliable and low-latency communications (URLLC). This type of service has high transmission latency and reliability requirements. Existing long-term evolution (LTE) systems are difficult to meet the requirements of such type of service.
[0004] In researches of the fifth generation (5G) communication, a method that can significantly improve the transmission reliability and reduce the transmission latency is to transmit identical data packets of the same service simultaneously by using a plurality of radio links, and data transmission reliability may be improved and transmission latency may be lowered by duplication transmission.
[0008] …However, a gain of the reduced latency brought about by the multi-connection duplication transmission is closely related to such factors as link quality, and load situation, etc. If data rates and signal quality of the two radio links performing duplication transmission differ relatively much, or scheduling latency differs relatively much, then a radio link of relatively poor quality contributes less to the data transmission, and compared to transmission by using a single link of relatively good quality, the gain of the reduced latency brought about by the duplication transmission will become low. In such a case, a network device needs to balance a relationship between the waste of radio resources caused by the duplication transmission and the reduction of latency, and then determines whether the multi-connection duplication transmission mode is suitable in the current radio environment.
[0009] However, in an existing dual-connectivity mode, reports on link quality and network load and the like do not accurately reflect the gain of the packet latency in multi-connection duplication transmission. For example, a current network load report can only reflect situation on a quality of service (QoS) class identifier (QCI) level, which is not very accurate. There may still exist a large scheduling latency difference and link quality difference between radio links of the same QCI parameter, which in turn leads to a significant decrease in the gain of the multi-connection duplication transmission. That is, even radio links with the same QCI parameter are not necessarily suitable for performing multi-connection duplication transmission.
[0025] a transmitting device configured to obtain information on transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links; the information on transmission rate difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links successfully transmitting packet data convergence protocol layer data packets, and the information on scheduling latency difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links transmitting radio link control layer data packets.
[0026] An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that the information on the transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links are/is obtained according to information on the transmission statuses of the radio links successfully transmitting the PDCP layer data packets and/or the information on the transmission statuses of the radio links transmitting the RLC layer data packets. Hence, an accurate reference basis may be provided for the transmitting device in determining whether a current network is suitable to performing duplication transmission, gains and losses between wasted radio resources and reduced latency in the multi-connection duplication transmission mode may be better weighted, and a more suitable data transmission mode or flow control mode may be configured..
]
select one mode from at least two modes, including a first mode in which data is divided and transmitted through the multiple links and a second mode in which identical data is transmitted through the multiple links, based on the state of the multiple links; and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)
[0003] Issues related to the next-generation wireless communication systems are under study in the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) to meet needs of new services. One of the most important services is ultra-reliable and low-latency communications (URLLC). This type of service has high transmission latency and reliability requirements. Existing long-term evolution (LTE) systems are difficult to meet the requirements of such type of service.
[0004] In researches of the fifth generation (5G) communication, a method that can significantly improve the transmission reliability and reduce the transmission latency is to transmit identical data packets of the same service simultaneously by using a plurality of radio links, and data transmission reliability may be improved and transmission latency may be lowered by duplication transmission.
[0005] The duplication transmission under multiple connections usually adopts the 3C architecture of the dual-connectivity technique, that is, data packets are split in the Packet Data Convergence Protocol (PDCP) layer into two radio links for transmission, and convergence and duplication detection of data are performed at a PDCP layer of a receiving device. When a duplication transmission mode is used, the same PDCP protocol data unit (PDU) is simultaneously distributed to two radio link control (RLC) protocol layers for transmission. The PDCP layer at the receiving device receives only a PDCP PDU that is first successfully transmitted from two radio links, and discards duplicate PDCP PDUs.
[0025] a transmitting device configured to obtain information on transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links; the information on transmission rate difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links successfully transmitting packet data convergence protocol layer data packets, and the information on scheduling latency difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links transmitting radio link control layer data packets.
[0026] An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that the information on the transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links are/is obtained according to information on the transmission statuses of the radio links successfully transmitting the PDCP layer data packets and/or the information on the transmission statuses of the radio links transmitting the RLC layer data packets. Hence, an accurate reference basis may be provided for the transmitting device in determining whether a current network is suitable to performing duplication transmission, gains and losses between wasted radio resources and reduced latency in the multi-connection duplication transmission mode may be better weighted, and a more suitable data transmission mode or flow control mode may be configured.
[0057] In an embodiment, whether a multi-connection duplication transmission mode is cancelled may be determined according to the information on transmission rate difference and/or the information on scheduling latency difference. However, this disclosure is not limited thereto. For example, whether multi-link split transmission or single-link transmission is performed may be determined according to these pieces of information, in addition, flow controlling may be performed according to these pieces of information, etc.
[0067] 201: a transmitting device transmits data packets to the receiving device via a plurality of radio links.
[0068] In this embodiment, when a network side configures that a current multi-connection transmission is of a duplication transmission mode (that is, the PDCP layer of the transmitting device may transmit identical PDCP PDUs to a plurality of radio links), or configures a PDCP status report of multi-connection duplication transmission, a PDCP layer entity at the receiving device performs the following operation: in storing a PDCP PDU, recording an RLC layer entity delivering the PDCP PDU, that is, recording a radio link by which each PDCP PDU is successfully transmitted; the radio link is, for example, a master cell group (MCG) link or a secondary cell group (SCG) link..
]
control the communication circuit to transmit the data to the external electronic device through the selected mode. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)]
Regarding Claims 2 and 13, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
identify a first latency required to transmit the data in a case of operating in the first mode and a second latency required to transmit the data in case of operating in the second mode; and (See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)
identify the state of the multiple links, based on a result of comparing the first latency and the second latency. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)
[0025] a transmitting device configured to obtain information on transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links; the information on transmission rate difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links successfully transmitting packet data convergence protocol layer data packets, and the information on scheduling latency difference is obtained based on information on transmission statuses of radio links transmitting radio link control layer data packets.
[0026] An advantage of the embodiments of this disclosure exists in that the information on the transmission rate difference and/or information on scheduling latency difference between a plurality of radio links are/is obtained according to information on the transmission statuses of the radio links successfully transmitting the PDCP layer data packets and/or the information on the transmission statuses of the radio links transmitting the RLC layer data packets. Hence, an accurate reference basis may be provided for the transmitting device in determining whether a current network is suitable to performing duplication transmission, gains and losses between wasted radio resources and reduced latency in the multi-connection duplication transmission mode may be better weighted, and a more suitable data transmission mode or flow control mode may be configured.
]
Regarding Claims 3 and 14, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to select the first mode, when the second latency is larger than the first latency, or select the second mode, when the second latency is smaller than the first latency. [(See Shi ¶ 76-90; Fig. 2-3)]
Regarding Claims 4 and 15, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to select the second mode, when the second latency is smaller than both the first latency and a latency required by a service related to transmission of the data. [(See Shi ¶3-4; ¶8-9; ¶76-90; Fig. 2-3)]
Regarding Claims 6 and 17, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive, from the external electronic device, information related to a number of times the identical data is received through the multiple links, while operating in the second mode; and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-90; Fig. 1-3)]
determine a number of links through which the data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on the number of times the identical data is received. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-90; Fig. 1-3)]
Regarding Claims 7 and 18, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to decrease the number of links through which the identical data is transmitted, based on an increase in the number of times the identical data is received. [(See Shi ¶ 76-90; Fig. 2-3)]
Regarding Claim 11, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to select a mode from a first mode in which data is divided and transmitted through the multiple links, based on the state of the multiple links and characteristics of a service related to transmission of the data, and a second mode in which identical data is transmitted through the multiple links. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶76-90; Fig. 1-3)]
Regarding Claim 12, Shi discloses:
A method for operating an electronic device, the method comprising:
identifying a state of multiple links that are set up between an external electronic device and the electronic device to perform short-range wireless communication, based on information transmitted by the external electronic device; (See Shi abstract; ¶3-4; ¶ 8-9; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; Fig. 1-3)
selecting one mode from at least two modes, including a first mode in which data is divided and transmitted through the multiple links and a second mode in which identical data is transmitted through the multiple links, based on the state of the multiple links; and [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)]
transmitting the data to the external electronic device through the selected mode. [(See Shi abstract; ¶3-5; ¶ 25-26; ¶53-57; ¶77-78; Fig. 1-3)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 8-10 and 19-20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 20190200251 A1; hereinafter Shi), and further in view of Stephens et al. (US 20170223712 A1; hereinafter Stephens).
Regarding Claims 8 and 19, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 6
Shi does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to increase the number of links through which the identical data is transmitted, based on a decrease in the number of times the identical data is received.
However Stephens, analogous art also teaching communication over multiple links, does disclose:
wherein the processor is further configured to increase the number of links through which the identical data is transmitted, based on a decrease in the number of times the identical data is received. [(See Stephens ¶11-12; ¶31-32; ¶155-163; Fig. )
[0155] 2.2 Pipe Allocation and Adjustments
[0156] In some embodiments, the system may be configured to allocate bandwidth to one or more groups of sizes of communication links. As a non-limiting, illustrative example, a frequency range, which may be defined using a various multiplexing techniques, may be utilized for example to provide a set of 1000 low bandwidth communication links and 10 high bandwidth communication links.
[0157] The ratio/number/size of groups of bandwidth communication links may be dynamically changed by the system. For example, the system may provide 20 fat pipes and 500 thin pipes at a particular time, but then provide 10 fat pipes and 1000 thin pipes at another time.
[0158] Where the number of pipes is reduced, the system may be configured to manage the re-allocation of pipes to terminals where those terminals no longer have pipes.
[0159] The system, in some embodiments, may also change the sizing of various communication links and/or create new groups various communication links (e.g. the establishment of one or more super-fat pipes, or one or more super-thin pipes).
[0160] 2.3 Pipe Duplication
[0161] In some embodiments, information may be sent in duplicate over two or more different pipes. The pipes may be chosen such that the pipes are not adjacent in frequencies, or further, may be in different frequency ranges.
[0162] A potential advantage of such an implementation is a reduced chance of signal interference, signal degradation and/or signal loss as the signal is sent in different frequency bands.
[0163] The devices may further be configured to communicate using pipes associated with two or more base stations.
]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Shi with that of Stephens in order to increase the number of links when successful transmissions decrease in order to improve signal loss, as per Stephens (¶162), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claims 9 and 20, Shi discloses:
The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is further configured to:
confirm whether the identical data is [(Shi ¶76-98)]
determine a number of links through which the identical data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on whether the identical data is [(Shi ¶76-98)]
Shi does not explicitly disclose:
confirm whether the identical data is retransmitted, while operating in the second mode; and
determine a number of links through which the identical data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on whether the identical data is retransmitted.
However Stephens, analogous art also teaching communication over multiple links, does disclose:
confirm whether the identical data is retransmitted, while operating in the second mode; and
determine a number of links through which the identical data is transmitted, among the multiple links, based on whether the identical data is retransmitted. [Stephens discloses retransmission and packet loss [(See Stephens ¶8; ¶11-17; ¶31-32; ¶155-163; ¶738)]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the communication system of Shi with that of Stephens to perform retransmissions to correct packet loss, as per Stephens (¶738), with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 10, Shi and Stephens disclose:
The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to increase the number of links through which the identical data is transmitted, based on the occurrence of retransmission of the identical data. [(See Stephens ¶11-12; ¶31-32; ¶155-163)]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/RKF/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468